Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Probably a Hugely Inefficient Use of my Time

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭pgibbo

Welcome back. Best of luck for Kenmare.

Have you raced it previously?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭zico10

pgibbo wrote: »
    Have you raced it previously?

I've done it twice, '08 and '09. Very impressed with everything about it. I wouldn't be in such a rush to get back into things if I wasn't.

Bambaata wrote: »
    Welcome back zico10! Reminds me of my own "log" which has been chilling with the dinosaurs the past while!

Will you be racing yourself actually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,104 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Not this year. Ive Lanzarote 70.3 in October so that's my year's focus. Hopefully Lost Sheep fits in next year, its a great course and race. I was supposed to aim for it last year but stopped training late July when i went to the Olys and never got going. Started running again about 1.5/2 weeks out but had no bike work done so suffered bad on that! You need your bike legs for that course.

Monday 8th July

Lunchtime

Swim;
    1,000m (900 easy & 100 fast)
    800m (700 easy & 100 fast)
    600m (500 easy & 100 fast)
    100 m swim down
    p.m.

30 minutes upper & lower body weights

Turbo;

1 hour 05 minutes
    10.00 warm up,
    3.00 resistance 5/7, 52x 13, 75rpm & 1.30 recovery
    3.00 resistance 5/7, 52x 14, 78pm & 1.30 recovery
    3.00 resistance 5/7, 52x 15, 80rpm & 1.30 recovery
    3.00 resistance 5/7, 52x 17, 75rpm & 1.30 recovery
    3.00 resistance 5/7, 52x 19, 78pm & 1.30 recovery
    3.00 resistance 5/7, 52x 19, 80rpm & 1.30 recovery
    3.00 resistance 5/7, 52x 17, 75rpm & 1.30 recovery
    3.00 resistance 5/7, 52x 15, 78pm & 1.30 recovery
    3.00 resistance 5/7, 52x 14, 80rpm & 1.30 recovery
    3.00 resistance 5/7, 52x 13, 75rpm & 1.30 recovery
    10.00 cool down

Run off bike;

6.24km in 23.35 (avg. pace <3.47/km)

Tuesday 9th July

a.m.

Swim;
    400m warm up
    4 x 100m off 2.25 (25m swim, 50m catch up, 25m swim)
    8 x 50m kick
    400m pull
    8 x 100m off 1.55
    4 x 100m off 2.15 (50m easy & 50m hard)
    400m swim down

I was coming in around on 1.50 for the set of 8 100’s. Still nowhere near as fast as I’d like to be, or where I used to be and I’m running out of time to get it right.

p.m.

I went on a visa run to Myanmar after my swim this morning, which meant a 200+km round trip on a not so fast scooter. It took up all of my day and I didn’t begin my planned run session until after 10p.m. I wanted to get my long run in today, but because it was so late I swapped it for another session.

Run;
    8.00 warm up
    2.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery
    3.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery
    4.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery
    5.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery
    6.00 @ interval pace, 3.00 recovery
    5.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery
    4.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery
    3.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery
    2.00 @ interval pace
    8.00 cool down
    After sitting on a scooter for around 5 hours today, my legs felt heavy during the warm up and thought I was going to struggle to hit a quick pace during the hard parts, but once I got going it was fine. Give or take a few seconds per 1km lap my interval pace was consistent and averaged out at <3.45/km.

Wednesday 10th July

After the late finish last night and not getting to bed until after midnight, I decided to skip my regular 6 a.m. session. I have a lot of free time during work this week, so luckily it’ll be easily compensated for.

Lunchtime

Swim;

3,200m
    400m warm up
    8 x 50m kick
    400m pull
    1 x 400m (300 easy & 100 hard)
    1 x 400m (200 easy & 200 hard)
    1 x 400m (100 easy & 300 hard)
    1 x 400m hard
    400m cool down

I timed myself for the fourth and final 400m in the main set of 4. I only made a mental note of the time, which I think was 7.46. I was wearing a long sleeve top which created drag in the water, but the pace was far from comfortable for me and my already poor form was starting to fall apart completely.

p.m.

Turbo;

1 hour 22 minutes
    10.00 warm up
    8.00 full effort - resistance 4/7, 52 x 17 @ 88-90rpm & 3.00 recovery
    6.00 full effort - resistance 4/7, 52 x 17 @ 88-90rpm, & 2.00 recovery
    4.00 full effort - resistance 4/7, 52 x 17 @ 88-90rpm, & 1.00 recovery
    2.00 full effort - resistance 4/7, 52 x 17 @ 88-90rpm,
    10.00 recovery
    8.00 full effort - resistance 4/7, 52 x 17 @ 88-90rpm & 3.00 recovery
    6.00 full effort - resistance 4/7, 52 x 17 @ 88-90rpm, & 2.00 recovery
    4.00 full effort - resistance 4/7, 52 x 17 @ 88-90rpm, & 1.00 recovery
    2.00 full effort - resistance 4/7, 52 x 17 @ 88-90rpm,
    10.00 cool down

Run off bike;
    6.24km in 23.21(avg. pace <3.45/km)

It was a slightly quicker pace to a similar run on Monday, which I’m happy with. But both were done after relatively short stints on the turbo. I’ll wait until I can hold it for a couple of runs off 2 hour plus bike sessions before feeling it’s a pace I’ve dialled into my legs.

Thursday 11th July

Lunchtime

Swim;
    3,200m
    Mix of drills, fast stuff, and slow stuff. I could put in details, but there wouldn't be much to comment on.

p.m.

Turbo;
    10 minutes warm up,
    10 minutes @ 110rpm
    5 minutes easy
    10 minutes @ 110rpm
    10 minutes cool down

With the run to follow it was all easy spinning, I just used whatever gearing I needed to keep the revs high.

p.m.

Run Intervals;
    15.00 warm up & drills
    1.04km @ interval pace
    2.08km @ interval pace
    1.04km @ interval pace
    2.08km @ interval pace
    1.04km @ interval pace
    2.08km @ interval pace
    1.04km @ interval pace

Cool down
    I’ve only a very simple stopwatch to record splits, and the cumulative time for all seven splits was 36.16. Interval pace averaged out at <3.30/km. I deliberately kept the pace for the 2.08km splits slightly slower than for the shorter efforts. Apart from the very first interval which I ran a bit too quick, and without accurate splits to hand, I think I managed to hold a consistent pace throughout.

