Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accomodation Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 30 hyper_on_water

Mr.Fun wrote: »
    I'm in Roebuck- anyone else?! :)

me too

Mon, we have the craic. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Mr.Fun

Mon, we have the craic. :P

Roebuck seems to be great!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Oboyle94

Haha im sure ill get to know my neighbours! :D .. kinda scared to be sharing a room with someone though! haha

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Hanii93

Oboyle94 wrote: »
    Haha im sure ill get to know my neighbours! :D .. kinda scared to be sharing a room with someone though! haha

Same as... but the craic will be had :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Aoife_

Neeson wrote: »
    Roebuck has en-suites - like Glenomena but more expensive than Glenomena. Merville has shared toilets.

http://www.ucd.ie/residences/residences/[/QUOT
    Roebuck and Glenomena are the same price :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Aoife_

Mr.Fun wrote: »
    Roebuck seems to be great!!

I'm in Roebuck too !:) Which house ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Seang0

I'm going into first year in UCD and need people to house share with.
    I'm doing computer science and have a budget of about 400-450 euro a month.
    My emails seagallagher94@gmail.com so if your interested email me.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭RedTexan

Choice between Roebuck Hall/Castle? Which one would ye suggest and why?

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Paula95

Seang0 wrote: »

Heya, i tried to email you but it wont send. Im also going into first year, studying arts. My budget is similar to yours and i would be interested in sharing a house. if you're still interested e-mail me paulashannon95@gmail.com
    Thanks,
    Paula

• Registered Users Posts: 26 moo2011

Paula95 wrote: »
    Heya, i tried to email you but it wont send. Im also going into first year, studying arts. My budget is similar to yours and i would be interested in sharing a house. if you're still interested e-mail me paulashannon95@gmail.com
    Thanks,
    Paula

i would be interested too guys! studying arts also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭IslandKid

RedTexan wrote: »
    Choice between Roebuck Hall/Castle? Which one would ye suggest and why?

castle is catered and the newest building.

DOEs anyone know what the different apartments mean in the different residences?

• Registered Users Posts: 40 drbtrenier

RedTexan wrote: »
    Any one with opinion/experience of Roebuck Hall? Got my accommodation there, not too bad considering I was nearly 3000th on the list, good oul Ad Astra.

I'm in Roebuck Hall too :) Exactly the same as you, got it with "good oul Ad Astra", and I was over 3000 on the list! NO idea what it's going to be like, I'm just glad I have someplace to stay. What apartment are you in?

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Same Difference

KarenR111 wrote: »
    House 19 Merville anyone? :)

Neighbours :)

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thisisadamh

Siobhnk wrote: »
    Merville house 9 :)

Same here!

• Registered Users Posts: 28 emmetd7

Seang0 wrote: »

me too! emmetdonlon@yahoo.co.uk

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Siobhnk

Same here!

What apartment? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9 BrendanDwyer

2 first year students looking for a place to live asap! If anyone needs 2 rooms to be filled or if anyone wants to join in the search to find a place let me know!

• Registered Users Posts: 22 lechar

Does anyone know if they are giving out places on a Saturday??

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Kristofferson

Which houses in Merville have been renovated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭DreamByDay

Does anybody know if we'll be informed when all the rooms are taken - so that we don't waste time waiting for an offer when all the rooms are taken :p

I saw the numbers of the renovated houses in Merville somewhere on this thread or an old thread from another year maybe ?
    Have you been offered accomodation today or yesterday ?

DreamByDay wrote: »
    Does anybody know if we'll be informed when all the rooms are taken - so that we don't waste time waiting for an offer when all the rooms are taken :p

What number are you?

lechar wrote: »
    What number are you?

331... :/

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭gwakamoley

I've seen 15-26, 11-21 and every house except the last two all mentioned in different places on this forum.

DreamByDay wrote: »
    331... :/

Yeah im 234 but the number is going down slowly.. Dont know if that is a good thing or not?

Do you know if theyre handing out places today??

Yeah im 234 but the number is going down slowly.. Dont know if that is a good thing or not?

Do you know if theyre handing out places today??

I also don't know if it's good...I think they hand offers on weekdays 4pm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭IslandKid

does anyone know what it means when they say apartment x, room x
    ?

like what does the ampartment number mean..? thanks

p.s i believe they keep offering accomodation everyday at 4.

IslandKid wrote: »
    does anyone know what it means when they say apartment x, room x
    ?

like what does the ampartment number mean..? thanks

p.s i believe they keep offering accomodation everyday at 4.

I'd say the x's stand for the number you're in.
    Did you get offered one today??

III wrote: »
    and you can see the rooms going live! its been 20 minutes and there are 628 rooms left, and dropping by the second... LORD HAVE MERCY!!

edit: In the time it took me to post that a further 25 rooms were taken... lets all cross our fingers and hope its the fastidious "up at midnight to book" students getting out of the way early.. oh please let it be so

edit: ok, the rooms are stabilizing at 590... looks like my prediction came true! hallelujah, but there's still 23 hours 30 minutes to go! fyvdasjvref

edit: it's currently 4:31 and roughly 25% of all rooms have been booked! I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but this isn't looking good...

edit: 38 minutes into D-Day.. *cough* *splutter*... only 501 rooms left... *gurgle*... help me...

WHERE DID YOU SEE THIS!!!? :O

I think he just substracted the amount of places he went down in the waiting list from the total number of rooms.
    I.e if you were number 500 on Friday at 4pm and two hours after you are number 300 then it means 200 rooms have been taken so there are 770-200=570 rooms left, etc...
    So if our rank keeps slowly going down...it s*cks for us :/
    I wonder if we will be offered places monday/if there will be some places left for us :/