Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*JC 2012/2013 Off-Topic Thread*

• Registered Users Posts: 11 Snncc

sotisme wrote: »
    I would be so grateful if someone could point out my mistakes in this letter!

Dublin, le 3 mai
    Cher Robert,

Je serai de retour de mon voyage scolaire á Paris! J'ai arrive chez moi hier soir en bateau. Il était un long voyage et malheureusement, la mer a été trés agitée- c'etait casse-pieds! Cependant, j'étais heureuse car je n'ai pas eu le mal de mer.
    C'etait un experience super, cela m'a beaucoup plu. J'ai fait tout les choses tous les jours! J'ai passé dix jours lá-bas. Au debut, j'ai visité le musée avec mes camarades et mon prof de francais. Il était trés interessant mais un peu fatigant.
    Le seule chose j'ai préfére était la nourriture. Tu as de la chance, la cuisine de la France, c'est genial! Chaque diner, j'ai mangé un grand repas, mon plat préfére était les escargots!
    J'ai fait des echats aussi, j'ai acheté un nouveau survetemant, c'est chouette! C'est bleu avec un peu rouge. C'est enorme aussi, ma mere pense qu'il est trop large pour moi! En revanche, il me faire trés comfortable.
    As-tu des projects pour les vacances? Tu visiteras tes grands-parents á Limerick encore? Mes vacances? J'ai organise beaucoup de choses! Je travaillerai dans un petit boulot a cóte de ma maison pour une mois. Il sera un peu ennuyeux mais je gagnerai beaucoup de l'argent pour acheter un nouveau portable. Je passerai juillet á mon gíte á Wicklow. Il se trouve au bord de la mer et j'adore faire de la natation donc c'est parfait pour moi! Il y a un centre du shopping á cinq kilometre de mon gíte donc je ferai des achets aussi.
    Voilá, c'est tout pour l'instant! Je dois aller, mon díner m'attend sur la table. Ecris-moi vite, j'attends avec impatience de ton reponse,

Á Bientót,

Bronagh

ps. Some of the fáda's are wrong and I don't know how to do a hat fáda so please don't point out those mistakes. I'd also be sooo grateful if you could grade it, do you think it's good enough for an A? Honestly please!

It's a really good letter, I think it's A standard, you have used a lot of different verbs in different tenses which is needed in an A standard letter. Just one point, if you're writing as a boy it's 'préféré' if you're writing as a girl it's 'préférée'. There is always an extra 'e' for a girl, you might be docked a few marks or just one mark, depends on the standard of the exams in general :) Otherwise, it's pretty good! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 39 3yearstudent98

It's very long! I don't think you'd be able to get that much down tomorrow..

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭sotisme

Snncc wrote: »
    It's a really good letter, I think it's A standard, you have used a lot of different verbs in different tenses which is needed in an A standard letter. Just one point, if you're writing as a boy it's 'préféré' if you're writing as a girl it's 'préférée'. There is always an extra 'e' for a girl, you might be docked a few marks or just one mark, depends on the standard of the exams in general :) Otherwise, it's pretty good! :)

Thanks so much! :)

It's very long! I don't think you'd be able to get that much down tomorrow..

In the mock i had enough time for both the formal and informal letters haha! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Jijsaw

In the mock i had enough time for both the formal and informal letters haha! :)

We never did formal letters in class but if one (very unlikely) comes up, I should be able to string a couple of fancy sentences together (hopefully)

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Lost In Confusion

Jijsaw wrote: »
    We never did formal letters in class but if one (very unlikely) comes up, I should be able to string a couple of fancy sentences together (hopefully)

if it comes up they give a choice :L

• Registered Users Posts: 20 emzana

I would be so grateful if someone could point out my mistakes in this letter!

