Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working with animals in Dublin

• 13-08-2012 3:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 49

Hi!

I am currently in a job that is slowly depressing me! I am grateful to have a job, and it's not a bad one but I feel my happiness is important too!

I would like to work at something I am passionate about which has always been animals. Its not what I studied in college and have no work experience in it but would love to work in something like animal rescue, or animal care. As my rent is pretty high I can't even afford to do a part-time job and volunteer the rest of the time.

Just wondering if anyone has any information on paid jobs in Dublin where you can work with or care for animals? Or how I could go about getting experience? Would volunteering at the weekend help me get a paid job?

It might be a long shot but I thought I'd give it one more try before I look for something else.

Thanks!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 23 AL93

i think finding a paid job in Dublin would be very hard to find. Especially with college starting again soon so there will be a lot of students looking for work experience. Even finding work experience is difficult as there is so many people applying.
    Try ringing the animal shelters, id say they would love help especially on weekends. You could also try evening courses. I think there is a few in dog training and grooming. What about pet sitting or dog walking?
    Another thing you could try is a receptionist job in a vets? That could be a way of getting into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Sigma Force