Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Needless violent scenes in TV shows

• 17-08-2012 1:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭

Started watching the second season of Criminal Minds today and in one of the episodes it starts off with a couple getting a letter from their daughter, the letter says she is having a great time etc and theres a DVD, which they assume is pics, turns out to be a DVD of their daughter getting raped.
    The scene shows the distressed looking woman getting thrown onto a table by her attacker who is raping her... then you have a reaction shot of the parents(father dies of a heart attack).

I thought it was quite disturbing, but also unnecessary, the reaction shot of the parents would have got the message across grand. Seemed like the scene was just thrown in for the sake of it, it was needless (disturbed me to such an extent that I turned it off).

Does anyone else think that many TV shows are unnecessarily violent?

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

Dear Mailbag. blah blah blah. sincerely Mary Whitehouse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

People watched other people being ripped apart for sport thousands of years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

OP you should check out this fun family show called 'Spartacus: Blood and sand'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Dear Mailbag. blah blah blah. sincerely Mary Whitehouse

Hardly. I've no problem with vilelnt scenes if they serve a purpose in furthering stories, but a lot of them seem (to me anyway) to be directors a) being lazy and b) showing it because they can, for the sake of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

...I've no problem with vilelnt scenes if they serve a purpose in furthering stories...
    Maybe it did.

But you wouldn't know because you switched it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

The entire episodes here on youtube if anyone wants to see it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,523 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

it's a bit like cgi and splosions, cram lots of shocking stuff in and you need to worry less about a good plot. laziness basically

IMO the vast majority of sex scenes are pretty unnecessary and always happen at the exact second someone walks past the door of my room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

What next, complaining about gratuitous boobage on TV?

(PS: IIRC, the point of it in that episode is to give an early clue that there are 2 unsubs, as there is someone holding the camera.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

IMO the vast majority of sex scenes are pretty unnecessary and always happen at the exact second someone walks past the door of my room.

pro-tip: If you're finished already, turn off the porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

I once watched Secretary with my sister. Now that was an comfortable 90 minutes of viewing. :pac:

It's that Mexican stand-off situation. The atmosphere is weird but no one's about to acknowledge it's weird lest the weirdness be brought out into the open where it's tangible. So we did the only thing possible -- pretended to be cool with it and take an unnatural interest in our fingernails/the curtains/an imaginary mark on a jumper while James Spader is cracking one out on Maggie Gyllenhal's back. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Use spoilers ffs!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭MarkHitide

I've given up watching most British crime drama because of the over reliance on sadism and gore.

tolosenc wrote: »
    What next, complaining about gratuitous boobage on TV?

(PS: IIRC, the point of it in that episode is to give an early clue that there are 2 unsubs, as there is someone holding the camera.)
    tbf any amount of man boobs is too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Started watching the second season of Criminal Minds today and in one of the episodes it starts off with a couple getting a letter from their daughter, the letter says she is having a great time etc and theres a DVD, which they assume is pics, turns out to be a DVD of their daughter getting raped.
    The scene shows the distressed looking woman getting thrown onto a table by her attacker who is raping her... then you have a reaction shot of the parents(father dies of a heart attack).

I thought it was quite disturbing, but also unnecessary, the reaction shot of the parents would have got the message across grand. Seemed like the scene was just thrown in for the sake of it, it was needless (disturbed me to such an extent that I turned it off).

Jaysus help ye if ye watch Boardwalk Empire, Spartacus, Rome, the Borgias, The Walking Dead, Spiral, Deadwood, Hell On Wheels........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Itchy and Scratchy parodies the violence in Tom and Jerry.

Nothing to see here folks, move along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Go watch the end scene of Casino. Joe Pesci and the boys will make a man outta ya!

Millicent wrote: »
    I once watched Secretary with my sister. Now that was a comfortable 90 minutes of viewing. :pac:

It's that Mexican stand-off situation. The atmosphere is weird but no one's about to acknowledge it's weird lest the weirdness be brought out into the open where it's tangible. So we did the only thing possible -- pretended to be cool with it and take an unnatural interest in our fingernails/the curtains/an imaginary mark on a jumper while James Spader is cracking one out on Maggie Gyllenhal's back. :D

Yeah watching Boardwalk Empire with my mother was quite uncomfortable at times.

Just out of interest, what kind of angle is that scene from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Pfft! :mad:

Says you maybe

Thats body-hate. For shame Sir, for shame.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Yeah watching Boardwalk Empire with my mother was quite uncomfortable at times.

Just out of interest, what kind of angle is that scene from?

Just so you know exactly how outraged you should be when you rent the movie later? :pac:

Facing Maggie, James in background, no peen to be seen, IIRC.

Millicent wrote: »
    Just so you know exactly how outraged you should be when you rent the movie later? :pac:

Facing Maggie, James in background, no peen to be seen, IIRC.

