Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tallaght - officially worst place to live in the State

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭sf80

Tallaght's not so bad when you take the populations into account, for example...roughly..

0.0218 burglaries per person Rathfarnham
    0.0143 burglaries per person Tallaght

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

Dave0301 wrote: »
    We still talking about Tallaght or Baltimore from The Wire?

youve obviously never been to fettercairn or kilnardin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

But sure we've no facilities here maaaaaaaaan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Ah sure, at least they could convert the Square into a prison if they were stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Motorist wrote: »
    I spoke to one Garda traffic corp member who took an ANPR car out around Tallaght. He said the thing was constantly lit up like a Christmas tree for no motor tax, etc. He had to turn it off.

Far be it for him to stop them, eh.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 xylophones

Ush1 wrote: »
    But sure we've no facilities here maaaaaaaaan.

theres nutin fer de childredn te do, deey HAVE te hang round de streets!!!

Fantasise much there, saiint!
    I'd say the only thing you could have in your hand this afternoon is your todger - which will come in handy if that girlfriend you mentioned is as factual as the rest of your bullshít.

Fantasise much? haha you havnt been to that part of tallaght then
    keyboard warrior mate thats all you are
    getting personal attacks against me haha you sir are sad, i wouldnt be anywere near tallaght if my girlfriend didnt live their (THATS FACTUAL)
    so if I personaly hurt your butt on regards to tallaght
    well then im sorry for telling it like it is,
    <MOD SNIP>

now you'll obviously comment on me telling you were it is even though im giving you FACTUAL INFORMATION
    grow up kid
    you obviously live in tallaght
    reason your so butt hurt over it, i mention 2 areas which are in my eyes the worst
    and you cry over it haha grow up kid, dont take things personal cause i dont know you and been honest no one likes a keyboard warrior so lay off the personal attacks pal
    ThisRegard wrote: »
    Well I can tell you that the level of education there is at a much higher level than where ever you're from, so at least they have a good chance of making something of themselves instead of planning to rob mystery stashes.

planning to rob mystery stashs? haha again you dont live in the area im on about
    read the post above ^^^ anyone who wants to chance their arm may have a go at taking that stash haha ive even givin the full address and details where it is just to prove you wrong mate
    of course your reply will be the same owl bull****

im not planning to rob stashs, dont know where you got that idea from mate
    i said if i wanted to i could, but im not a scumbag
    so pal grow up mate
    you dont know me i dont know you
    no need for personal attacks ha
    seriously pal grow up

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

I spoke to one Garda traffic corp member who took an ANPR car out around Tallaght. He said the thing was constantly lit up like a Christmas tree for no motor tax, etc. He had to turn it off.

Far be it for him to stop them, eh.:rolleyes:

There's only so much one person can do on one shift when attending to other priorities. I don't think one garda can correct Tallaghts social problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Saiint, I've no idea what made you think posting the location of a drugs stash was appropriate. Don't do it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

bluecode wrote: »
    Lies damm lies and statistics. Tallaght is of course huge, so of course it has more burglaries.

But note this comment in the article: That makes Tallaght middle class I think. Particularly when it's mentioned alongside Dundrum and Rathfarnham. Let's face it there's no pointing breaking into the houses of poor people.

I think there might be connection to the M50 here. Most of the areas mentioned border it.

My theory is that it's Northsiders coming down and robbing. Bet they don't pay the toll either.:p

And people of 'no fixed abode'.

humanji wrote: »
    Saiint, I've no idea what made you think posting the location of a drugs stash was appropriate. Don't do it again.

sorry mod
    but when people are taking personal attacks against me
    il prove them wrong
    to many keyboard warriors on this from tallaght ;)
    wont happen again :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Colmustard wrote: »
    Tallagh Clondalkin is just like everywhere else, 99% of the area and people are sound, but the 1% scumbags ruin an area for everybody else.

Tallagh/clondalkin is very self contained. It has everything from shopping districts, theatres, stadiums, nightclubs some people from these area seldom go into town, they don't have to.

I work over there and they are the salt of the Earth people. I like this stat as I get some playful lackery about been a northside scumbag, so this will be some slagging back in their face.
    Oi, don't you combine us! Clondalkin isn't even in the top 10 for crime! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

I love it, some people comparing Tallaght with Foxrock saying the figures show Tallaght is a much bigger kip.

