Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things in movies that really annoy you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

paddyandy wrote: »
    You have finally matured when you stop watching movies .Life is'nt like in movies .They are well packaged lies for the foolish and naive .How many over thirty watch movies ????? very few as a few never grow up anyway !!!!

thats a ridiculous statement

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

advertising products. The modern bond film Casino Royale, Quantum of Solace zoom in an several occasions through the movie at the screen of various Sony Mobiles.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 Jesse 210

Training day - Denzel Washington.
    That film was not too bad really, but entirely spoiled from the time when they got shot at in their car, leaving three large entry holes in the rear window (strong window) and no exit holes in the windscreen or on the car whatsoever.
    Spoiled it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

paddyandy wrote: »
    You have finally matured when you stop watching movies .Life is'nt like in movies .They are well packaged lies for the foolish and naive .How many over thirty watch movies ????? very few as a few never grow up anyway !!!!

Wahey youre keeping your most ridiculous statement of the day posts going, what an idiotic statement.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭BigFatGiant

When the lazy, good for nothing, beer drinking, cigarette smoking, fast food eating, womaniseing lead charicter or friend of the lead character takes off his top and is as ripped as Michael Phelps. Give him pale skin and a beer belly like the rest of us lovable rogues.

Katunga wrote: »
    advertising products. The modern bond film Casino Royale, Quantum of Solace zoom in an several occasions through the movie at the screen of various Sony Mobiles.

its a bit of a stretch to think James Bond uses a vaio laptop alright :pac: he'd spend the movie cursing its sh1ttyness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

mauzo wrote: »
    The sex scenes. Almost everything about them.

Its just not realistic at all! Especially when the covers are up over her boobs, ffs nobody does that! Show me your boobs!

Or when it shows the aftermath and they're fully clothed on the bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I know it isn't the best filme, but Die Hard 4 where you man hacks the "old sat comms". What a load of bullhonkey.

But my god that CSI one with visual basic is the stupidest thing I've ever seen :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭eskimocat

When the 'victim' walks into their own house late at night and proceeds to walk through several rooms etc, in the pitch darkness passing several light switches on the way!

For heavens sake, in the middle of the night, put on a light, you might stub your toe for crying out loud, it also might come in handy to be able to see the 'serial killer, monster, scary child, ghost, (insert threat here)' etc standing in the corner!!!

Araghhhh!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

I've NEVER been able to just stop the thing by hitting some button.
    I've been in a few lifts that had an emergency stop button. They have them in some Dunnes for example to stop the lift to load a pallet truck into it. I don't think they do them as much anymore though. There wasn't really any point to them outside of service lifts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Super heroes that disguise themselves by taking off their glasses or wearing a sleeping mask with eye holes cut out of it and successfully trick their closest friends or the other end of the scale being one's that secretly have super tailor powers and sow their own perfectly fitting awesome looking outfit.

And binoculars...

http://cdn.twentytwowords.com/wp-content/uploads/Binoculars-e1318610591495.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭CdeC

When someone is running from an attacker and they get into an elevator and push the button furiously. The attacker then gets their arm into the elevator as the doors are closing but for some reason elevators in movies are aware of good and evil as it seems to crush the bad guys arm until he pulls it out.

Any time I have done the same the elevator door springs back open to let me on.

Makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Give him pale skin and a beer belly like the rest of us lovable rogues.

Me in a nutshell. Thanks. You just destroyed my last bit of self esteem :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

People running for miles through some forest in pitch-black darkness and not putting a foot wrong. In reality you'd probably break your neck before running 5 yards.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 st3veebee

How fluid conversations are in films. No talking over each other or awkward pauses: you have the exact right line to say at the exact right time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Breaking the frame of reference of the film right in the middle. If you want people to suspend disbelief set the rules at the start of the movie. Making **** up half way through or at the end is terrible and ruins any movie.

