Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 MegaThread [Part 2]

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

cgpg5 wrote: »
    When did GB take such an interest in track cycling? I'd imagine after a terrible 1990s they identified a niche in it and sought to exploit it. Fair play they clean up in it

Chris Boardman won gold in 92 in Barcelona they have slowly been building up since then and at this games all the hard work had paid off for them,of course the funding they have got is massive so they have been able to build the facilities to look after the talent they have
    They said on RTE how much the BOA put into the GB cycling team in the past few years,I cant remember the figure now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

snubbleste wrote: »
    Them walkers keep going past the Queen's gaffe, you'd think the very least she could do is pop down and give them some encouragement or give them some iced tea.

She's not there, no flag flying over the palace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

She's not there, no flag flying over the palace.
    The cheek of her to go away for the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Heffernans 8th now!!

• Registered Users Posts: 660 ✭✭✭jupiterjack

Rob Heffernan only 48secs off the leaders, really doing so well.

leahyl wrote: »
    Heffernans 8th now!!

And closing the gap,he is now posting the fastest times in the race,come on Heffo keep it going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

She's must be doing the same as half of London :) ....the bandwagoning going on everywhere here is a bit sickening considering the lack of appetite before the games. Outside the venues London is very quiet.

I'd say she'll be back for the closing ceremony, probably arrive in on a jetpack this time. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

This walking race has to be the most ridiculous event at London 2012. :D

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭8mv

blackwave wrote: »
    whos the commentator on basketball final on RTE? bit enthusiastic anyway

Anyone old enough like myself to remember Cha and Mia from Hall's Pictorial Weekly would have thought they had gone back in time listening to last night's commentary. Like Cha had emigrated to Harlem in the early eighties. Very surreal.

el diablo wrote: »

It's fecking torturous for them though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭nucker

They have it at all the Olympics I have known it to be. I hate it because simply it is slo-mo running:D

nucker wrote: »

They have it at all the Olympics I have known it to be. I hate it because simply it is slo-mo running:D

Must be hard though not to break into a gallop :-P

Barrondo is gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,429 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I think the Russians won that 3 years running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

It's similar enough to the breaststroke I guess in a way!

There should be that race where last place wins! Be bita craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

cgpg5 wrote: »
    It's similar enough to the breaststroke I guess in a way!

There should be that race where last place wins! Be bita craic :D

There is in the cycling, the slow bicycle race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

I didn't know walking was an olympic sport. Just put on rte I have to say the walking looks kinda funny the way the men are walking.

No mention of Rob now - has to be out Of contention now? :-(

I didn't know walking was an olympic sport. Just put on rte I have to say the walking looks kinda funny the way the men are walking.
    Do you not see men walking every day on the footpath :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

So living in an oxygen tent for a couple of years was all in vain. :o

Some of them look like they're jogging.

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭dasdog

Vladimir Putin. Wait till he hits the nipple wall.

So living in an oxygen tent for a couple of years was all in vain. :o

Some of them look like they're jogging.

I genuinely don't see how they get disqualified - they all look like they're running to me!

Rob looks to be in 5th now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

I would like to see Tom Daly get something, but I don't think he will.

Rob looks to be in 5th now...

Seriously?! Can't see him at all!

Just saw list now - you're right!

Rob only around 20secs off a medal..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Jacksquat

It looks to me if the rules were enforced they all would be disqualified. They all clearly have both feet off the ground time and time again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I smell another heartbreaking 4th coming up.

COME ON ROB!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Holy sh1t Heff is looking fresh.

Get up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

Do you not see men walking every day on the footpath :confused:

Yeah but they don't walk like the way the olympic men are walking.

the guy he just passed looks well old.

This is just brilliant from Rob Heffenan...come on rob..

4th now,come on Rob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

irish-stew wrote: »
    Watching a bit of Modern Pentatalon. So fencing, whats that all about?

Apparently the modern pentathlon was specifically designed for the modern Olympics.

So the story goes all the disciplines included are the basic ones required by a soldier - it really is an eclectic mix of disciplines. Sword fighting, shooting, running, swimming and horse-riding.

With the horse riding, they don't train with a specific horse, they just get a random one on the day. Possibly duck-sized.

The support there for Rob is unreal :-)

the guy he is chasing for 3rd looks to be stressing.

The support there for Rob is unreal :-)

Ya it seems to be driving him on,great stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

these 'walkers' are clearly jogging.

Also, why are there no flame covered lycra bodysuits or awesome helmets? :(

phasers wrote: »
    these 'walkers' are clearly jogging.

Also, why are there no flame covered lycra bodysuits or awesome helmets? :(

Do you wear lycra and a helmet whenever you head out for a stroll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

keith16 wrote: »
    Do you wear lycra and a helmet whenever you head out for a stroll?
    Doesn't everyone?

Could be bronze now for the HEFF :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Interesting
    50 km walk: Robert Heffernan is now up to fourth - 31 secs off a medal place. One competitor ahead of him is on two warnings. Is that a band wagon I see approaching?

phasers wrote: »
    Doesn't everyone?

If it's warm, usually I just go with speedos.

Come on give that Aussie or the Chinese a red card

That Russian in front seems to have magic hips

the Russian seems to be hurting.

Si looked like he was running in the last shot of him.

the Russian seems to be hurting.
    They are all hurting after 48k!