Friday 12th July

a.m.

Swim;
    7 x 400m very easy

p.m.

Brick;
    {22.00 turbo 52x21, resistance 5/7 @ 90rpm, & 2.16km run on 36.00} x 5

Saturday 13th July

Turbo; 2.52.30
    12.30 warm up,
    5.00 (52x21, resistance 4/7 @ 86\88rpm), 2.30 revcovery,
    10.00 (52x21, resistance 4/7 @ 86\88rpm), 5.00 revcovery,
    20.00 (52x21, resistance 4/7 @ 86\88rpm), 10.00 revcovery,
    30.00 (52x21, resistance 4/7 @ 86\88rpm), 15.00 revcovery,
    20.00 (52x21, resistance 4/7 @ 86\88rpm), 10.00 revcovery,
    10.00 (52x21, resistance 4/7 @ 86\88rpm), 5.00 revcovery,
    5.00 (52x21, resistance 4/7 @ 86\88rpm),
    12.30 cool down

Run;
    19.76km in 1.19.38 (avg. pace <4.02/km)

One second per kilometre quicker than last week’s long run. While my pace is still not exactly where I want it to be, it’s not something I’m unduly worried about. I knew I was a few seconds too slow for a long time, but I was more concerned with keeping things comfortable rather than hitting sub 4 minutes per kilometre pace. I only began my run less than 2 hours after coming off the turbo, and while I know in Kenmare I’ll be straight into things, it’s not as much rest as I usually allow myself before a run of this length.

Sunday 14th July

Bike;

4.30 hours approx
    30.00 warm up, 36.00 HIM effort, 24.00 recovery, 36.00 HIM effort, 24.00 recovery, 36.00 HIM effort, 24.00 recovery, 36.00 HIM effort, 30.00 cool down
    Pace for HIM efforts; 1) 32.4km/hr 2) 37.0 km/hr 3) 32.3km/hr 4) 34.8km/hr

Looking back through my log, the average speed for these four efforts is up on what were 33 minute stints last September. I’m not using the same cycle computer though, so there might be some inaccuracy.

This cycle was done on the only hilly stretch of good road in my locality, so speeds were naturally down on the last few weeks. Out & back and out and back again. Efforts 1 and 3 were against a headwind and the net gain in elevation, vice versa for 2 and 4. None of the 4 were done along the exact same stretch of road, but the averages for 2 and 4 should still be a lot closer. Whether I subconsciously eased off, or I’m just ramping up the times too quickly, I’m not sure. While not all at race pace, I have cycled a lot of kilometres this year, so I feel the endurance should be there. So I was slightly disappointed to see my average after the final 36 minute effort. I didn’t feel as spent as I usually do after my long cycle, but it wasn’t as hot today as it usually is, (probably high twenties to low thirties, compared with the usual mid 30º heat I usually have to deal with), plus the downhill sections provided me with recovery time I don’t get on a flat stretch of road. Or another reason could be that I wasn’t pushing as hard as I ought to. Anyway with a run off this long bike still to come, one where I was really determined to run quick In wanted to ensure I had enough calories on board. I’d drank 3 litres of water, 1.5 litres of sports drink and as many finger bananas as will fit in three pockets of a cycling jersey. This is typically all I bring to sustain me on these cycles, but I think I said previously that I haven’t been happy with my running speed off these long bikes thus far in this training block. To prepare for the run and to top up my energy stores once finished the cycle I consumed a bottle of coke.

Run off bike;
    6.24km in 23.37 (avg. pace <3.47/km)

Ordinarily on the face of it, I’d be happy with overall average speed for this run. I managed it after a long bike, but as I’ve said already I’ve doubts about how hard I really pushed it on the cycle. I’d a couple of teenagers who thought it’d be good craic to join me for a few hundred meters on my first lap, which messed up my pacing. I ran this at <3.26/km, which turned out to be too quick. The other 5 laps then got progressively slower after this. I got a stitch on the last few laps of the run, probably caused by the bottle of coke I drank after finishing my cycle.

I didn't get in any open water swims this week, but I wonder are non wetsuit swims in warm water really going to prepare me for the much colder Atlantic, also any quality swimming I get done is all pool bases, so I'm not unduly bothered about it. I also only got one weights session in, I like to do two. But I know a lot of people don't bother, so it hardly places me at any significant disadvantage.

Now time for a 20.8km run. Here's hoping for sub 4.00/km pace.

Monday 15th July

Lunchtime

Swim;

3,300m
    400m warm up
    4 x 100m (25m f/s, 25m kick, 25m catch up, 25m swim) off 2.25
    2 x 400m off 9.00
    6 x 200m off 4.15
    6 x 50 off 1.00*

200m cool down

*The 6 x 50m down in the plan I’m using are supposed to be done at a steady pace, and I’m supposed to go off on 55 seconds, but I find myself swimming hard to make the times, so I took an extra 5 seconds.

p.m.

Run;
    20.80km in 1.21.11 (avg. pace <3.55/km)

I was very happy with how this run went. I’d deliberately taken it easy throughout the day, so I’d be reasonably fresh for it. I’ve been slightly off my hoped for pace the last couple of times I went for a long run, and I wanted to hit my target pace this week. I still wanted to be running at a steady and consistent pace and I didn’t want to be chasing a time at any point. I did the first three laps well under target and knew if I could hold it from here I’d be alright. I managed to do so, and with just 5 laps to go it started to rain. Glorious life giving rain! This also meant everybody else in the park went home and I know longer had to weave around people as I ran, or worry whether the oncoming scooter noticed me or not. I had plenty left in reserve when I started my last lap. As I do on a lot of occasions, I put the foot and kicked for home. I ran the last 1/04km lap at <2.36/km.

Tuesday 16th July

Lunchtime

Swim;

2,800m
    7 x 400m (mix of drills and slow steady paced stuff)

p.m.

