Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

welfare tourist gets off the hook

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

Nodin wrote: »
    This bollocks again......

There was no evidence. The numbers that failed to sign on were of the same level as usual. However this keeps coming up because it doesn't suit people to believe otherwise.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=73136199&postcount=79
    http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2010-06-17.1052.0

and you believe FF? :pac: its only now Minister Burton is waking up, well she's still a bit asleep, but we'll give her time. Well yea they changed the sign on procedure from 1 month to every week just for the craic like. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Did you bother to click on the 2nd link provided?

Yeah, I did. Only mentions those who didnt sign on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

VEN wrote: »
    and you believe FF? :pac: its only now Minister Burton is waking up, well she's still a bit asleep, but we'll give her time. Well yea they changed the sign on procedure from 1 month to every week just for the craic like. :rolleyes:

The same conclusion was reached independently by the Sunday Tribune. I'd suggest you produce proof that the case is otherwise.
    IrishAM wrote:
    Yeah, I did.

Then why are you asking?

IrishAm wrote: »
    Yeah, I did. Only mentions those who didnt sign on.

....but the whole "flying over to claim" thing was based on the notion that extra numbers didn't sign on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

That is a good question.

I am Lithuanian myself. ( I presume I did a mistake by saying this, because I will get hanged here now ) . As a Lithuanian I can enter or exit any eu country with no extra check ups. I travel in to Ireland or out of it like any iris citizen. So can they actually ban him from here as eu citizen?
    Then again, I though you need to sign every week and physically be in there to get dole? Flying there and back is not really cheap. Misses mother died and we payed 500eu for last minute tickets.
    He was cough in Mallow ( I am from Mallow myself, but I don't know him ) and the only flight you could get to ithuania is from Dublin. 50eu train tickets from Dublin to Mallow and back to Dublin.

kiekvienas turi teise i savo nuomone!
    it still has not been explained how often people who are defrauding the state need to fly here to collect their dole, one a week, one a month? flights from lithuania are never cheap enough for it to be profitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Fuinseog wrote: »
    it still has not been explained how often people who are defrauding the state need to fly here to collect their dole, one a week, one a month? flights from lithuania are never cheap enough for it to be profitable.

That what I was curious about, too. But you only need to fly here 4 times a month. So maybe some sort of business deal or something like freuqent fliers. dunno.

Or they're claiming multiple IDs (possible and very profitable). Plus fake IDs are easy to get so technically, it'd only be once a month if you get someone to collect the dole.

Yer man was up in court and in front of a judge.

he was indeed, but should he not have been made pay some kind of fine, if not spend some time in prison. instead he was merely told to go home. Did he even have to repay the amount he defrauded the state?

I would have more a problem with yet another poor judgement than the offender. Going back forty years or so if you were a bad boy the judge would tell you you could go to prison or to London.

he was indeed, but should he not have been made pay some kind of fine, if not spend some time in prison. instead he was merely told to go home. Did he even have to repay the amount he defrauded the state?

They seized €1,100 off him at the airport. He had the alternative to leave and never return, or a 10 month jail sentence. This is all in the article in the OP.

Get your buddy to collect your moolah each week from the Post Office. Fly back once a month to sign on.

Is it profitable. Lets investigate.

188 x 4 = 752 per month.

Next available Ryanair return flight from VIL-DUB 1,182.94 LTL/ 342.60 EUR

Profit of 409.40EUR

You would get a cheaper flight too, if you booked the flights in advance.

I cant see anyone flying in once a week, mind. Unless they are based in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Member state of the EU and full member of the Schengen Agreement. So he can roam around without restrictions, unless he has to face criminal prosecutions in his home country
    That is a good question.

I am Lithuanian myself. ( I presume I did a mistake by saying this, because I will get hanged here now ) . As a Lithuanian I can enter or exit any eu country with no extra check ups. I travel in to Ireland or out of it like any iris citizen. So can they actually ban him from here as eu citizen?
    Then again, I though you need to sign every week and physically be in there to get dole? Flying there and back is not really cheap. Misses mother died and we payed 500eu for last minute tickets.
    He was cough in Mallow ( I am from Mallow myself, but I don't know him ) and the only flight you could get to ithuania is from Dublin. 50eu train tickets from Dublin to Mallow and back to Dublin.

From my reading of Directive 2004/38/EC, it seems possible to be banned on the grounds of "public policy, public security or public health" <whatever that means?> (para 22)
    It also hints you could be banned to protect against abuse and fraud (para 28).
    In any event he has the right to reapply for entry after 3 years (para 27).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Tiesa, bet Jau galima pasiruosti "visi lietiviai nieksai" politikai.

