Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London 2012 MegaThread [Part 2]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Aidric wrote: »
    Interesting
    50 km walk: Robert Heffernan is now up to fourth - 31 secs off a medal place. One competitor ahead of him is on two warnings. Is that a band wagon I see approaching?

In fairness, i see people walking everyday. I even walked this morning, all the way to the kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Does anyone know how far behind the Chinese is Rob is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

snubbleste wrote: »
    They are all hurting after 48k!

oh yes so they would, not my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Does anyone know how far behind the Chinese is Rob is?

I don't know - didn't see him in the last shot of Chinese guy - I really hope Rob gets a medal!!!!

Where is 3rd and 4th?????

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Ah well 4th for Rob

****!! Rob missed out!!

Come on Rob. 4th place well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

great performance by Rob Heffernan...to come 4th in that gruelling event is phenomenal!..............****ing sprint finish! get the fk! haha

• Registered Users Posts: 660 ✭✭✭jupiterjack

well done Rob Heffernan, great walking...

Did the boys just say 8 minutes off the Irish record

OMG I actually just got a bit emotional there! Amazing performance by Rob!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Sickner. Still a great effort.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

They should have a warm jacuzzi there at the finish line for those that managed the entire 50k

Smashed the Irish record. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

Congrats to Rob Heffernan. Great achievement

Lol at the French dude,poor fella didnt know if he had finished or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

phenomenal effort. Hopefully this will inspire people to get up and 'walk' places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

snubbleste wrote: »
    They should have a warm jacuzzi there at the finish line for those that managed the entire 50k

you would need a big one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,722 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Congrats Rob.
    Been passed out by you when i was jogging on the railway line doesnt seem so bad now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

:eek: Did that walker just die?

One of THE moments of the Olympics for me from a Irish point of view. I know he missed out on medal but was still unbelievable performance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

That was not bad at all, Ireland's best performance on the track and field.

Congratulations Rob you did us proud.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭BrownianMotion

The Aussie guy who came second was clearly jogging at the end. I even managed to stop the sky plus with him having both feet off the ground on the finishing straight.

I thought they all looked to be jogging when they used take the water on board

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Kiernan on RTE was saying that he might have another Olympics in him - the Russian that won is older than Rob :-O so maybe a medal in Rio in 2016?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Once you watch them on super slow mo, they are all jogging, rte and bbc have shown the pictures, to the Judges naked eye though, they are walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,433 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Fatalistic achievement there so unlucky to miss out.

leahyl wrote: »
    Kiernan on RTE was saying that he might have another Olympics in him - the Russian that won is older than Rob :-O so maybe a medal in Rio in 2016?

Is Rob 34 now,he will hardly be around in 2016 will he? What age is the Russian?

Anyone looking at the mountain biking, its some course, another beautiful setting. I would love to give the course a go. OK it might take me a while, but it looks fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

The mountain biking looks amazing !

Have we anyone in the mountain biking?

Is Rob 34 now,he will hardly be around in 2016 will he? What age is the Russian?

Not sure what age the Russian is but Kiernan said there was a Spanish guy in it today who's 43 :-O

Jesus they're all collapsing at the finish line!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Jesus, all the lads collapsing when they cross the finish line in the walking :eek:

Not sure what age the Russian is but Kiernan said there was a Spanish guy in it today who's 43 :-O

Jerry probably had an "investment" on him as well :)

Brendan Boyce for Ireland 29th - decent finish!

Poor Spanish fella is really broke up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Jesus they're all collapsing at the finish line!!

Jaysus unreal, they're been takin away in wheelchairs. Any sport where there's wheelchairs at the finish is for the hardest of men/women.

It would be great to have access to that course for fitness training, when you manage to do that in its entirety you will be slim, lean, toned and very fit. It would be a good buzz as well.

I have great respect for the walkers - it's gruelling stuff like! Rob is in amazing shape - did you see those arms and legs?! The muscles!

Jesus if ever you should celebrate a 4th place it has to be for Rob.

I really did not think he had any chance, but proved me wrong.

4th is cruel place, but Rob has had three Top 10 finishes from three Olympic Walks and that is outstanding.

Jesus if ever you should celebrate a 4th place it has to be for Rob.

I really did not think he had any chance, but proved me wrong.

4th is cruel place, but Rob has had three Top 10 finishes from three Olympic Walks and that is outstanding.

Rob Heffernan is a great athlete - he's been at it years and has made huge improvements through the years. Really hope he goes one last time in 2016 and goes for gold - could happen :-)

4 Years is long way away. I hope he does, but more likely at his peak now.

But he could very well go again. 50/50 I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

32, that Saransk that Gerry mentioned must be some place, it seems that every Russian walker for the last 30 years grew up there.

Olive Loughane will hopefully take heart from Robs great performance and give it a good go in the 20k later on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Colmustard wrote: »
    I would like to see Tom Daly get something, but I don't think he will.

Really? I'd be very surprised if he didn't medal tbh. Silver I'd expect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Is there a much of a DQ rate in walking? Know nathin bout it! Surely it is hard to determine whether someone breaks into a jog even for a second, there seems a fine line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

The Modern Pentathlon guys should go talent spotting around Dunsink. They can ride, run from the garda, know how to use a blade, sure a few know how to use a gun. Natural talent pool.