Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bragging on Facebook

• 14-08-2012 7:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

I must say, I've noticed facebook has become a site basically for bragging...in the beginning it didnt seem that way for some reason...maybe i'm just envious but i think stuff like bragging about 'buying a second skyscraper apartment with your beautiful thai wife' is just attention seeking...or letting everyone know that 'your other half has a big swimming pool in his/her gaff' is just cringe..

Are people gone mad or what. People who are quite normal in person turn out to be boasting, approval seeking eejits posting on fb.

Can anyone relate to what I'm talking about? or Maybe I'm the one who's mad Ted:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

Facebook has always been about showcasing a persons image and how they want to be perceived. It gives unrealistic portrayals of people

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Thinly veiled I have rich mates thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

Facebook is handy for stalking people. That's the only good reason I can come up with as to why anyone uses it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭R019912

I filtered out all the people that annoy me so all that comes up on my news feed is softcore porn from a page called Fap Nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Whats the point of being mega rich if I can't boast on facebook about my Rolls Royce full of caviar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

Sitting by pool eating Strawberries atm

Must take piccy of Feet and thighs looking towards Pool/Sea and post to FB cos everyone is gonna be so interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Plates

c6433c84b0e711e1a92a1231381b6f02_7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

facebook is mainly used for braging and attention seeking. People seem to want to document there livies on facebook. Have a few (female) friends that would take photos on a night out for the sole purpose of putting up on facebook. i mean cant you just go and enjoy a night out without have documented evidence of it plastered all over the internet :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

That's what everybody is like in general. Facebook just puts it in writing. People are, generally, cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

Plates wrote: »
    c6433c84b0e711e1a92a1231381b6f02_7.jpg

Aww jasus I have a mate on facebook Every ****in day

"WOW AT THE GYM BOB THE TRAINER AND ME REALLY PUMPIN IT TODAY HUAAAAAAAHHHH"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Sitting by pool eating Strawberries atm

Must take piccy of Feet and thighs looking towards Pool/Sea and post to FB cos everyone is gonna be so interested

Just came across that very post about 3 days ago, cant understand why people do it, bloody sad and immature:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

A recent saying springs to mind..."if my real life was half as interesting as my Facebook life I'd be much happier"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Facebook is such utter ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭R019912

facebook is mainly used for braging and attention seeking. People seem to want to document there livies on facebook. Have a few (female) friends that would take photos on a night out for the sole purpose of putting up on facebook. i mean cant you just go and enjoy a night out without have documented evidence of it plastered all over the internet :confused:

Fully agree with this. Girls are awful for it, "oooh look at mee I'm on a night out with the girlos and I'll now pull a duck face in da club cause im a bebo stunnah"

Yes very confused, and I must say the wimmin seem to be the worst for it...one girl I know, in person is a very quiet, conservative type..but on FB she is this really cool, fun party girl...all accompanied with finger on lip poses :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

People seem to want to document there livies on facebook.:

Why the fcuk would they use a social networking site to do that?

R019912 wrote: »
    Fully agree with this. Girls are awful for it, "oooh look at mee I'm on a night out with the girlos and I'll now pull a duck face in da club cause im a bebo stunnah"

but are young wans not attention seeking by nature?

Runs for cover:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

I've had to make a new account to keep in touch with a half dozen people.

My god I hate the website. People babbling on about inane, banal crap all the while thinking they're amazing, beautiful butterflies.

I'm simply not going to accept any requests any more...

... unless they're female...

... and hot......................

....................... and like philosophy & science..........

Sorry, forgot where I was going with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I wish Facebook had a slap button.

• Yep. It's useful for weeding out the total c*nts who managed to escape the c*ntdar in real life.

This just came up on my newsfeed (from an ex-colleague):

My boss told just me that one of our biggest clients apparently fancies me! Me: "Well, can you blame him?" Boss: "No, you are gorgeous."

People actually talk like that about themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

I hate people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

What's been bothering me lately is the amount of pictures of food (mainly seems to be cupcakes and pizzas) that are posted by the same people several times a day. Most of these people are in seriously bad health (overweight), so I'm not sure if they feel that sharing a picture to facebook is akin to sharing the food with others. It's not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Pantsface

Yep. It's useful for weeding out the total c*nts who managed to escape the c*ntdar in real life.

This just came up on my newsfeed (from an ex-colleague):

My boss told just me that one of our biggest clients apparently fancies me! Me: "Well, can you blame him?" Boss: "No, you are gorgeous."

People actually talk like that about themselves?

i hope she works in supermacs

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Butterface wrote: »
    What's been bothering me lately is the amount of pictures of food (mainly seems to be cupcakes and pizzas) that are posted by the same people several times a day. Most of these people are in seriously bad health (overweight), so I'm not sure if they feel that sharing a picture to facebook is akin to sharing the food with others. It's not.

Are you in really good shape but have an ugly face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭gaf1983

Guilty. I posted this seafood chowder last Friday. I just wanted to make everyone jealous.

http://distilleryimage7.s3.amazonaws.com/a0139c18e32611e1a62d1231380fd04a_7.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭Casillas

Memes I hate memes..

On the plus side, FB is great for songwriters, artists, photographers, writers, film-makers, etc; who want to share ideas/work with one another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

It's the baby pictures that drive me mad. I mean the baby must literally have only popped out before some of the Mums have the pics on Facebook. Then there are the ones of them lying in bed together with baby & partner Very sweet but they are the type of photos that should remain private IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

I hate facebook.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

The posed pictures really annoy me, theres this girl I know....unfortunately, anyway she's really into fitness (Jodi marsh) style and constantly puts pictures of herself up in gym gear with captions like "ugh feel so fat" there's more fat on an apple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

Alessandra wrote: »
    It's the baby pictures that drive me mad. I mean the baby must literally have only popped out before some of the Mums have the pics on Facebook. Then there are the ones of them lying in bed together with baby & partner Very sweet but they are the type of photos that should remain private IMO.

