Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Batten down the hatches!

• 14-08-2012 4:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭

Ireland to experience hurricane like weather tomorrow!

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0814/weather.html
    A weather and gale warning has been issued.
    Met Éireann said a combination of high winds, heavy rainfall, abnormally low pressure and high tides will cause dangerous conditions in south Munster and east Leinster.
    Meteorologist Vincent O'Shea said that while a storm, not a hurricane, is expected tomorrow, inclement conditions will be experienced throughout the country.
    Parts of the country worst affected by Hurricane Charlie, including Dublin and Wicklow, are not likely to experience the worst of the weather tomorrow.
    Between 30mm-50mm of rain is expected to fall and with the ground already very wet, Met Éireann has said there is a high risk of flooding.

If its anything like last years supposed "hurricane warning", it will only be another wet and windy day for Ireland :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Cool. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Hope its a mad crazy one, love storms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

ah balls, i'm due back at hockey training tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

You'd think Met Eireann would know what a 'summer's day' in Ireland is at this stage!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Hope its a mad crazy one, love storms

Me too. But you know how every single year we get a major weather warning, and it turns out to be absolutely nothing. :( I dont have my hopes up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Breezy, patches of sunshine, chance of rain. That's how I'm interpreting that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Surf's up.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I hope everyone stays off the water. There's been two awful tragedies at sea in the last 24 hours and they occurred in relativity calm conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

Can't find my kite :(

Use a plastic bag on the end of a string ya snob.

No recession in that house lucky to have a job running water.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

So there'll be good drying.:)

You need a vagina in your life lad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I was joking. I don't own a kite.

... I wish I owned a kite...

One of those cool sports kites...

.... then everyone would want to be my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I get to Ireland Thursday night. The weather better not turn shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Did anyone see Criminal Minds last night. The second episode was about Hurricanes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

ugh i hope it doesnt trash my ****ty house i cant afford any repairs :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Davehopper wrote: »
    Looking bad folks:

Oh dear. :(

Where did you find that hyperbole bullshit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Looking bad folks:

Where did you read that?

Dave I see you're in Galway too. Can we expect much bad weather in the west?

PS. You're the weather guy now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Is a hurricane different in Ireland, cos the sun is beating down here. 24degs. Think I'll hit a beer garden and see if I can ride it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭beco2010

Looking bad folks:

I call bull****

but might give ya a chance to stick on your old RDF uniform:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Pensivepuca

Thunder and pissin rain has already started up here. Awesome, love a wee storm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 68 ✭✭Davehopper

Shryke wrote: »
    Dave I see you're in Galway too. Can we expect much bad weather in the west?

PS. You're the weather guy now.

It will be bad, maybe some flooding and minor damage. Shouldn't be strong enough to cause the devastation it will down south. Thank God!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Use a plastic bag on the end of a sting ya snob.

No recession in that house lucky to have a job running water.
    That's a flashback. I remember having them as a kid. Jasus, when I think about it, we must have looked like awful eejits
    Innocent times

beco2010 wrote: »
    I call bull****

but might give ya a chance to stick on your old RDF uniform:cool:

I am sorry to say it is true that the devastation described is forecast. Well yes, if I am needed I will be available to do EVERYTHING I can to help.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

On a severe weather warning website. Lost link, give me two mins and I'll post it up. They also said to stay in a central room in your house.

I had also copied this before i closed the window:

CTRL+Shift+t to reopen the windows you closed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

I am sorry to say it is true that the devastation described is forecast. Well yes, if I am needed I will be available to do EVERYTHING I can to help.

Link?

Make with the link.

Is a hurricane different in Ireland, cos the sun is beating down here. 24degs. Think I'll hit a beer garden and see if I can ride it out.

Arriving in the South at 6am tomorrow morning. If you are in the south, use this opportunity to make your property secure. Find a safe shelter are in your house. Decide on a solid contingency plan.

Cienciano wrote: »
    That's a flashback. I remember having them as a kid. Jasus, when I think about it, we must have looked like awful eejits
    Innocent times

I remember building kites out of JC's bags & sticks as a kid alright. ]

They worked too!

• Registered Users Posts: 36 danzdan

Fridge is full of beer, freezer full of pizza and I've just started watching breaking bad season1. Storm, what storm? I'll be wasted by the mid season 2. Booom! Enjoy the thunder guys.!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Make with the link.

He's joking, obviously...

I still think it'll be drizzle at best. If it's going to be a proper storm I might fetch a bottle of something. I like a good storm.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

http://www.rte.ie/weather/
    Doesn't say anything we haven't experienced before.

http://www.newstalk.ie//2012/news/weather-warning-for-strong-storms-rainfall-tomorrow/

I prefer Newstalk's weather report because it sounds more scary.

Met Eireann says a storm due to hit tomorrow could be as bad as the infamous “Hurricane Charley” of 1986. 110 kilometre-an-hour winds and torrential rain are forecast.

The south of the country most at risk.There are fears that a combination of the weather and high tides could cause many rivers to burst their banks.

Homes and businesses are being urged to take preventative action against the expected flooding over the next 24 hours.

The weather service says dangerous conditions are expected in south Munster and east Leinster tomorrow. Gale to strong gale force easterly winds are also forecast.

Rainfall of between of 30 to 50 millimetres is expected with higher totals possible in mountainous areas.

It is also warning of a high risk of coastal and river flooding.

Ficheall wrote: »
    He's joking, obviously...

Claims he has a link.

We'll see.

Who wants to come stand at the edge of Howth head tomorrow and taunt Jesus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

just had to post this

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Who wants to come stand at the edge of Howth head tomorrow and taunt Jesus?

I know you're joking but some local lads in my hometown died doing something similar in Hurricane Charley. Anyone who's reading who might be thinking about doing, it's a very bad idea. Don't anger Neptune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Davehopper is a troll. Don't believe what he posts about the weather.

Its actually sick that he is posting that shite tbh.

Davehopper banned.

Theres a thread over in the weather forum about this storm

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056724475

and MT Cranium's daily forecasts

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055579971

Claims he has a link.

We'll see.
    If only all the ladies were as trusting and open-minded.

Its actually sick that he is posting that shite tbh.
    Aragh, grow up.

If only all the ladies were as trusting and open-minded.

Aragh, grow up.

If you've nothing worthwhile to add then don't bother posting ok.

With all due respect, this is a thread in AH about some upcoming rain and wind which has been forecast.

Are you hoping for worthwhile comments such as: Bring an umbrella, wear waterproof shoes and take your washing in off the line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Feck the weather.. I want to know what Davehopper posted!

With all due respect, this is a thread in AH about some upcoming rain and wind which has been forecast.

Are you hoping for worthwhile comments such as: Bring an umbrella, wear waterproof shoes and take your washing in off the line?

No, i'm hoping that people say something more constructive than "ah grow up"

Anymore questions can be asked in pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Wonder will we have a load of people that never check the weather on the news on Thursday giving out that Met Eireann never predicted it?

No, i'm hoping that people say something more constructive than "ah grow up"
    Fair enough.
    Feck the weather.. I want to know what Davehopper posted!
    Davehopper suggested that the weather would be slightly more devastating than might actually be the case. Satirical, albeit not so exciting or offensive as you may have been led to believe...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

I'm just about ready for this mean storm, the underground bunker is just about ready just some snagging to do late tonight early tomorrow floor leveling, and then get some hot food stuffs in i hope i can survive this, i really hope so :cool::D