Turbo;

Intervals - 1 hour 20 minutes
    15.00 warm up,
    {3.00 max effort, 2.00 recovery} x 10
    15.00 cool down

Wednesday 16th July

Lunchtime

Swim;

3,100m
    400m warm up
    5 x 100m off 1.55
    100m easy
    5 x 100m off 2.05
    100m easy
    5 x 100m off 1.55
    100m easy
    5 x 100m off 2.15
    400m cool down

I felt tired starting off, (and during, and when finished, and while I managed to come in on the right times, it was a real struggle and both times I was only getting two to three seconds rest for the final few hundreds when I was going off 1.55.

Turbo;
    10 minutes warm up,
    10 minutes @ 110rpm
    5 minutes easy
    10 minutes @ 110rpm
    10 minutes cool down

This wasn't a particularly challenging session. I took it easy and used whatever gearing was necessary to hit the high revs.

Run;
    8.00 warm up, 20.00 @ tempo pace, 10.00 recovery, 16.00 @ tempo pace, 8.00 recovery, 20.00 @ tempo pace, 8.00 cool down
    Estimate of tempo pace; <4.26/km

Thursday 17th July

a.m.

Swim;
    3,000m approximately, easy

p.m.

Brick;
    {40 minutes turbo resistance 5/7, @ 86-88rpm, 52x21, & 3.62km run off 1 hours} x 3

Friday 19th July

a.m.
    30 minutes lower & upper body weights

Lunchtime;

Swim;

4,000m
    400m warm up
    10 x 200m pull off 4.30
    6 x 100m off 1.55
    12 x 50m (alternating kick and swim, with 10 seconds rest)
    400m cool down
    p.m.

Run;
    15 minutes warm up and drills

Intervals with recovery in between
    3.12km @ interval pace
    2.08km @ interval pace
    3.12km @ interval pace

I completed all 10 laps in a cumulative time of 37.59 which gave me an average speed of <3.40/km. I didn’t keep a record, but I ran the shorter intervals at a quicker pace than the longer ones.

Saturday 20th July

I was busy the entire morning and most of the afternoon and it wasn’t until very late in the day that I was able to begin training. Seeing as it was a Saturday I would like to have got more done, but it was nearly 11p.m. when I finished up, so I ran out of time for a swim.

Turbo;
    12.30 warm up
    5.00 hard (52 x 21, resistance 5/7 @ 86-88rpm), 2.30 recovery
    10.00 hard (52 x 21, resistance 5/7 @ 86-88rpm), 5.00 recovery
    20.00 hard (52 x 21, resistance 5/7 @ 86-88rpm), 10.00 recovery
    40.00 hard (52 x 21, resistance 5/7 @ 86-88rpm), 20.00 recovery
    20.00 hard (52 x 21, resistance 5/7 @ 86-88rpm), 10.00 recovery
    10.00 hard (52 x 21, resistance 5/7 @ 86-88rpm), 5.00 recovery
    5.00 hard (52 x 21, resistance 5/7 @ 86-88rpm),
    12.30 cool down

I was watching the Tour de France while on the turbo. I’d finished the set when there were still a few kilometres to go in the race. I’d normally try to get out the door as quickly as possible, but it was building up to be an epic finish in France, so I took a bit longer the normal to see the finish.

Run off bike;
    7.28km in 27.42 (avg. pace <3.49km)

Time and average pace look okay, but it was harder than it normally is. My pace was dropping as well as the laps built up.

Sunday 21st July

Swim;

3,800m
    400m warm up
    8 x 50m kicking on my side (alternating sides)
    100m swim
    8 x 50m kicking with board
    100m swim
    2 x 400m pull
    4 x 100m off 2.05
    2 x 200m off 4.15
    400m hard

400m cool down

Turbo;

4 hours 20 minutes
    20.00 warm up
    40.00 HIM effort (resistance 5/7, 52x19, 86rpm), 20.00 recovery
    40.00 HIM effort (resistance 5/7, 52x19, 85rpm), 20.00 recovery
    40.00 HIM effort (resistance 5/7, 52x19, 82rpm)
    20.00 cool down

My rpm was falling towards the end of the fourth hour, but starting off I would have been happy to have held it above 80, and I never felt like I would drop below this number, so I was happy getting off the bike.

Run off bike;
    7.28km in 27.19 (avg. pace <3.46km)

This was faster than yesterday after a longer and harder bike session, so my run seems to be in okay shape.

I’m free for this current week, which is great as it coincides with a recovery week. I’m going to take full advantage of this and really recover. I’m going to go off to Koh Phi Phi for a few days and besides scuba diving and relaxing, whatever training I can fit in I will. But it won’t be anything like the volume or intensity of even a normal recovery week.

I planned to do sfa this week and ended up doing even less. I did a slow 30 minute run on Monday, then a 30 minute sea swim on Thursday, and a 2 hour easy bike ride on Sunday.

The sea swim was near 'The Beach', from the movie of the same name. I was out on a scuba diving day trip and the boat was anchored for lunch opposite this tourist attraction and I took the opportunity to go for a swim. It would have been possible to swim to the beach and back to my boat, but with sh!t loads of other boats taking tourists to the beach on day trips it would have been a risky endeavour.So for 30 minutes I just swam back and forth in the relative safety zone around my own boat instead.
    The sea was quite choppy and I was thrown about a lot. He didn't prove himself to be much of a swimmer in 'Titanic', so despite how the film goes I imagine Leonardo DiCaprrio didn't really swim to this beach.

Monday 29th July

Lunchtime:

Swim;

3,400m
    400m warm up
    4 x 400m off 9.30
    200m easy
    4 x 200m off 4.15
    400m swim down

p.m.:

Cycle;

Intervals
    30 minutes warm up,
    10 x 2km max effort
    30 minutes cool down

The 2km intervals were out and back efforts along the same stretch of road. The wind was against me for the 1st, 3rd, 5th, etc. intervals and with me on the 2nd, 4th, etc. ones. My speeds for the 10 intervals were; 1) 42.3km/hr, 2) 43.3km/hr, 3) 42.8km/hr, 4) 43.2km/hr, 5) 42.1km/hr, 6) 42.7km/hr, 7) 41.5km/hr, 8) 42.1km/hr, 9) 41.4km/hr, 10) 42.3km/hr

I did the exact same session during my training for Phuket, and my average speed for the 10 intervals was 41.06km/hr. Today it was 42.37km/hr. It is a different cycle computer I’m using now, so that might account for some of the difference. I did it with the same computer in this training block, but before I started logging and my speed is up on that as well. I’m happy to see this progress and hopefully there’s still time left for even more.

