Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Missing 12 year old in London

• 09-08-2012 3:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭

I've had one eye on this for the last few days and it's becoming very strange.
    Police hunting for Tia Sharp are liaising with officers who investigated the fake kidnap of Shannon Matthews as the search of bins outside Tia's grandmother's house continues.

Officers say they are talking to other forces who have dealt with missing schoolgirls, including West Yorkshire Police, who investigated Shannon's disappearance.

The nine-year-old was the subject of a fake kidnap plot by her mother Karen Matthews, 36, and another man in Dewsbury, West Yorkshire.
    Sky's crime correspondent Martin Brunt said: "That's not to suggest at all that police think that is a likely scenario in Tia's disappearance.

http://news.sky.com/story/970434/tia-police-liaise-with-fake-kidnap-squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

what was the other eye on?

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Another gold medal for GB..........................in hide and seek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

It's very fishy alright.

I don't know the full details but the police seem to be keeping the search in close proximity however if she really has been kidnapped she could be gone out of the country already.

Just because the abduction of Shannon Matthews was fake doesn't mean this one is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Frynge wrote: »
    what was the other eye on?

Maybe he's a pirate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

lee3155 wrote: »
    It's very fishy alright.

I don't know the full details but the police seem to be keeping the search in close proximity however if she really has been kidnapped she could be gone out of the country already.

Just because the abduction of Shannon Matthews was fake doesn't mean this one is.

They interviewed a local man on Sky and he started rambling on about how easy it would be to hide a body in the woods if you can get out of the estate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

From the very start I thought something was very suspect about this case. The mother was reported as saying "It looks like my little girl was taken" or words to that effect, it's as I'd she was trying to sway the police into thinking immediately that she'd been abducted and not maybe fallen somewhere and fatally injured or hurt herself. She was too quick to jump to a reason for the girl to be missing. Maybe I'm wrong but the mother isn't acting like someone who lost her little girl.

CJC999 wrote: »
    From the very start I thought something was very suspect about this case. The mother was reported as saying "It looks like my little girl was taken" or words to that effect, it's as I'd she was trying to sway the police into thinking immediately that she'd been abducted and not maybe fallen somewhere and fatally injured or hurt herself. She was too quick to jump to a reason for the girl to be missing. Maybe I'm wrong but the mother isn't acting like someone who lost her little girl.

Agree totally, it's highly suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Mocha Joe wrote: »

Haha, that's not funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

CJC999 wrote: »

Yeah there seems to be something slightly "off" about the whole thing- for a start, why has it not been huuuuge news since friday? I only spotted it on the Journal.ie on Tues for the first time.

Who knows what the police will turn up, in the Shannon Mathews case they found child porn on the computer belonging to the mother's boyfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭neemish

There's something just not right about the whole situation. The family haven't exactly been helping themselves with the way they're behaving

I believe the family will be giving a statement later on tv, interesting to see what they actually say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Police in this case have still got tons of cctv footage to view as well .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Temaz wrote: »
    I believe the family will be giving a statement later on tv, interesting to see what they actually say.

"Not guilty".

Latchy wrote: »
    Police in this case have still got tons of cctv footage to view as well .

I can't see a happy ending in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

Well its strange that they haven't been able to piece together her movements on CCTV going on what her family are saying happened.

London is full of camera's, so I guess this is why the police are investigating so close to the home. Surely if what the grand parents are saying is true, they would have been bale to see her on CCTV??

Nothing to go on here, but the Step Grandfather looks very dodgy and I can see why he is the probably the number one suspect in all this.

The statement will be interesting to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭neemish

In a normal day in a city, each of us is caught on CCTV something like 300 times a day (BBC website). And yet this girl went to the shops and nothing? That's not possible. Sad the way the investigation seems to be going. I'd love to think that there's an innocent explanation but that idea seems to be slipping away

neemish wrote: »
    In a normal day in a city, each of us is caught on CCTV something like 300 times a day (BBC website). And yet this girl went to the shops and nothing? That's not possible. Sad the way the investigation seems to be going. I'd love to think that there's an innocent explanation but that idea seems to be slipping away

The police have being focusing on all the Wheelie Bins in and around the estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Reading about it today and the "extended" family is very confusing. The step granddad is 36 the step dad 29 grandmother 47 mother 31. They seem to live together too.

Lots can happen in life but that sounds disfunctional. I'm sure the kid as half siblings and half uncle/aunts.

I wouldn't want to join such a family. Maybe I am a snob

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Reading about it today and the "extended" family is very confusing. The step granddad is 36 the step dad 29 grandmother 47 mother 31. They seem to live together too.

Lots can happen in life but that sounds disfunctional. I'm sure the kid as half siblings and half uncle/aunts.

I wouldn't want to join such a family. Maybe I am a snob

Ya, it seems she comes from a confusing family unit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Young girl gone missing whilst visiting her grandma; police have asked a Mr Wolf to help with their investigation.

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

Something doesnt sit right with me about it, there's been confusion about the last time the Step Grandfather seen her, one version is he walked her to the bus and gave her 11 pounds, the other version is he was doing the hoovering and barely heard her leaving:confused: How has she not been caught on camera at all like? Hopefully it IS just another Shannon Matthews case and she isnt in any danger:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Something doesn't seem right about this case, but either way I hope she's found soon and that the police get to the bottom of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

The Grandfather has come in for specific attention from the beginning. I know that's reasonable to some extent; he was the last person known to have seen her at home.

However, BBC correspondents seemed to be making a point of remarking that 'there was another teenage girl in the apartment with her Grandfather when she went missing' or words to that effect. They would then re-iterate that the police may want to speak to the Grandmother's boyfriend again, that there may be further questions to ask about the final exchange between the child and this man.

