Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things in movies that really annoy you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

watched panic room last night. so much of that film annoyed me it wasn't funny. like when they had your mans attention with the light, they stop using it and try to yell at him, from across a big court yard, through closed windows. Or when the 911 operator tells them to hold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Jonathan Rhys Meyers as the grotesquely obese Henry VIII in The Tudors
    Here he is with two of his six wives from the series :pac:
    http://www2.pictures.gi.zimbio.com/Tamzin+Merchant+Official+Launch+Party+ShowTime+IdG3fezxPa1l.jpg

Henry VIII was known as a handsome and athletic youth that excelled in sports and games. He only became 'grotesquely obese' in his later years

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Not from the movies themselves but what I find annoying are the people who know all the goofs of a film and let you know they know.

The type of people who tell you when there is a Boom mike in shot, continuity errors, location anomolies, minor mistakes etc.

Get a f'king life tossers.

In movies themselves the thing that annoys me most is Hollywood use of stereotyping foreign countries.

The Brits are always prim & proper Oxbridge types with connections to royalty.
    The French are unreliable.
    The Germans are all super intellegent.
    The Italians are all gangstas.
    The Japs are all Psychics who can suss you out just by looking at you.
    The Cuban are all scumbags.
    The Belgians are - well, non existant really.
    Of course we're all a bunch of brawling píssheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

I don't like people who use swear words so I tend to mainly watch Disney films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

saw a bit of silence of the lambs the other night which reminded me of one thing that is consistently in every movie made which involves the cops.

somebody gets killed. Argument ensues between local sheriff/cops and FBI/CIA/DEA etc over who is in charge of the crime scene.

bamboozle wrote: »
    saw a bit of silence of the lambs the other night which reminded me of one thing that is consistently in every movie made which involves the cops.

somebody gets killed. Argument ensues between local sheriff/cops and FBI/CIA/DEA etc over who is in charge of the crime scene.

I prefer the way they do it in The Wire, where they fight over who doesn't get the crime scene (way more realistic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

When something is chasing the main character, and instead of of diving sideways out of the way, they run in front of it. That always really annoyed me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    I prefer the way they do it in The Wire, where they fight over who doesn't get the crime scene (way more realistic)

very true...then again all things to do with The Wire are brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

When an evil villan is talking to the hero he tells them about their super secret plan in FULL detail....

I mean, Jaysus!

bamboozle wrote: »
    very true...then again all things to do with The Wire are brilliant

Except Dominic West's attempt at an American accent

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

nbar12 wrote: »
    Watch UTV then, they remove more profanity than anyone else.

"This is a real badge, I'm a real cop, and this is a real firing gun. ."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Lapin wrote: »
    Not from the movies themselves but what I find annoying are the people who know all the goofs of a film and let you know they know.

The type of people who tell you when there is a Boom mike in shot, continuity errors, location anomolies, minor mistakes etc.

Get a f'king life tossers.

In movies themselves the thing that annoys me most is Hollywood use of stereotyping foreign countries.

The Brits are always prim & proper Oxbridge types with connections to royalty.
    The French are unreliable.
    The Germans are all super intellegent.
    The Italians are all gangstas.
    The Japs are all Psychics who can suss you out just by looking at you.
    The Cuban are all scumbags.
    The Belgians are - well, non existant really.
    Of course we're all a bunch of brawling píssheads.

"Japs" is an offensive term, that's the thing about AH, if it were a film it would be populated by ignorant types tossing about racial epithets to show how cool and un-pc they are :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

con1982 wrote: »
    In the 1997 film Volcano with Tommy Lee Jones, the strange red hot substance coming from the ground isn't identified as lava until about 45 mins in when a geologist/specialist clears up the situation. The emergency services are baffled by this substance. They all see the lava but dont know what it is! ! ! A five year old knows what lava is and looks like.

According to that film, lava only burns you when you're actually touching it. If it's a few inches from you, you'll be grand apparently, and not dead/ on fire :D

old hippy wrote: »
    "Japs" is an offensive term, that's the thing about AH, if it were a film it would be populated by ignorant types tossing about racial epithets to show how cool and un-pc they are :rolleyes:

It's considered offensive in the US, where the term was used to describe enemy combatants. Elsewhere it's a contraction of the word 'Japanese', same way 'Brits' is a contraction of 'British'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

You know what i hate in movies.
    That guy in the cinema, or the friend of a friend, who has to talk all the way through the movie saying 'That wouldnt happen in real life!' everytime.