Run;
    7.28km in 25.43 (avg. pace <3.32/km)

This was my fastest of these types of runs by quite a bit, which is a good feeling. All 7 laps were completed in pretty much the same times, which I’m also happy about. I was really going for it, perhaps a bit too much after a week off. Without checking, I was worried I’d put on a few kilos and starting off I was fairly keen to clock a fast time, and perhaps I should have reined things in a bit.

Tuesday 30th July

Lunchtime;

30 minutes Upper & Lower Body weights

p.m.

Swim;

50 minutes O/W

I went to the sea with the intention of doing a 30-40 minute swim. It could be just me, but the sea I have to swim in does not seem as dirty as how I remember from last year. Hence it’s easier for me to stay in the water for longer than my planned for time.

Run;

21.84km in 1.23.45 (avg. pace <3.51/km)

I haven’t this distance this quickly since my half marathon PB, almost 4 years ago. To do it in training is great for my confidence. At the start of this training block my target pace for these long runs was <4.00/km, same as last year, but these long runs are proving a little bit easier than before, so maybe, just maybe I could lower my target time a little bit. I don’t know if it would be a good idea to run this distance at this pace every week, and I won’t make my mind up on it until I see how I’m feeling when next week’s run comes around. I normally try to just run these lengths of runs off feel and let the time take care of itself. From early on though I could see I was holding good pace and I started watching the clock. My average time per lap was getting closer and closer to under the 4 minute mark. After 8 laps, less than 32 minutes had elapsed and time instead of how I felt took over as my guide. From there I made sure to finish with an average time of less than 4 minute per lap.
    It took slightly more effort than normal to manage this, but mentally I feel it’s a good thing I clocked the time I did in the manner I did.

I’m not forgetting that I was very well rested after a week off training, which could account for a certain percentage of my improved speed, but come Kenmare I hope to be better primed, so I don’t think there was too much wrong with pushing harder tonight.

Wednesday 31st July

Lunchtime;

200m warm up
    400m timed (7.26)
    200m easy
    200m pull
    4 x 50m kick (10 seconds rest)
    200m f/s
    200m pull
    2 x 100m kick (20 seconds rest)
    200m f/s
    4 x 200m off 4.20
    400m cool down

I’m using the same swim plan as last year, and today I reached the final session in the plan. It was only a short session of 200m warm up, then the 400m TT, then a cool down. The other sets I added myself. 7.26 is clearly not very good when compared to some of the times I see posted on the site, but it was an improvement of 3 seconds on the previous time I had in the log.

p.m.

Turbo;

2 hours 10 minutes
    10.00 warm up, 10.00 hard (52x21, 88-90rpm), 8.00 recovery, 8.00 hard (52x19, 86-88rpm), 6.00 recovery, 6.00 hard (52x17, 85rpm), 4.00 recovery, 4.00 hard (52x15, 83rpm), 2.00 recovery, 2.00 hard (52x14, 79rpm), 10.00 recovery, 10.00 hard (52x21, 88-89rpm), 8.00 recovery, 8.00 hard (52x19, 86-88rpm), 6.00 recovery, 6.00 hard (52x17, 83rpm), 4.00 recovery, 4.00 hard (52x15, 79rpm), 2.00 recovery, 2.00 hard (52x14, 76rpm), 10.00 cool down

The control to vary the resistance has finally broken on my turbo, and it’s not possible to change the resistance anymore. It broke when the resistance was set to level 5/7. I can’t be 100% sure if that means it’s still at this level, but it does feel like it is. Whether it is or not, it’s all going to be the same from here on out, so there’s no point recording the resistance anymore.

Run;

20 minutes after the turbo;
    7.28km in 28.47 (avg. pace <3.57/km)

I was close to leaving my watch at home for this, but curiosity got the better of me and I took it along. I was sorry I did as while my average pace is still below 4.00/km, the watch showed my laps were getting slower and slower from the off. I stopped looking at it after 4 laps and just finished off at a cruising speed. When I did look at it again at the finish, it merely confirmed what I knew starting off, that my legs were tired. After the runs on Monday and Tuesday, it isn’t much of a surprise. I had originally planned to run intervals tomorrow, but will opt for an easier tempo run instead. I’m not overly concerned with speed for these tempo runs and it’s the closest thing to a weekly recovery run I do, so it makes more sense to give my legs more than 24 hours rest before my next hard run session.

Thursday 1st August

a.m;

30 minutes weights

p.m.

O/W swim:

40 minutes

Tempo Run;

1 hour 28 minutes

8.00 warm up, 18.00 @ tempo pace, 9.00 easy, 18.00 @ tempo pace, 9.00 easy, 18.00 @ tempo pace, 8.00 cool down

Friday 2nd August

a.m.;

20 minutes core work

Lunchtime;

Swim;

3,500m
    400m warm up
    5 x 100m off 1.55
    5 x 100m off 2.05
    5 x 100m off 2.15
    5 x 100m off 2.25

6 x 50m recovery off 1.10
    4 x 100m off 2.25
    400m swim down

p.m.;

Brick;

3 hours

{24.00 turbo & 2.16km run off 36.00} x 5

This included a transition up and down two flights of stairs, which made the run longer than I've logged.

Saturday 3rd August

Turbo;

4 hours 20 minutes
    20.00 warm up
    44.00 HIM effort (52x19, 85rpm), 16.00 recovery
    44.00 HIM effort (52x19, 83rpm), 16.00 recovery
    44.00 HIM effort (52x19, 81rpm), 16.00 recovery
    44.00 HIM effort (52x19, 82rpm),
    20.00 cool down

Run off Bike;
    7.28km in 27.16 (avg. pace <3.45/km)

This was tougher than normal, but I wanted to see an increase in speed from my last run off the bike, and I'm happy I could do it.

Sunday 4th August

Cycle;

2 hours +;

12.30 warm up, 5.00 effort, 2.30 recovery, 10.00 effort, 5.00 recovery, 20.00 effort, 10.00 recovery, 20.00 effort, 10.00 recovery, 10.00 effort, 5.00 recovery, 5.00 effort, 12.30 cool down

The efforts were slightly below my planned HIM intensity, so were pretty comfortable. I didn't want to become focussed on speed, so I didn't record it, but at the time I was happy with what was showing on my cycle computer.

