Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lots of interviews...but no offers

Options
  • 18-08-2012 10:51am
    Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭

Ive been looking for a new job for about a year.working part time in accounts and the athmosphere in the job is toxic.Feel pure dread going in every day.

Ive been looking to move into a full time role. I went back to college at night to do the accounts technician course and im half way though with really good results from my first year exams.In addition to this ive been working in accounts for 12 years so plenty of experience...BUT...

In the last 3 months I have had 14 interviews and so far ive gotten 11 no's (still waiting to hear back from 3 from last week).Ive asked for feedback and I keep getting told the same thing "you did a great interview and we were really impressed with your skills but we went for a candiate with more experience/already finished IATI/stronger skills."

I know its great to even be getting interviews and a few 2nd interviews but its so disheartning to be constantly told no. last 3 jobs I had i was offered on the spot.

Is it just me or does anyone else share this experience?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

As the employers say, it probably is simply the case that you are not as qualified as other applicants.

You've just got to stay positive and keep applying. It will eventually work out for you, that is 100% certain. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭micdug