Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Male concraceptive pill a step closer to reality

• 18-08-2012 5:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭

Scientists are making progress to release a hormone free male contraceptive pill, similar in idea to the female equivalent.

This pill would miminish fertility by dramatically reducing sperm and making them "bad swimmers" for a certain time depending on how long the pill is taken for, and normal fertility will quickly return once off the pill with no side effects to the next generation.

The contraceptive could be taken weekly or daily depending.

Either way I think this would be a great thing at reducing unwanted pregnancies and when appropriate, do away with condoms because let's face it, most guys (me included) hate them.
    The only real negative I can see is a big rise in STIs if guys to out on the pull thinking they're alright because they can't get her pregnant.

Considering the most common contraceptive method are condoms and they are seen as the man's responsibility, not always but mostly, should this also become the guy's responsibility too? The female pill is more disruptive as it's hormonal so if this is non-hormonal and carries no negative effects, should the roles be switched and make "taking the pill" the man's job?

Tbh I'm going to laugh at a time when I'm going to be hearing guys bitching about getting her pregnant because they forgot to take their pill :p
    And knowing guys are much lazier about this stuff, I wonder could we be more trusted with this than women?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Why would I take this there is no risk that I will become pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

then we can all get STI's yippieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Always made sense to me, it's more practical to unload a gun than to fire at a hopefully bulletproof vest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

More of an Evo fan my self. They yaw :D:pac::cool:

According to the latest figures we all have STIs apparently Dublin is the STI capital of Europe,,,,YaY go Ireland another thing to be proud of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

1ZRed wrote:
    This pill would miminish fertility by dramatically reducing sperm

I dont mind if you minimish your fertility, but I am not sure if I want to minimish mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Colmustard wrote: »
    According to the latest figures we all have STIs apparently Dublin is the STI capital of Europe,,,,YaY go Ireland another thing to be proud of.

thast cause some people are just to cheep to bye a crips packet :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Good luck getting women to believe you - 'honestly babe, I'm on the pill':D.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭fran17

"its ok baby im on the male pill".cant see to many women buying that one really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

That's a popular misconception.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

That's the problem but a man's first priority is to make sure he wears a condom so as to not get a girl pregnant. I have a few mates who have told me they had casual unprotected sex because she was on the pill with no worry or thought about catching an STI.

Up or down a when a guy wants to get off oand he feels there's reduced risk and can do it without using a condom he'll do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭MarkHitide

Anyone remember the expression "All Men Are Bastards"?
    This news will test the truth of that axiom-

syklops wrote: »
    I dont mind if you minimish your fertility, but I am not sure if I want to minimish mine.

Doesn't make a difference to me if I was ultra fertile or not at all, I'm not going to be getting anyone pregnant but I'm still stuck with the condoms.

i know a guy who was doin the business with a woman at the back of a club one night.he ripped a fiver in half to make it sound like a condom wrapper opening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I welcome it. Am in a long term relationship and I can't find my bloody pill. Having himself on a pill too would make life a bit less stressful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Just as the pill for females should only really be considered as a sole contraceptive method for monogamous couples I think the male pill will be targeted at similar.

I wonder could they incorporate viagra into the pill, then they would have a blockbuster pill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

fran17 wrote: »
    i know a guy who was doin the business with a woman at the back of a club one night.he ripped a fiver in half to make it sound like a condom wrapper opening!

Quietest. Nightclub. Ever.

no no no,back of the club outside

Dumbest.Woman.Ever.

no no no,back of the club outside

Classiest. People. Ever

What's wrong with the bathroom stalls? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Brilliant news for monogamous relationships but people still need to wear condoms to prevent stds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Quietest. Nightclub. Ever IN THE WORLD!!!.

Edited for greater affect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

"its ok baby im on the male pill".cant see to many women buying that one really

It'll make a change from a pretend vasectomy like the good old days.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It'll make a change from a pretend vasectomy like the good old days.