Swim;
    1,000m easy
    800m easy
    600m easy
    400m easy
    200m easy
    Run;

1 hour 7 minutes
    8.00 warm up, 1.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery, 2.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery, 3.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery, 4.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery, 5.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery, 6.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery, 5.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery, 4.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery,3.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery, 2.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery, 1.00 @ interval pace, 8.00 cool down

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Great work Zico.
    That 4hr 20 min turbo really stands out with an very impressive run off it. Its difficult enough to do 4hrs on the road but fair play. Your commitment is 100%

Abhainn wrote: »
    Great work Zico.
    That 4hr 20 min turbo really stands out with an very impressive run off it. Its difficult enough to do 4hrs on the road but fair play. Your commitment is 100%

I wouldn't have cut a very impressive figure if you could have seen me. I don't know if it's commitment or stubbornness that keeps me going. My target race is The Lost Sheep, but with the change in dates I have not had the length of time to prepare for it as I would like. I'm honestly not expecting a super performance there. I'm just cramming in as much training as my body can handle. Whether that's a sensible approach or not, only time will tell. Like I said I'm training for Kenmare, but I sort of have one eye on next year already. Still humming and hawing about what races to pick as my targets for 2014, but I'm also hoping this training block gets my body used to more training volumes then I've ever done before. Whatever my targets turn out to be, I think the more I do right now the better.

Monday 5th August

Lunchtime;

Swim;

3,000m
    400m warm up
    12 x 50m (alternating 50 kick/50 pull/50 catch up/50 f/s) 10 secs rest
    12 x 50m kick
    5 x 200m off 4.15
    400m cool down

p.m.

Cycle;
    20 minute warm up, {(200m max velocity & 200m rolling) x 8} x6, 15 minute cool down
    These sets were done in the same direction on the same stretch of road, for recovery between the sets of 8 I turned around and pedalled back along the road before commencing the next set. I would have been well able for more, and only for the fading light I would have done two extra sets.

Run off bike;
    7.28km in 27.44 (avg. pace <3.49km)

While my average pace looks okay, the effort required to hit this speed wasn’t. I don't know if I’m expecting too much of myself, but I’d like to get my times for these below 3.55 for these 1.04km laps, on all runs off the bike from now on. I don’t expect to be able to maintain this pace for 21km in a half ironman run, but for one-third of the distance I feel I should be able to hold it.

Tuesday 6th August

a.m.

Swim;

3,200m
    400m warm up
    4 x 100m kick (20 secs rest)
    400m pull
    400m (300 easy, 100 hard)
    400m (200 easy, 200 hard)
    400m (100 easy, 300 hard)
    400m hard (7.28)
    400m cool down

p.m.

Run;
    21.84km in 1.28.30 (avg. pace <4.04/km)
    I went on another visa run to Myanmar after my swim in the morning. Not having to go into work meant I got a longer lie in, but because of this it was later than I had planned when I eventually set off. I started my run after 10p.m., and less than half an hour after finishing a 2½ hour trip on a scooter. My legs felt heavy from the off and I finished the last lap feeling like I’d never really got going. I hope I can put this down to the long time I spent sat on a scooter today. It probably wasn’t the best idea to do a key session after the way I’d spent the day, but I doubt there’s any significant damage done. I’ll ensure I tackle next week’s long run on fresher legs and expect a better outcome.

Wednesday 7th August

Lunchtime;

Swim;

3,600m
    400m warm up
    4 x 400m off 9.30
    4 x 200m off 4.30
    4 x 100m off 2.05

400m cool down

p.m.

Cycle;
    8.00 warm up, 10.00 hard, 5.00 recovery, 8.00 hard, 4.00 recovery,
    6.00 hard, 3.00 recovery, 4.00 hard, 2.00 recovery, 2.00 hard, 1.00 recovery, 2.00 hard, 1.00 recovery, 4.00 hard, 2.00 recovery, 6.00 hard, 3.00 recovery, 8.00 hard, 4.00 recovery, 10.00 hard, 8.00 cool down

This was a straight out and straight back affair. I was running out of daylight hours and took a shorter warm up and shorter recoveries than I otherwise would have liked. As the durations of the hard efforts and recoveries was going to get shorter and shorter, my usual method of recording my average speed on my phone was going to be more and more of a nuisance, so I didn’t bother taking note.

I skipped my usual run after a bike session as I was unhappy with my both my runs on Monday and Tuesday, and figured one day off would be more beneficial than punishing myself for a third day on the trot.

Thursday 8th August

a.m.;

Run;

Intervals
    15 minutes warm up and drills
    3.12km @ interval pace,
    2.08km @ interval pace x 2,
    3.12km @ interval pace

Total accumulative time for all the intervals was 38.06, which gives an average interval pace of <2.40km, would like to see it slightly faster, but I began within less than half an hour of waking up. The intervals weren’t ran at a consistent pace, which is something I’m more annoyed about as I feel I’ve gotten myself to a position where I’m usually quite good at this.

p.m.

Swim;

35 minutes o/w

Turbo;

1 hour 30 minutes

400m warm up
    4 x 100 off 1.45,
    200 easy,
    4 x 100 off 1.55,
    200 easy,
    4 x 100 off 2.25 (25 f/s, 50 catch-up, 25 f/s),
    400 cool down

Friday 9th August

Lunchtime

Swim;

2,400m

If completed successfully the first set of 4*100 was going to give a time quicker than my PB for the current year. This didn’t strike me as odd at the beginning the session. I just knew it was going to be an extremely tough set, and I’d be pushed to my limits to get all four 100s done on time. As it happened I was pushing off too late for the third and fourth set, but I still managed to significantly reduce my previous best straight 400m time. This prompted me to start a thread on the main forum, but I’m still a bit perplexed as to why it should happen. It’s just one more frustrating thing about swimming for me.

p.m.