Dublin, le 3 mai
    Cher Robert,

Je serai de retour de mon voyage scolaire á Paris! J'ai arrive chez moi hier soir en bateau. Il était un long voyage et malheureusement, la mer a été trés agitée- c'etait casse-pieds! Cependant, j'étais heureuse car je n'ai pas eu le mal de mer.
    C'etait un experience super, cela m'a beaucoup plu. J'ai fait tout les choses tous les jours! J'ai passé dix jours lá-bas. Au debut, j'ai visité le musée avec mes camarades et mon prof de francais. Il était trés interessant mais un peu fatigant.
    Le seule chose j'ai préfére était la nourriture. Tu as de la chance, la cuisine de la France, c'est genial! Chaque diner, j'ai mangé un grand repas, mon plat préfére était les escargots!
    J'ai fait des echats aussi, j'ai acheté un nouveau survetemant, c'est chouette! C'est bleu avec un peu rouge. C'est enorme aussi, ma mere pense qu'il est trop large pour moi! En revanche, il me faire trés comfortable.
    As-tu des projects pour les vacances? Tu visiteras tes grands-parents á Limerick encore? Mes vacances? J'ai organise beaucoup de choses! Je travaillerai dans un petit boulot a cóte de ma maison pour une mois. Il sera un peu ennuyeux mais je gagnerai beaucoup de l'argent pour acheter un nouveau portable. Je passerai juillet á mon gíte á Wicklow. Il se trouve au bord de la mer et j'adore faire de la natation donc c'est parfait pour moi! Il y a un centre du shopping á cinq kilometre de mon gíte donc je ferai des achets aussi.
    Voilá, c'est tout pour l'instant! Je dois aller, mon díner m'attend sur la table. Ecris-moi vite, j'attends avec impatience de ton reponse,

Á Bientót,

Bronagh

ps. Some of the fáda's are wrong and I don't know how to do a hat fáda so please don't point out those mistakes. I'd also be sooo grateful if you could grade it, do you think it's good enough for an A? Honestly please!

I'm not grading this or anything because I'm only in JC myself! Just letting you know that letters and postcard/note are the section with the least marks in the exam so don't stress over it too much! But I'm sure you'll get a high grade by the looks of that letter! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11 Snncc

Jijsaw wrote: »

We didn't either, that's what I'm worried about! Fingers crossed :p

emzana wrote: »
    I'm not grading this or anything because I'm only in JC myself! Just letting you know that letters and postcard/note are the section with the least marks in the exam so don't stress over it too much! But I'm sure you'll get a high grade by the looks of that letter! :)

Thanks, french was my worst mock result and I'm reealy hoping for an A, especially since I'll be doing it for the LC! I have worked so hard for it but I'm still so scared and I got like no study done today because I had to cram history and I've a feeling that I'll forget everything!

• Registered Users Posts: 20 emzana

Thanks, french was my worst mock result and I'm reealy hoping for an A, especially since I'll be doing it for the LC! I have worked so hard for it but I'm still so scared and I got like no study done today because I had to cram history and I've a feeling that I'll forget everything!

I know :) Don't panic it's just the JC after all! Just stay calm you've obviously put in the work good luck :)

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭pa limerick

What is the likely hood that the renaissance will come up for section 6 A

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Lost In Confusion

i thought i was finally finished with maths and probability :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭greenpyjamas

No clue, bloody hope so though! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭CathalRyano

Anyone got any History predictions?

Also does anyone know if dates are worth much at all? If I talk about say the cuban missile crisis but don't say when something happened (apart from maybe year) does that matter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Mary A

this has nothing to do with science but theres only 20 people in my exam room like my friends in other schools have 100 or more .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

Mary A wrote: »
    this has nothing to do with science but theres only 20 people in my exam room like my friends in other schools have 100 or more .
    There's only 11 in my class room ... and i'm one out of two people who do higher level everything in my exam room :D.

ohh so small! half the class is doing pass and other higher xD , im doing all honours. only 3 subjects left for me :D!!

Lucky! ... care to swap lives? I want my summer holidays early! :mad:

nahh im okk :P , just skip the exams lol ( jokin) , my friend never showed up to her maths exam :'o

Go on ye' rebel! ;) There's these two people in my class who ATTENDED 0 EXAMS so far ... they're either hard men, retarded or both. Why don't you skip the exams?! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,188 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Anyone got any History predictions?

