Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Are you an introvert or an extrovert?

• 15-08-2012 8:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭

Well, because I've posted this on boards I can have a guess already ;)

The thread about house-sharing and landlords made me think of this. Some people feel much better around other people and need to have people with them all the time.

Others, like me, need time away from people because I find them a bit overwhelming at times and just need time to relax by myself. I don't think I'd ever cope in a house-share because people must be there all the time and sometimes I just really don't feel like interacting! I'm pretty anti-social though, my friends know this. Having said that, I live with my partner and we spend a lot of time together but I wouldn't want to spend that much time with anyone else.

So, people of boards, are you introverts or extroverts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Introvert.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭JamieKCCO

I swing both ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

I'm an introvert and god help everyone when I finally decide to show my true feelings

*inserts cartridge into shotgun*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭TheBody

I think I'm an extrovert. I mean I like quiet time on my own but I generally like human interaction and company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

I'm an introextravert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I'm normal.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Ambivert. Best of both worlds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

I think I'm a mixture of both, I like being alone a lot of the time, but I do enjoy people's company

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

Introvert. I love good company/being with people but after a few hours the batteries are drained and I need to be on my own for a while to recharge them. Next day I'm up and ready to face the world again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Im an extropervert!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Im a clandestine pervert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Voyeuristic introvert.

Like Randall Graves; I hate people but I love gatherings...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Sureley it's a bit more of a spectrum than a black and white label?
    ..........................................................^......................

That's me on the spectrum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Defiantely an introvert, I enjoy spending time on my own, helps me to relax and think. Could happily go a week without seeing anyone not a bother, try not though as I suppose it's not really healthy. Many of my friends need to be around people all the time, and just like I don't understand the fact that they seem to be incapable of spending time alone, they can't understand why I need to spend time alone, and I would defiantely class it as one of my needs, I think I would go mad if I didn't get a few hours of alone time everyday. Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

probably was quite introverted when I was younger, now I'm almost completely extroverted. Alone time is still great though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Introvert.

I have few, but very good, friends.
    I spend a lot of time with my girlfriend, just the way i like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Lollers wrote: »
    Introvert. I love good company/being with people but after a few hours the batteries are drained and I need to be on my own for a while to recharge them. Next day I'm up and ready to face the world again.

This.

And don't talk to me after work when I've been around people all day. Just give me a half hour/an hour to myself! :)

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Introvert.

I have few, but very good, friends.
    I spend a lot of time with my girlfriend, just the way i like it.

I spend a lot of time with her too, just the way she likes it:D

I joke................................or do I??.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Definitely an introvert. I'm not shy at all but I do find it hard to honestly give a shìt about going out to a shìtty nite-club and dealing with the public, I see enough of them at work.

I live with the GF but beyond her I couldn't care less about spending time socialising constantly. I have to have time to myself every day where I don't have to open my mouth or I'll go cracked and get worked up, same as herself.

I do like to emerge out into the open world to socialise every now and again but afterwards I'm just dying to have time to myself once again. I do like the fact that I can just vanish for a few days and not deal with anyone.......beyond work anyways, but the joy of that is I work on my own :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Why do you want to know? What difference would it make if I told you anyway?
    No one listens to anything I say, I just like to keep myself to myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Extrovert. Love being around people, hate being on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Bit of both tbh! There are times when I want to be left on my own, do my own thing. However Saturdays are not the same without going to the pub to meet the lads and knock a bit of craic out of it! Also see them during the week at football.

Sundays are pretty much a 'me' day, just leave me alone please!

frag420 wrote: »
    I spend a lot of time with her too, just the way she likes it:D

I joke................................or do I??.........

"MWUHAHAHAAH" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Depends on how much alcohol I've consumed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭thunderdog

I'm a pervert......

We're looking for words ending in "vert" right?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Depending on the occasion and respective decorum for such events, I can be either one.

thunderdog wrote: »
    I'm a pervert......

We're looking for words ending in "vert" right?

prevert = childperv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Extrovert/dickhead. I could never be quiet and insular, I'd get bored. I much prefer being an almost obnoxious, irritating little cunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I think I'd be more mesmomorphic but I guess nobody is entirely one or the other are. It's just a guide. I'd me between mesmomorphic and ectomorphic.