Ever heard of suspension of disbelief?:rolleyes:

It's considered offensive in the US, where the term was used to describe enemy combatants. Elsewhere it's a contraction of the word 'Japanese', same way 'Brits' is a contraction of 'British'

It's considered offensive in the UK as well, anywhere where there's Japanese communities. I'm not saying the poster used it in a deliberate, derogatory fashion but that doesn't make it ok. Some people use the n-word and don't mean to be offensive but it still stinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Some people use the n-word and don't mean to be offensive but it still stinks.

So you are saying black people smell bad?
    It's all about what you read into it.

It's considered offensive in the UK as well, anywhere where there's Japanese communities. I'm not saying the poster used it in a deliberate, derogatory fashion but that doesn't make it ok. Some people use the n-word and don't mean to be offensive but it still stinks.

It's just a word really, the context it's put in is more important. I have a Latvian friend who referred to our colleague as 'this n----er here'. I said 'What!?'. I then went on to explain that it's a term of abuse that came from the days when they were slaves in the US. He just listened to rap music and thought it was a normal word to use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Double barrel shotguns with the ability to fire 3+ shots without reloading.

Zombieland being an example here when they climb up the ride in the amusement park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,578 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Exactly, the actual "Japs" don't consider it an offensive term at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Probably already mentioned but this drives me crazy.

The way people always stop a car in a wide open space miles away from where they need to be. Shít going down in the warehouse, Jim and Ned are hot on the case and tear through the streets to get there. Upon arrival they screech to a halt in the middle of a yard and leg it into the warehouse. When any person with more than two brain cells knows cars are faster than people, you drive as far as you can before starting off on foot if your in a hurry !

Just drive upto the fcukin door !!

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

I can't stand in films where there are two people arguing on a phone and one hangs up causing the other person to repeatedly click the button on the reciever going " Hello ?! , Hellooo?!" ffs. they obviously hung up call them back repeatedly hanging up wont call them back

Fozzydog3 wrote: »
    I can't stand in films where there are two people arguing on a phone and one hangs up causing the other person to repeatedly click the button on the reciever going " Hello ?! , Hellooo?!" ffs. they obviously hung up call them back repeatedly hanging up wont call them back

Or where they are on the phone and once one gets some bit of info they immediately hang up. Like that ever happens in real life. A call doesnt end until someone says goodbye.

Like "Hey, your tests just came back, I need to talk to you". Then they hang up looking worried. Meanwhile Dr Dumbshít must on the other end clickin buttons and saying "hello ? Hellooo ??". :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Probably been said already but

1. In horrors where the victim is running away at speed and the psycho is strolling along behind them, well, surely it's logical that you would keep running and gaining distance? But noooo, they go into the unsecured barn/house/funeral home and wait for the psycho to catch up with them.

2. Again in horrors, the use of the child as the bad guy. You've got two foot toddlers/dolls attacking and adults running away. Or a waif of an 8 year old having a grown man/woman running scared. Face up to the little feckers, give 'em a good kick and you'll be sure to do some damage seeing as you are at least twice their size and weight.

Every car possesses a special reserve of power which can only be accessed by dramatically changing gears and stamping on the accelerator.

But you cant use this power at the beginning or middle of a car chase and simply drive off into the distance. You can only use it at the very last minute before your pursuers are about to get you.

Not many hold a gun in the correct manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

garv123 wrote: »
    Double barrel shotguns with the ability to fire 3+ shots without reloading.

Zombieland being an example here when they climb up the ride in the amusement park.

Watch the last episode of The Walking Dead. Hershel's shoots about 30 times without reloading his shotgun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭MOC88

Watch the last episode of The Walking Dead. Hershel's shoots about 30 times without reloading his shotgun.

I've never got the whole walking dead fixation I find the idea so annoying
    I know it is a tv series but the zombies can only walk - you could easily outdistance one or 5,000,000 as long as you aren't blind and don't walk in to one - dig a ditch that they would fall in to - assemble a circle of treadmills as your ultimate safe zone (robbed from a meme)
    or here is an idea hop in a humvee and just knock them down then reverse over them???

The walking dead is start to finish stupidity though. Dont get me wrong, I'll watch it as I'm a fan of the genre. But as far as writing goes, its on a par with Scooby Doo.

