Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dacia Duster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Light Switch

Renault Garage on the Dock Road in Limerick do them I think :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Just a car enthusiast, always interested in something new to the market.

Thanks Colm MCM! Giving the car serious consideration as second car for delivery in 2013. What with juice prices going up, the Renault diesel engine may well be the job . With 3 year warranty , reckon it will owe me nothing after 3 years hacking around.
    Many thanks

Renault Garage on the Dock Road in Limerick do them I think :)

Many thanks ,
    Yes Dennehys the Renault Dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Considering the octavia was launched in around 1996 it was easily on par, and in a lot of cases ahead of its rivals. Cabin quality for example was in a different league to the competition when you consider it was in the mk3 golf, ford escort, fiat brava, Toyota corolla class.

The Mk1 Octavia was based on the Passat chassis. It's first the second generation and onwards that is based on Jetta/Golf chassis. The Superb then was launched on Passat chassis.

/M

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,755 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

zerks wrote: »
    Took a spin in one,very impressed.Smooth,quiet ride.Very similar to a Quashqi.Decent boot space too.
    Diesel engine is the same as the one in the Quashqi.

It seems we are getting the version with electric windows,alloys etc.compared to the more basic Continental model.

The €15k version won't have 4wd but I reckon this won't be an issue as most people will be using it as a 'car'.

Seems there's a lot of interest in it as the guy in the garage said they have taken a lot of orders for next year when it hit's the showrooms proper.
    If I had €15k & the choice of this or the Clio-I'd go for the Dacia.

I took a spin in one aswell.Well impressed.Decent spec,nice ride,great boot space.
    These things are going to sell like hot cakes.

For 15k and/or 149 a month you cant really go wrong.The big boys are going to have to rethink their pricing next year I think.I mean who`d buy a fiesta/polo/clio etc when they can get one of these for this price.

I know Im seriously considering one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭air

The fuel economy of the 4wd one is pretty outstanding also, not many 4wd vehicles in Band B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,481 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Marlow wrote: »
    The Mk1 Octavia was based on the Passat chassis. It's first the second generation and onwards that is based on Jetta/Golf chassis. The Superb then was launched on Passat chassis.

/M

Nah. The passat has longditudinal engines. Mk1 Octavia was built on the same platform as the jetta/Toledo/Leon/golf etc etc

I stand over what I said, it was not a direct rival to the likes of passat, carina e, mondeo etc. it was in the same segment as the corolla, escort, Astra, brava/marea, 323, 306, Xsara. It had a huge boot, which has been mentioned here a few times which often led people to believe it was passat based. A quick sit into the back seat confirms that it's golf based.

Many thanks ,
    Yes Dennehys the Renault Dealer.

Saw the car in the flesh today. Must say very impressed. Initially I was curious as a car enthusiast. It will do everything it says on the tin.
    Seriously considering getting one as replacement for second car and one for daughter at college.
    From a safety point of view I prefer the size of the Duster to the Clio .with the 3 year warranty ,it will provide worry free cheap motoring.
    Many thanks to the Ops for feedback ,it has helped greatly .
    Sincerely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

From a safety point of view I prefer the size of the Duster to the Clio.

The Clio got five stars, the Duster got three stars in the safety test. And that's before we get to the fact that there is a new Clio on the way in time for 2013.

As well as its very poor passive safety, it also does not come with ESP as standard - unforgiveable in this day and age, especially when the parent company is Renault and they have been selling their cars on their excellent safety for many many years now.

I thought (and hoped) that the Volvo 940 vs Renault Modus test done by Fifth Gear would have been enough to convince people that size doesn't always matter. Clearly I was wrong on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,481 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

We need to bear in mind that a car tested in 2006 that got 5 stars would not get 5 stars if tested today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

saw one yesterday (left hooker with Luxembourg plates) driving around Naas.
    Fairly bland looking but for 15k I suppose its cheap motoring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,582 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

As well as its very poor passive safety, it also does not come with ESP as standard - unforgiveable in this day and age, .

