Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

cool or not

• 15-08-2012 9:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭

A guy getting asked for i.d when buying beer... would you be chuffed or angry?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Embarressed

Unless it was somewhere in the US

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Tesco was it? You could be 100 and they'd still ask you for ID

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Christ. Someone get the defibrilator! AH needs a revival!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭TheBody

I'm 31. I'd love to get asked for id. We are getting old op!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Scrappychimow

eth0 wrote: »
    Tesco was it? You could be 100 and they'd still ask you for ID

It wasn't me but i think he said tesco ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Couldn't give a toss - gimme the beer :p

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭supersparkz

Send them to specsavers!

He does look really young for his age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

not cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Who's ou?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Asking anyone for id who is clearly past a certain age is just stupid.

Like, yeah you might get a 23yo who looks 17. But you dont get a 31yo who looks 17 :P

he would look 19-20 at the minimum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

It wasn't me but i think he said tesco ..

It was you wasn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

I was able to walk into an offy at 16 and buy a bottle of Jack, no bother.

Being a giant has its advantages.

Aidric wrote: »
    It was you wasn't it?

No.

He gets lots of attention from 19 year old gurls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I was often mistaken for 23 when I was 17.
    It's the best thing ever when you get into clubs no bother and you're the biggest man going but fuck me does it hit you like a brick wall on your 18th! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I'm ID'd everywhere and I'm 29. Tesco is particularly bad though - and Lidl.

I'm often asked for ID. I'll be sad when it stops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭fkt

I'm 18 and I occasionally don't get asked! Now THAT is embarrassing.

It's worse when I have a guy who wants to bang me before he finds I'm ten years younger than he thought :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Wouldn't give a **** tbh. At least it shows they are doing their job and not serving 16 year old kids.

I got caught on a night out once, didn't bring my I.D and was gonna be left alone in a town I wasn't familiar with, while my mates went into the nightclub. Approached a member of the AGS and told her the situation. She was nice enough to confirm I was over 18 to the bouncers and they let me in. Sound!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Couldn't give a shíte as long they give me the beer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Depends how old you are and how much you want the drink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

Happens to me and I'm 30. I don't mind it but it písses me off when they're reluctant to accept my driver's license that I've had for ten years because it's not an "age card". I don't even think they were around when I was 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

If getting asked for ID bothers you, then you havent grown up yet and deserve to be asked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Agricola wrote: »
    If getting asked for ID bothers you, then you havent grown up yet and deserve to be asked!

Having to get a Garda ID at 29 is a pain. You can consider me not grown up if you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

He gets lots of attention from 19 year old gurls

The poor dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Being a giant has its advantages.
    Yes you can threaten to eat their children and stamp on their village.

If you grow a beard no body asks you for ID. Face hair is actually made out of pure manliness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭csi vegas

This is not true. I'm ahem very close to the age you listed and I get asked all the time. It's such an embarassment now at this stage. Men never ask me, it's always the 'wans', even 'wans' I'm much older than :mad:

Wan :) day when I got asked (I was ATTEMPTING) to get my fags,
    I obviously had no ID (because I'm older than 18 and don't need my passport stolen thanks) I went to the lengths of producing the almost empty packet I had in my bag as desperate 'proof'..."Ah sher they're smokin at nine now, aren't they!" fúkin hag!

Kurz wrote: »
    Happens to me and I'm 30. I don't mind it but it písses me off when they're reluctant to accept my driver's license that I've had for ten years because it's not an "age card". I don't even think they were around when I was 18.

What? Seriously! OMFG!

I don't have a drivers licence (well I have but I just don't bother) but to know this? They won't accept it? That's just being a cúnt now!
    One word - JOBSWORTHS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

csi vegas wrote: »
    fúkin hag!
    Are you sure you're over 18?

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭bleepp

Agricola wrote: »

Exactly, I asked a girl buying drink for ID the last day and she had a face on her like a bag of cats. She started laughing and said "are you serious!?" and rolled her eyes up and was muttering and giving out as if I had done something wrong.

