Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 MegaThread [Part 2]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

This is turning into more like a gay pride festival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

The only thing keeping me watching this is I know Muse are coming. Hopefully they'll be class with that light show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

blueser wrote: »
    No; that's just the way she normally sings!

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0812/olympic-games-formally-ends-this-evening.html

Let me guess, the politicians who cut funds to the sports council will be in attendence?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

It does sound like alot of the singers who are not miming, are using there own CDs as backing tracks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

F**K this, pass it to Brazil and get a friggin samba going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Chose the wrong night to be on anti b's...

Happy enough with Ireland at these games. 5 medals, Two 4th places (Murphy and Heffernan) and a few more top 10 finishes (Heffernan 9th in 20k, Jezierski 9th in Canoe sprint, Coyle 9th in the Pentathlon, Hannah Craig 9th in Slalom)
    Rheinsich unlucky with the penalty also in the slalom.

Funding is always going to curtail our ambitions to a certain degree but there is definitely more sports we could be looking to compete at in the future like BMX and mountain biking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

The opening ceremony was full of energy and fun. This just seems like a dull tribute to the elderly.

lol

Some of us elderly are enjoying the blast from the past!

:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 660 ✭✭✭jupiterjack

like annie lennox but that wasnt great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    The only thing keeping me watching this is I know Muse are coming. Hopefully they'll be class with that light show

Something is seriously wrong with the world when people are staying up for Muse when Pink Floyd are rumoured!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Bram Stokers Dracula? They are claiming him as one of their own now too? What is he, the Katie Taylor of vampires? Screw that !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭AllWasWell

Eddie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

Prince Henry on guitar now

PINK FLOYDDDD!!!!

Hang on, that clown?? SERIOUSLY???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Show needs some boobies for sure,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Campbell how's the hair ya auld hag.

Can't believe they had that yoke involved in something to do with the Olympics.

The Liberians didn't even win a medal this year.. so that's salting the wounds a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭bhamsteve

Love this song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

The sound sounds louder on rte than bbc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

I don't mind Annie Lennox - but that song was awful. I never heard of it..

ooohh Ed Sheeran - I can nearly forgive him singing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Dead Man Walking

gilmore's finally sold his whole soul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Dunno who the dweeby guy singing is but that's Nick Mason drumming. Awesome. Love this song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

It's meant to be a party why all the down beat songs. Ed Sherran noooooooooooooooooooooo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

keith16 wrote: »
    Why is there no "autumn" or "spring" Olympics? Then we could have an event every year.

Autumn events could include 'leaf blowing' and 'putting the clocks back'.

Jaysus great idea. Iarnrod Eireann could neter a crak team and duly......come last. Could getting cows of the line also be an event ?

keith16 wrote: »
    Anyone watching on BBC just missed out on some great ads over on RTE. They had the insurance fraud one and the cadburies one. Gripping, and bewildering at the same time.

Is your man still choking down Tbone steaks with those pearly white chompers of his or have his mates smashed his face in the banana sandwiches ????:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Bram Stokers Dracula? They are claiming him as one of their own now too? What is he, the Katie Taylor of vampires? Screw that !!!

Please tell me at what point they claimed bram stoker was british ! Seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

A great song

Live act just don't work at a show like this.

You have to at a live act, who the fkuc would watch a live act on tele

Its a sh1t show for that reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Thank god some proper talent - Ed Sheeran is quality

Pity the sound is piss poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

aaagh who is walking the tight rope?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Muse are on next

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I was hoping he'd be singing little bump and bring a bit of controversy into this dull as F "ceremony"

Ed Sherran, please do not sing Pink Floyd again.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭bhamsteve

He's not doing a bad job of it, either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭jos28

I'm bored now, this is all very self indulgent, wtf has it all to do with sport ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

SOMEONE IS ON FIRE!

Pity it's not Russell Brand :\

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

*craics open another can*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I boycotted that version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

The state of him, even the guys on tight ropes are looking sharp, he's a bit scanger looking.

Rascasse wrote: »
    Something is seriously wrong with the world when people are staying up for Muse when Pink Floyd are rumoured!

It was just Nick Mason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

This Dick! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

WTF? Russell Brand

Oh my word WHATTTTT is that tosser doing here...............

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Brand high on drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Not this fcuking dickhead, jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Russel Fu**ing Brand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Russell Brand is a singer?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Jaysus lads - I'd love to see some boxing debate around now.....:pac:

Russell Brand!! Singing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Spice girls in the bus?

irish-stew wrote: »
    Russell Brand!! Singing!!

Actully, he's not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Please tell me at what point they claimed bram stoker was british ! Seriously.

According to the BBC announcer, Annie Lennox's performance had a Bram/Stoker Dracula theme to it. So if they are trying to celebrate all thing London/British in the show, they are way off the mark trying to "steal" him from us imo.