The Duster's main competitors (Qashqai and Yeti) do not offer ESP as standard either. You can get ESP on the Duster if you get the 4x4. (In the UK, you can get it as a separate option on the lower models, but not here).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,456 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Re: safety the new Clio (which hasn't been launched yet) has been tested by EuroNCAP and the results were published today. 5 stars but not quite as good as the new Volvo V40 and new Audi A3.

http://www.euroncap.com/Content-Web-Article/0258fffa-9477-4b83-b3a7-2a984c50a5ea/when-innovation-and-a-world-first-brings-higher-ve.aspx

Saw the car in the flesh today. Must say very impressed. Initially I was curious as a car enthusiast. It will do everything it says on the tin.
    Seriously considering getting one as replacement for second car and one for daughter at college.
    From a safety point of view I prefer the size of the Duster to the Clio .with the 3 year warranty ,it will provide worry free cheap motoring.
    Many thanks to the Ops for feedback ,it has helped greatly .
    Sincerely

Update, order placed for 2 cars , delivery January 2013 . Very pleased with deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Update, order placed for 2 cars , delivery January 2013 . Very pleased with deal

Probably got the 2 of them for less than the price of a RAV 4. You can't argue with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭zinzan

Which models did you go for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

One of the lads in work just ordered one for his wife. They have an 07 cashcow and where going to upgrade for the new year. I showed them the duster and they have now ordered a brand new car with the same mechanicals as the Nissan for less then the upgrade price would have been with Nissan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

They'll be on display at the National Ploughing Championships this year for anyone heading there.
    I can bet we'll see a lot of farmers investing in them considering the prices of the alternatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,607 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Hellrazer wrote: »
    I took a spin in one aswell.Well impressed.Decent spec,nice ride,great boot space.

For 15k and/or 149 a month you cant really go wrong.The big boys are going to have to rethink their pricing next year I think.I mean who`d buy a fiesta/polo/clio etc when they can get one of these for this price.

How will they hold their resale value?
    What would one be worth after say 2 years?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

vectra wrote: »
    How will they hold their resale value?
    What would one be worth after say 2 years?
    about 5 grand

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Hellrazer wrote: »

The contract hire deal is in no way particularly attractive when you get into it...and do the sums.

In reality you are putting €11,200 cash deposit (deposit and balloon) and you would be lucky (very lucky)to get half that back when its 3 years old.

over 11k cash for a yoke with no air con, cloth,2wd,steel wheels,non metallic paint,no spare wheel, rear drum brakes....a lot of outlay for a paddy spec.

And you can't even order one with leathers.....if you wanted too, i'm told they're not importing them for PADDY!:rolleyes:

the finance is a sham of a deal, think long and hard and think again if you think one of them is a bargain now?

• Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

MidlandsM wrote: »
    The contract hire deal is in no way particularly attractive when you get into it...and do the sums.

In reality you are putting €11,200 cash deposit (deposit and balloon) and you would be lucky (very lucky)to get half that back when its 3 years old.

over 11k cash for a yoke with no air con, cloth,2wd,steel wheels,non metallic paint,no spare wheel, rear drum brakes....a lot of outlay for a paddy spec.

And you can't even order one with leathers.....if you wanted too, i'm told they're not importing them for PADDY!:rolleyes:

the finance is a sham of a deal, think long and hard and think again if you think one of them is a bargain now?

How can you count the 6k baloon payment in 3 years as a cash deposit? The deposit is the deposit denoting else, have you never seen a car finance deal before?

According to Irish times the deal is
    But the essential fact of the price, and of Dacia Ireland’s introductory offer that will allow you to finance one for €149 a month (including a €4,000 deposit and a €6,000 final ‘bubble’ payment), is undoubtedly true.

Looks to be aimed at someone trading in a 4k car, they pay 149 a month and then in 3 years can either hand car back and walk away or pay the 6k to keep it.
    How you worked out that is in no way attractive I'll never know, by all accounts it's been very attractive to loads of people already. :confused:

As Dacia are giving you a GMFV of 6k after 3 years, which is normally lower than actual value, they will be worth 8/9k after 2 years.

Anyone who thinks a largish 2 year old car with a 3 year warranty left will only be worth 5k is nuts tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Jellicoe

A 2 year old clio diesel will set you back approx. 10k, I can't see a 2 year old duster with average miles making much less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,802 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Isn't the value of a second hand car often determined by demand as well as build quality?

I'm not getting the obsession with the "but what will it be worth in two years posts" to be honest. It'll drop a lot less in value than the competitors and personally, I keep a car for 5 years of more.
    Demand and reliability will determine a lot about resale value.

Jellicoe wrote: »
    A 2 year old clio diesel will set you back approx. 10k, I can't see a 2 year old duster with average miles making much less.

