Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland SHC Semi Final: Kilkenny v Tipperary 19 August 3.30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

Daemos wrote: »
    Should've been red there. And people around here say Kilkenny are the dirty team :rolleyes:

Around where? Kilkenny are not dirty by any stretch of the imagination!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

AngeGal wrote: »
    It's not anyone but kk, it's anyone but the usual winners. You see it in all sport, whether it's Kerry in football, Manchester United in the premiership, the All Blacks in rugby, etc.

Near all have massive support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

An outstanding tactical failure coupled with a poor attitude vs a purely determined attitude led to this mauling.

Lar Corbett was put on Tommy Walsh obviously to try and do what Bonner Maher has done and neutralise him, keep him out of the game and if he gets the ball force him into mistakes. It's impossible to say what kind of handbags went on between them from watching it on TV but I wouldn't pay any heed to what Duignan was saying. In my opinion, it's a terrible idea to use your most potent forward as a workhorse. It played into Kilkenny's hands, they didn't even need a plan for the man that dismatled them in 2010. The worst thing about it though, was when Kilkenny had put 9 between them, Tommy Walsh must have seen 3 or 4 balls almost immediately and in plenty of space. Where was Corbett then?

In my own opinion, Corbett should have been in the full forward line, that's where he's most dangerous. Failing that, put him maybe on Brian Hogan and get him roaming like Mullane last year.

In terms of attitude, while there was a few lose swings from Maher, I don't think that was shared by the whole team. I think there attitude in terms of wanting to win every ball was non-exsistent. They were murdered in the air from start to finish, even though they managed to somehow lead at half time. While there's no doubt Kilkenny have managed to teach each player on the field to people to win primary possession, and they are excellent at it and know every trick in the book about how to prevent the other player winning the ball. That said, they're not as superior to Tipp in that department as they were today, Tipp just didn't want to put it in.

Very disappointing performance from them and as has been eluded to, this is most certainly the end of Declan Ryan's tenure.

Kilkenny really are the kings of physicality, and proved again today that they can all finish chances and that they just have a 6th sense when it comes to working goal opportunities to perfection. Hogan, Fogarty, Reid, Larkin and Fennelly were excellent through out, and Kieran Joyce also impressed a lot in only his second championship start.

Still though, I don't think this is any signal of how the final will pan out. I think it's going to be a good game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

kraggy wrote: »
    I'll actually suck your cock if you can make that happen.

Interesting :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Did he just say that was Lar Corbetts job for today?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Ryan, Lar, Cummins and Kelly will probably call it a day after that debacle. Ryan now saying it was a tactic to get Lar to do what he did today. FFS:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

liammur wrote: »
    I got every hurling prediction right so far this year.

I'm going for Galway to win the final.

..and you were doing so well...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Min wrote: »
    Near all have massive support.

But those who don't support them naturally follow the underdog. It's got nothing to do with KK. Can you not understand it's boring and, I would argue, bad for hurling for one team to constantly dominate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Just watched 5 mins of the City-Southampton game. Yawn fest.

Hurling. Best game in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Easy Peasy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭megapixel

3rdDegree wrote: »
    Around where? Kilkenny are not dirty by any stretch of the imagination!

Kilkenny aren't dirty they are filthy specially off the ball/camera.
    And yes I have been to plenty of games to witness this in person

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

realies wrote: »
    Kilkenny are forever winning everything or there abouts, Its good to change and put some new life into the championship.KK have been in the last 7 AI.

Hard to say being a Cork person, but KK deserve all the success they get - its not what is good for the championship, its whoever wins it. The amount of work put into underage hurling down there is savage - they put the structures in place 10, nearly 15 year ago at this stage - getting former players trained as coaches, proper development squads. Credit where credit it due, its up to other counties to try and catch up to them.

KK to win the AI final - and change their history, as they have never won the AI coming through the backdoor - it will take a fantastic performance from Galway to beat them

I hope Michael Rice is back for the final.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

efb wrote: »
    Can Galway beat KK a second time?

Hopefully
    Not a chance in all honesty.

uriah wrote: »
    It's Galway's All Ireland to lose now.
    what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

I hope Michael Rice is back for the final.

Buckley done very well in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Apparently what was going on with Lar Corbett today was a team tactic. He's one of the best players in the country, and that crap took him more or less out of the game for long periods. Crazy stuff.

Benny Cake wrote: »
    They'll have 31 counties behind em!
    Still wont help them win.

Hard to say being a Cork person, but KK deserve all the success they get - its not what is good for the championship, its whoever wins it. The amount of work put into underage hurling down there is savage - they put the structures in place 10, nearly 15 year ago at this stage - getting former players trained as coaches, proper development squads. Credit where credit it due, its up to other counties to try and catch up to them.