Also does anyone know if dates are worth much at all? If I talk about say the cuban missile crisis but don't say when something happened (apart from maybe year) does that matter?

They are not that bothered about the dates. If you get them right, great, if you get them wrong, it's not important.

Go on ye' rebel! ;) There's these two people in my class who ATTENDED 0 EXAMS so far ... they're either hard men, retarded or both. Why don't you skip the exams?! :rolleyes:

:P lawl , actually I might not come in for science , home eco or Spanish theres no point :cool:,

Good thing the mods can tract your iP address and probably contact the nearest school to that iP address and tell them what you're planning ;). My Home Eco teacher ain't great ... I want an A but i'd probably end up with a B or even worse, a C :(.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,188 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

There are lots of reasons why people may not sit their exams, including parents keeping them at home to do things. It's not as simple as they don't want to or couldn't care less.

Not everyone has supportive families and good learning environments.

Good thing the mods can tract your iP address and probably contact the nearest school to that iP address and tell them what you're planning ;). My Home Eco teacher ain't great ... I want an A but i'd probably end up with a B or even worse, a C :(.

ahh I don't care :D, awh my home eco teacher's really good , shes expecting all of us to get a's :rolleyes:!! , you'll do good home eco is not that bad and you already have 4o % in the bag well it depends how u did in the practical's, my muffins burnt , but I covered them with icing sugar :'D and I don't think she notice :P

spurious wrote: »
    There are lots of reasons why people may not sit their exams, including parents keeping them at home to do things. It's not as simple as they don't want to or couldn't care less.

Not everyone has supportive families and good learning environments.
    One of the kids in my class ditched school, he said it himself. He left school just before the mocks, and hasn't come in ever since. He lives in a "gangster" livestyle with drugs and violence. He's off the school roll a few weeks ago ... the teachers are still shocked such a thing would happen.

ahh I don't care :D, awh my home eco teacher's really good , shes expecting all of us to get a's :rolleyes:!! , you'll do good home eco is not that bad and you already have 4o % in the bag well it depends how u did in the practical's, my muffins burnt , but I covered them with icing sugar :'D and I don't think she notice :P
    .. Didn't she taste em? XD My practical went really good ... and my childcare project is boss (my teacher thought I copied and pasted all of it because I used "techniqical" words) :p.

One of the kids in my class ditched school, he said it himself. He left school just before the mocks, and hasn't come in ever since. He lives in a "gangster" livestyle with drugs and violence. He's off the school roll a few weeks ago ... the teachers are still shocked such a thing would happen.

We used to have a lot of that in the 80s, people leaving in April of their Inter./Group Cert.. It's a recipe for someone who will cost the tax payer a lot of money, between social welfare, prison costs etc.. Of course, some of them made it, but more didn't.
    In the case you mentioned, his slide into that lifestyle didn't happen overnight - are his parents around?

spurious wrote: »
    We used to have a lot of that in the 80s, people leaving in April of their Inter./Group Cert.. It's a recipe for someone who will cost the tax payer a lot of money, between social welfare, prison costs etc.. Of course, some of them made it, but more didn't.
    In the case you mentioned, his slide into that lifestyle didn't happen overnight - are his parents around?
    I don't know anything about his parents. Last time I recall seeing an adult with him, he was arguing with her and cursing, that was in about 1st year. He smokes and everything, I remember everyday smelling smokes near him ... it was a pain especially that I had to sit beside him for some classes. He's a bad apple, but he can actually do well when he tries, I remember him scoring As and Bs in history and english.

.. Didn't she taste em? XD My practical went really good ... and my childcare project is boss (my teacher thought I copied and pasted all of it because I used "techniqical" words)

she only tasted the inside the inside wasn't burnt :pac:, , my childcare project was good my mum helped me do it :P

.. Didn't she taste em? XD My practical went really good ... and my childcare project is boss (my teacher thought I copied and pasted all of it because I used "techniqical" words)

she only tasted the inside the inside wasn't burnt :pac:, , my childcare project was good my mum helped me do it :P
    Tutut ... what did ye do for your project? :rolleyes: