Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

XCOM: Enemy Unknown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

I started a game with the warspace mod. Makes the game much more difficult. I've been youtubing it as I go too. Not sure if it's allowed to post a link though. It really makes you regret poor decisions.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,743 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

seen that on nexusmods, any use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

seen that on nexusmods, any use?

I'm only a small bit in but it's much more difficult. Injuries last a lot longer for one thing. Research takes longer too. I'll post some more details when I get further in.

EDIT: This is my latest videos. You can see the difficulties I am facing. Aeriel battle is quite hard without any of the extra buffs. Accuracy is quite low with the basic weapons in missions too. And as you can see by my injury list you really have to take care of your troops.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MMlGD4H9B90

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

FYI, this is on the Preorder bonuses for Bioshock Infinite, if anyone was holding out for a sale but was planning on getting the other anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,031 ✭✭✭Patser

Have tried a few times now to replay the game, after taking a few months break. But having finished it on classic, I feel I have to play it on Ironman.

Rage quit after rage quit later I usually end up back with Total war or CoH. You just don't get attached to your soldiers in them.

here's the xcom teaser from pax last night, if anyone missed it

http://kotaku.com/5992126/could-this-be-a-new-xcom-game-in-the-works

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

here's the xcom teaser from pax last night, if anyone missed it

http://kotaku.com/5992126/could-this-be-a-new-xcom-game-in-the-works

What a **** **** **** trailer... I hate teasers and this was a perfect teaser.

I did say it was a teaser lol

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

I hope its not more over priced dlc like the past time, I proper expansion pack or a sequel would be great.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I did say it was a teaser lol

Nah, i know. I just hate such thing as a "teaser" in video game industry. Fecking show it or dont bother with it and save some money on it. It did not "teased" me, it just annoyed me. they would get more positive reaction from me if they would just say it: "Here you fecking go lads, we working on next X-com title! It will have aliens in it! BOOM!"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

I have little time for teasers, so I didn't bother reading it. But they have announced that Xcom is being ported to the iPad.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I see this is coming to Mac as well, I hope it's Steamplay enabled.

Steam are fairly quick at things like that, especially when there's dollah's to be made :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

So it looks like the "other" xcom game is back with a release date of the 20th of August.

some vids;

totally not interested in that :/ the video was good though

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭jaxdasher

I'm still waiting for more xcom dlc. they said earlier this year there is a big one coming soon and that teaser trailer at PAX. Need it soon.

yeah likewise here, but not a word has been said since that teaser. Fingers still crossed for TFTD or the very least new maps :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Oh christ, how I would love to see TFTD get the same treatment. The improved lighting and effects could produce some genuinely terrifying underwater encounters.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

Might be a heathen for saying this, but I played Apocalypse first and it's one of my favourite games of all time and id LOVE a remake of it, down to the last detail, but with the new engine.

fair enough comment but you're still going to be burned at the stake, witch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

Been playing the warspace extension mod but it's impossibly difficult. Managed to scrape through most of the missions by throwing dozens of rookies into the meat grinder, but at the second terror mission the game threw 12(!) chrysalids, 2 cyber discs and 6 floaters at me.

It's a shame there isn't better mod support for the game as it has a lot of unfulfilled potential.

I want Irish soldiers with Irish voices, barking commands in Gaelic! that'd be awesome!

Yea voices all having American accent is annoying.

I want Irish soldiers with Irish voices, barking commands in Gaelic! that'd be awesome!

"Gerrup ta f*ck outta that cover and f*ckin' LAMP 'im one!"

Sarky wrote: »
    "Gerrup ta f*ck outta that cover and f*ckin' LAMP 'im one!"

"Ah here leave it out!" to Chryssalids hunting your soldiers.

Could pretty much just transplant half the dialogue from The Saboteur. Who wouldn't want their X-COM soldiers shouting "Jumpin' Jaysus!" and "Shoite! I'm BLAYDIN'!"

Panic State "Feck this, I'm off to pub. Anyone coming?"

• Registered Users Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

"Jesus, Mary & Joseph, what in the name of christ is that!"
    "Move your hole"

would be just as awesome to use sound files from movies.

Hudson from aliens for panicked soldiers, "game over man, game fu*kin' over!

escort missions, you need at least one Arnie saying "Get to da Choppa!"

First time killing a Chyrsillid, "If it bleeds, we can keel it"

In fact, any Arnie quote for any soldier in any circumstance would be hilarious!

" Check it out! Hey, Ripley, don't worry. Me and my squad of ultimate bad-asses will protect you! Check it out. Independently targeting particle-beam phalanx. WHAP! Fry half a city with this puppy. We got tactical smart missiles, phase plasma pulse rifles, RPGs. We got sonic, electronic ball breakers! We got nukes, we got knives, sharp sticks." - Dr Shen