Brick;

3 hours
    {32.00 turbo 52x21, 84-86rpm & 2.16km run off 45.00} x 4

Saturday 10th August

Cycle;

5 hours
    30.00 warm up,
    48.00 HIM effort (avg. speed 38.2km/hr), 12.00 recovery,
    48.00 HIM effort (avg. speed 38.7km/hr), 12.00 recovery,
    48.00 HIM effort (avg. speed 36.7km/hr), 12.00 recovery,
    48.00 HIM effort (avg. speed 36.8km/hr),
    42.00 cool down
    I began this cycle hoping to have even splits for each of the 4 HIM efforts, so I held back a bit on the first one especially, only using the biggest gear when the pedals were getting away from me. I abandoned this approach for the second split and pushed my biggest gear throughout. The first and third were done in the same direction on pretty much the exact same stretch of road. It’s the same for the second and fourth. I’ve cycled this road many, many times and I’m usually faster going out on efforts one and three, the wind today though was with me on the return legs and the opposite happened.
    From just checking back through my log, I see I did a similar session at the start of July. My average speed over the four race paced efforts that day was 0.325km/hr quicker than my efforts today. But in July my 4 HIM splits and recovery were 30 minutes apiece, today I was working hard for 48 minutes and taking just 12 minutes rest. I don’t have a very specific memory of the day in June, but I also imagine the conditions were more favourable. With all this in mind, I am confident to say my cycling has progressed.
    I am not happy however with how my speed dropped. I’m not particularly worried about blowing up in Kenmare. It will be much cooler and my bike will be a few kilos lighter. These are just two things that will count in my favour. But still I wasn’t able to maintain a high speed today, and going forward it is food for thought.

It was hot out on my cycle and I ran out of water less half way through my final race paced effort. With my usual run off the bike still to come, I knew Coca-Cola wasn’t the best thing to replenish myself with. But by the end of my cycle I was parched and I couldn’t resist and stopped at a restaurant beside my apartment for a bottle. I waited about half an hour and then went for my run.

Run;

7.28km in 27.14 (avg. pace <3.45/km)

It wasn’t much of a surprise, but drinking the coke turned out to be a mistake. I manage the first three laps fine and ran them in a time of 11.27, I was running well and was feeling confident of sustaining this speed when I was hit by a very painful stitch half way through the fourth lap. In a race I’d just try my best to run through the discomfort, but here in training I was slowing down drastically and I didn’t see the point in finishing off the seven laps with a pathetic time. I stopped after finishing this fourth lap and walked for 5 minutes. The stitch wasn’t fully gone, but I began the fifth lap hoping for the best. I wasn’t able to pick back up the pace though, and ran the final three laps 12 seconds per kilometre slower than my first three.

Sunday 11th August

a.m.

Swim;

3,000m
    1,000m easy
    800m pull
    600m easy
    400m pull
    200m easy

p.m.

Run;

1 hour 28 minutes tempo run
    8.00 warm up
    20.00 @ tempo pace,
    10.00 easy,
    20.00 @ tempo pace,
    10.00 easy
    20.00 @ tempo pace

I was late starting my run, and the restaurant I normally eat at would be closed if I did a cool down. I hadn’t really been working too hard at any stage, so I skipped it.

Monday 12th August

Lunchtime

Swim;

3,200m
    400m warm up
    4*100m off 2.25 (25 f/s, 50 catch up, 25 f/s)
    8*50 kick (20 seconds rest)
    400m pull
    8*100m off 1.55
    4*100m off 2.15 (50 easy & 50 hard)
    400m cool down

p.m.

Run;

21.84km in 1.27.14 (avg. pace <4.00km)

I had the day off work and would have done three sessions, but I figured today was going to best condition I’d be in all week for my long run. As I said I had the day off work, but that doesn’t really mean what you might think. My school asked me to attend a ceremony honouring the Thai queen that was due to start at 17.30. If you think people in Ireland are unpunctual, they have nothing on the Thais. After standing around for an hour, the ceremony finally got underway at 18.30. I then had to stand through an incomprehensible and extremely boring ceremony, for an hour and a half before I finally got away. I went home and rested for half an hour before heading back out for my weekly 20km-ish run.

I went through different stages of feeling strong and feeling week, sometimes off my target pace sometimes under it. Just about scraped under 4.00/km for what is going to be final long run before my taper, so although I’d like to have had a few more seconds per kilometre to spare, I’ll take it.

Tuesday 13th August

Lunchtime;

Swim;

2,800m
    400m warm up
    400m timed (7.16)
    400m (300 easy & 100 hard)
    400m (200 easy & 200 hard)
    400m (300 easy & 100 hard)
    400m hard
    400m cool down

p.m.

Brick;

{40.00 on turbo and 3.62km run off 1 hour} x 3

Wednesday 14th August

Lunchtime;

Swim;

3,200m
    400m warm up
    8*100m pull off 2.25
    10*50m kick (20 seconds rest)
    6*100m off 2.15 (increasing efforts)
    I managed this quiet well I thought, coming in on 1.53 for my first effort. My times fell from this effort on, and I came in on 1.46 for the sixth and final effort. I was feeling confident and thought I was going to successfully complete the session hitting all my times, but that’s not how it panned out.
    10*50m off 0.55
    According to the plan I’m following I’m supposed to be doing these 10 efforts at a steady pace. But for whatever reason I find myself having to swim at an uncomfortable pace. It was only fifty metres and in the hope of getting as much rest as possible I pushed harder from the off. Concentration on form inevitably waivers and after finishing the fifth effort I took a minute rest before pushing off again to complete the set.
    400m cool down

p.m.

Tempo Run;

1 hour 36 minutes
    8.00 warm up, 20.00 @ tempo pace, 10.00 recovery, 20.00 @ tempo pace, 10.00 recovery, 20.00 @ tempo pace, 8.00 cool down

I did this run as an out and back session. Times were very consistent and the two out and back splits were pretty much the exact same. Would be great to think I’ll be able to run a race at such a controlled pace, not long left until I find out.

Turbo;

1 hour 5 minutes
    10.00 warm up
    {3.00 52x14 @ 84-86rpm & 1.30 recovery} x 10
    10.00 cool down

Thursday 15th August

p.m.

