Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Petty Inter-County Rivalry

• 09-08-2012 2:44am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I was on the Shannon a few weeks back with some friends and in one small town that we pulled our boat into to stay the night, the locals in the local pub were pretty hostile to the people from the village on the other side of the river because they were GAA rivals and in another county. I gathered that practically no-one from the village on the other side of the river drinks in the pubs in the neighbouring county and not that many even use the shops there.:(

Surely in a country as small as Ireland this sort of inter-county rivalry is silly and indeed a bit pathetic?

It feeds the parish pump mentality that is all too prevalent in politics in this country and when you consider that some of the largest farms in Australia, New Zealand and Argentina are the size of our smaller counties it makes a mockery of what it means to be proud of your region and county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,903 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Surely in a country as small as Ireland this sort of inter-county rivalry is silly and indeed a bit pathetic?

You are correct of course but for some places it's all they have to keep themselves ticking over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I'm from Bray, it pisses me off when people tell me I'm a Dub.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Are you new to Ireland? We like to take the p*ss out of each other over the smallest of things. A small minority of fools go to far, but Its mostly banter.

We are all Irish at the end of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I hate memes but anyways;

'Thinly veiled I have a boat thread'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Where To wrote: »

Companies like Emerald Star rent boats out to holidaymakers. A ten minute instruction and away you float.

Pretty fucking deadly if you get the weather.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Where To wrote: »

Actually it was my friend's boat - OP duly edited.:D

I'm 100% Irish and proud to be and I love a bit of slagging but this was bitterness and small mindedness I'm talking about. It really is pathetic to see.:rolleyes:

It's all about the buttons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

But all Bray folk speak like Dubs! You are practically a suburb of the city now.

grenache wrote: »
    But all Bray folk speak like Dubs! You are practically a suburb of the city now.
    Regrettably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I'm 100% Irish and proud to be and I love a bit of slagging but this was bitterness and small mindedness I'm talking about. It really is pathetic to see.:rolleyes:

1 percenter!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I'm from Dublin. I'm a Dub. You're from Bray - so, from Wicklow. To me, that's easy to understand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

People from Ballina live in Tipp, the crowd from Killaloe don't. People from Killaloe say the Lakeside Hotel is in Killaloe (it isn't) and that the Gooser's atin' emporium is also in Killaloe (it isn't) and so on. Ballina is good, it's in Tipp, Killaloe isn't and it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

mathepac wrote: »
    People from Ballina live in Tipp, the crowd from Killaloe don't. People from Killaloe say the Lakeside Hotel is in Killaloe (it isn't) and that the Gooser's atin' emporium is also in Killaloe (it isn't) and so on. Ballina is good, it's in Tipp, Killaloe isn't and it's not.

No they dont!

Killaloe is the postal address,on account of the fact theres no post office in Ballina :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Us humans are territorial creatures.
    We want our patch to be the best damn patch there is, and will send our strongest men out to defend it with curved sticks of ash every weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Being a Dub this pisses me off too, as if Bray people are as cool as us :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

This thread reminds me of the ongoing Springfield/Shelbyville rivalry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I was on the Shannon a few weeks back with some friends and in one small town that we pulled our boat into to stay the night, the locals in the local pub were pretty hostile to the people from the village on the other side of the river because they were GAA rivals and in another county. I gathered that practically no-one from the village on the other side of the river drinks in the pubs in the neighbouring county and not that many even use the shops there.:(

How the hell can they be GAA rivals if they're in a different county, they would only meet in the All-Ireland Club Championship which I doubt happens very often.

Anyway OP, I would put a bet that plenty of people in any of those villages have internal rows with each other over land, parking cars on "my property" etc. Likewise both villages would back each other up in face of a common enemy such as if they met each other in a bar abroad on holidays and got into a row with a bunch of English lads.

Your first border is your own front door, you then adjust your borders and pick your allies-enemies according to your situation, at times the enemy of your enemy will become your friend.

There's nowt so queer as folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I hate people fron Cork just coz

Jester252 wrote: »
    I hate people fron Cork just coz

i know, there's just too many to list :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Sauve wrote: »
    Us humans are idiotic creatures.

