Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buy a PC or build one

Options
  • 17-08-2012 4:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭

Hows it going folks,

My wife is looking for either a laptop or a PC for one of our upstairs rooms. She will only be using this computer for using Microsoft Word etc and surfing the internet. I may use it from time to time for programming (I'm a second year noob) but I doubt it will be that often. There will be no gaming done on the machine.

I've a few old PC's at home that I've been trying to fiddle about with the last few days. One of them has 512MB of RAM installed (2 x 256MB) and has a maximum available of 1GB (2 x 512MB). The other also has 512MB installed but has a maximum of 2GB (2 x 1GB). However, as far as I remember, this second machine is a bit dodgy. It was an old work machine and I think we had problems booting it at times.

With so many options, I'm trying to figure out the best thing to do before I start spending money. The way I see it I have 4 options.
    1. Upgrade the RAM on the first machine to max 1GB - This will work but I'd prefer if the machine was faster.
    2. Upgrade the RAM on the second machine to max 2GB - This seems a bit stupid as I'm sure there was problems with that machine
    3. Buy a Dell Inspiron 660S for €629 including VAT and shipping. The specs are in the attached pdf.
    4. Build a machine.