Turbo;

4 hours 30 minutes
    20.00 warm up
    48.00 HIM effort (52x19, 81 rpm), 12.00 recovery
    48.00 HIM effort (52x19, 80 rpm), 12.00 recovery
    48.00 HIM effort (52x21, 82 rpm), 12.00 recovery
    48.00 HIM effort (52x21, 83 rpm)
    22.00 cool down

Run off bike;

7.28km in 27.31 (avg. pace <3.47/km)

After the way the long turbo went, I wasn’t too confident starting off this run and was debating whether to go ahead with or not. The sub-par performance I turned in on the bike had me worried that the run would be similar. I ran the first lap as a tester and legs felt okay. I completed my first lap in 4.01 and decided to push hard from here and take the consequences. My second lap was the fastest of the seven. After completing laps 4 and 5, which I consider the deal breakers, I was sure I was to be running an okay time. I slowed down a fraction from here and finished up happy with a time, which still some way off my best is a lot quicker than I’ll have to run in Kenmare.

Friday 16th August

I finished up after midnight last night and there was no way I was getting up for an early a.m. session. It was my final day in my Thai school today and I thought it would have been poor form to skip away for a few hours to get a training session in. In the evening I had to attend a going away meal, so the only time I was going to have for exercise would be late at night. I was wreaked when I was finally free and I just went to bed. It’s my third hard week’s training on the trot without rest days, my long run and long bike are out of the way, so I don’t feel one bit bad about not getting any training done.

Saturday 17th August

Swim;

3,200m
    1,000m easy
    800m pull
    600m easy
    400m pull
    200m hard
    200m cool down

Run;

1 hour 8 minutes
    8.00 warm up, 1.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery, 2.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery, 3.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery, 4.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery, 5.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery, 6.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery, 5.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery, 4.00 @ interval pace, 2.00 recovery, 3.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery, 2.00 @ interval pace, 1.00 recovery, 1.00 @ interval pace, 10.00 recovery,

Sunday 18th August

Swim;

3,100m
    400m warm up
    5*100m off 1.55
    100m easy
    5*100m off 2.05
    100m easy
    5*100m off 2.05
    100m easy
    5*100m off 1.55
    400m cool down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

Another beast of a weeks training.

4 hour turbo, with over 3 hours of it at HIM intensity? Surely thats substantially longer than you'll be on the bike in Kenmare.

And 3 hours of a brick session?

And almost 90minutes at 4min/k pace?

You're some man for horsing through the hard yards. When you back on these shores??

BTH wrote: »
    Another beast of a weeks training.

4 hour turbo, with over 3 hours of it at HIM intensity? Surely thats substantially longer than you'll be on the bike in Kenmare.

I hope so, it'll be a disaster of a cycle for me if it's not. Still 3 hours is substantially shorter than I'll be biking and running for, so I think it's something I should be able for. I've never actually held a consistent output over these 4 efforts in any of my long bikes this training cycle, so I'm not sure that I can say that I am fully able for it.
    BTH wrote: »
    And almost 90minutes at 4min/k pace?

I want to run at this pace in Kenmare, so I think I should get my body used to it. That's the strategy I'm adopting. I did the same for an Ironman 70.3 last December and I was happy with how I ran. Will reflect on things after The Lost Sheep and see if it was a wise approach or not.

You're some man for horsing through the hard yards. When you back on these shores??[/QUOTE]

'Horsing through the hard yards' is the easy bit, whether I can turn in a performance on race day will be the acid test.
    I flew into Dublin this morning, so I'm back already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

zico10 wrote: »
    Will reflect on things after The Lost Sheep and see if it was a wise approach or not.

'Horsing through the hard yards' is the easy bit, whether I can turn in a performance on race day will be the acid test.

I'm certainly not questioning your training and the way you go about it. You've proven in the Past that the busting a gut method of training works for you so why change it now. Pretty certain I'd end up a quivering wreck and probably need to be put down, but sure I'm only soft anyway!

zico10 wrote: »
    I flew into Dublin this morning, so I'm back already.

Good stuff. Plenty of time to acclimatise :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,104 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Welcome home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭pgibbo

Savage training. I reckon you'll get your reward in Kenmare.

Welcome home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Great work of late Zico, run pace really stands out as usual. Make sure you study the course back to front, we dont want a repeat of last time:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Fazz

Welcome back indeed Zico.

I'm with BTH, you are flying through your training and some very impressive work being put down that's for sure.
    You do a lot more faster running and volume than me so will be interesting to compare how we go. I don't have the run experience or pace you've shown but will try keep you honest if I can! Gonna have to swim and bike like the clappers on race day for that :D

Very much looking forward to doing battle Saturday week!
    Will be down next Thurs all going well if you're up for a course recce - you'll prob know it backwards by then so maybe you can show me the way!

Lost Sheep is stacked so I hear anyway so there could be lots of battles going on... Nolan, Woods, Olenicjak, Martin, Dolan maybe?, and many more no doubt should make for some excellent racing all going well.

See you then.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭aficionado

Hey Zico,

Just came across your log, been reading with great interest.
    Im based in Shenzhen, China and feel your pain with night time training, crazy drivers and kids in swimming pools.

Signed up for Phuket this year, did my first 70.3 last year in Taiwan, finished in 5.14 but hopping to knock 20-25 min for Phuket.

Hopefully following something similar to your build up last year albeit with about 15-20% less volume.
    Are you permanently in Ireland or going back to Thailand?

Fazz wrote: »

Very much looking forward to doing battle Saturday week!
    Will be down next Thurs all going well if you're up for a course recce - you'll prob know it backwards by then so maybe you can show me the way!

See you then.

I don't think we're going to have much of a battle to be honest. I'll be massacred in the swim and will never recover.:)

I won't be able to get down there any earlier than Friday, so there'll be no recce of the course for me. I've done the race twice before, and cycled the route on another occasion, so think I should be okay.

I'll see you on the start line, or at the finish line, or in the pub after. I'm not sure what you look like, but I'll be the guy with the stupid tattoos who may or may not have a beard.

aficionado wrote: »
    Hey Zico,

Just came across your log, been reading with great interest.
    Im based in Shenzhen, China and feel your pain with night time training, crazy drivers and kids in swimming pools.

Signed up for Phuket this year, did my first 70.3 last year in Taiwan, finished in 5.14 but hopping to knock 20-25 min for Phuket.

Hopefully following something similar to your build up last year albeit with about 15-20% less volume.
    Are you permanently in Ireland or going back to Thailand?