.... Indeed, sure skodas hold their value well too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Jellicoe

Personally I hope they sell a shed loads of these Dusters in Ireland, at these prices some folks could afford to change for a new car every few years, leaving some nice second hand options for the rest of us. 10k for a 2 year diesel duster with say 40k miles, and 3 years left on the warranty would worth a shot.

kippy wrote: »
    Isn't the value of a second hand car often determined by demand as well as build quality?

I'm not getting the obsession with the "but what will it be worth in two years posts" to be honest. It'll drop a lot less in value than the competitors and personally, I keep a car for 5 years of more.
    Demand and reliability will determine a lot about resale value.

Demand will totally be based on reliability though.
    If they are not reliable they wont be in demand.
    If they are not in demand they will be worth peanuts.
    I have a valid reason for asking the 2 year old value question.
    RoverJames wrote: »
    .... Indeed, sure skodas hold their value well too.

You are right
    They hold it a lot better than the likes of Rovers.:D

You are right
    They hold it a lot better than the likes of Rovers.:D

I was stating a fact :)
    I wasn't implying or suggesting anything.

As I paid €2250 for an 8 year old ZT I am well aware of Rovers residuals.

I don't see why you felt the need to bring a manufacturer who ceased operating in 2005 into the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭BdaraB

http://www.autoevolution.com/news/dacia-sandero-places-seventh-in-adac-reliability-survey-34957.html

Reliability seems about average in most surveys I came across for the other Dacia's, I can't really see it being an issue for most people. I'm going to guess that they will hold their value well enough just look at the likes of the qashqai and how they hold theres.

I was stating a fact :)
    I wasn't implying or suggesting anything.

As I paid €2250 for an 8 year old ZT I am well aware of Rovers residuals.

I don't see why you felt the need to bring a manufacturer who ceased operating in 2005 into the thread.

Probably for a similar reason you chose Skoda out of the many manufacturers out there.

Back on topic.
    I would not touch one of those Dacias until they are at least one year here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,802 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Back on topic.
    I would not touch one of those Dacias until they are at least one year here.

Well I never buy brand new anyway but yes, I'd like to see them at least 2 years down the road before looking at getting one.

Probably for a similar reason you chose Skoda out of the many manufacturers out there...............

I chose Skoda as they have VW mechanicals, floor pans, switchgear etc etc etc but are thousands cheaper than their VW siblings. Much like Dacia and Nissan/Renault.

I can't see any logical reason for Rover being mentioned, I can think of a few retarded reasons which is where you're coming from no doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Hi Folks,

Would you like a brand new car for €14999?

http://www.carzone.ie/reviews/new-car-reviews/Dacia/Duster/2013/143/

What do you think?

A couple of things worth noting

1. It is built in the same place as the Renault Fluence.

2. It shares the same 1.5 DCi engine as Renault and Nissan Quashquai.

Would you buy one?

If I was in the market for a car in that price range, it would merit a 2nd look, definitely.

I think a lot of posters in this thread have missed the point of the Dacia marketing campaign. ... They're comparing themselves to a Quasqai...but they're not a Quasqai...they just look something like a Quasqai....but the job is done....

"New Fiesta and Corsa market purveyors look out" is probably more accurate .. You get a lot more car for your money at this price and will sway some people from this "super mini " market.

I chose Skoda as they have VW mechanicals, floor pans, switchgear etc etc etc but are thousands cheaper than their VW siblings. Much like Dacia and Nissan/Renault.

I can't see any logical reason for Rover being mentioned, I can think of a few retarded reasons which is where you're coming from no doubt.

The discussion evolved around Nissan/Renault/Dacia.

Had nothing to do with VAG cars.

You chose Skoda for a retarded reason.

Skoda are a value for money offering from the VAG stable, Dacia are the value for money offering from the Renault/Nissan stable.

Skoda are one of the few brands available in Ireland that are analgous to Dacia :)

Dacia are the value for money offering from the Renault/Nissan stable.
    )

Who said?

Cicero wrote: »
    Who said?

Are you querying that Dacia are a subsidiary of Renault?
    Presumably you can't be disputing they share engines etc and cost thousands less.

Are you querying that Dacia are a subsidiary of Renault?
    Presumably you can't be disputing they share engines etc and cost thousands less.

I'm picking up on your "value for money" wording...that's all...Im not attacking you personally .. I think weather it's value for money in Ireland remains to be seen..,don't you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

copacetic wrote: »
    How can you count the 6k baloon payment in 3 years as a cash deposit? The deposit is the deposit denoting else, have you never seen a car finance deal before?