Anyway. I read the article and there is fec all details on actual case. I showed picture of him to misses and she knew him, she knew his wife quite well too. All the time they were in Mallow I only heard about them both working all the time. He did lost his job in waste company 2 years ago. The were doing cutbacks and all foreigners got cut.
    His wife was always working and in more then one job usually. So it's very weird to hear this happen.
    I would need to call someone who knew them better as I don't socialise much with other Lithuanians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Where is Killian Forde? :confused:

He just loves to talk about non nationals and welfare.

Maybe he's worn out from lodging complaints with the gardaí

Having a break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

IrishAm wrote: »
    Get your buddy to collect your moolah each week from the Post Office. Fly back once a month to sign on.

Is it profitable. Lets investigate.

188 x 4 = 752 per month.

Next available Ryanair return flight from VIL-DUB 1,182.94 LTL/ 342.60 EUR

Profit of 410.60 EUR

You would get a cheaper flight too, if you booked the flights in advance.

I cant see anyone flying in once a week, mind. Unless they are based in the UK.

Technically speaking you'd need photo ID for the PO. Or at least you *should*. They don't care in the welfare, TBH. I've often had convos with people who work full time and just pop down on their hour's break to sign on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

slimjimmc wrote: »
    From my reading of Directive 2004/38/EC, it seems possible to be banned on the grounds of "public policy, public security or public health" <whatever that means?> (para 22)
    It also hints you could be banned to protect against abuse and fraud (para 28).
    In any event he has the right to reapply for entry after 3 years (para 27).

I would say, if you serve a suspended prison sentence or carry a disease, which can spread to others, causing harm

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Where is Killian Forde? :confused:

He just loves to talk about non nationals and welfare.

Maybe he's worn out from lodging complaints with the gardaí

Having a break

What complaint...?

this case highlights just how easy to defraud the Irish system is. one o the comments at the and of article puts it nicely.

Gdansk is a fair old drive from Lithuania. you would wonder how it makes financial sense. he is probably doing a bit of cigarette smuggling as well.

What complaint...?

The one his quango planned to make
    The group said it intends to make a complaint to Gardaí today under the Garda Racist Reporting Mechanism which allows any person to report a racist incident even if they haven’t been the actual victim.

The Integration Centre chief executive Killian Forde said: “Given that there is no mechanism to discipline or even make a formal complain about Judges we feel obliged to take this action in response to Judge Devins remark and her opportune and irrelevant so called apology.

http://www.thejournal.ie/mary-devins-mayo-polish-social-welfare-integration-centre-complaint-gardai-542247-Aug2012/

this case (........)smuggling as well.

Theres no need to quote unfounded stupid comments from anonymous people commenting on the indo, as I'm sure more will be posted on here as this thread winds its merry way along.

The one his quango planned to make

"planned". You said he made one.

Is taking action against racism and xenophobia something to be criticised now? Please do explain.

Anyway. I read the article and there is fec all details on actual case. I showed picture of him to misses and she knew him, she knew his wife quite well too. All the time they were in Mallow I only heard about them both working all the time. He did lost his job in waste company 2 years ago. The were doing cutbacks and all foreigners got cut.
    His wife was always working and in more then one job usually. So it's very weird to hear this happen.
    I would need to call someone who knew them better as I don't socialise much with other Lithuanians.

As per daug del to nepergyvenciau. Airiai taip pat 'melzia' sistema.

Is taking action against racism and xenophobia something to be criticised now? Please do explain.

my dear Nodin, in this life people may have a different opinion to yours. You do not need to become abusive. try to keep it civilised maith an fear.

I don't follow the man around Nodin

He goes to the media, says he is going to make a complaint, gives the exact way he is going to do it and so I believe that's what he will do

CEO of that group, he makes the decisions

And if he didn't make the complaint then he is a spoofer and time waster

people will soon get sick of others exploiting the race card. where I live many people, both Irish and non nationals, are milking the very generous welfare system so all its worth. I started this thread to see if I could find out how easy it would be to defraud the system.

I don't follow the man around Nodin......

Neither do I. I can use google however. The judge made a half hearted apology, at which stage a complaint was going to be lodged. The judge then made a full and abject apology, which was deemed to close the matter, thus no complaint was made.

You still haven't explained why tackling racism and xenophobia is something to be criticised.

I don't follow the man around Nodin

He goes to the media, says he is going to make a complaint, gives the exact way he is going to do it and so I believe that's what he will do

CEO of that group, he makes the decisions

And if he didn't make the complaint then he is a spoofer and time waster

His quango is funded by Chuck Feeney's The Atlantic Philanthropies. Since the Immigration Council of Ireland has been formed, it has received more funding, during the same period, than Fianna Fail. The Atlantic Philantrophies plans to cease funding this quango in 2016. Hence the reason they involve themselves in every spat or dispute involving non Irish nationals. Gotta keep relevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Sending him home is far cheaper than banging him up for the guts of a year. It's something like 80K to keep a prisoner in prison for a year.

but a hefty fine would not cost the state anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

but a hefty fine would not cost the state anything.
    they took the thousand he had on him at the airport.