I'm back in Ireland for the long haul I think. I'm a teacher here and the job had been held for me for three year, one of the perks. It was always my intention to come back to it.

There's certainly far more suitable training spots to be found here in Ireland, but perhaps I was being too harsh on the Thais. I only ever had one accident there. I've been told by people who've been to both countries that drivers' behaviour is much worse in China.

Good luck in Phuket, it's not an easy one.

I realise it's been well over two months since The Lost Sheep, but feel like I should post a race report and finish off this log before I show my face round here again.

In a nutshell the race didn't go according to plan. There were different reasons for it, either outside or inside my control depending on your point of view.

First off my taper wasn't exactly textbook. Two and a half weeks out from the race I started packing up and leaving what for nearly two and a half years was my hometown in Thailand. I'd accumulated a lot of stuff over this period and it wasn't an easy decision choosing what to pack and what to leave behind. I'm not the most decisive person and the whole packing business took longer than it should have done. It interfered hugely with my training during the second half of my first week of tapering.

My flight home was on the 28th August, but I hoping to go out with a bang I had also entered a race on the 25th August. This put extra pressure on me and I missed a few training sessions, and had to cut a few others short because of it.

It was a bit of a rush, but I did make the start line of that race on the 25th. I'd raced the same event last year, but they'd changed the course so it wasn't going to be much use to judge the progress, or lack of, I had made.

It was an Olympic distance race, and it was the first triathlon I'd done since the Ironman 70.3 in Phuket last December. Not everything went smoothly for me and I wasn't overly happy with my performance. But I placed better than 12 months previous and on another day think I could have been a few minutes quicker.

For the record my times were; Swim - 0:30:56 T1 - 0:00:53 Bike - 1:05:18 T2 - 0:00:31 Run- 0:40:20 Overall- 02:17:57.30

The race was on a Sunday and after finishing, it was get to Bangkok and hang around in the city until my flight on the Tuesday evening. I didn't even try to fit in training over this two day period and on the Monday night paid one last visit to Khaosan Road.

I woke up on the Tuesday with a hangover and when afternoon came around I made my way to the airport to catch my flight home. I boarded the flight and 17 hours later was back in Dublin. Just over another 24 later I was back at work.

That was a Thursday and on the Friday I got the lend of my brother's car to drive down to home to get my wetsuit and tri bike. I hadn't used either in over three years. My bike had been up in the attic since I flew back from Challenge Copenhagen way back in August 2010, and I had problems putting it back together. I only got it out on the road on Sunday.

I took my wetsuit back up to Dublin and went for two swims at Seapoint in advance of the race in Kenmare. I found the water cold, but still after two years swimming in the seas around Thailand, it wasn't as bad as I had feared. I did a few more cycles and runs the same week and headed down to Kenmare hopeful rather than expectant.

The swim which was the leg I was most dreading turned out to be fine. The two swims I'd done in The Irish Sea the previous week had me believing that I was going to be cold for however long I spent in the water. But it was actually the opposite and swimming in my wetsuit was the warmest I felt all day.

As far as I can remember the swim was pretty straightforward. I felt like I was going well and I came out of the water in 34 minutes. I'd no watch with me and didn't know it at the time, but considering the unstructured nature of the swim training I'd be doing over the previous few years, it's a time I am happy with. Despite not knowing the time, I felt like I'd swam well and was comfortable and feeling confident coming out of the water.

Upon standing up though and running into transition, the first thing to strike me was how cold the ground felt running along in my bare feet. Perhaps I was being a bit soft, but I wasn't used to the sensation and it definitely slowed me down.

I was wearing a long sleeve compression top to guard against no longer cycling in +30° heat, but it wasn't enough protection with the weather on the day. I think the general consensus after the race was that it was a pretty miserable day to be racing. I started off the bike brimming with enthusiasm, but the weather wasn't long dampening this vigour.

I passed a number of people in my first 20 minutes or so, without anyone overtaking me. But with the rain and the cold I was completely miserable and and at that point I adopted a mindset I don't usually have in a race and just stopped caring. Two people passed me and I just let them off. No matter how hard I worked I didn't feel any warmer. I was desperate for the first climb, so as I could get my heart rate up and with it hoped my enthusiasm would return.

The hill duly came, which to work hard I took in a big gear. It had little effect though and I wasn't warming up. I pushed harder and caught the two who had passed me earlier and a few others as well, but I was still cold and miserable. I was just about to reach the summit when I saw two more cyclist ahead of me. Not wanting to be stuck behind anybody on the descents I gave an extra push and passed them right before the brow of the hill.

Not having done much cycling on my TT bike for a few years, combined with how cold I was still feeling, made me unsure of myself on the descents. The two guys I'd just passed weren't long catching and passing me and I lost a few more places in similar fashion.

I was back to not caring about the race and with around 35km clocked I noticed I was losing power with each pedal stroke. At this point I noticed that my saddle was sliding down into the frame. The saddle clamp had held firm on the four bike outings I had the previous week and I didn't bother tightening it before the race. It was a costly oversight and the saddle was falling lower and lower as the race went on.

By 50km it had fallen as low as it was going to fall and it was impossible to generate anything like maximum power when I was seated. I kept going and went from not caring to feeling sorry for myself. I was asking the marshals by the roadside had they a set of Allen keys, and got out of the saddle at even the slightest incline.

I lost a good few places and was delighted when the end of the bike came. My race was over as far as I was concerned and overall place or finishing time no longer mattered to me. I wasn't prepared to run along the cold ground in my bare feet, and didn't perform a flying dismount coming into transition.

I took my time in T2 and began the run wishing I was thousands of miles away in Thailand. I managed to maintain a good enough intensity throughout the run, and regained a good few places that I'd lost on the bike. Like many others I found it a very tough course. Conditions didn't help, but regardless it would certainly rank as the toughest run I've ever done in a triathlon.

My finishing time was 04:50:30 with 00:33:47, 02:44:32 and 01:26:43 splits.

I hadn't been expecting a super result, but this was disappointing. There's nothing for me to take from it, other than check my bike more thoroughly if I ever leave it lying idle for another three years. I'm back in Ireland for the long haul though, and hopefully I'll be back next year to give a better account of myself.