She was 24 but looked 12.
    I made sure not to say thanks when giving her change:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Went into the usual place to buy drink.
    Met with a new girl who asked me for I.D. After about 10 seconds of an intense stare on my face one of the other girls walked by and asked what the problem is and I asked "why am I being asked for ID". To which I learned "she's new and isn't used to your ugly mush" and all was well.
    I was 19 at the time :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

If it was tonight everywhere is asking for ID because its results night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I'm 28 and Tesco wouldn't sell me wine a few days ago because I had no ID. I told the girl at the counter I was 28 and all she said was ya, I'm 28 too like it was meant to make me feel better. There's no way she could have confused me with someone under 18. I went across the street to Dunnes and got the wine no bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Hasn't happened in awhile :(

What I never understand are signs like;

"Over 18? If you look under 21 you may be asked to produce ID"

WTF? How does that even make sense? So I look over 18 but under 21, how do you go about making such a subjective judgement on a three year age difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I was IDed the other day in the UK. I was rather chuffed cos I've just turned 30 :D

What? Seriously! OMFG!

I don't have a drivers licence (well I have but I just don't bother) but to know this? They won't accept it? That's just being a cúnt now!
    One word - JOBSWORTHS.

I think if someone says they are 30 and don't have any ID on them, the shop assistant should ask them questions about 80's cartoons/tv shows.

What was the name of evil dude in Thundercats?
    What were the Rescue Rangers chipmunks called?
    What day of the week was Fun House on?
    What was Inspector Gadgets niece called?
    Name the tv show where the boy turns into a dog.

4/5 questions right means they pass.

Larianne wrote: »
    I think if someone says they are 30 and don't have any ID on them, the shop assistant should ask them questions about 80's cartoons/tv shows.

My answers:
    I didn't watch bad TV
    Penny
    Weird Japanese cartoon show #432423423

What do I win? :D

My answers:
    I didn't watch bad TV
    Penny
    Weird Japanese cartoon show #432423423

What do I win? :D

No, now put the bottle of Morgans where you got it. :cool:

I think you're the drunk and underage one! I asked you "what do I win" and you say "no"?

Someone can't handle the drink and it's not me! :P

I think you're the drunk and underage one! I asked you "what do I win" and you say "no"?

Someone can't handle the drink and it's not me! :P

I meant to type nothing, nothing.

Typical drunk, trying to correct their drunken behaviour.
    But here's a nightmare: when you wake up tomorrow you still have to live with the fact you made a drunken mess of yourself on Boards!

Typical drunk, trying to correct their drunken behaviour.
    But here's a nightmare: when you wake up tomorrow you still have to live with the fact you made a drunken mess of yourself on Boards!

I wish I was drunk! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I wish I was still asked for ID.

I'm in my early thirties and people offer to help me cross the road. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

What? Seriously! OMFG!

One word - JOBSWORTHS.

hat was Inspector Gadgets niece called?

I only know one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Whenever I'm asked for id i just produce my Justice League membership card.

Always works.

Ah no, now! I'm *cough cough* early 30's and all I know is inspector gadget's niece was Penny!
    Anyone recall Dangermouse?
    And what's that one "stay away from that TRAP DOOOR! Cos there's something down there!" haha
    "ataaack! of the killer tomatoes! the killer tomatoes!" haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Rarely get asked for ID and even when I do, I look nothing like my picture. :pac:

Last time I got asked was about 2 years ago in Dunnes after I did my shopping and went to the other counter to get some fags. Girl asked me for ID, I stared at her puzzled since I had a 2 bags of food in one hand and a pack of beer under the other arm.

A woman behind me goes: "Ara' for fúck sake, does he look like a fúckin' child to you? Look at the size of him!!"

Still had to produce the ID, though. I take it as more of a compliment on my youthful looks :D

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭Rich11

happened today and i was raging after it.
    poped out of work today to buy a packet of smokes, in a shop in temple bar square, which has 2 entrances and 2 tills, so walked around in my chef gear, now iv been buying smokes, beer, vodka, everything no props. didnt have any id, rarely carry it unless im going out somewhere, so went to the till and the guy who has served me loads of times, seen my id knows im 22, wouldnt serve me:eek:. why cause his manager was standing close by. said to him u served me loads of times, he said yeah but i didnt have id this time.
    so i was like grand, walk down to the other till and get em who was there.................... a new guy:( who wouldnt serve me either, so pissed off, more so i was in my work gear,
    was going to ask the first guy again on the way out but just wasnt arsed:o
    so that my quick "smoke" break over and no smoke

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

Anyone who asked me for ID these days would be taking the piss. Anyway, I'd just show them my back hair.