Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 MegaThread [Part 2]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

bnt wrote: »
    The spirit is willing, but the flesh is buggered ... that'll be you one day.

True but I wont have to listen to me sing.

I fukcen hate nostalgia music,

Now roll out Paul McCarthy or Mick Jagger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Love this....

Yes I'm an aul one :-p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,033 ✭✭✭✭bnt

el diablo wrote: »
    Wow, you're old. ;)
    Hope I die before I get old. :o

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

It should be sad music to finish... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Larianne wrote: »
    Zzzzzzzzzzzz

Awake again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

ok - how do I get Jacques Rogge's job ????

Anyone ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

Istanbul , Madrid , Tokyo are bidding for 2020 olympics
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/18185254

leahyl wrote: »
    God almighty, could they not have finished with music that's a bit more, you know, emotional and inspiring?

I'm not giving up hope :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Check out the bireds in bikinis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Holy fcuk they blew up the stadium :eek:

Bit of a shít ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Well what can I say lads and lasses. It's been emotional. As one very proud Londoner who's made a home here in Ireland, I can honestly say this had been my favourite boards thread ever! Whilst every gold medal for team GB has been a joy, I don't think I will ever be as proud as you lot have been of a talented young lady from Bray. Go on ya good tings.

Thanks but it was all God's work tbh.

Letdown of an ending....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,033 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It's over, now I can consider visiting London again! :pac:

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

God almighty, could they not have finished with music that's a bit more, you know, emotional and inspiring?

Didnt you mention jessie j as being class, and criticised muse and now the who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Well bring on the Paralympics. Hopefully this thread will continue for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Well what can I say lads and lasses. It's been emotional. As one very proud Londoner who's made a home here in Ireland, I can honestly say this had been my favourite boards thread ever! Whilst every gold medal for team GB has been a joy, I don't think I will ever be as proud as you lot have been of a talented young lady from Bray. Go on ya good tings.

It was a great thread, it defo enhanced the games for me and it was kept nice and conversational. Some great contributions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Oakey Dokey.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I'm back to Bill O'Herlihy. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Making me depressed. They're going to have the party and ****ing of their lives right now! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

Istanbul , Madrid , Tokyo are bidding for 2020 olympics
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/18185254

Hopefully Tokyo. They'll do an amazing job. :)

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

Mushy wrote: »

Wasn't suitable ending music. Would have been deadly earlier on. Good old emotional song to finish be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

irish-stew wrote: »
    Well bring on the Paralympics. Hopefully this thread will continue for it.

New thread surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Goodnight guys!! Ye have been great fun! This thread really added to my absolute enjoyment of these games!! Well done London, well done Team Ireland and well done us!! See ye in 4 years! Woohoo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The kids are alright.. great song, and in this case; thankfully true.

Holy fcuk they blew up the stadium :eek:

Yeah. Totally obscured by black smoke.

King and Queen of the games?

Mo Farah and Ian Thorpe for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Dead Man Walking

nothing left now but the sh1t abyss of crap tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Rte in good montage shocker!

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭stepinnman

Roll on the Paralympics!!

New thread surely?

Noooooo. Its still part of London 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I'd like to put a shout out to all our Trolls who made our Tollympic contest so enjoyable. Unfortunately none of you actually made the finals so me, Irish -stew and Clumustard are robbing your medals, flogging them at the pawn shop and getting pissed with the proceeds. Which won't be very much since they were made from copper, tin and tinfoil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Scráib

Sin é anyway. Good ending ceremony, enjoyable to watch made moreso because of the running commentary of this thread :)

Dammit, I already have post-olympics depression!

Fair play to all, They'll enjoy their week fair play to them...

Screw that they'll be in the pool at 6am in the morning preparing for 4 years!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Mushy wrote: »

Yes what's your point? IMO Muse are absolute drivel - but hey each to their own

Canadians in denim jackets. They always are at the forefront of style those lads. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Well guys it's been fun, great thread. Factual, lots of banter. Great games, delighted it all came off well for London and Britian. And for all our medalists and competitors you did us proud. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

New thread surely?
    irish-stew wrote: »
    Noooooo. Its still part of London 2012.

It'll be a fresh thread as this will hit 10,000 by the time it starts! :p

I kinda hope Istanbul wins the games - would be a big challenge but a worthy one.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Canadians in denim jackets. They always are at the forefront of style those lads. :)

I think you'll find it was our own Kenny Egan that started that trend.

This thread was epic fair play to all. Will actually miss it a lot ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Inspired by Kenny Egan

"Let's go to the Mall". :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

kfallon wrote: »
    The Olympic guy said see you all in Rio, I'm saying he won't put you up for the games, keep up trout!

Nice song here!

Hah in fairness I think it's obvious none of here would be either! Better chance then you I'd say though, I'd be at my peak at 22 by then :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

cgpg5 wrote: »
    This thread was epic fair play to all. Will actually miss it a lot ha!

Indeed. Hopefully something similar happens with a Paralympics thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

Great stuff

Hey jude would have been a nice finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

For me;

Athlete of the games: David Rudisha

To win the 800m destroying the WR, and the eight place finisher in a time that would have won the last three Olympics!

Stop Sue DON'T GO

PLEASSSSEEEEE

mike65 wrote: »
    It'll be a fresh thread as this will hit 10,000 by the time it starts! :p

I kinda hope Istanbul wins the games - would be a big challenge but a worthy one.

Well it will be a part 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

1ZRed wrote: »
    Hah in fairness I think it's obvious none of here would be either! Better chance then you I'd say though, I'd be at my peak at 22 by then :p

Stone??? TJ Kears Irish 110m Hurdle record won't be in danger from you so ;)