I recall a guy with his leg impaled on a bar and they decided to cut his leg off rather than risk damaging his muscle pulling it off which would leave his leg in bad shape :confused:. But in the end they had to pull it off and he was sound as a pound a week later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

The pure repetitiveness of movies these days, the remake of the remake, the sequel and the prequel, teen comedy follows teen comedy and american pie.

Very rarely you get something original, something like inception or The Matrix the reason studios won't take a chance, because of piracy they can't afford to, so it will be Transformers 47 coming to a scene near you.

You do catch the odd original gem from foreign language films. I seen one the other night...Let the right one in,,,Brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Colmustard wrote: »
    The pure repetitiveness of movies these days, the remake of the remake, the sequel and the prequel, teen comedy follows teen comedy and american pie.

lol. I read this and immediately thought of the South Park line about a dream inside a dream inside a Matrix inside a dream.......right before you said this:
    Very rarely you get something original, something like inception or The Matrix

Nothing is original man.

Here have this for kicks and giggles:

Very rarely you get something original, something like inception or The Matrix the reason studios won't take a chance, because of piracy they can't afford to, so it will be Transformers 47 coming to a scene near you.

You do catch the odd original gem from foreign language films. I seen one the other night...Let the right one in,,,Brilliant.

It has an american remake - only ever saw the original though
    try pan's labyrinth it's quite good

MOC88 wrote: »
    I've never got the whole walking dead fixation I find the idea so annoying
    I know it is a tv series but the zombies can only walk - you could easily outdistance one or 5,000,000 as long as you aren't blind and don't walk in to one - dig a ditch that they would fall in to - assemble a circle of treadmills as your ultimate safe zone (robbed from a meme)
    or here is an idea hop in a humvee and just knock them down then reverse over them???

What makes the living dead so scary is the fact that they're dead, stinking corpses that want to eat you...slowly. The death that they promise is terrifying.

Also, the threat is in the numbers of the dead. You may be able to outrun many of them, but they never tire, they never sleep. They living require both sleep and food for energy and in a despairing, post-apocalypse world (as is the general setting for these films) food is scarce.

Your Humvee would work until all that rotting flesh jammed up the running gear (the living dead have no fear and wouldn't get out of the way) and then you're sat in an stationary amoured box.

Opps :eek:

Tony EH wrote: »
    Exactly, the actual "Japs" don't consider it an offensive term at all.

My wife and family and friends would disagree. Anyway, you've been told. This is not the place for a debate on what racial epithets are ok or not.

Most Japanese people I've ever talked to haven't mentioned offence at the term, even in Japan. The strongest response I ever got was "Um, not really. Depends on what context and who's saying it". However, some Japanese people living in America can say different.

My first love and area I am most interested in, is the Second World War and with that the offensive terminology employed by each nation against their foes is part of that study. The "Jap" propaganda image that the US employed was incredibly offensive. However, the actual term "Jap" meant little or nothing to the average Japanese person then and means relatively nothing to most Japanese people today.

Perhaps it's just my experience, but there it is nonetheless.

I'm not trying to further the debate, just trying to qualify my opinion.

Most Japanese people I've ever talked to haven't mentioned offence at the term, even in Japan. The strongest response I ever got was "Um, not really. Depends on what context and who's saying it". However, some Japanese people living in America can say different.

My first love and area I am most interested in, is the Second World War and with that the offensive terminology employed by each nation against their foes is part of that study. The "Jap" propaganda image that the US employed was incredibly offensive. However, the actual term "Jap" meant little or nothing to the average Japanese person then and means relatively nothing to most Japanese people today.

Perhaps it's just my experience, but there it is nonetheless.

I'm not trying to further the debate, just trying to qualify my opinion.

I hear you, Tony. I guess its down to personal experience and some of the encounters people have. That said, we've experienced it always in a negative context, which gets to be upsetting.

Now, back to the movies :D

What annoys me is people who get up the very moment the end credits appear. Let the movie sink in, folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

How effective different weapons are in movies (from worst to best)

1. Bespoke guaranteed* death-trap for hero
    2. Sub-machine gun
    3. Uncontrolled explosions (cannisters, fuel depots, etc)
    4. Assault rifle
    5. Machine gun
    6. Guided missiles
    7. Rifle
    8. Shotgun
    9. Unguided rocket launcher/ rpg
    10. Sub-machine guns that have little lazer beams
    11. Controlled explosion (C4, etc)
    12. Pistols
    13. Claws/teeth
    14. Swords
    15. Knives/ meat-cleavers/ pitchforks/ hacksaws
    16. Hands

Yes. If you see a character using their hands as a weapon they are almost guaranteed to be a bad-ass. HE IS THE CHOSEN ONE!