Well when I know what's coming it's fine, it's being caught off-guard that's the problem. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

ziggy wrote: »

In fairness, if there was a show about murdering fluffy kittens the whole fecking world would be up in arms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I find this thread most ironic given the Op's username:confused:

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

There is no good on the Telly that lasts more than ten seconds though people are fascinated by evil when young .People are hurt at the sight of good soon enough .Amazing that most people don't understand the formula yet .

paddyandy wrote: »
    There is no good on the Telly that lasts more than ten seconds though people are fascinated by evil when young .People are hurt at the sight of good soon enough .Amazing that most people don't understand the formula yet .

...this week, on "wtf is he saying".....

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

For those lacking concentration and attention span;
    There is no such thing as 'good' on tv that lasts more than 10 seconds .
    People are fascinated by Evil especially when they are young .
    People get hurt by envy quite soon.
    People don't understand the formula .

Yep. That absolutely clears sweet fuck all up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

That's exactly what the show is about. It's about serial killers and rapists etc. Of course it's gonna have that stuff in it. Would you rather everything in life was censored?
    Some people just love to complain about absolutely everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

Anyone know what channel it's on?
    Preferably if it was starting from season one. Just so I can form a informed opinion on it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Violence is just another layer that is used to heighten the atmosphere while watching, not just shove the story along. I found this especially true for Drive and The Wire. OP I think you may have failed to realise Criminal Minds is about people tracking down the most disturbing crimes in America, surely they're going to need to convey some of that to give context to the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

I don't think they do any harm, we all know its just TV. I was watching the Spartacus thing that was OTT but I felt it was more cartoonish then real.

But the whole thing now about what kids can see, Most the cartoons we all enjoyed are now banned, sesame street released some back issues for DVD and had to give a warning "not suitable for children" as there were people smoking in them, kids riding a bike with no helmet and some puppets getting a smack.

So now chilrens TV is like some big acid trip, its fukcen weird. It can't be healthy.

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭AllWasWell

There's something really fascinating about watching really violent tv

I'm not unstable or anything tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,650 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Spartacus is just weird. Although a 5 min lezzing seen can be, um, entertaining, its pretty unnecessary

paddyandy, I don't know if you are a pensioner who shouldn't be allowed near the internet, or just the worst troll ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭scwazrh

You choose a tag name of Fenian army and a little bit of TV drama disturbs you:rolleyes: let me guess you thought the name sounded cool but know nothing about Fenian history or origins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

OP you should check out this fun family show called 'Spartacus: Blood and sand'

Yeah, after that check out a delightful show called 'Oz'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

c_man wrote: »
    Yeah, after that check out a delightful show called 'Oz'

That was a delightful show I thought the shower scenes were great

scwazrh wrote: »
    You choose a tag name of Fenian army and a little bit of TV drama disturbs you:rolleyes: let me guess you thought the name sounded cool but know nothing about Fenian history or origins.
    Paddy McCourt's Fenain Army.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

That is why we have a watershed. After 9pm shows are aimed more towards adults so we should be aware that scenes may have an adult theme whether sexual or violent. There is usually a warning before the shows (especially the American ones). Having said that I watched the first scene in the youtube clip posted and there was nothing of note in it.

LOL your username would indicate a preference for violence:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

You wear a lot of beige don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Itchy and Scratchy parodies the violence in Tom and Jerry.

Nothing to see here folks, move along.
    Good point; if you want proper, visceral, gratuitous violence just watch some classic children's cartoons, where characters got minced on a regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

kylith wrote: »
    Good point; if you want proper, visceral, gratuitous violence just watch some classic children's cartoons, where characters got minced on a regular basis.

Road Runner was an epic show for that. the coyote got minced in 20 different ways in less than 3 minutes. Still one of the best cartoons ever made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭xxyyxx

Having watched the start of the show on the Youtube clip I can see that you have exaggerated what you saw on television.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I find some tv too violent also (Game of thrones :eek:) so I just change the channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

xxyyxx wrote: »
    Having watched the start of the show on the Youtube clip I can see that you have exaggerated what you saw on television.

It's quite tame really. Deserves a 15 cert, not even an 18 certificate.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

KeithM89 wrote: »
    The entire episodes here on youtube if anyone wants to see it :p

Had to watch the opening scene to see what the OP was on about.

It's pretty tame by violence in some tv shows but more importantly who the hell closes a laptop while the clip is still playing!?

It's not going to look great when his superior comes in and the character opens his laptop to a girl getting raped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

OP, never watch the film Irreversible.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Your level of tolerance to violence at times might be different to others depending on an ever changing number of factors - taking that also into account - if any violence is in a programme or film, etc and its only put in there as 'filler' and frankly is unnecessary to a story/objective, then it shouldn't be in there.

Given that some have a different tolerances in reacting to seeing violence levels, sometime what you consider enough to be shocking and enough to get across a terrifying situation, might not be enough for others and the makers of such programmes try cater for those too, to get across better to all, maybe the horror of a situation better or its after-effects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Madam_X wrote: »
    I find some tv too violent also (Game of thrones :eek:) so I just change the channel.

Ha ha

It's not that bad