Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bragging on Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

lufties wrote: »
    Haha did you get 'unfriended' ?

All the White Knights came to her rescue and clued me in on the many ways they were going to kick my ass. She told me she would never buy my music again. I told her who ever she bought it from ripped her off because it's all available for free online. It went on for a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭R019912

Probably a slight generalisation but I'd say most people complaining probably don't do all that well in social situations in general. Lighten up ffs so someone had a baby and they posted a picture of it? The bastards! It's a bit of fun and a way to keep in touch with others, ie. a way of socialising.

I wouldn't really say the majority of people hate the site itself, just some of the bollocks that some people post on it. Like seriously, I don't want to know if someone has checked in at their cosy bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

All the White Knights came to her rescue and clued me in on the many ways they were going to kick my ass. She told me she would never buy my music again. I told her who ever she bought it from ripped her off because it's all available for free online. It went on for a few weeks.

something similar happened with me, one girl put up a really cheesey quote on fb, I said 'dislike' underneath for the laugh (well to stir the sh1t really)...about 20 comments after from all her nutcase sisters saying how they're gonna get me:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭MAR86

Facebook causes depression, at least in my case....Everyone seems so happy, always on holiday, always going out...and me sitting on a couch....not for me this social thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

I have a friend who checks in every god damn place, most days of the week, and will post daily photos - they just have to show the world what there up to.

Have some kind of a private life like!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

They have a competition on Facebook called "mums and tots" where you post a photo of your baby and randomers "like" the "cutest baby". The baby that gets the most likes wins. Wins what though God only knows.

The thing is everyone is Mailing one another saying "hey! Would u please like my baby!". Girls who I haven't spoken to in years are mailing me asking me to like their baby, eh as if. They can p*ss off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

JOHN_WEST just posted

OMG picking up keys of 3 seriez 2 morrows...Ahhhhh so x-citeddddd:D

johnwest likes this

Another one that someone has up right now
    "Enjoyin life so much right now things just cant get better"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ilyana

A lot of people I went to school with are on their obligatory J1s this summer, and every night they're uploading photos of their wonderful stateside adventures.

I won't lie, I'm jealous as fook. Stop bragging about your 'amazeballs' time, you're making us poor plebs at home feel bad :(

I know I could unsubscribe from their updates but I'm glutton for punishment :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I know girls who constantly put up totally photoshopped photos of themselves with captions like:

"No make up - I am who I am and if you can't accept me you don't deserve to be in my life. I may be fat and ugly but beauty comes from within!.

Just fall off a cliff or something, seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    I know girls who constantly put up totally photoshopped photos of themselves with captions like:

"No make up - I am who I am and if you can't accept me you don't deserve to be in my life. I may be fat and ugly but beauty comes from within!.

Just fall off a cliff or something, seriously.

That could be arranged...

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭AllWasWell

Some people on facebook drive me insane..i could literally go on forever but just to name a few:

a girl i know constantly updates her status every 5 minutes, including sending wallposts to her husband who is in the same room as her! She once posted "just marinating the salmon"..like seriously no1 gives a ****!

same girl has an album of her dog with about twenty thousand photos in it..now i get that some people are a tad crazy about their dogs, im one of them, but i don't upload a million photos of mine..no1 cares..and whats the most annoying is that most of the pictures are completely staged! like she would have a photo of the dog in the middle of her wardrobe covered in her clothes that had all fallen down from their hangers..as if the dog would be able to do that (its a small dog) and she happens to get a photo at that exact moment! another photo would be of the dog squashed in the third shelf of a bookshelf all perfectly arranged and posing to look cute..and this would be accompanied with captions saying "look where i found bobbi today, as if butter wouldn't melt"..

and top of the list for the most annoying people on facebook are those that are single...5 mins later 'in a relationship'..5 mins later 'single' again!
    a girl i know went thru a phase like this for about a week, but it wasnt just the change in her relationship status, it was her actual status updates that really annoyed me..she'd say stuff like "never felt so low in all my life, cried myself to sleep"..
    and then people would comment "are u ok?" and she'd reply "i dont wanna talk about it"..don't fcukin post it then!!

okay rant over coz i could go on forever...needless to say i hid these people so i don't have to see their annoying posts!
    just for the record i do think facebook is a good thing, but ur always going to get annoying people on it now and then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Does anyone ever write half the things written in here on these peoples status?

Its the people who have everything handed to them bragging that just makes me laugh. As if posting up a picture of a new car or from your new job that daddy got you is some form of achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

what about the dues who post pics of them selves with loads of women...

Your so awesome :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I fell into this trap a few years ago. One mates posts made me think that he was an asshole.

Then I noticed some similarities between his posts and mine.......it was an eyeopener that I was greatful to recieve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

R019912 wrote: »
    I filtered out all the people that annoy me so all that comes up on my news feed is softcore porn from a page called Fap Nation.

