Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone know the situation in Dublin for IT contract work these days?

Options
  • 20-08-2012 5:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭

Not sure if this is the right forum to ask. If not, apologies.

I'm a programmer with about 10 years experience (enterprise and consumer software), and am oblivious to the state of the industry in Ireland right now. I've been working on my own software and web projects for the past 5 years rather than work for someone else, but am looking to land some contract work for a while.

Is it easy to get contract work in Dublin, or is everyone hiring full time employees only? Most of my experience is in Windows development using C++, and web projects using PHP and MySQL, though I have the usual bits of other technologies you pick up over the years.

Anyone have any knowledge in this area, or able to drop some pointers as to where it's best to look for contract positions? Had a look at Monster, but it seems to be only full time positions.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Loads of contracts around. Just keep searching the jobsites and applying for stuff. Eventually your CV will be on file with all the agencies. Also consider widening your area a bit, you can go work abroad for 6 months without tax complications.

Best to broaden expertise a bit, add some java and c#. Android development paying almost as much as finance these days, is crazy.

LinkedIn can also be good once you get lots of connections. Whenever you talk to an agent make connection.