Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

how much money will i need?

• 15-08-2012 12:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭

thinking of booking a holiday with the lads, for next week, plan is to spend on flights and spending money. my question is what is the minimum you'd need for them days? could i get by on 15-20 a day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

About three fiddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Depends on where you go doesn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

It depends on where ya go as u know most places differ in prices like drink smokes food etc as this is normally what lads holiday needs
    I'd say roughly bring as much as you can and sure if you come home with money left over then your grand
    Atb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Where are u going? On a lads holiday 20 quid won't last an hour let alone a day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

EdenHazard wrote: »
    my question is what is the minimum you'd need for them days? could i get by on 15-20 a day?

If youre planning on going to Malawi, then yeah.
    Anywhere else, youll have spent it by lunchtime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Sometimes I wish I was single, drunk & oblivious....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I'd say you're looking at a minimum of 50 euro a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

over 9000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Where are you off to, EH? I was away about a month back with mates, spent around £200 I think, but I was in Bulgaria which is about half the price of Europe so I'd guess €400ish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

brummytom wrote: »
    Where are you off to, EH? I was away about a month back with mates, spent around £200 I think, but I was in Bulgaria which is about half the price of Europe so I'd guess €400ish?

Hmm, I always thought Bulgaria was in Europe. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Spend on flights and spending money? You plan on spending on spending money.... where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

KeithM89 wrote: »
    If youre planning on going to Malawi, then yeah.
    Anywhere else, youll have spent it by lunchtime.

Only the mods could break a country by noon. Boards, now you're spending!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Are you talking about 5 days in Dublin, London, Amsterdam, Germany, Greece, or Tenerife?

Hmm, I always thought Bulgaria was in Europe. :confused:
    Sorry, I meant the Eurozone :o

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Me_Grapes

€600 is the minimum you'd need for a decent week imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

food drink thats all you need and accommodation id say 20 for food 50 for drink per day...

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

100 a day min or i wouldnt want to be going on the hols with ya:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

For a week :eek:? Did you eat?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

If your camping and maybe the odd day in a hostel or otherwise not paying for accomodation youd get away with it

For a week :eek:? Did you eat?????
    Ah yeah, all inclusive. Yeah sorry OP, obviously it depends a lot on where you're going, whether you're full-board, half-board etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

All these answers and we still don't know where the OP's going yet.

I've been on holidays where I spent €50 per day, others where I spent €1500 per day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭seanmacc

If its a Spanish holiday you can get locked in the apartment for a tenner and if you stuff the suitcase full of potnoodle you can get by. If you actually want to go out and socialise 50-80+ a day, particularly if you want to score women. 15-20 a day will get you nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

eth0 wrote: »
    If your camping and maybe the odd day in a hostel or otherwise not paying for accomodation youd get away with it

If you plan on eating out and drinking the take a minimum of 700 but if it were me I'd be sure to have 1000 minimum with me and if you don't spend it all then stick it back in your account when you get home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

could i get by on 15-20 a day?

If the drink is weak 15 to 20 pints a day is not far off.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭bleepp

Just back from from the sun with mates and we got by cheap enough! accommodation was a hole though and most of our dinners were in pint form but twas good craic! Regarding money it depends where u go but a good holiday doesn't have to cost an arm and a leg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

thinking of booking a holiday with the lads, for next week, plan is to spend on flights and spending money. my question is what is the minimum you'd need for them days? could i get by on 15-20 a day?

€20 a day? This makes no sense. A night out usually costs me €50+. Manchester cost me well over €200 for just two nights - and that didn't include accom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

@brummy Yeah dude 200 is what I'm looking at. Dunno if that's possible my diet is planning to be 6 euro from the shops, then about 5 euro on drink...ha tbh im just going for the sun.

Em its alicante im meant to be going to

I'm not a big drinker or big eater so...and in the EH I'm just going there for the sun/to pull :cool: haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

@brummy Yeah 200 is what I'm looking at. Dunno if that's possible my diet is planning to be 6 euro from the shops, then about 5 euro on drink...ha tbh im just going for the sun.

€20 a day wont get you far in Alicante. They cater to the tourist crowd so things can be a bit more expensive than other parts of Spain. Bring 3 or 4 hundred just to be on the safe side. Probably wont spend more than 60 or 70 a day.

wait well im going benidorm does the change anything

@brummy Yeah dude 200 is what I'm looking at. Dunno if that's possible my diet is planning to be 6 euro from the shops, then about 5 euro on drink...ha tbh im just going for the sun.

I'm not a big drinker or big eater so...and in the EH I'm just going there for the sun/to pull :cool: haha
    Ah, nice place, I was there last year.
    It's quite touristy so places on the main road are usually a bit more expensive than back streets. Ask around about the local clubs etc, either a holiday rep if you have one, or just do a google beforehand! I'm not certain but I think the average drink cost around €4 when we were there, so you'd probably need €50 a night unless you're pre-drinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,532 ✭✭✭✭Esel

If your camping and maybe the odd days in a hospital or otherwise not paying for accomodation you'd get away with it
    FYP

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    FYP

Hospitals are very expensive to stay in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

You're gonna need something to keep your energy up if you're gonna be doing all this pulling, otherwise you're just going to be fucked on very little, on an empty stomach and coming home a real light weight.