*looks for the Fap Nation group

:D:D:D:D:D:D thanks buddy!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

laoiserick wrote: »
    facebook is mainly used for braging and attention seeking. People seem to want to document there livies on facebook. Have a few (female) friends that would take photos on a night out for the sole purpose of putting up on facebook. i mean cant you just go and enjoy a night out without have documented evidence of it plastered all over the internet confused.gif

Definitely agree with this one right here... I've friends who go on with that crap.
    I've come to the conclusion that the best nights out are the ones when you've no photos to show for it - you were too busy having a good time!

No, the best nights are the ones where you can't have any photos because they may be used as evidence against you in a court of law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

I guess FB is always a good reminder why these people are strictly FB friends and not actually anything slightly more important.

One thing FB continuously reminds me of is people, mostly Irish, are very, very simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Facebook is only good for stalking,end off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I didn't post for a year and was bullied back into it by my cousin who lived abroad. Refused to just e-mail. I use Twitter a lot more, I post a couple of pictures and Youtube videos. More because I find it easier to view them back on my phone that way then trying to keep them all in playlists and navigating through the YouTube app.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

I disabled my facebook account for these reasons-

1, Most of the people on my ''friends'' list are idiots that I would avoid like the plague in real life.

2, It is full of needy and desperate attention whores.

and,

3, It is the biggest waste of time ever invented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I miss the early 90s when photographs cost you money and no-one had a phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

One lad on my friends list never stops bringing up the fact that he's joining the army/navy or whatever.

"Does anyone know what time the XXXX match is on 23rd August?"
    "2pm"
    "Oh ok I don't want to miss my medical for the army that day"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I'll repeat what I said on a previous "fuk Facebook" thread...

Delete the gob****es or delete your account. It's as easy as breathing.

After deleting the tards and various fairweather friends who requested my friendship and went on to talk to me a grand total of not even ****ing once, my FB only shows up stuff I might actually want to read/look at, from folks I think are sound and stay in regular contact with.

No bull****, no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    They have a competition on Facebook called "mums and tots" where you post a photo of your baby and randomers "like" the "cutest baby". The baby that gets the most likes wins. Wins what though God only knows.

The thing is everyone is Mailing one another saying "hey! Would u please like my baby!". Girls who I haven't spoken to in years are mailing me asking me to like their baby, eh as if. They can p*ss off

I'd like one of the other babies out of spite.

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

Better that than dumping their ****ty life on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

Casillas wrote: »
    Memes I hate memes..

On the plus side, FB is great for songwriters, artists, photographers, writers, film-makers, etc; who want to share ideas/work with one another.

i use it for just that, like a bookmarked list of websites all on one page for news bulletins. ****, i've loads, it's hard to keep up. from the latest tutorial articles to new music releases. i'm thinking i'll have to cull a few.
    There is a relentless amount of repeat though, and eg. say is SmashApp, if i see another mobile app that doesn't offer anything new over an already existing pointless app but just a different name, logo and interface. oh look "this app allows you to take photos of your favourite places and share with friends" oh really? eh isn't there not like ****ing 100s out there already that do that? ah but this one lets you name each photo :/

another is people who keep posting their fave music videos from youtube, on average 10 a day! yes we know your taste is mainstream and boring, just keep it to yourself - hide all updates for this user - great tool.

but are young wans not attention seeking by nature?

Runs for cover:D

its so easy to spot those who have high notions of themselves - their profiles are very public. oh look at me, i want to be seen, i think i'm 'hot'

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭CroatoanCat

For people in my age cohort, facepalm is really just mumsnet with pictures. I call it the Chamber of Lost Identities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I only brag about having cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Girl 1: Ugggh, me heads wrecked.
    Girl2: What's wrong hun? x
    Girl1: Cant say on Facebook.

Then why did you fu*king post?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Cheeky_gal wrote: »

Pedo love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Latchy wrote: »
    Ahh...the old facebook is crap thread ...by people who probably spend as much time on it as the people they are slagging off ...oh the Irony .

Agreed.

The amount of morons on here that incessantly complain about people posting updates about their life and pictures on facebook.

It's a fuckiing social networking site. What do people expect?

And they (a) accepted these people as friends (b) haven't blocked them from their newsfeed. (c) are too cowardly to unfriend them.

Funnily enough, the thanks-whoring stabs at making the worst status put-down on these threads is qualitatively no different to mongos posting bollocks on Facebook in the hope of garnering likes.

I get Angry when I discover someone has Unfriended me. And you dont want to see me Angry, Im not nice when Im angry !!!:P:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

An acquaintance of mine has gone back to college and made a group of friends, those 'drink 6 nights a week' type, mad for the 'banter', etc.. I wouldn't mind if he didn't keep posting (between photos from nightclubs) absolute drivel with a few thesaurus-found words, showing off his depth and intellect to his group of drink-addled friends, who are impressed by any word with three syllables or more.

anncoates wrote: »
    Agreed.