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

One's got to remember that some petty rivalries are borne out of one town stealing another town's lemon tree and the bitterness, no pun intended, lasting for generations.

davet82 wrote: »
    Being a Dub this pisses me off too, as if Bray people are as cool as us :cool:
    I'll take it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Funnily enough the only crowd I dislike are the bunch of wan*ers who populate my own parish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

You're from Dublin like me, JupiterKid. Hence your puzzlement. Growing up in Dublin I saw myself as Irish first and foremost. Being a Dub came a faraway second if I even considered it. It wasn't until I ventured out beyond the Pale did I discover I'd mysteriously turned into Dub first and thus worthy of abuse or just slagging. Nearly everyone likes to slag off Dublin. But most Dub could honestly give a feck about their parochial attitudes.

It isn't just counties, it's towns, parishes, villages even townlands. Partly it's the blame of the GAA because it thrives on rivalries. But mainly it's basically the remnants of tribalism which the GAA merely reflects. The reason we were such an easy conquest for the English.

It's pathetic and it has held back the development of this country for years. Local politics dominate the minds of most politicians in Ireland. Any politician who puts the needs of the country first and foremost won't last long in the Dail.

The only way this country can progress properly is for people to be Irish first and foremost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

This thread reminds me of the ongoing Springfield/Shelbyville rivalry.

And with that, a mighty cheer went up from the heroes of Shelbyville. They had banished the awful lemon tree forever, because it was haunted. Now let's all celebrate with a cool glass of turnip juice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

parts of bray are in dublin. my brother lives in one such part

we call them Braylins, outcasts that are not one nor the other in my book :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

bluecode wrote: »
    It isn't just counties, it's towns, parishes, villages even townlands. Partly it's the blame of the GAA because it thrives on rivalries. But mainly it's basically the remnants of tribalism which the GAA merely reflects. The reason we were such an easy conquest for the English.

GAA is one of many outlets of rivalry and the GAA are not to blame for the fact that irish people like those of every other nation have rivalries. If the GAA weren't there it would be something else.

We fight amongst each other about such things as politics, english soccer teams, how to deal with the health service, do we build a gallows or a monument to Bertie etc etc etc. The GAA is another reason to pick a row with someone and identify with a bunch of people who will back you up, safety in numbers is a basic human instinct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i was working in a pub in arklow briefly about 2 years ago. an oul fella said to me one day 'im from rathdrum and your the first dubliner ive spoken too in about 40 years, if i had known you were from dublin i wouldnt have spoken to you. i hate yis with a passion'
    i said 'enjoy your pint, pulled by a proud dub'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Rugged Island is a leper colony!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

OP, you are talking about Leitrim and Roscommon GAA teams aren't ya? :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Time's will move on, as populations shift. Dublin and Meath were once fierce rival's but now that Meath is virtually a suburb of the capital city thing's have eased off. Sure Dublin bus go out to Meath these days

Bambi wrote: »
    Time's will move on, as populations shift. Dublin and Meath were once fierce rival's but now that Meath is virtually a suburb of the capital city thing's have eased off. Sure Dublin bus go out to Meath these days

Yup, Meath is Dublins bitch now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

I was on the Shannon a few weeks back with some friends and in one small town that we pulled our boat into to stay the night, the locals in the local pub were pretty hostile to the people from the village on the other side of the river because they were GAA rivals and in another county.
    Meh, nothing compared to the War of the Whale that went on down here in Cork recently, brandishing chainsaws, blood and guts (and tails) everywhere. Families are now divided, farms are split, children are crying, oh the humanity.

bijapos wrote: »
    How the hell can they be GAA rivals if they're in a different county, they would only meet in the All-Ireland Club Championship which I doubt happens very often.

Anyway OP, I would put a bet that plenty of people in any of those villages have internal rows with each other over land, parking cars on "my property" etc. Likewise both villages would back each other up in face of a common enemy such as if they met each other in a bar abroad on holidays and got into a row with a bunch of English lads.

Your first border is your own front door, you then adjust your borders and pick your allies-enemies according to your situation, at times the enemy of your enemy will become your friend.

There's nowt so queer as folk.