Ah, nice place, I was there last year.
    It's quite touristy so places on the main road are usually a bit more expensive than back streets. Ask around about the local clubs etc, either a holiday rep if you have one, or just do a google beforehand! I'm not certain but I think the average drink cost around €4 when we were there, so you'd probably need €50 a night unless you're pre-drinking?

Really yeah? I still haven't booked flights so need advice if I should.

Oh pre drinking all the way man, don't think I've ever bought a drink in a pub.

If I spent 25 a day, leave aside 10 for getting into clubs, 5 for drink and the rest for food?

1ZRed wrote: »
    You're gonna need something to keep your energy up if you're gonna be doing all this pulling, otherwise you're just going to be fucked on very little, on an empty stomach and coming home a real light weight.

If you had the use of a kitchen youd get a decent feed for less than a fiver a day. Food might be more reasonable there i dunno. You wouldnt do much drinking in a touristy place for that so youd a good bit extra for every day of drinking

If I spent 25 a day, leave aside 10 for getting into clubs, 5 for drink and the rest for food?

You'd have a fairly shite holiday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

wait well im going benidorm does the change anything
    That changes a lot . You could get free shots of everything varying from peach schnapps to sambuca and not spend a penny on a night out . Pints range from 1 euro to 3 . Spirits are 2 for 1 with mixer for about 4 euro . I'd say you could do it on 20. But if you get 35 you could have a way better holiday.

Everythings coming up Millhouse. Should I book? Tempted to get overdraft...

cHaTbOx wrote: »
    That changes a lot . You could get free shots of everything varying from peach schnapps to sambuca and not spend a penny on a night out . Pints range from 1 euro to 3 . Spirits are 2 for 1 with mixer for about 4 euro . I'd say you could do it on 20. But if you get 35 you could have a way better holiday.

Might go there myself then.

Me_Grapes wrote: »
    You'd have a fairly shite holiday

There is a pub called La Antigua in the back streets of Alicante. Its €10 at the door and open bar all night. Usually opens till 6am. You an have a good holiday on the cheap:pac:

Really yeah? I still haven't booked flights so need advice if I should.

Oh pre drinking all the way man, don't think I've ever bought a drink in a pub.

The only places you would really pay into is penelopes at the back of the town and then its about 20 but all the beer you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Sounds like you can't afford a holiday right now. I'll warrant a guess that you don't have a source of solid income since you aren't sure whether you'll go or not, you probably aren't worried about needing to book time off work. So maybe wait until you have more security and disposable income..

Sorry if my assumptions are wrong. If I am and you do have an income. Maybe save up and go somewhere in a few weeks time.

Might go there myself then.

I was surpised . I got all inclusive for 7 euro a day in a hotel in the old town and when we had finished there we went into the new town around 12 and it was just getting busy. Some nice little hangouts . Went there expecting to spend a helluva lot more but the guys just drag you in , do a shot and then could go out and they'd drag you back in for another.

There is a pub called La Antigua in the back streets of Alicante. Its €10 at the door and open bar all night. Usually opens till 6am. You an have a good holiday on the cheap:pac:

Great if you want to spend all day every day for 7 days in a pub/club. Not saying that's a bad thing....but even that can become mundane.

When I'm away I personally like to spread myself around, go to diffrent pubs, do a bit of sight seeing, visit the nearest city, play a bit of sport and yes, have more than one meal a day...I like to eat at good restraunts and feel spending €5 a day on food insane. There is a lot of time to fill in a day over there, so unless you plan on sleeping through the days, €25-35 cannot last you a full day in a place like Alicante or Benidorm.

OP said he hasn't even got flights sorted, and I would presume therefore that he hasn't got accommodation sorted either (unless he knows someone who has a villa or something). Imo he will need at least €600 for a full holiday experience.

Also, if you're intending to be constanty on the pull, you are most certainly going to have to buy a few drinks for the ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Anyone else predicting a clusterfck story when he gets back, "So I was in Benidorm, right..."

Also, if you're intending to be constanty on the pull, you are most certainly going to have to buy a few drinks for the ladies.

You really don't , seriously. probably better if you don't.

cHaTbOx wrote: »
    You really don't , seriously. probably better if you don't.

You buy drinks for girls? :confused::confused::confused:

Usually a bit of chat has the same effect.

In all seriousness OP, I'd recommend saving up for a year and having a proper planned holiday next summer, with a big group of your mates in a nice apartment/hotel. It'll be something to look forward to, and it'll be worth the wait.

It's really not worth getting an overdraft or putting yourself in debt for the sake of a quick holiday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

If you are worrying about cash before you even book your holiday, then its probably best to give it a miss. No fun in going abroad just to penny pinch. Especially if your travel buddies are relatively flush. They go off to a see a show, eat some expensive sea food, go on a day trip or what not and you staying in the resort looking for a Mickey D's to get the euro saver lunch.

Not fun, my man. Save your cash and go on a winter sun holiday or wait until next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭bleepp

I pull girls without buying em drinks and im fu***ng gay!
    Put your hand anywhere except in the wallet is my advice ;)