Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

After the Boom. Where are you living ?

• 13-08-2012 8:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭

Renting, mortgage, hoping to leave to a different country ?

I'm here with you all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Renting an apartment. Hope to buy in the next 5 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Living here for now. Not wanting to leave but will probably have to really soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

on the dole, living with my parents, yeah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

The boom came and went before I was old enough to ever benefit form it so same place - at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

When is this "boom" so? Or are you talking well into the future when there may be one, or years ago when there was one? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

Back home with Mammy! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Castle Greyskull, gonna move to somewhere more affordable though the mortgage is killing me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

was in england for the boom, and moved back just in time for the crash, so now back in england again!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Renting. Doubt I will ever buy. Scared ta **** of owing some **** Bank a **** load of money for some dingy 3 bed semi next to affordable housing. Still in Ireland, hope I can stay a while longer.

on the dole, living with my parents, yeah!

Is it pretty sad I actually got refused dole? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭FANTAPANTS

own house wish i didnt council bought up most off the houses in estate and moved scum bags in...full of druggies and out and out scum:mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

In someone else's house. As a children's slave aka aupair.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭SmilingLurker

In my wife's house. She bought it at the height of the boom, negative equity, but low, low tracker...
    So better off than most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

COME ON DA TOWN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Same as always. Worked my butt off before, during and after the boom, never screwed any of my customers when everyone else was doing just that, they stayed loyal and I'm busier than ever. Own the house, going nowhere, unless big Phil decides to sieze it or nationalise it. With this lot, you never do know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

1ZRed wrote: »
    Is it pretty sad I actually got refused dole? :o
    You're very young though so of course not!

I'll be living in sheriff street again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

living with my parents :(

No morgage no gf no life/ saving

Hoping to leave Ireland in november :) France or Austria :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Shared house and intend to stay that way. Even if I had a wad of money I couldn't ever justify buying a house in today's property tax ridden days with feck all job security.

Might consider joining the traveling community. Go to which ever halting site has the jobs nearby, free amenities thrown at me by the council. Get to accuse people who won't give me a job of racism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

People used to laugh at me during the boom.

**** you ******!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Same place as before the boom, certainly didn't 'party' happy enough with the pre property boom sensible mortgage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

In Edmonton Alberta moving to Saskatchewan soon though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

living at home and commuting to college! Had i been 10 years older Id probably be in England looking for bankruptcy after some failed property development.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

FANTAPANTS wrote: »
    own house wish i didnt council bought up most off the houses in estate and moved scum bags in...full of druggies and out and out scum:mad::mad::mad:

Ah here, leave it out!

I only asked you if that injection site looked infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,273 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Renting and saving. I was very lucky to get into a good career out of college 4 years ago just before everything really went to ****e.

Waiting for the house market to really bottom out and then BOOM! 4 bedroom, two sitting room, too many bathrooms to count house for peanuts.

Peanuts!

That's the dream anyway...!

• Registered Users Posts: 42 Tool_

In England. The plan was to move back, but that's increasingly unlikely this side of retirement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Living on Disability Allowence in my mom's house.
    Kill me now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

o1s1n wrote: »
    Renting and saving. I was very lucky to get into a good career out of college 4 years ago just before everything really went to ****e.

Waiting for the house market to really bottom out and then BOOM! 4 bedroom, two sitting room, too many bathrooms to count house for peanuts.

Peanuts!

That's the dream anyway...!

Your avatar looks like a rodent, a charming rodent, but a rodent non the less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

The boom came and went before I was old enough to ever benefit form it so same place - at home.

Don't worry, I don't think many really ever did benefit from the boom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Renting a relatively small 1 bedroom apartment in Dublin 8. Was finishing college (and still living with my parents) when the recession started, so had absolutely nothing to lose. Can't see myself buying any time soon, though there is a possibility of moving out of Ireland in the next year or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

Moved home to save for college. College not happening as too expensive.

If I had the money I'd be in Canada right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,273 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Lollers wrote: »
    Your avatar looks like a rodent, a charming rodent, but a rodent non the less.

WTF?? It's a tank! A charming tank!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

In my own house in rural Laois, mortgage-free and glad that there seem to be so many bargains going in the shops now that the boom has burst - as I knew years beforehand that it would. For me the Celtic Tiger was déjà vu all over again. I experienced and helped pay for the Nordic banks' big bust twenty years ago.:D:D

But few would listen to me when I said it would all end in tears if people didn't get a hold of themselves.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Livin' it up at home with Mammy and Daddy dearest! Going to college in September (depending on how Wednesday goes.)
    If I don't get into college, I'm gonna get a job (hopefully) and rent a scabby apartment with my friend. I need some sort of independence at this stage or I'm gonna crack up!

Moved home to save for college. College not happening as too expensive.

If I had the money I'd be in Canada right now.

In the same shit boat with you. France or Australia if I could swing things right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

A mouser with ears, smoke for a tail. Optician tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I thought it was a rat on a motorbike :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

In the same shit boat with you. France or Australia if I could swing things right.

Very few of my friends are in Dublin too anymore. It makes me sad :(

My brothers house is worth about €150,000 less than what he paid for it. That would get to me. Luckily I don't own any property.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Moved home when my mother lost her job so that she wouldn't lose the house as well. Things sorted now, so looking for a place to rent with my partner.

Why do you mention France out of interest?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Living in the Netherlands, thanking my lucky stars I never bought a blade of grass at home!

Would love to go home though, be a long time before that happens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

On paper, I lost millions(several) in the property crash. I still own it all, it's just not worth as much. I also built and sold a fair few houses on sites I owned. Surely it can't all be "students living with their mams" on AH? I'm feeling a bit out of place. Nothing new there really though. As consolation, I drove a pile of sh1te before, during and after the boom so nothing much changed there either. Funnily enough, it's just as hard to get lads who actually want to work, still. But there's an awful lot of whinging about the lack of work going on. Ain't no lack of work here, just a lack of people really willing to work. If your eyes are open, a recession is a chance for the smaller guy to get ahead-there are opportunities everywhere, literally everywhere, you just have to look.

Why do you mention France out of interest?

All my college course choices require I learn French to a fluent level so I thought if I could go abroad if only for a year, it would good to develop so my French further.

Course that's all bullshit! I'm going cause a guy said I could be a massive pornstar there! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭hiram

Living near Westport. Mortgage. Working thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

keith16 wrote: »
    Don't worry, I don't think many really ever did benefit from the boom.

We just thought we did at the time :(. I'm living in negative equity and paycut hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

At home with my (thank God for it) tracker mortgage. Bought just before the boom so still afloat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Renting, hoping to either buy or emigrate within 5 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Bought well before boom, still in the same house + kids, it's nice to have a family home. Can't imagine we're in negative equity but it doesn't really matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Lived with parents at the weekend and weekdays lived in work. Couldnt afford a 1/2 bed apartment in a drug den in the boom....now i have a nice larger than average house in a nice area.