Jaysas what kind of dinosaurs were you riding back in the day that promised that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

But what if it just makes the sperm retard swimmers who can still impregnate?

could end up with something like out of robocop:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

This is great for the likes of someone in a relationship, but there's no way id use it if it was a one nighter. Condoms all the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It's a woman's job to take the pill. It's our job to thrust, and tolerate the look of disgust and contempt in their eyes.

dlofnep wrote: »
    It's a woman's job to take the pill. It's our job to thrust, and tolerate the look of disgust and contempt in their eyes.

You're doing it wrong:p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

just play vatican roulette, simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

just the thought of taking the pill is making my nipples sore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I wonder if the lads testing it get to have sex with women, to prove they wont get them pregnant...

...bareback ofc.

If it happened, I would hazard that there is already stipulation that if a volunteer woman got pregnant, then an abortion would/could be carried out, then refinements to the pill undertaken.

I wonder if the lads testing it get to have sex with women, to prove they wont get them pregnant...

...bareback ofc.

If it happened, I would hazard that there is already stipulation that if a volunteer woman got pregnant, then an abortion would/could be carried out, then refinements to the pill undertaken.

**** into a cup more like, and the contents then examined - same as screening for fertility issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

**** into a cup more like, and the contents then examined - same as screening for fertility issues.
    :(

Taking all the potential fun out of experimentation since year zero. It's called an experiment for a reason lol, they should go with the natural order of things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

...bareback ofc.
    Well I think the original research article might have mentioned something about how difficult it was to coerce mice into wearing condoms. Plus the only size scientists carry around with them are XXXXL* :cool:

*In vain sadly, since we never get to use them

You're doing it wrong:p.

Am I doing it right though? :D

1ZRed wrote: »
    Am I doing it right though? :D

Hard to say, Redzer .................. you should probably start a thread to discuss this in detail!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

Give me ALL OF THESE PILLS. IMMEDIATELY.

Thinly veiled "I'm such a manly horny fucker capable of getting any bitch I want pregnant" post.

Thought you had more subtlety than that man

Thinly veiled "I'm such a manly horny fucker capable of getting any bitch I want pregnant" post.

He might just be on a lucky streak!

Hard to say, Redzer .................. you should probably start a thread to discuss this in detail!;)

Hmmm alright I get the hint hint :p

Not sure what the hint hint is hinting to though :confused:

As if!

More like I have respect for women, so if this option was available I'd gladly take it as the side effects of the pill can be harsh on girls sometimes.

I also don't want kids. Thus I wouldn't make a responsible parent, regards of being able to be a provider or not.

Also at the end of the day the woman is the one left with the majority of the burden to bear regarding pregnancy, so I wouldn't like to put someone through that if at all possible.

As if!

More like I have respect for women, so if this option was available I'd gladly take it as the side effects of the pill can be harsh on girls sometimes.

I also don't want kids. Thus I wouldn't make a responsible parent, regards of being able to be a provider or not.

Also at the end of the day the woman is the one left with the majority of the burden to bear regarding pregnancy, so I wouldn't like to put someone through that if at all possible.

Relax, was only fucking with you ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

a fiver???

this was back in the good old days of the Celtic Tiger when we were all rich yeah?

Relax, was only fucking with you ;):p

I never can trust you gays...

I mean... you guys...

I never can trust you gays...

I mean... you guys...

I suppose you can't really. You don't know if I meant my last comment literally or not... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I'd love if there was a pill my boyfriend could take. I'm on it atm and the side affects aren't pleasant, weight gain, mood swings etc. so if there was something hormone free that he could take instead, I'd welcome it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I'd much rather a pill than the fecking condoms.

Nothing spoils the mood faster than "hold on, wait a sec while I wrap up".

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

Think of it as a money saving pill, child support would suck you dry (figuratively speaking) and lasts a lot fcuking longer than your average orgasm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

My girlfriend is on the pill, this would be great for me to take so I wouldnt have to use condoms. I need 2 forms of contraception to not be terrified of any accidents