Classic example being the last Indiana Jones movie. Its Indiana Jones, its supposed to have Nazi's, fist fights, ancient tombs, some broad, maybe a cheeky kid. NOT supposed to have feckin giant aliens ripped off from a Stargate episode (edit: and this is where they got the idea from have no doubt - there was even a crystal skull: http://www.gateworld.net/sg1/s3/321.shtml)

Similarly lots of little suspensions of disbelief throughout a movie can ruin it. Case in point -> Prometheus. The repeated unbelievable stupidity of the crew gradually became more and more unbearable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

When the hero/ine is about to take off, speed up, jump a boat/car/plane over/under a waterfall/bridge to chase or get away from the baddies they always shout "Hang on" or "hold on". Like their moron friend wouldn't without that advice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

Airvents.

Laughably bad interfaces on computers/phones.

Ridiculous amounts of gun cocking.

When someone is talking on the phone and the other side hangs up, the dial tone is clearly audible and the retard character continues to say "Hello? HELLO?!". They hung up, you idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

To add to the gun cocking rants - it really bugs me in films when a character is searching a building, usually with a glock or pump action shotgun, and when they hear something or encounter the person they're after they then cock the weapon. Why THE FECK were they wandering around without a round in the chamber?! Were they planning on hitting them with the gun?

Also the depiction of lock picking irritates me, it's not that quick or easy and requires more than just a single pick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Ted!

Kids that look like Susan Boyle.

When the good guy spends the whole movie easily kicking the crap out of massive and highly trained bad guys. Often dozens at a time.

Then he gets to the main bad guy who's a harmless middle-aged ponce and somehow it's a very even and closely fought battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

One thing that really pissed me off:

The main female hero ( rachel? )in batman dark knight, I don't know what actress was it. It was really annoying that everyone had to see her as a very beautifull woman, but actress was a fecking most ugliest bitch I ever seen in TV screen.
    How could they **** up this one...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

The main female hero ( rachel? )in batman dark knight, I don't know what actress was it. It was really annoying that everyone had to see her as a very beautifull woman, but actress was a fecking most ugliest bitch I ever seen in TV screen.

Maggie Gylenhall? A great actress and very striking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Serious, Maggie is a babe,

http://images.askmen.com/galleries/actress/maggie-gyllenhaal/pictures/maggie-gyllenhaal-picture-1.jpg

Each man to his own I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 st3veebee

There is no such thing as bad lighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Colmustard wrote: »

Not my type.
    As friends once described her 'she looks like a sad turtle'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

maximoose wrote: »

When someone is talking on the phone and the other side hangs up, the dial tone is clearly audible and the retard character continues to say "Hello? HELLO?!". They hung up, you idiot.
    LOL so true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

" I need to speak to you in private"

*Moves 3 feet away from person not in conversation*

*Continue to speak loud*

Yeah im sure they cant hear you now :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

" I need to speak to you in private"

*Moves 3 feet away from person not in conversation*

*Continue to speak loud*

Yeah im sure they cant hear you now :confused:

I work with a guy, he is a friend and good craic but barkingly neurotic and paranoid. So you get lots of those private and whispering conversations.

He once called me from work when I was on a weeks holidays and I quote "I have something really important to tell you, but I can't tell you on the company phone" then he hung up, leaving me bewildered.

I rang him that night at his home number and he forgot what he was going to tell me. I just laughed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

How people seem to be able to hold their breath for over 3 minutes while they swim through some dark underground wreck to escape their impending doom.

I dont know about you but I cant hold my breath for more than 20 seconds without nearly dying. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The credibility of some storylines .

For instance ...in the movie Lord Of War with Nicholas Cage we see how in an effort to avoid been shot down by the South African Air Force and to cover up his arms dealing ,he tells the pilot of his heavily armed plane to ditch down in the middle of a remote dirt road , narrowly avoiding local tribes people who are wandering about on it . He then willy nilly encourages hundreds of the tribes people to come on board , take away all the weapons ie, Kalashnikov rifles , machine guns ,grenades ,rocket launchers with tons of bullets so they won't be found by the Feds, which is what they do but ffs and in reality ... those hundreds of men women and children would not have got 5 yards of the plane without (accidentally ) shooting off all around and blown themselves and everybody else up within a few hundred yards ...

