Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 MegaThread [Part 2]

Darren O'Neill, the boxer is carrying our flag. Anyone feel boxing has had enough exposure? I agree, Robert Heffernan or Annalise Murphy would've been good choices.

Another guy i would like to have seen bear the flag is Kieran Behan whose tale of triumph over adversity is quite simply amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

At what stage does the naked brazilian woman turn up to ignite the bush torch?

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭AllWasWell

when are the athletes coming out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

I'm disappointed chariots of fire hasn't been played yet:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Emile Sande again ? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

you sang this already babes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

This song is so much better without Professor Green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Not soon enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

flyswatter wrote: »
    Get The Who on to blow everyone off the stage.

+ to this,if in doubt call the Who or Pink Floyd!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

AllWasWell wrote: »
    when are the athletes coming out?

srm23 wrote: »
    you sang this already babes

She only sang a bit of it earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Meh.. that's me done. I really enjoyed the Olympics but this is just pure muck, imo. Not even worth watching to criticise later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

I was hoping Professor Green would come on an sing or rap with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Who's yer one anyway? I presume they stick her on as filler when they need someone who can sing to try and make us forget what just happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭patmac

Ray Davis a great advert for why men should not dye there hair. Orange ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Pensivepuca

Athletes anywhere? Hot brazilian chicks? Where are they?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Cringe worthy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Rascasse wrote: »
    Sound on BBC is grand now. Was dodgy at the start.
    Just the singing now, then?

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭AllWasWell

the montage is making me tear up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

who left the bottle of water under the fencing arena?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

flyswatter wrote: »
    Get The Who on to blow everyone off the stage.

Townshend has a load of One Direction pictures on his laptop for "research".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Meanwhile in Hyde Park there is an Olympic concert for the proles featuring Blur, New Order and The Specials. The BBC should be showing that on BBC 3 so we can flick over during the ****e bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Pictures of people crying and a slow song playing.

Oh, I'm so sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

That Korean fencer :'(

They should make them carry those jug yokes that made up the torch back out with them as soon as they turn out the flame. You'd see some new world records then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Women in skin tight suits with the flag bearers, because you know thats the embodiment of the olympic sprit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Rascasse wrote: »
    Meanwhile in Hyde Park there is an Olympic concert for the proles featuring Blur, New Order and The Specials. The BBC should be showing that on BBC 3 so we can flick over during the ****e bits.
    ''Bits''?
    :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Frankie Boyle just alluded to Townsend and the 2700 kids on stage on twitter, funny prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

ooh Elbow

Come down the staduim Katie Taylor..........

Here come the Athletes, through the crowds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

did yer wan on bbc just call elbow 'adele', and she got the song wrong. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Awwwwwhhhhh another tuneless old singer,

I reckon they will be digging up Freddie for a tuneless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

People were saying the opening ceremony was crap at the start as well. This will probably turn out OK too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

I didn't see the Irish flag did anyone else?

did yer wan on bbc just call elbow 'adele', and she got the song wrong. :mad:

I think she did.

Frankie Boyle‏@frankieboyle

I think every **** in Britain might be in that stadium #London2012

Bit ironic seeing as he's not there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

opening ceremony GOOD...2 weeks for the Olympics GOOD....closing ceremony Bad

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Paddy Barnes and Conlon ripped it up and stuffed it in their ears to avoid hearing GSTQ:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

watch where youre going japanese fella!

We'r egoing halves with the Ivory Coast. Pole on either end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

df1985 wrote: »
    watch where youre going japanese fella!
    funniest moment so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'd say there will be some riding in that Olympic Village tonight :pac:

No sign of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

kfallon wrote: »
    I'd say there will be some riding in that Olympic Village tonight :pac:
    hopefully they don't wait until they get back, spice this ceremony up a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭bnt

irish-stew wrote: »
    I thought both were always Prince of Wales. Although William has been Duke of somewhere since getting married.
    I didn't get it quite right: "Prince of Wales" is a title traditionally given to the heir apparent after an investiture ceremony. The current official Prince of Wales is Prince Charles; neither William nor Henry have been formally invested with the title, but they have it by default because it's their father's title.

Dukedoms are something else entirely: William was named Duke of Cambridge to mark his wedding, and so that's now his own title and he doesn't need to fall back on his dad's "Wales" title. Harry will get his own title someday, and then he'll stop using "Wales", just like his uncles the Duke of York (Prince Andrew) and the Earl of Wessex (Prince Edward) did.

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

Hazels getting the name of songs wrong again.

Id say them German young wans are mad for the ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭bhamsteve

Started badly, not too bad now. I'm liking Elbow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Ella

Love this song :)