KK to win the AI final - and change their history, as they have never won the AI coming through the backdoor - it will take a fantastic performance from Galway to beat them

exactly, surely if Kilkenny are to lose they should be out-played, the better team should win. Like the Leinster final, yes, I was disappointed but Galway were the better team by a country mile and that was all good.

Let other teams rise to Kilkenny's standard and then I will be delighted to see more competition. Or do the neutrals want to handicap Kilkenny, how about Tommy has to carry Lar on his back in the final :D

Odds for the final are out from Paddypower.

Kilkenny 2/7
    Galway 3/1
    Draw 12/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

STIG83 wrote: »
    Used to like Micheal Dugian, but can't stand the way he talks up KK, licking their arse.
    Come on Galway!!
    What's baffling? KK have won enough and now let other counties have their day in the sun.
    So what KK hammered Tipp? They playing a team in the AI Final who hammered them in the Leinster final and a team they fear the most.
    Arrogant and cocky comes to mind.
    If KK were any good they would have won the Leinster title.

lemons.jpg

Tinie wrote: »
    Not a chance in all honesty.

This is why the semi final results (if KK had to win) were perfect for Galway. No pressure on Galway now, no expectation, the underdog tag always suits Galway.

KK are clear favourites but to say Galway have no chance is simply foolish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

25153121.jpg

ScottTenormanMustDie30.gif

Duiske wrote: »
    Apparently what was going on with Lar Corbett today was a team tactic. He's one of the best players in the country, and that crap took him more or less out of the game for long periods. Crazy stuff.

that's the thing, Lar is not known for that sort of thing. He normally just likes to play good hurling. He must be furious with himself and Declan Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

An absolutely outstanding performance today by Kilkenny and while Tipp got their tactics wrong even if Tipp had played to their best they still would have come off 2nd best I reckon.

Declan Ryan and the Tipperary management team must take a serious proportion of the blame for today's disaster. The carry on with Lar Corbett was embarrassing and the negative tactics employed by Tipp were a recipe for a disaster. Personally I don't think Ryan is the best man for Tipp but that's for Tipperary to deal with.

As for the All Ireland final Kilkenny are going to be raging hot favourites to win it out now but Galway are in an ideal position of been rank outsiders,I don't think it's a foregone conclusion that some people may think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Kilkenny 2/7
    Galway 3/1
    Draw 12/1

That's interesting, Galway were also 3/1 before the semis.

This is why the semi final results (if KK had to win) were perfect for Galway. No pressure on Galway now, no expectation, the underdog tag always suits Galway.

KK are clear favourites but to say Galway have no chance is simply foolish.
    No im a realist. Kilkenny are always at their best in the AI final and Galway are notorious for bottling big games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭megapixel

kk1.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Digitalism

I see the anti kilkenny brigade are out in force to support galway, like they do every year.

The greatest GAA team in history. Period. No team comes close.

It will be a big shock if Galway manage to win the final.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭the realpigiron

Kilkenny 2/7
    Galway 3/1
    Draw 12/1

Feck it, meant to get a bet on KK before today. Seeing as I've no bet on them hope Galway can do it, unlikely though by the looks of how hungry Kilkenny were today.

Tinie wrote: »
    No im a realist. Kilkenny are always at their best in the AI final and Galway are notorious for bottling big games.

Fine, we shall see in September. But this Galway team has never bottled a big game. Past mishaps by Galway will have no effect on the likes of Johnny Coen, Niall O'Donoghue, the Burkes, Joe Canning, etc. In any case, as I said, we shall see.

I hope the final doesn't end up like the Waterford and Limerick vs KK finals from a few years ago, they were very forgettable and one sided.

Digitalism wrote: »
    I see the anti kilkenny brigade are out in force to support galway, like they do every year.

The greatest GAA team in history. Period. No team comes close.

It will be a big shock if Galway manage to win the final.

Jeez, ye're awful sensitive. The price of such success is people get tired of that team which is dominating and support the underdog. It's not anti Kilkenny as such, its anti the constant champions who just happen to be KK. Ye gained from it yourselves in '06 when people had enough of Cork and they had only won two!

It will be a shock and it will be extremely difficult, but unfortunately Cody and his team won't be half as arrogant as many on here, with good reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

Benny Cake wrote: »
    ft9 wrote: »
    I can't even begin to understand how people do not want KK to win the AI after witnessing that performance. Baffles me.

Have you ever met a KK hurling fan?

Arrogant and cocky comes to mind.

That's not true. A lot of bitter people here, I think!

I hope the final doesn't end up like the Waterford and Limerick vs KK finals from a few years ago, they were very forgettable and one sided.

This is perhaps a little bit why people root against KK/all dominating teams also. This kind of attitude tends to seep into the supporters of succesful teams. There's an All Ireland to be won, you're from KK I'm guessing and your main concern is that ye don't win by too much???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

kraggy wrote: »
    Just watched 5 mins of the City-Southampton game. Yawn fest.