According to Irish times the deal is

Looks to be aimed at someone trading in a 4k car, they pay 149 a month and then in 3 years can either hand car back and walk away or pay the 6k to keep it.
    How you worked out that is in no way attractive I'll never know, by all accounts it's been very attractive to loads of people already. :confused:

As Dacia are giving you a GMFV of 6k after 3 years, which is normally lower than actual value, they will be worth 8/9k after 2 years.

Anyone who thinks a largish 2 year old car with a 3 year warranty left will only be worth 5k is nuts tbh.

whatever way to look at it, the 11k in whatever form, cash or whatever has to be handed over for that deal, wheather it be disguised as 4k trade in price on the car you trade in, and then the baloon you have to pay to keep the car.....at the end........it'll all 11k out of someones pocket.....in whatever form it takes......

in short, its a sh1t deal.

A family car for €15,000 with the Renault 1.5 diesel engine is what the folks at Renault no doubt consider value for money ....

http://www.dacia.ie/

"Shockingly affordable.... " emblazoned on the homepage :)

The Dacia Way...

"We are Dacia.

We believe that affordable shouldn’t have to mean compromise.

On quality, services or smiles.

So we’ve made an enemy of the unnecessary.

Our simple range of cleverly-designed cars uses only useful technology.

Which means you only pay for what you need.

Our prices are clear and transparent.

Because the Dacia way is your way.

Simple. Intelligent.

It’s what made us the fastest growing car brand in Europe since 2004"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭ltdslipdiff

Reaches for popcorn.....

^^^edit..and with 150 posts so far, I think we're doing Dacias marketing for them. Saw a lot of these cars on the mainland ths Summer.

IMO..They're going to be as common as Renaults are currently in this country within a few years..whether they're any good....? Time will tell... But in the meantime... The mainstream brands like Opel and Ford will definitely suffer in the small and family car market

A family car for €15,000 with the Renault 1.5 diesel engine is what the folks at Renault no doubt consider value for money ....

http://www.dacia.ie/

"Shockingly affordable.... " emblazoned on the homepage :)

The Dacia Way...

"We are Dacia.

We believe that affordable shouldn’t have to mean compromise.

On quality, services or smiles.

So we’ve made an enemy of the unnecessary.

Our simple range of cleverly-designed cars uses only useful technology.

Which means you only pay for what you need.

Our prices are clear and transparent.

Because the Dacia way is your way.

Simple. Intelligent.

It’s what made us the fastest growing car brand in Europe since 2004"

You posted as RoverJames when posting your comments...not the Dacia marketing dept...anyway..,like I said, time will tell..:)

Reaches for popcorn.....

Bummer, what did I miss :D
    ^^^edit.........

You posted as RoverJames when posting your comments...not the Dacia marketing dept...anyway..,like I said, time will tell..:)

Indeed I did, I said Dacia were the value for money offering from Renault, I stand over that comment :)
    Just because I said they were that (the offering) does not mean I consider them value for money, or not for that matter.

Indeed I did, I said Dacia were the value for money offering from Renault, I stand over that comment :)
    Just because I said they were that (the offering) does not mean I consider them value for money, or not for that matter.

You're using marketing language in your posts to describe a car.i certainly took from your post that you believed that.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

MidlandsM wrote: »
    whatever way to look at it, the 11k in whatever form, cash or whatever has to be handed over for that deal, wheather it be disguised as 4k trade in price on the car you trade in, and then the baloon you have to pay to keep the car.....at the end........it'll all 11k out of someones pocket.....in whatever form it takes......

in short, its a sh1t deal.

It's a 15k car, of course you have to spend money out of yourpocket to own it, and it's not 11k either obviously, it'll be over 17k over 3 years if you finance it.

The same as every single other car finance or loan deal that's ever existed.

You're using marketing language in your posts to describe a car.i certainly took from your post that you believed that.

Value for money offering - marketing language

Are we to only use foundation level Leaving Cert standard English :pac:

Value for money offering - marketing language

Are we to only use foundation level Leaving Cert standard English :pac:

I'm not here to get personal with your posts but you obviously don't have the same regard for others posts.

Heres the Dacia price list ...should be noted that metallic paint is eur 500 extra and 5 year warranty is 549 extra...couple that with the Signature version which is what many will want and which will be marketed @ 16,990 and the total cost is coming towards 18,000 euro

http://www.dacia.ie/media/pdf/att00099938/DusterPriceList.pdf