Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 MegaThread [Part 2]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

keith16 wrote: »
    A third was shot by a laser gun once

Yeah it was shortly after the first cylon invasion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Would be mental if they let those coaches go, think our boxers, medals aside, have been our best performers. Tactically they have been good as well as fitness etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

apparently they use a laser gun in the modern pent because parents complained that they didn't want their kids using air rifles when they played the sport. Ffs this is the olympics not some kiddy show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Hard luck JohnJoe! But you are NOT a failure! You did fantastic!!

Looking forward to seeing the replay of athletics now on RTE.

My dad had BBC red button on there and Bolt was having a dispute with one of the officials after the race - anyone know what that was about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Bolt gets the baton back!

phasers wrote: »
    apparently they use a laser gun in the modern pent because parents complained that they didn't want their kids using air rifles when they played the sport. Ffs this is the olympics not some kiddy show!

Whatever station I watched it on said it was because if gave them more flexibility for where to hold the event due to gun laws etc

Were you watching rte by any chance ??? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭fionnsda

feck this homo's! I'm away to watch the golf

leahyl wrote: »
    My dad had BBC red button on there and Bolt was having a dispute with one of the officials after the race - anyone know what that was about?

Bolt wanted to keep the baton as it's the last race. Official said rules are rules. See my above post stating that he got the baton after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    Am I the only person giving my marks based only on how much splash there is - I can't for the life of me tell what any of these lads are doing in the air..

Splash and where their arse is positioned when they enter the water seems key. All that fancy stuff before that is useless!

Whatever station I watched it on said it was because if gave them more flexibility for where to hold the event due to gun laws etc

BBC! Maybe the host was making a bad joke :p

Wait shooting is illegal in some places?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

BBC were saying similar this morning as well I thought in relation to making the sport more accesable.

Tom Daley currently No. 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭gabsdot40

I'm watching the diving but I can't tell what's a good dive and what isn't. Still it's entertaining.

One another note. Did anyone hear that the Irish team wont be having a homecoming event at the airport on Monday.

fionnsda wrote: »
    feck this homo's! I'm away to watch the golf

Piss poor effort. You don't even make it pass the Trollympic preliminary round. 2 out of 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Tom Daley in the lead in the diving. I think theres only 1 round of dives left.

snubbleste wrote: »
    leahyl wrote: »

Bolt wanted to keep the baton as it's the last race. Official said rules are rules. See my above post stating that he got the baton after all.

What Bolt wants Bolt gets!! :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

1 left and he's leading!

gabsdot40 wrote: »
    I'm watching the diving but I can't tell what's a good dive and what isn't. Still it's entertaining.

One another note. Did anyone hear that the Irish team wont be having a homecoming event at the airport on Monday.

Didn't hear that. Budget cuts ??
    I'd say the place will be swamped anyhow

Ah jaysus is it so bad that we can't afford a few buns and a bit of bunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Another 98 will do it for him I reckon

Mens 4x100m relay medal ceremony now.

Oh they'll have a homecoming alright - albeit unofficial :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Apparently the IOC said they didn't want anything that the olympians had been away from their families and friend for a while and they wanted to go home and see them first. DAA had something planned but were told to cancel it.

Rascasse wrote: »
    Wiggins was the bell ringer in the opening ceremony so he's already done a ceremonial thing.

Apparently the closing ceremony is a celebration of British music. Most of the papers have leaked who's singing if you don't want a surprise.

Thats Madness.

<gets coat>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Do divers ever just fall off when they're doing the stand on the tippy toes on the edge of the board...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Id say tonight will be entertaining in the Olympic village. Lots of fit athletes who have rarely had a drink for the last 4 years on the tear :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

Why did he smell the medal?

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

Id say tonight will be entertaining in the Olympic village. Lots of fit athletes who have rarely had a drink for the last 4 years on the tear :D

I've heard the swimmers are the worst when it comes to partying in the Olympic village

el diablo wrote: »
    Why did he smell the medal?
    To see if anyone rubbed it in their bum crack

That shoulders gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

A large proportion of the 150,000 issued condoms will be used tonight.:)

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

Gold for Tom.

Excellent dive again from Tom Daley.
    Looks like he'll be in speedos on the front pages of all the papers tomorrow (Sorry Mo)

Don't think that's enough unfortunately

ooh poor Martin Wolfram :(

irish-stew wrote: »
    Gold for Tom.

Only if the last 2 f**k up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I have no idea what's going on. Well done Tom Daley, unless it wasn't good. Haven't a clue.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭michaelr666

no gold for tom

irish-stew wrote: »
    Gold for Tom.

Or maybe not.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭gabsdot40

Ouch, that shoulder looked painful, bone sticking out

brummytom wrote: »
    I have no idea what's going on. Well done Tom Daley, unless it wasn't good. Haven't a clue.

It was good. Others though were just slightly better.

:(

Ouch, that shoulder looked painful, bone sticking out
    I didn't see any bones sticking out

This last dive decides whether Daly gets gold or silver.

If he scores a 90 or less tom gets silver

Stadium about to go wild again as Farah gets his gold medal
    Chariots of Fire..the composer must be a millionaire from these games alone.

Bronze it is

brummytom wrote: »
    I think you have to move as little water as possible, earlier a BBC lad said 'he moved enough water to fill a teacup' and apparently that was brilliant...

Personally when I dive I do the exact opposite

snubbleste wrote: »
    Stadium about to go wild again as Farah gets his gold medal
    Chariots of Fire..the composer must be a millionaire from these games alone.
    What station are you getting all this on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Brilliant from Kenny Egan putting up his stonewash jacket for auction for charity :D

Went into the Olympics not really liking Kenny or Bernard but coming out the other side thinking both are dead on :)

What station are you getting all this on ?

EBU..must be on the Beeb as well
    Crowd goes nuts in the stadium