You just don't hand serious weaponry over to people who really don't know how to fcuking use them :D

Latchy wrote: »

For instance ...in the movie Lord Of War with Nicholas Cage we see how in an effort to avoid been shot down by the South African Air Force and to cover up his arms dealing ,he tells the pilot of his heavily armed plane to ditch down in the middle of a remote dirt road , narrowly avoiding local tribes people who are wandering about on it . He then willy nilly encourages hundreds of the tribes people to come on board , take away all the weapons ie, Kalashnikov rifles , machine guns ,grenades ,rocket launchers with tons of bullets so they won't be found by the Feds, which is what they do but ffs and in reality ... those hundreds of men women and children would not have got 5 yards of the plane without (accidentally ) shooting off all around and blown themselves and everybody else up within a few hundred yards ...

You just don't hand serious weaponry over to people who really don't know how to fcuking use them :D

its Africa, land of easily gotten weapons and child soldiers.

For instance ...in the movie Lord Of War with Nicholas Cage

its not Lord of War, its Warlord :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

It's Lord of War - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0399295/

krudler wrote: »
    A bunch of numptys running around shooting off loaded weapons in every and any direction = death/ mass amputations
    You're quoting nick cage in the movie now ...

.......i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

When someone says the name of the movie in the movie..

I'd like to take his ....Face....Off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

.......i know
    Apologies, been a while since I've seen it - forgot about that quote :)

No problem Grimey :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

The way the wimmin wake up, with hair and makeup done.
    That hand across the empty bed thing, where they slide the hand ac
    ross the bed, and their lover has disappeared into the night.
    When it rains, and they're soaked to the skin in about 2 seconds.
    In a car chase, and the camera keeps going to the fellas foot on the accelerator.
    When a fella gets a slap on the back of the neck, and is instantly knocked out.
    When comedies are not funny.
    When fellas who are FBI, highly trained assassins, hit men shoot with a machine gun at a lad who is 10 feet away, and they don't even hit him once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

How people seem to be able to hold their breath for over 3 minutes while they swim through some dark underground wreck to escape their impending doom.

I dont know about you but I cant hold my breath for more than 20 seconds without nearly dying. :D

Yes!!!!! And does anyone feel themselves kind of holding their breath too and then getting really tense when it goes on too long?? :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Bit late now , but try holding your breath during the olympics synchronised teams are underwater, and remember they are aren't taking it easy

MJ23 wrote: »
    That hand across the empty bed thing, where they slide the hand ac
    ross the bed, and their lover has disappeared into the night.
    How many times have we seen this in movies ? ...hundreds if not more

When comedies are not funny.
    Especially canned laughter like in Friends ( the series )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Cops can't drive properly and all have a massive pileup of squad cars while the protagonist gets away scot free even though an entire Police division is chasing him.

When the techie dude at the station/crime scene investigation unit HQ can zoom in and depixellate photos from the 1970's to clearly reveal the name of the boat/tattoo on the bad guy's neck.

When the person parks their car up on the street in the Bronx and heads into the building without bothering to lock the car or even wind up the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Bit late now , but try holding your breath during the olympics synchronised teams are underwater, and remember they are aren't taking it easy

Well, sitting nice and calm for a good while I can hold it for about 60 seconds maximum. When active, 20-30 seconds and Im gasping. I just think in most situations doing something like that would be impossible. Im not familiar with olympic synch swimming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

old hippy wrote: »

krudler wrote: »

Is it total coincidence that this was on TV last night ??:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭MHalberstram

old hippy wrote: »

She looks like a sad turtle.

Do how people look in films really bother you :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭MHalberstram

They do when the actress goes from Katie Holmes to Maggie Sad Turtle Face.

So for you, it's more about surface quality than depth and actual acting ability?