That's a very good point - but you know the saying "no man is an island." People should try to put aside their differences and work in harmony for the common good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

bluecode wrote: »
    You're from Dublin like me, JupiterKid. Hence your puzzlement. Growing up in Dublin I saw myself as Irish first and foremost. Being a Dub came a faraway second if I even considered it. It wasn't until I ventured out beyond the Pale did I discover I'd mysteriously turned into Dub first and thus worthy of abuse or just slagging. Nearly everyone likes to slag off Dublin. But most Dub could honestly give a feck about their parochial attitudes.
    What an utter load of nonsense. You only have to read AH to see how parochial Dubliners are.:rolleyes:

The rest is the same anti GAA crap you are spouting elsewhere on this forum.

I'm not so sure that Dubs aren't parochial - just look at the Northside/Southside divide, the way people identify with their suburbs and districts, rivalries between adjacent suburbs and the whole social minefield of postcode snobbery - oh yes, we very much live in Dublin 6W, nowhere near Dublin 12 at all!":rolleyes:

But I do think parochialism is more somewhat more entrenched in the country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

"Ar scath a cheile a mhairimid", which is true as Ballina overshadows and majestically overlooks Killaloe. Ballina residents - faces to the sun, Killaloe residents - arses to the heat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Us humans are territorial creatures.
    We want our patch to be the best damn patch there is, and will send our strongest men out to defend it with curved sticks of ash every weekend.

Stand still i think i need to take a wee :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

It feeds the parish pump mentality that is all too prevalent in politics in this country and when you consider that some of the largest farms in Australia, New Zealand and Argentina are the size of our smaller counties it makes a mockery of what it means to be proud of your region and county.

Yes, this literally never happens in pretty much every other country in the world...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Bad Panda wrote: »
    Us humans are idiotic creatures.

FYP.

Don't bother doing that again please.
    If you have something to say post it yourself instead of messing with mine. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I always had a sneaky regard for people from Cork which improved greatly last week or so, when I was down there with the wife sitting in o'briens at the top of patrick street when this lovely lady went by on a bike just with the skin painted on her, nearly fell into me herbal tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

"Ar scath a cheile a mhairimid", which is true as Ballina overshadows and majestically overlooks Killaloe. Ballina residents - faces to the sun, Killaloe residents - arses to the heat.

Ah its nice for the Tipp crew to have a nice view all the same :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

The county rivalry is always worse on the Borders, it makes sense. Going to school, socialising together, there is going to be slagging.

Anyway a bit of rivalry is no harm, it'll make a dull match interesting if nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

In all seriousness that's not really true. There's only one secondary school between the two villages as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

It's a bogger thing. I was born and reared in Dublin but have spent most of my life in Wexford. I just don't understand this parish mentality and never could. As far as I'm concerned, we're all Irish and all facing the same problems.

Unfortunately, there are many, many people out there who have never broadened their horizons and they think that the world starts and ends at the bottom corner of the lower field on Murphy's farm. That's the way it has always been and that's the way it will stay. The driving force behind all of this mentality is the GAA. (IMO).

BTW, I would be eternally grateful if somebody could explain the "Up" in the often shouted Up Wexford/Kerry/Down/Galway etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Killaloe: the ancient seat of Brian Ború in the land of music and unrivalled musicians, the wild and dramatic Atlantic seaboard, The Cliffs, the amazing and unique spectacle of The Burren, the quiet beauty of the stone walls, and a choice major destination for tourists both foreign and domestic.
    Ballina: the seat of ..ummm... Londis? A fishing tackle shop?? in the land of umm....Nenagh? Roscrea? Cowfields? ...ummm.....oh yea music, Sliabh na mBan the mildly annoying song though, not the beautiful haunting air/song of 1798.

oldyouth wrote: »
    It's a bogger thing. I was born and reared in Dublin
    Yeah, Dubliners don't involve themselves in petty rivalry! FFS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Yeah, Dubliners don't involve themselves in petty rivalry! FFS!

Not to the same extent, No

oldyouth wrote: »
    Not to the same extent, No
    Actually they're worse!

The use of words like bogger and culchie to describe Irish people.

The northside-southside nonsense.

The fact that people will change and lie about their postal address to make it look as if they live in a more affluent area.

Dubliners even demanded a new post code be invented, Dublin 6W, so they would have a different postal address to poorer areas.

One of the biggest areas of opposition to the new post code system comes from D4, an area where people are demanding that their badge of affluence is maintained in the new system.

Dublin is rife with such pettiness!