Character using a submachine gun? Toast.

One exception? Butch vs Vincent Vegas

Monster that can only attack using teeth or claws - run for your lives!

Masked assailant with knife - serious fricken body count (Friday 13th; viewer discretion advised)

MOC88 wrote: »
    It has an american remake - only ever saw the original though
    try pan's labyrinth it's quite good

Just watched the american remake, almost a carbon copy, it was the same weird and tender love story, it was as good as.

I seen Pan Labyrinth I think 3 times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Kimia wrote: »
    Things in movies that really annoy you

Rubbish endings that leave you hanging :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

The amount of movies, no matter what genre, always has to take place in New York City.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16 BigCatInJapan

The leads always visit Central Park.

People who endlessly quote movie lines

What movie is that from??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

For the love of God don't go on the American Psycho thread then!

What movie is that from??

You know what I mean; people who quote Monty Python, The Italian Job, Pulp Fiction...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

nbar12 wrote: »

Disney movies are full of sneakily put in sex references, google it

At least we have somewhere to contain them :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I would but I have to return some video tapes.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

I'm sure it has been mentioned before but what about cigarettes?

People in films and TV shows seem to only smoke for dramatic effect. They light it up, take a puff, say a dramatic line, and then extinguish it in dramatic fashion. Dramatic close up of their boot crushing it.....flicking it stylishly through the air in slow motion....on their tongue......into their ear (okay, never saw that one).

I also hate in romantic comedies when the girl suddenly finds out that the guy has been lying about some aspect of his life....

....he crashes weddings.....he's actually unemployed.....his dog is actually a cat.....his mother is actually his father.....he's not actually gay even though he had sex with several men.....

....then they have a big falling out but we all know they're going to get back together. And he was only saying that his cat was a dog to protect her from his cross dressing mother!

It also pisses me off when an outright belly laugh comedy throws in a load of sentimental sh*te. Just stick to one genre and don't be making me vomit with your romantic nonsense yis aul' b*llixes.

Adam Sandler annoys me too.

And I hate the black-stand-up-comedian-turned-actor-in-the-fat-suit genre.

What makes the living dead so scary is the fact that they're dead, stinking corpses that want to eat you...slowly. The death that they promise is terrifying.

Also, the threat is in the numbers of the dead. You may be able to outrun many of them, but they never tire, they never sleep. They living require both sleep and food for energy and in a despairing, post-apocalypse world (as is the general setting for these films) food is scarce.

Your Humvee would work until all that rotting flesh jammed up the running gear (the living dead have no fear and wouldn't get out of the way) and then you're sat in an stationary amoured box.

Opps :eek:

Hence the idea of diggin a ditch??? Zombies would relentlessly walk in to a big hole in the ground - you just douse them in alchol and set them alight every few days for entertainment - after a few months there shouldn't be any left within a radius
    Besides Humvees are designed to go through all terrain/roll over bodies etc. - military design
    Besides if it got stuck I suppose I can open the door and walk (slowly) away as my speed of 40 mph would have put some distance between mea nd said starving zombies. I can then proceed to the closest shop/supermarket - get the vodka put them in a trolley some cloth, food, water - go to the nearest
    2 story building - go upstairs - now I'm being careful to make sure I don't run in to anything - but thanks to picking up a gun (its in the u.s after all)
    i'm pretty okay.
    Now I can stay here for a while- zombie horde cover entrance - no problem they're all in a big crowd - one molotov should take care of that - seeing as they clump together and don't know the stop, drop and roll maneuvore - only the stop burn and disintegrate one
    or maybe I can setup an airhorn a mile away on top of a building attracting everything there?
    and I can live off tinned food for quite a while and thanks to the reduction in population- there should be plenty to spare

The problem is the zombie shuffle - now if they changed it to zombies can run and run up stairs/ climb ladders then you don't have a hope other than finding an aircraft carrier or nuclear submarine and hide out in alaska for a few years. Thats why I hate the program - it could have been so good. Its why all zombie films in the last number of years have had zombies that can run-