Neither do I. I can use google however. The judge made a half hearted apology, at which stage a complaint was going to be lodged. The judge then made a full and abject apology, which was deemed to close the matter, thus no complaint was made.

You still haven't explained why tackling racism and xenophobia is something to be criticised.

too far east is west. the Polish embassy did not kick up a fuss and while the Polish community were not amused they are not as hyper sensitive as some Irish, who see racism everywhere, are. Most Poles will also acknowledge that they themselves are not always the most tolerant of peoples. try going to Poland as a black gay.

they took the thousand he had on him at the airport.

what about the 5 grand he defrauded the state of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Tym wrote: »
    Hmmm, wonder how many Irish people defraud the state...

Probably a good few, but it's worse when foreigners do it.
    They had a chance to make double what they could earn in their home countries and it pisses me off when I hear of cases like this.

we have enough Irish people abusing the system. we do not need any foreign assistance.
    they are slowly making it harder, but Ireland is still the easiest EU state to claim welfare.
    there was a time in the nineties when the 'great unwashed' in Galway only had to give park bench no. 5 Eyre Square as an address and they got free money, more if they had a half starved dog on a bit of twine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭war_child

I would very much like to know what this comment means , foreignors are laughing at our laws in Ireland as we do nothing to stop them , this is a hugely serious matter apart fromthe usual how many Irish people defraud the system crap, this guy was claiming IRISH WELFARE whilst not resident in IRELAND thats the case here nothing else matters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

try going to Poland as a black gay.

Okay.

Completly Agree

too far (......)a black gay.

So is there a chart that logs how tolerant other countries are and the offical level tolerance extended to them here because of that?

war_child wrote: »
    I would very much like to know what this comment means , foreignors are laughing at our laws in Ireland as we do nothing to stop them , this is a hugely serious matter apart fromthe usual how many Irish people defraud the system crap, this guy was claiming IRISH WELFARE whilst not resident in IRELAND thats the case here nothing else matters

I think, everybody is laughing about the laws in Ireland ;)

I would very much like to know what this comment means , foreigners are laughing at our laws in Ireland as we do nothing to stop them , this is a hugely serious matter apart fromthe usual how many Irish people defraud the system crap, this guy was claiming IRISH WELFARE whilst not resident in IRELAND thats the case here nothing else matters

I often wondered, do foreigners hire out rooms in pubs for these laughing sessions, or do they have informal gatherings in each others free houses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Pikachu

fyp

I often wondered, do foreigners hire out rooms in pubs for these laughing sessions, or do they have informal gatherings in each others free houses?

Don't forget the free cheese, meals and cars, which, of course, is not given to anyone Irish ;)

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Don't forget the free cheese, meals and cars, which, of course, is not given to anyone Irish ;)

Course. Why, though? I'd say its a plot.

I smell some conspiracy, too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

2 things in this story don't add up for me.

1. Do you not have to sign on every week now? If that was the case, surely the cost of his weekly flights in and out of the country would cancel out his welfare payments?

2. If he's Lithuanian, can't he just fly back into the Ireland whenever he wants, given the fact Lithuania is an EU country?

I thought that too.

Still it has to be rare enough if it's making news. And apparently this arrest was made because of a tip off.

Noddy stop burying ur head in the sand ofcourse theirlaughing they get everything they want handed to them but imnot getting in to that arguement again , the plain and simple fact of the matter is he defrauded the country whilst not living here simple as that , the fact that hes a foreignor only makes the matter much worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

of course not.....the go on expensive holidays, and laugh there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Darius.Tr

Grayson wrote: »
    I thought that too.

Still it has to be rare enough if it's making news. And apparently this arrest was made because of a tip off.

Probably some of his friends tipped the Garda/airport customs off because they weren't that succesfull scamming the welfare system.

Darius.Tr wrote: »
    Probably some of his friends tipped the Garda/airport customs off because they weren't that succesfull scamming the welfare system.

Or maybe somebody working in the dole office was actually working and became aware of the scam? ;)

translation

true, but get ready for for "all Lithuanians are bastards"

Noddy stop burying ur head in the sand ofcourse theirlaughing they get everything they want handed to them but imnot getting in to that arguement again

...because its a crock.
    the plain and simple fact of the matter is he defrauded the country whilst not living here simple as that ,

Nobody said he wasn't.