Tallaght at the last count had 98,000 people give or take and is essentially a city. Foxrock, is a parish with a population of circa 10,000. Unless you are comparing per capita then your argument is invalid. Bigger populations will have bigger crime figures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

phasers wrote: »
    Oi, don't you combine us! Clondalkin isn't even in the top 10 for crime! :cool:

To me it all just morphs into one area and its huge.

The gas thing is people always go on about the south side being so posh!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Well you're wrong, it's not all one area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

saiint wrote: »
    getting personal attacks against me haha you sir are sad, i wouldnt be anywere near tallaght if my girlfriend didnt live their (THATS FACTUAL)
    <MOD SNIP>

now you'll obviously comment on me telling you were it is even though im giving you FACTUAL INFORMATION
    grow up kid
    reason your so butt hurt over it, i mention 2 areas which are in my eyes the worst
    and you cry over it haha grow up kid, dont take things personal cause i dont know you and been honest no one likes a keyboard warrior so lay off the personal attacks pal

planning to rob mystery stashs? haha again you dont live in the area im on about
    read the post above ^^^ anyone who wants to chance their arm may have a go at taking that stash haha ive even givin the full address and details where it is just to prove you wrong mate

so pal grow up mate
    seriously pal grow up

It's not a personal attack, i just think you're talking out your arse.
    I know the area well enough, i missed the address you posted so i couldn't comment. But the "fact" that a mouth like you would know the location of 100grand drug stashes just because your girlfriend lives there seems a teeny tiny bit imaginary, now that's a fact!
    You're not watching the wire box set at the moment or something like that are you? Maybe you're mixing the 2 up?

phasers wrote: »
    Well you're wrong, it's not all one area.

A lot if Dublins problem areas are in outer areas."To hell or to the west of the M50".

Clondalkin is very culturally diverse with many pockets of economic migrants living in social housing. One area has become so prominent, it is now referred to as Little Lagos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Ush1 wrote: »
    The gas thing is people always go on about the south side being so posh!:pac:
    It still has more good areas. But the west/east is the real divide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭endswell

moderator intervention of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

endswell wrote: »
    moderator intervention of the year
    humanji isn't online anymore, he's on his way out to Tallagh with his "crew"

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭CavanCrew

Yawwwwwwwwwn, this is a pile of piss, everyone is going to have a different opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Proper order!

On an entirely unrelated matter, I'm having the Great Grandmother of all Parties at my gaff tonight; it's going to be unreal. Everyone's invited!

Except if you're from Tallaght and recently 'lost' a six figure stash of your gear, I'd ...ummmmmm... rather you didn't come.

It's not a personal attack, i just think you're talking out your arse.
    I know the area well enough, i missed the address you posted so i couldn't comment. But the "fact" that a mouth like you would know the location of 100grand drug stashes just because your girlfriend lives there seems a teeny tiny bit imaginary, now that's a fact!
    You're not watching the wire box set at the moment or something like that are you? Maybe you're mixing the 2 up?

nope dont like the wire

you can believe me or not i dont really care
    but the fact is thats how bad that area is
    i mean he ( the dealer ) could be just a heavy user
    actually walks out of his gaf puts his stuff under a patch of grass right beside a lampost
    and looks out his window every 2 mins
    if you lived in the area of drumcairn ave
    youd know the person or his family
    id say his name but be another mod snip haha
    whether you believe me or not i dont really care
    but the fact is the area is a complete dump
    full of scumbags,broken windows

i remember last month , was walking to the local shop in springfield
    going past a house, had its windows smashed in ( presume over drugs ) windows get fixed up
    a couple of weeks later
    bang their smashed up again? do you see where im heading
    if i knew you in real life mate i could take you on a tour of the place of all the **** and dirtyscum bags in the area

their was also another incident last week
    one of the peoples stashs got robbed ( i mean everyone on the street knew were he hid his, i wouldnt even call it a hiding spot, it was more like saying, free weed come and get it if you can )
    murder over it
    my own gfs gaf got a brick through the window, i mean its terrible like , it has to be the worst area ive ever seen in me life
    you can go on slaggin me being in denial but fact is mate tallaght (some parts) are probably the worst parts in ireland
    other parts of tallaght shouldnt be named tallaght they should change it