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

An introvert, for sure. That's not to say I don't sometimes really enjoy meeting up with friends or going to a party or the pub, but if I had to be sociable on a regular basis I'd crack up. Sometimes I enjoy going to events/gigs by myself for that feeling of being in company/around other people without having to constantly interact/talk/listen, as you do when you're there with someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I'm normal.
    I don't mind meeting new people and going out to pubs ( not clubs too loud,sticky,overpriced,crowed and nowhere to sit).
    But I need my own time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Introverted has nothing to do with disliking meeting friends and the like.
    Better to think of how you react upon meeting a new group of people such as starting college as a guide.

I'm a extrovert slightly.

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

Introverted has nothing to do with disliking meeting friends and the like.
    Better to think of how you react upon meeting a new group of people such as starting college.

In that case, I'm probably an extrovert; a sometimes very unsociable extrovert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I'm an introvert 100%.

What pisses me off is how often being a loner and an introvert are confused. I have quite a few friends and socialise a decent amount. Not a lot but a few times per week.

At the minute I havn't seen anyone in over a week and am loving it. Nice quiet time to work, read and think.

I also find I can only do a few things per week. Like I hang out with people for a few hours then that's my socialising batteries drained for the next couple of days.

College can be fun and I love hanging out there too. But sometimes I'll just chill in the library or whatever because I'm tired/not in the mood.

I also genuinely find that people who are very extroverted say a whole lot of nothing. They'll talk all day without actually having an interesting discussion. I only ever speak in a group when I feel I have something worthwhile to add.

I'm moving into my own place soon ( :D ) which means I'll get to be by myself more. SCORE!!!

I actually love being an introvert. We're the minority (25% I think?? ) and I wouldn't change how I am for the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Introvert, most definitely. Tis grand!

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

I'm not saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

is this about belly buttons?

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I also genuinely find that people who are very extroverted say a whole lot of nothing. They'll talk all day without actually having an interesting discussion. I only ever speak in a group when I feel I have something worthwhile to add.

QFT

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

I'm not sure any more. I was definitely introverted when I was younger, but I think I'll probably end up as that guy who tries to talk to everyone on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I'm moving into my own place soon ( :D ) which means I'll get to be by myself more. SCORE!!!

Control of your own TV, low ESB bill, not dealing with others manky dishes / rotted food in the fridge, extravagant **** everywhere in the house, nobody holding up the shower, having to deal with housemates and their strange friends, etc.

Best years of your life :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Introvert. I much prefer to do my own thing or be around a close group of friends, family. Im not one for parties / engagements where Im in the middle of a large crowd of people I don't know. Small talk about the minutiae of life bores the face off me, and Ive always found that the vast majority of people are completely absorbed by it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

brummytom wrote: »
    Extrovert/dickhead. I could never be quiet and insular, I'd get bored. I much prefer being an almost obnoxious, irritating little cunt.

Little???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Little???

Now now brown cow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Agricola wrote: »
    Introvert. I much prefer to do my own thing or be around a close group of friends, family. Im not one for parties / engagements where Im in the middle of a large crowd of people I don't know. Small talk about the minutiae of life bores the face off me, and Ive always found that the vast majority of people are completely absorbed by it!

I worked as a receptionist for a couple of years and the small talk that was involved absolutely bored me to death as well, so I know where you're coming from there. Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Very much introvert, I am. Never mind, you can't be everybody's darling anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I'm definitely extroverted but I do love taking time to myself to just sit with my own thoughts.

I love to socialise and for the most part I want to be doing something and kept active, but like I said, sometimes I just wanna chill, be it with thoughts or music, put the headphones in and shut the world out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

I'm a total introvert, really very shy.

Once I get to know people though, even a small bit, I'm great with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Definitely introvert, not a bad thing for me personally, I'm happy with who I am. Still would like to change some aspects of it - less painfully shy for one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Reluctant introvert. I enjoy meeting up with people and having good long conversations about fcuk all but then it's like a light switch that I have to retire to have alone time and recharge. I find it annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Little???
    I'm about 5ft7 :(