Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 MegaThread [Part 2]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

I'm gonna well up during this montage :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,465 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

stepinnman wrote: »
    Roll on the Paralympics!!

Not going to run on thats for sure,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭General Relativity

leahyl wrote: »
    Yes what's your point? IMO Muse are absolute drivel - but hey each to their own

Jessie J sings 'It's not about the money' while in a Rolls Royce with no hint of irony then destroys a Queen song and she's amazing, but Muse are drivel??

LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Yeah, I was too lazy to go searching! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I think they should of done eye of the tiger montage for katies win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,465 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭patmac

el diablo wrote: »
    Hopefully Tokyo. They'll do an amazing job. :)

Hope not don't fancy getting up in the middle of the night. Still Spain is broke so between atokyo and Istanbul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

****. I'm emotional. It's done bar the final montage. Best 2 weeks ever. Goodnight everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i still hate this fooking song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

I never cry this song is making me cry :(. Why can't they play a happy song.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Say what you like but that was the most spectacular, enjoyable and entertaining closing ceremony of any Olympics I've ever seen!:)

Here's to Rio 2016!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Why don't the BBC et al show some more obscure sports throughout non-Olympic years? All the talk about 'inspiring a generation', and from next week onwards; all you'll hear about is the usual shite about Ballotelli and his most recent publicity stunts.

Easy come, easy go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

patmac wrote: »
    Hope not don't fancy getting up in the middle of the night. Still Spain is broke so between atokyo and Istanbul.
    Tokyo definitely.

Really really want to see what craziness they'd have have for the opening ceremony.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

I dont want the games, or this thread to end :(

Olympic greatest moments on BBC3!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Say what you like but that was the most spectacular, enjoyable and entertaining closing ceremony of any Olympics I've ever seen!:)

Here's to Rio 2016!:cool:

I was at the Special Olympics Closing Ceremony in Dublin in 2003.

It kicked the pants of this one honestly.

Why don't the BBC et al show some more obscure sports throughout non-Olympic years? All the talk about 'inspiring a generation', and from next week onwards; all you'll hear about is the usual shite about Ballotelli and his most recent publicity stunts.

Easy come, easy go

I was thinking about that. I reckon its all the fault of soccer. Soccer soaks up most of the sports money and thus gets the most coverage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

always wanted to go to brazil!

And just like that, it's done!

So...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

kfallon wrote: »
    Stone??? TJ Kears Irish 110m Hurdle record won't be in danger from you so ;)

Hahaha before I slowed down the year before last I was pretty much undefeated at the 100 m sprint thanks.

You're making me want to get started again tho prick! :o

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Olympic greatest moments on BBC3!

Jeesus Cornelisu Horan on there now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

I thought this thread should have a closing ceremony

:(:( Bye Bye

Till Rio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

that closing ceremony was ****e!

I'll really miss the Olympics, I've never really enjoyed them until this one. Fair play London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Well, there goes sport worth watching for the next 4 years.
    Football is a far too slow game. Rugby and GAA will keep me somewhat entertained but it's really just taking what I can get.

Can't wait until Rio, hopefully I improve in my archery or taekwondo by then ;)

Well done London brilliant effort, between the red button and the organisation I actually didn't mind the Brits winning. Going to be hard watching the premiership pre Madonnas diving and moaning while earning ridiculous amounts of money. Looking forward to the Paralympics and chatting again.

LADS!!!!!!

I have a great idea!!

Lets set up a boards.ie bobsleigh team for Moscow 2014!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

df1985 wrote: »

Don't get into any unlicensed taxis :pac:

df1985 wrote: »

My brother in Uruguay could be getting a visit in 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Yes what's your point? IMO Muse are absolute drivel - but hey each to their own

Jessie J sings 'It's not about the money' while in a Rolls Royce with no hint of irony then destroys a Queen song and she's amazing, but Muse are drivel??

LOL.

Jesus Christ would you give it a rest - I think Jessie J can sing and yes I think she is way better than Muse. I hate this kind of snobbery towards pop singers just cos they're not in a band or don't write their own songs they couldn't be talented - give me a break. Like I said before everyone has their own musical likes, muse just don't happen to be one of mine.

They are completely different genres of music anyway so there could be no comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

While I didn't contribute a lot to this thread, I have to say it's been so enjoyable following it - thanks! Gonna miss it... Sad it's all over now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Aww I'll miss this thread :( What am I going to do with my life now the Olympics are over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

totally going to start saving or keeping cash available for Rio 2016.

LADS!!!!!!

I have a great idea!!

I will be the driver will add a lot of weight to help downforce.

Jesus Christ would you give it a rest - I think Jessie J can sing and yes I think she is way better than Muse. I hate this kind of snobbery towards pop singers just cos they're not in a band or don't write their own songs they couldn't be talented - give me a break. Like I said before everyone has their own musical likes, muse just don't happen to be one of mine.

They are completely different genres of music anyway so there could be no comparison.

Now now. I know someone's tired. Don't go ruining it on everyone!

Namlub wrote: »
    Aww I'll miss this thread :( What am I going to do with my life now the Olympics are over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

LADS!!!!!!

I have a great idea!!

And then a handball team for Rio, not sure we have one.

Pudsy33 wrote: »

Ladies?

Larianne wrote: »
    Ladies?
    I'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Pudsy33 wrote: »

Ladies?

Sure both!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Well that's it. The end of the 2012 Olympics. What an absolutely amazing two weeks or so. I've laughed and shed a tear or two and everything in between. From spectacular performances by our boxers and the pride in hearing your national anthem at an Olympics to the "where were you moments" like Usain Bolt and Mo Farah becoming living legends. It's been an absolute honour and privilege to share it with all of you on here. Good night and take care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Now now. I know someone's tired. Don't go ruining it on everyone!

I didn't start it Larianne. :-) not gonna sit back and let people try to ridicule my taste in music either though :-) anyway good night

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

LADS!!!!!!

I have a great idea!!

Im in, I was fast in my day, bit heavier now (which can only help) I would'nt mind being the 4th man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Yes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Well its been a fantastic games, and a great two threads so far for London 2012. Some great posts from quality posters barr the odd wum and troll. I have really enjoyed being a part of it, and hope it continues up to and during the Paralympics, and hopefully into a Part 3.

But for now, I'm off to bed, night night, and I'm sure there will be plenty more chat later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Silverfish wrote: »
    Canadians in denim jackets. They always are at the forefront of style those lads. :)

I think you'll find it was our own Kenny Egan that started that trend.
    He's after putting that Jacket up for auction on twitter, proceeds to temple st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Eurovision sports will still be open to show video.

I havnt seen anything from

Mens beach volleyball
    Most of the diving
    Fencing
    Artistic Gymnastics
    A lot of the Judo
    Shooting
    Synchronised swimming
    Trampoline
    Athletics field events
    waterpolo
    Weightlifting
    Wrestling

My Olympics is going on for another week :D

the artistic gymnastics was deadly! Watch that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Patrick Moore is on now

He's worth at least 22 Olympics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

Did Mark Cavendish win a medal at this Olympics?

How did Paula Radcliffe do in the marathon earlier?

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

el diablo wrote: »
    Did Mark Cavendish win a medal at this Olympics?

How did Paula Radcliffe do in the marathon earlier?

No and she didnt compete

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Patrick Moore is on now

He's worth at least 22 Olympics

He has lived through 21 of them !
    Would have been 23 if not for the war.

I like The Sky at Night.
    Its the longest running TV programme in the world with the same presenter.