its like finglas and the whole glasnevin ****e
    i work in finglas
    hearing all the bad stories i would be in denial as well until it actually came to me living in the more scum bag parts

edit: also sadly for the people who are actually really nice in the fettercairn , they dont balance out for all the scum that live their, they live in this hellhole everyday
    my own gfs family are considering to move out into an apartment just to get away from it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭bill buchanan

latenia wrote: »
    Very poor journalism; they use the word "rate" when the figures they show are total amounts per garda station. Tallaght has more people than Limerick or Galway.

This. Lazy journalism. But the standard of journalism is very low anyway, so it's not a huge surprise.

CavanCrew wrote: »
    Yawwwwwwwwwn, this is a pile of piss, everyone is going to have a different opinion.

That's why we have official statistics to back up what everyone already knows. The amount of denial on this thread is akin to a raving alcoholic arguing he just likes socialising. And no amount of "but what about Foxrock" changes that the paper of record backed up with irrefutable evidence has determined Tallaght to be the worst location in Ireland. Take a drive around Jobstown on any day (doors locked, don't slow below 20kmph) and you'll see why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

A lot if Dublins problem areas are in outer areas."To hell or to the west of the M50".

Clondalkin is very culturally diverse with many pockets of economic migrants living in social housing. One area has become so prominent, it is now referred to as Little Lagos.

Haha what ? seriously ?

I live in Clondalkin and have never heard of Little Lagos ? :D

Are you referring to that block of flats between the South Dublin county Council building and Xtra vision by any chance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

nope dont like the wire

:eek: Ah here, there's no need to be like that!

• Registered Users Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

<MOD SNIP>

grow up kid

so pal grow up mate
    seriously pal grow up
    Anybody that says butt hurt is a bit of a flutebag imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,114 ✭✭✭✭listermint

That's why we have official statistics to back up what everyone already knows. The amount of denial on this thread is akin to a raving alcoholic arguing he just likes socialising. And no amount of "but what about Foxrock" changes that the paper of record backed up with irrefutable evidence has determined Tallaght to be the worst location in Ireland. Take a drive around Jobstown on any day (doors locked, don't slow below 20kmph) and you'll see why.

Hmm ive never driven through ANYWHERE in dublin where i had to drive swiftly or not below a certain limit for fear of safety.

So as they say 'your talking through your hoop'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...who we blamin for this....?

Anybody that says butt hurt is a bit of a flutebag imho.

anybody that says flutebag is abit butt hurt

cwatididder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

I hate newlands cross, its my enemy. To be fair it has improved of late.

I thought it was good urban planning having the Luas line from Tallagh direct to the four courts, (only slagging).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭CavanCrew

Nodin wrote: »
    ...who we blamin for this....?

Imma blame Motorist, because I want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I have worked with a lot of people from there, both those who rob, sell, shoot, etc and those who have had bad things done to them. I been doing this for too long. Jobstown is not the whole of Tallaght, plently of good people living there too.

I know what goes on there and it happens in lots of other locations too. I have walked around the place lods of times, not need for lockedf doors. I have seen worse in other places at times tbh.

Based on what I know of the place, which is based on working in a clinic there for over ten years I don't buy the worst location in Ireland. More one of many places with severe social problems, hardly a no-go area though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

My girlfriend also lives in fetercairn ill be up there later maybe could start some kinda support group with that saint fella haha :-).

I'm up there a lot every week and hear a lot plus I worked down road beside where mollys pub used ta be I've never had any hassle just the usual crap u could get anywhere. Kids or teens acting bollox.

Me girlfriend and her family all grew up there her sister and brother hang around the area ya her ma would love to get out but its not a war zone more a big percentage of people living around cause hassle for normal working class people.

I think to be honest what gets talla a rep as well as a lot other working class areas is fact most people will look and listen to the people from these areas and because of how they speak act or look they will tar them all with the same scumbag brush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I'm 32 and have lived here all my life, i have seen some bad stuff happan down through the years, but i have also grown up around some very decent people, at this stage i dont think id live anywhere else.