+1000, have a friend who just gave birth and less than 10minutes later the picture was up on FB. What are these people thinking? Why would I want to see a half naked pic of a girl who still has the "just gave birth" look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭EMTFlynn

There's one girl i know on facebook publicly boasting about her affair with a married man! :eek:

I think most people on facebook look ugly, but try telling that to them.

Alessandra wrote: »

Oh god... I hate the baby pictures... I know a guy whose girlfriend took pictures of him while he was asleep too and put them up. I find that incredibly creepy.

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭laoiserick

facebook is mainly used for braging and attention seeking. People seem to want to document there livies on facebook. Have a few (female) friends that would take photos on a night out for the sole purpose of putting up on facebook. i mean cant you just go and enjoy a night out without have documented evidence of it plastered all over the internet confused.gif

Definitely agree with this one right here... I've friends who go on with that crap.
    I've come to the conclusion that the best nights out are the ones when you've no photos to show for it - you were too busy having a good time!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭BetterCallSaul

Instagram has made that 10 times worse. Posting pictures of their retro Burger King they just ate. Who gives a foooooooook.

I generally dislike the website, yet still use it every day. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Cassidy28 wrote: »
    I think most people on facebook look ugly, but try telling that to them.

The majority of pictures are grand imo but it's the ones that are taken by professional photographers in nightclubs that are the best. Lads off their minds on drink pulling the worst faces of all time and then the young ones with their poorly applied make-up. Makes for entertaining viewing, as long as you're not one of them.

EMTFlynn wrote: »
    There's one girl i know on facebook publicly boasting about her affair with a married man! :eek:

Nutjob:(

The majority of pictures are grand imo but it's the ones that are taken by professional photographers in nightclubs that are the best. Lads off their minds on drink pulling the worst faces of all time and then the young ones with their poorly applied make-up. Makes for entertaining viewing, as long as you're not one of them.

Speak for yourself.

Yeah or tucking into kebabs after a night out:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

That shower of "ban crude dead baby jokes and seriously sick jokes page" really pulls the tassles on me tits.

Oh and " excessive masturbating curry, few drinks and DVD tonight Xxx ♥ " ....... Please die

• Registered Users Posts: 894 ✭✭✭cian68

My facebook friends are about 2% people who I would like to communicate with 50% attractive women and 48% to make the attractive women less suspicious.

Bragging on facebook Pfffft

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

Lot of miserable farts ITT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Ahh...the old facebook is crap thread ...by people who probably spend as much time on it as the people they are slagging off ...oh the Irony .

Lots of people use facebook to look up old friends and acquaintances and associations and private groups are formed on there , just as in real life .If they were all as phoney as some make out here then you would know them well enough to tell them to their faces ...right ?

Simple solution , if you don't like facebook or any other social network sight then stay the **** away from it .

Latchy wrote: »
    Ahh...the old facebook is crap thread ...by people who probably spend as much time on it as the people they are slagging off ...oh the Irony .

Lots of people use facebook to look up old friends and acquaintances and associations and private groups are formed on there , just as in real life .If they were all as phoney as some make out here then you would know them well enough to tell them to their faces ...right ?

Simple solution , if you don't like facebook or any other social network sight then stay the **** away from it .

Don't tell me what to do!

Probably a slight generalisation but I'd say most people complaining probably don't do all that well in social situations in general. Lighten up ffs so someone had a baby and they posted a picture of it? The bastards! It's a bit of fun and a way to keep in touch with others, ie. a way of socialising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

blacklilly wrote: »
    The posed pictures really annoy me, theres this girl I know....unfortunately, anyway she's really into fitness (Jodi marsh) style and constantly puts pictures of herself up in gym gear with captions like "ugh feel so fat" there's more fat on an apple

I fucking hate that shit. I had a MySpace for my music back when, and a chick who "Liked" or whatever my page would post pictures of herself, pouting at the camera or doing that coy-look-away pose, wearing a hat or some crap. They all had the same type of caption, "I am so ugly LOL!" All the guys would post the usual garbage about how she was a gorgeous, so I said yeah, you're ugly as balls.

Probably a slight generalisation but I'd say most people complaining probably don't do all that well in social situations in general. Lighten up ffs so someone had a baby and they posted a picture of it? The bastards! It's a bit of fun and a way to keep in touch with others, ie. a way of socialising.

my OP says nothing about baby photos etc..I can't understand why people brag/boast so much on it thats all, personally I think its a personality deficit..If we'll say 'the bragger' said that crap to you in person, they'd be told to grow up a bit.

I fucking hate that shit. I had a MySpace for my music back when, and a chick who "Liked" or whatever my page would post pictures of herself, pouting at the camera or doing that coy-look-away pose, wearing a hat or some crap. They all had the same type of caption, "I am so ugly LOL!" All the guys would post the usual garbage about how she was a gorgeous, so I said yeah, you're ugly as balls.

Haha did you get 'unfriended' ?

lufties wrote: »
    my OP says nothing about baby photos etc..I can't understand why people brag/boast so much on it thats all, personally I think its a personality deficit..If we'll say 'the bragger' said that crap to you in person, they'd be told to grow up a bit.

Well I know myself I've posted pics of me getting highscores in video games(I know such a cool guy :P), if I go somewhere cool I'll tweet a picture of it. It's a way of letting people know what's going on. Which is basically what social networking is for. Ok you didn't actually ask for them to post it but it's no harm posting it.

Although there is one guy I know who posts constant pictures of his car, which annoys me, but that's just because I don't like cars, if I did I'm sure I'd be interested in what new feature he installed on it.