The amount of morons on here that incessantly complain about people posting updates about their life and pictures on facebook... Facebook in the hope of garnering likes.

i don't like this, no thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 jtims

what did people do without facebook years ago now its all keeping up with the jones or trying to better each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I must say, I've noticed facebook has become a site basically for bragging...in the beginning it didnt seem that way for some reason...maybe i'm just envious but i think stuff like bragging about 'buying a second skyscraper apartment with your beautiful thai wife' is just attention seeking...or letting everyone know that 'your other half has a big swimming pool in his/her gaff' is just cringe..

Are people gone mad or what. People who are quite normal in person turn out to be boasting, approval seeking eejits posting on fb.

Can anyone relate to what I'm talking about? or Maybe I'm the one who's mad Ted:D

This is why I think you should only have "Friends" on Facebook who are actually your friends. Usually I'm pretty pleased to know what's going on in my friends' lives because I don't get to see them every day. Particularly now that I'm down under for a year.

I can understand why you wouldn't want to hear about how many new cars were bought by some guy you worked with for a week back in 2009, but surely good news from people you care about is not bragging?

Also, when people do post up new and exciting things that they're doing, it usually spurs me on to get off the couch and go do something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I wnt to hispotal to get ma new ovary adn my boyfrend was wit me. I was goin 2 die cuz i dident have a donor,, i woke up tree hrs latr and d doctor tld me i had a nw ovray. i askd weres my byfrnd and he sed - u dn't know hu gav u the ovry?

lyk if u luv ur boyfrend xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Why do wimmens post profile pics of themselves in a toilet?

Honestly wtf do you do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Sykk wrote: »
    I wnt to hispotal to get ma new ovary adn my boyfrend was wit me. I was goin 2 die cuz i dident have a donor,, i woke up tree hrs latr and d doctor tld me i had a nw ovray. i askd weres my byfrnd and he sed - u dn't know hu gav u the ovry?

lyk if u luv ur boyfrend xxx

That hurt my head to read :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

You mean like this?

Sort of....

And the two other pics that aren't that funny or clever, the 'sticking out my tongue' pic and the 'I'm getting wasted, I'm a party girl' pic.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭nemesisdg

JOHN_WEST just posted

OMG picking up keys of 3 seriez 2 morrows...Ahhhhh so x-citeddddd:D

johnwest likes this

Another one that someone has up right now
    "Enjoyin life so much right now things just cant get better"

Someone who can't spell the word "series" properly does not deserve a 3 Series BMW.
    Anyway it'll probably smell of fish soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,455 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Cigar pics. I notice a good few profile pics where lads are pictured smoking a big cigar, often they have their shirt half unbuttoned and a drink in their hand. I presume they are trying to portray themselves as "party animals" with money or maybe Tony Montana types. I've come across a few of these tossers in real life too - buy expensive cigars, tell everyone how great they are, smoke them on them on a night out and make sure that they get their picture taken. Twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Post pictures from Mars Curiosity...............no reaction

Post pictures saying Mars Curiosity is a government lie or that 70 billion children died in Africa just to take pictures on a martian rock.............11,740 likes, 32,322 comments

I've had to weed out my newsfilter to where I've only about 5 people left, the rest talk unbelievable horseshìt. I mean, it's actually stunning how gullible or ignorant you find people in general to be, especially in terms of mob mentality.

Remember this?
    SO LET ME GET THIS STRAIGHT ... If you cross the North Korean border illegally, you get 12 yrs. hard labor. If you cross the Afghanistan border illegally, you get shot. If you cross the Irish border illegally you get a job, a drivers license, food stamps, a place to live, health care, housing & child benefits, education, & a tax free business for 7 yrs ...No wonder we are a country in debt. Re-post if you agree

This insulting and downright stupid piece of shìt was spread around by too many people not even thinking for a second at how daft it reads. Yet, people lapped it up and barely hid their fùckin' stupid racist remarks.

Then there was also the Boycott Mauritius shambles, Kony 2012, etc.

But what I find the worst is the bragging activism, spreading news about something is fine but to many it's a sense of "look at how aware I am of the world, here's a link about African geo-politics you should all know of from this flashy Youtube video". People who constantly post up petitions like to stop an African WarLord from doing naughty things, or that we should all be equal and get along yet insist on putting up pictures / links that insult people who believe in religion and label those who don't follow their opinion as "sheeple".

The circle-**** on that site is horrible.

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Cigar pics. I notice a good few profile pics where lads are pictured smoking a big cigar, often they have their shirt half unbuttoned and a drink in their hand. I presume they are trying to portray themselves as "party animals" with money or maybe Tony Montana types. I've come across a few of these tossers in real life too - buy expensive cigars, tell everyone how great they are, smoke them on them on a night out and make sure that they get their picture taken. Twats.

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Liking your own status is like **** and licking your hands afterwards

Or like bending over to smell your own farts