I dont get the way they do these stats tho, we have one Garda station for the population of a city ffs.

Serious, One Garda station for all of Tallaght, That's ridiculous, I think its 11 or 12 stations in Cork City alone. And I'm sure Tallaght probably has a similar or larger population than Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

charlemont wrote: »
    Serious, One Garda station for all of Tallaght, That's ridiculous, I think its 11 or 12 stations in Cork City alone. And I'm sure Tallaght probably has a similar or larger population than Cork.

Eh, no i doesn't.

Tallaght has about 71,000 people. Making it about the size of Limerick & Galway cities and bigger than Waterford.

On the Island of Ireland, Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Derry are the only urban areas you'd really consider serious cities.
    (Galway and Limerick at a push..)

Cork's rather narrowly defined City Council area : 119,230
    Metropolitan area is about 399,216

In saying that, I am not taking away from the fact that Tallaght was badly developed and still grossly under resourced. It could probably do with a few more Garda stations and also every other facility you can possibly think of.

Tallaght suffers from being a large suburb, without adequate social / commercial infrastructure. It has made some improvements during the boom years, but it's still just a very large suburb with little else to it other than a shopping centre or two.

Had it been developed as a proper 'new town' type city, it might actually have avoided a lot of its social problems.

Tallaght at this stage ought to have a town/city council and some kind of focus on developing itself as an actual urban area rather than a sprawling suburb with nothing only houses and commercial parks.

The way we do local democracy in Ireland's a complete joke too. It's all about historical stuff and not about reality.

For example, there are several large towns that have developed around Dublin and Cork in particular e.g. Tallaght, Swords, Ballincollig, Carrigaline that are significantly bigger than a lot of 'major towns' in the Midlands and elsewhere and even some cities in the case of Tallaght. Yet, they still have no town/city hall or proper local Government.

Meanwhile, endless small towns have Town Councils. It makes no sense and there's no logic to it.

The same goes for the county structure. We should keep the historical counties like we keep the historical proveniences i.e. just for historical / cultural / sport purposes.
    In reality, we should merge a lot of less populated county councils into single bigger ones.

I'd say you could get away with something like aiming to have counties of about 400,000 to 500,000 people.
    Basically, you'd have about two local authorities in Dublin, one in Cork and the rest would be non-traditional counties merged together.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭talla10

I was born, raised & educated in Tallaght. Yes like everywhere else there are good & bad parts. I've bought my own house in Tallaght and over my 28 yrs in Tallaght have never been victim of crime.

People who don't know Tallaght are bound to be influenced by media reports such as this. For instance I've never been to Moyross but have a vision of an absolute kip whereas it's probably more true that the scum minority give decent folk and the area an awful name.

But not surprising Tallaght had such a problem with crime I think it's the biggest suburb in the country (open to correction) so its bound to have a scum minority like everywhere else.

Just my two cents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

To get an accurate reflection of crime rates, you'd have to see :

population of area covered by Garda station + number of crimes per capita.
    Otherwise, it just means big Garda stations covering large populations look worse.

Also, for seriously city centre Garda Stations in Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Galway etc I think you have to factor in that they deal with the aftermath of major nights out on a much bigger scale than smaller rural / town / quiet suburban stations do.

I'd actually analyze those in a different category entirely.

Also, I'm not sure that the presence / absence of a physical Garda station matters in that much in major urban areas. The issue is more about presence on the streets and response times from moving cars.

We should be looking at maybe moving towards 'hubs' for cars, crime-fighting etc and then maybe community liaison stations that don't have all those facilities or costs for community policing type stuff.

I'd also argue that we should remove the Garda processing of forms like stuff for passports. It strikes me as rather unnecessary. Surely they can just check against your PPS number and do the form filling in the post office / council office ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

I lived in Tallaght for years. As much as I loved it its a horrible place to live. Was constantly harassed by scumbags, and in the end we had to move because of the harassment and bullying from such people. We had no choice but to move and I'm glad now to live somewhere that is not hell on earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Solair wrote: »
    Eh, no i doesn't.

Tallaght has about 71,000 people. Making it about the size of Limerick & Galway cities and bigger than Waterford.

On the Island of Ireland, Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Derry are the only urban areas you'd really consider serious cities.
    (Galway and Limerick at a push..)