Hurling. Best game in the world.

Should have kept watching.

This is perhaps a little bit why people root against KK/all dominating teams also. This kind of attitude tends to seep into the supporters of succesful teams. There's an All Ireland to be won, you're from KK I'm guessing and your main concern is that ye don't win by too much???
    Ever think that maybe Im not, and I dont want them to be repeats of those finals as they were very onsided and uneventful?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

kksaints wrote: »
    Should have kept watching.

Absolute cracker!

Cannot see Galway winning the final. KK are back in business and have a score to settle with galway - only going to be one winner I think - the cats will prevail - by a large enough win aswell I think.

Both teams go into the final with equal scores.

Galway will want to show it was no fluke beating Kilkenny by 10 points and Kilkenny will want to put the record straight after losing the Leinster final so badly.

I think it was a blessing we (Kilkenny) lost the Leinster final, it actually suited both teams for different reasons.
    That said both teams went out to win that day, as I am not taking anything away from Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Absolute cracker!

Cannot see Galway winning the final. KK are back in business and have a score to settle with galway - only going to be one winner I think - the cats will prevail - by a large enough win aswell I think.

And Galway don't have a few scores of their own to settle with KK?

Ever think that maybe Im not, and I dont want them to be repeats of those finals as they were very onsided and uneventful?

Not seriously but a quick search of your posts to confirm turned up this

'Hey Tipperary, come back to me when you've won 4 in a row and over 30 all irelands :)'.

Care to answer my question now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 kilnamanagh

Congrats to Kilkenny, they were epic in that second half, the pick of the best hurlers in the country couldn't have stuck with them. Tipp's negative tactics backfired and they almost deserved to lose for playing like that, still think Eamon O'Shea is the biggest loss to hurling here in the last two years. Hopefully the final is as good as the finals of 2009 and 2010.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

MfMan wrote: »
    And Galway don't have a few scores of their own to settle with KK?

Maybe. But when kk settle scores against other teams, there's usually only one outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

megapixel wrote: »

Well it looked like Tipp wanted that title today also. I was stunned at their tactics and how Maher got away with his wild pull and the helmet being pulled off the KK player. If the shoe were on the other foot we would be calling Tommy Walsh to be banned. Kilkenny are very physical but I dont think they are dirty.

Tipp tactics were just awful. We didnt get to see what Lar was capable of because he spent the day giving an exhibition of how to be negative and unsporting. Maybe its uncharastic of him but it was a sad reflection of either him or who sent him out to play like that. Bonnar stuck where he could do no damage, McGrath starved of any decent ball.

On a positive note all the supporters showed great level of decency when John O'Brien was called ashore. Thats respect of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

I'd like Kilkenny to win five-in-a-row, just because of their brilliant mastery of the sport.

Maybe twice.

Or ten-in-a-row once.

megapixel wrote: »
    Oh dear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

The referee has to be the worst I have seen in a while, so main countless yellow cards that he missed is unacceptable at this level. In saying that I am disappointed in the tipp selectors sending their players out with that game plan. Just some offences I noted that he missed.

In the first ten seconds a tipp player pulled across a kk players chest. Just seen it in the corner of my eye.

Power having his helmet pulled off.

No 3 at 57 throws his hurl at goal scorer.

68 mins straight red, how he thought that was a yellow ill neve know.

First half shefflin, get a wrap across the neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Rebel Fan

What a fantastic performance by Kilkenny in the second half, 3-15 in 35 minutes of hurling is an unbelievable return. Tipp were a shambles, at half time they were in a great position, a point up without playing well and everyone expecting them to up their game in the second half. However, Lar Corbett should be ashamed of himself for putting in a display like that, never in the history of hurling has a player tried so deliberately to get a man sent off like he did with Tommy Walsh. Fair play to Tommy, he didn't let a muppet like Lar get to him, all his talking was done with the hurl and he ruled the half back line in the second half. One has to ask the question tho, did he do it of his own accord or was he told to do it by the Tipp management??? He was an embarressment to himself and his county for behaving like that, but it has to be asked why he did it. If he had put as much effort into what he's good at, playing in the forward line and creating and scoring, instead of trying to get a man sent off maybe things would've been different. Fair play to Kilkenny though, as a Corkman I take no pleasure watching them romp home again but you have to applaud and admire great hurlers when you see them. In sport though it's always nice to see a team that try to cheat their way into getting players sent off get their arses handed to them on a plate, it'll be a long winter in Slieve na Mon!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

What's baffling? KK have won enough and now let other counties have their day in the sun.

As a Galway supporter I'd rather a lifetime of days in the rain than one day in the sun because Kilkenny (or anyone else) decided to 'let' us win it.