Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 MegaThread [Part 2]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

keith16 wrote: »
    Jimmy Magee has said the word "south-paw" about 15 times now.

Complete blather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Cuban boxer is very defensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

keith16 wrote: »
    Jimmy Magee has said the word "south-paw" about 15 times now.

Does 'the Cuban' not have a name ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Ramirez wins second 4-3
    10-6 now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

10 - 6 to the Cuban in the second round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Does 'the Cuban' not have a name ?

Fidel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

That was Conlan's round IMO

Think its over after that flurry of punches and count for Conlan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

Cuban is top class, still can't believe he is only 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

This Cuban is a machine, when he unloads those combinations they are hard to avoid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Showboating prick

fullstop wrote: »
    Showboating prick

When you're that good you can showboat

Well done Michael on your bronze medal, you did us proud.

Classy Cuban. Conlon was pummeled tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

20-10 in the end, good try by Conlon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Cuban was an animal - one of the best fighters I've seen in the Olympics so far -- and he's only 18 :eek:

Hard luck Michael but he'll be back and he'll learn from this - bronze medal at his first Olympics is a great achievement and I can't wait to see him at Rio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Back to the studio. Jesus they love themselves.

what was the final score? Flicked over to the athletics to see the end of the 1500m once the bell went. Lost by 7 or so at a guess?

EDIt. see it above

what was the final score? Flicked over to the athletics to see the end of the 1500m once the bell went. Lost by 7 or so at a guess?

20-10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Max_Charger

I thought he had the 2nd round but no doubt in the result, Cuban was a machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

20-10 Cuban was world class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Hard luck Conlon! Bronze medal at 20 is amazing achievement though!

The Cuban was mental - brilliant boxer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Well out classed there. Still performed well, he should be proud of himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Thought Conlan scored more in the second round,but he probably still wouldn't have won,the Cuban only 18 and boxes like that,he is a class act

Well done Conlan though,bronze medal in the pocket,roll on Rio 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Cuba exacts it's brutal revenge on the Irish boxing team.

Hard luck Conlon but a brilliant Olympics for him, bronze medal at 20 is a great achievement.

The 3 boys did us proud today, all down to John Joe tomorrow night.

Defar, the Ethiopian 500mtr winner is quite cute. Showing great emotion as her anthem is being played.

I'd like to give Michael a hug now, roll on Rio for him

Aidric wrote: »
    Defar, the Ethiopian 500mtr winner is quite cute. Showing great emotion as her anthem is being played.

Jaysus I thought she looked as rough as a bear's arse after the race!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Relay madness up next (will the Brits get it around this time?!)

kfallon wrote: »
    I'd like to give Michael a hug now, roll on Rio for him

I'd like to give him a hug now as well. But I'm 20 years older than him so its probably wrong. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

Conlan did well , he did his best even though the Cuban won. At least he has his bronze medal :). He'll be better for the next olympics and if he won the bronze at his first olympics(I think I remember them saying it was).

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

I'd like to give him a hug now as well. But I'm 20 years older than him so its probably wrong. :o

I feel the same............

Ageism..... "apparently" it's called....;):p

Ken Egan just retweeted these.
    Barry Toft ‏@BarryToft
    @Bernard_Dunne @kenegan30 Ye both have the look of people who want to hit Mick Dowling a dig and tell him to shut up....lol
    Retweeted by Kenneth
    graham mc carthy ‏@nodger11
    Mick dowlin is a bollix talks utter **** @kenegan30 talks ntn but sense top man u say it how is #Boxing #TEAMIRELAND
    Retweeted by Kenneth

Perhaps there is no love lost between the RTE boxing analysts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Anyone else think O'Herlihy was bang out of order there??

He's after rightly pissing me off, the ignorant old boll0x. Saying how 'disappointing' it was etc etc. The lad did the country proud, fought his heart out, but just came up against a world-class young lad who was stronger than him.

Bill is too think and ignorant to acknowledge that though.

US run out of it at the death by the Bahamas to take the mens 4x400 relay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Aidric wrote: »
    Ken Egan just retweeted these.

Perhaps there is no love lost between the RTE boxing analysts.

I'd say it's not meant to be taken seriously, he's probably retweeting them having a laugh

Dai Green didnt have the best leg there. Have they not got a proper 400m man to run it? Last leg was a great run.

USA beaten into 2nd.

Another few meters I think the british guy could have got 3rd.

Fizman wrote: »
    Anyone else think O'Herlihy was bang out of order there??

He's after rightly pissing me off, the ignorant old boll0x. Saying how 'disappointing' it was etc etc. The lad did the country proud, fought his heart out, but just came up against a world-class young lad who was stronger than him.

Bill is too think and ignorant to acknowledge that though.

Tbh before the match annoys me more, asking the 3 lads their predictions, they are hardly gonna say The Cuban are they, then they'd get called unpatriotic. If it's 2 neutral countries then it's fine but if you have a vested interest leave the predictions out!

Dai Greenes 45.5 was the slowest leg. That .7 made all the difference. They only lost out on the Bronze by .13

cgpg5 wrote: »
    I'd say it's not meant to be taken seriously, he's probably retweeting them having a laugh

Just trying to stir it up. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

The pole vaulters are heading for above 6m mark :eek:

snubbleste wrote: »

Sergei Bubka would have done that in his sleep :pac:

Turns out they measured your womans hammer right afterall? What are they at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Turns out they measured your womans hammer right afterall? What are they at?

Its kind of a strange one all right

Brutal battle in the mens light 60kg boxing semi there. Soonchul takes it for South Korea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

snubbleste wrote: »

Stadium roof must surely be within reach now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Wow, go banana Bahamas! :)

On to the 69kg welterwight semis now in the boxing. Freddie Evans for GB up against the world champion Shelestyuk from the Ukraine in the first semi.