Cork's rather narrowly defined City Council area : 119,230
    Metropolitan area is about 399,216

In saying that, I am not taking away from the fact that Tallaght was badly developed and still grossly under resourced. It could probably do with a few more Garda stations and also every other facility you can possibly think of.

Tallaght suffers from being a large suburb, without adequate social / commercial infrastructure. It has made some improvements during the boom years, but it's still just a very large suburb with little else to it other than a shopping centre or two.

Had it been developed as a proper 'new town' type city, it might actually have avoided a lot of its social problems.

Tallaght at this stage ought to have a town/city council and some kind of focus on developing itself as an actual urban area rather than a sprawling suburb with nothing only houses and commercial parks.

The way we do local democracy in Ireland's a complete joke too. It's all about historical stuff and not about reality.

For example, there are several large towns that have developed around Dublin and Cork in particular e.g. Tallaght, Swords, Ballincollig, Carrigaline that are significantly bigger than a lot of 'major towns' in the Midlands and elsewhere and even some cities in the case of Tallaght. Yet, they still have no town/city hall or proper local Government.

Meanwhile, endless small towns have Town Councils. It makes no sense and there's no logic to it.

The same goes for the county structure. We should keep the historical counties like we keep the historical proveniences i.e. just for historical / cultural / sport purposes.
    In reality, we should merge a lot of less populated county councils into single bigger ones.

I'd say you could get away with something like aiming to have counties of about 400,000 to 500,000 people.
    Basically, you'd have about two local authorities in Dublin, one in Cork and the rest would be non-traditional counties merged together.

Well Yea, In terms of administration hardly nothing changed since the Brits were here, The newer towns and suburbs need to be either merged with their cities or given proper administration, ie Town Council for Carrigaline or City Council for Tallaght..

Here's what I think of the County Council's, I only posted this the other day..
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80307155&postcount=13

Anyway I was only comparing Cork's urban area which actually is 190,000 including the urban areas outside the City boundary. The metropolitan area is just too large and would include another 9/10 stations.

It still boils down to one station for 70,000 people, Limerick has I think 3/4 stations for a similar population.

I lived in Tallaght for years. As much as I loved it its a horrible place to live. Was constantly harassed by scumbags, and in the end we had to move because of the harassment and bullying from such people. We had no choice but to move and I'm glad now to live somewhere that is not hell on earth.

So sorry, why did you love it again?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,114 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I see, you've lived in every abode in tallaght, Super thanks for the insight......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Lived in Tallaght for over 25yrs and Mam and some family still there.

As others have said it is huge and there are parts that I wouldn't feel comfortable in but then again so does everywhere I guess.

But the house break-ins have been epidemic in recent months.
    My mothers house had never been touched for over 30yrs (bar maybe a bicycle going missing over the years) but unfortunately we have suffered two robberies in 18months.
    It has really shaken up my mother who is now in her mid seventies.

There seems to be the same crew hitting homes in this particular area and hopefully these scumbags getting taken out of society quickly, as they are giving a good area a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Lived in Tallaght for a good while, seen an odd shop lifter here and there but nothing you wouldn't see anywhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

As long as they stay in Dublin and rob each other I don't see the problem.:D

nuxxx wrote: »
    Lived in Tallaght for a good while, seen an odd shop lifter here and there but nothing you wouldn't see anywhere else

Shop lifting is an absolute scourge on local businesses in the area. It baffles me how business owners remain profitable or even manage to stay open given they are absolutely fleeced by scumbags, junkies, etc on a regular basis.

A lot of teenage girls from Tallaght have the sole aspiration in life of getting impregnanted by the time they are 18/19 years old. Then they apply for social housing and claim unmarried mothers allowance, while the unemployed father lives there also, hiding out the back whenever a social welfare officer calls around. It is little wonder that this area is socially dysfunctional.

I think anyone who brings up kids there, when there is an alternative area to live in, is doing their children an enormous disservice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

listermint wrote: »
    I see, you've lived in every abode in tallaght, Super thanks for the insight......

Hold on a second, she gave her own experience of living in Tallaght and why she had to move away. She didn't generalise the whole area so take the chip off your shoulder and move on.