You get the feeling that the press have been taking something of a curious line on this since the beginning, but obviously they can't blurt out the word on the ground at such a sensitive time.

Apparently her real father tried to contact her recently as well, his family have rubbished allegations that he's harassed her family.. I reckon the police definitely know something, they just need hard evidence.

There seem to be at least two different versions of her leaving the grandmother's house, for starters, and it's all downhill after that.:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

davet82 wrote: »
    Maybe he's a pirate

Maybe he was referring to his jap's eye :pac:

Japanese pirate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I'd hate to think that people are taking this case less seriously as a result of what happened in the Shannon Matthews case.
    Mocha Joe wrote: »

Seriously?

There's a twelve-year-old child still missing. Horrible to think what might have happened to her. :( You'd have to have a pretty sick mind to find humour in the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

I'd hate to think that people are taking this case less seriously as a result of what happened in the Shannon Matthews case.

Seriously?

There's a twelve-year-old child still missing. Horrible to think what might have happened to her. :( You'd have to have a pretty sick mind to find humour in the situation.

Couldn't agree more.

In all fairness what happened with Shannon happened, doesn't mean it's the same situation here.

What if the young girl actually is missing? If she was abducted the abductor wouldn't bring her out in central London which is crawling with CCTV and police. Ofcourse it's going to be hard to catch her on CCTV.

The family fell a bit itchy, I agree, but you would be too if you lost your child?

All in all, I hope the poor thing gets reunited with her family soon, all hopes are on her safe return, Wether the abduction is fake or not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

The grandmother and her partner look very cagey and shifty all the same though.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

I think if the family were involved the police would have it solved by now, usually when a family member is involved the investigation is over in a matter of days. It's a week tomorrow the girl is missing and the police seem to have nothing. Also the fact she has gone missing when the vast majority of the police force are involved in security for the olympics is worrying, it's a perfect time for an abductor to strike and there was reports of some guy harassing kids in the area in the days previous to the girls disappearance.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Seriously?

There isn't an ounce of nastiness in my post. My mind is fine. Get over yourself.

Obviously hope she is found well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

jackie1974 wrote: »
    I think if the family were involved the police would have it solved by now, usually when a family member is involved the investigation is over in a matter of days. It's a week tomorrow the girl is missing and the police seem to have nothing. Also the fact she has gone missing when the vast majority of the police force are involved in security for the olympics is worrying, it's a perfect time for an abductor to strike and there was reports of some guy harassing kids in the area in the days previous to the girls disappearance.

Not without a body or solid evidence that a crime was committed in the house.

Latest report.
    It is now one week since the disappearance of 12-year-old Tia Sharp and police are expected to step up their questioning of the public in an attempt to jog memories.

Her grandmother's house in New Addington, Croydon, has remained the focus of the investigation, as it was the last place she was seen, on Friday, August 3.

On Thursday evening, detectives removed a holdall from one of the rooms in the terraced house, believed to contain quilts and bedding.
    They were later transferred into evidence bags and taken away for examination.

Stuart Hazell, the boyfriend of Tia's grandmother Christine Sharp, is believed to have been the last person to see the girl and detectives are treating him as a key witness in the inquiry.

He has told them Tia left the house at midday, last Friday, to go shopping in Croydon with money he had given her.
    It is thought she would have walked to a nearby bus stop and police are expected to again talk to people who regularly use it.

http://news.sky.com/story/970870/police-to-step-up-search-for-missing-tia

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

It just weird she hast been captured in cctv or anyone seeing her.And now the granny has admitted to not seeing her for over 24 hours even though that contradicts earlier statements.

The stepgrandfather was also her stepdad for a while makes you crazy to think what that set up was like.
    Hope she is found safe but at the moment its not looking good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

If yer man isn't guilty of something, I'll eat my hat.....

He's a dodgy one

If yer man isn't guilty of something, I'll eat my hat.....

He's a dodgy one

Agreed, he is very dodgy looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

its a ****ing odd story to be fair.

i am also looking at the ages of the family. the granny of a 12 year old is 47. how did that happen.

though really, its a shock that if someone goes missing there is not a big man hunt for her, even if she is dead or what not they should still make an effort to find out what happened to her, poor thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Poor little girl.

Very strange no-one has seen her... and the bed stuff in the holdall is weird as well. :( Doesn't look good at all that she ismissing a week and no-one has seen her. An adult may get away with going into hiding, a child far less so.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Agreed, he is very dodgy looking.

Convicted of crack dealing previously, by the look of him he was his own best customer. He is 37 going on 60.

One positive, if you could call it that, would be that the family are so clearly dysfunctional it would give some evidence that she mght have simply run away from these idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭David900

Read this morning that the step-grandfather dated the girl's mother before he hooked up with the grandmother. Proves nothing but but its ****ed up.

Hopefully the re-construction will jog someone's memory.

JUST BREAKING
    Police hunting for Tia Sharp cordon off her grandmother's house amid signs of a new development in the case.

http://news.sky.com/story/971039/tia-sharp-latest-police-surround-house

The family set up IS a bit weird, but I dont think that's got much to do with it, I do however have a feeling the step grandad had something to do with it, his stories dont match up:confused: plus they're really focusing on him and the house..

I agree, they just seem 'Dodgy' to me.

I know what you mean, was there reports of another teenage girl in the house at the time? perhaps he panicked and done something to Tia.. I hope not though.

What I'm wondering is if she's dead, where is the body? They have done searches of the woods, bins etc.

Yeah same, it just doesnt add up? , I really am praying its just another Shannon Matthews case though, I see the Sun now have it on the front page.. its about time as well. Sickening that the Olympics was put above a missing child!