Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How long in the Doghouse & what were you in for

• 21-08-2012 3:45pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

I've been in the bad books since yesterday morning & am getting the silent treatment.
    My offence was ignoring the new Supernanny discipline procedures as we'd discussed for the kids.
    She'll cave in soon enough but not before I get the speech on how I never listen blah, blah, blah . . . .[2 monkeys scratching]

Now don't get me wrong, I love the girl but every lad I know has to put up with irrational nagging of some sort followed by time in the bad books.
    I've never known a case of it happening the other way, just saying.

Anyway, regale me with tales of time spent in the doghouse & let me know your offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Every girl in the world thinks their boyfriend/husband/partner "doesn't listen". We do listen, it's just not important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

What a catch you are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

What is ignoring you going to achieve? You need to show a united front in front of your kids or they will play one off the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Quit treating life like an episode of Married with Children!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I've never spent more than 10 mins in the doghouse. You need more charm, sex appeal and chocolate, OP.

Abi wrote: »
    What is ignoring you going to achieve?
    I remember my parents doing it a few times. It's the most idiotic thing ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Ladies, if Pighead says he's going to fix it he will. There's absolutely no need to remind him every six months about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

You're wrong about one aspect: I'd say my wife spends as much time in the proverbial doghouse as I do. I can nag with the best of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Spend about 10 years in a kennel in a previous life as a Yorkshire Terrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

how could you ignore super-nanny, your getting off light, I have never been in the dog house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Got nagged at by my husband yesterday for never listening.
    He then went to his den and spent 3 hours on his computer, with the door shut.

I used the time to watch a bit of porn on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Some weekends I like to stick on the collar and have my belly rubbed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

how could you ignore super-nanny, your getting off light, I have never been in the dog house.

She's no kids of her own so she can **** off for starters.

Pighead wrote: »
    Ladies, if Pighead says he's going to fix it he will. There's absolutely no need to remind him every six months about it.
    If I get a box for using that one later on, it's partly your fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    She's no kids of her own so she can **** off for starters.

But she on TV, so she must know everything. Are you trying to tell me that over simplicity solutions presented in a staged environment shouldn't be my bible???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

I've been in the bad books since yesterday morning & am getting the silent treatment.
    My offence was ignoring the new Supernanny discipline procedures as we'd discussed for the kids.
    She'll cave in soon enough but not before I get the speech on how I never listen blah, blah, blah . . . .[2 monkeys scratching]

Now don't get me wrong, I love the girl but every lad I know has to put up with irrational nagging of some sort followed by time in the bad books.
    I've never known a case of it happening the other way, just saying.

Anyway, regale me with tales of time spent in the doghouse & let me know your offence.

Pull them trousers on ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

My first time driving I crashed into a dog kennel. Took me ages to get out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Apparenty peeing in a lucozade bottle and leaving it at the side of the bed is a big no-no in our house.:confused:

Cienciano wrote: »
    I remember my parents doing it a few times. It's the most idiotic thing ever!

My parents were the same. What am I talking about, they still do it :rolleyes: Stupidity of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I can never understand the "I'm not talking to you" mentality. It's juvenile, pointless and ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

My parents were the same. What am I talking about, they still do it :rolleyes: Stupidity of the highest order.

I'd have loved if my parents ignored each other. Might have shut the hell up moaning at each other then. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭policarp

This looks like a job for Nanny Mc Phee. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Millicent wrote: »
    I'd have loved if my parents ignored each other. Might have shut the hell up moaning at each other then. :D

...Saucy! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I work on the time- honoured principle of each 5 minutes of nagging pushes out projected job completion date by one week.

...Saucy! :)

I sicked in my mouth a little. Who would have thought someone with a name like Genghiz could be so cruel? :(

No kid needs to witness that :mad:

You can gladly have mine so :p

At least your parents spoke to each other, nothing gets resolved by turning the deaf ear on each other.

anncoates wrote: »
    I

Robot?

You can gladly have mine so :p

At least your parents spoke to each other, nothing gets resolved by turning the deaf ear on each other.

They're divorced ten years. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Your wife is giving you the silent treatment? How old is she 5?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭talla10

I don't get put in the dog house I just get no sex. I tried doing the same once and she pissed herself laughing in my face. Needless to say i didn't withhold sex longer than 20 minutes!

My Granddad used to always say that he would never go to sleep on an argument, so he would always go to bed at night, turn to his wife and say, "Apology accepted darling" :pac:

He was an absolute troll, I should nearly make a thread for some of this shit he used to do :D

Knex. wrote: »
    My Granddad used to always say that he would never go to sleep on an argument, so he would always go to bed at night, turn to his wife and say, "Apology accepted darling" :pac:

He was an absolute troll, I should nearly make a thread for some of this shit he used to do :D

Please do!

They're divorced ten years. :pac:
    Well that sorts that out then :D:D
    Your wife is giving you the silent treatment? How old is she 5?
    Agreed, it's childish. I think its more of an old Irish traditional way of handling things. Nag then ignore. My maternal grand mother did the exact same thing, she wouldn't talk to my grandad for days. Mad stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

anncoates wrote: »
    I work on the time- honoured principle of each 5 minutes of nagging pushes out projected job completion date by one week.

I'm the exact same. I feel that if I do something after a woman nags I'll be teaching her that if she nags it will get done.

My mum learnt this, the girlfriend isn't too bad at nagging. She learnt quickly that it will get done at some point when I get a chance, if she wants it done now then she knows where she is.

Dude, f*ck the "ah ha ha I'm in the Doghouse...."

you're not minding your f*cking kids.

It's people with your attitude that have kids acting the bollix.

Discipline your f*cking kids.

Please do!

You know what, I think I will. It's his anniversary today and all and I hadn't thought about him in a while :)

Knex. wrote: »
    You know what, I think I will. It's his anniversary today and all and I hadn't thought about him in a while :)

It's kismet. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭gara

Your wife is giving you the silent treatment? How old is she 5? You picked a good one there pal

She's making an effort to raise their children correctly and he views it as 'nagging' -he's hardly a shining example himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

A few months ago, I got a big cheque in from a client and went out on the piss with the lads. One night turned into two, two into three, three became four.

On the Tuesday morning, I landed home, wrecked, reeking of booze & penniless.

"Where the fuck have you been?" said the missus.

"Out with the lads - I needed to blow off some steam - I need time with my friends. We're married, not chained to each other" I replied.

"Well you could have at least called - I mean, how would you like it if you didn't see me for four days?" she said.

"I wouldn't mind at all" I said.

So Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday & Friday went by and I didn't see her.

By Saturday, the swelling had died down and I could just about see her out of my left eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

gara wrote: »
    She's making an effort to raise their children correctly and he views it as 'nagging' -he's hardly a shining example himself

I didn't say he was, I'm just surprised that his wife has decided to not talk to him because he made a mistake.

The wife would want to lighten up and accept her husband for what he is and not to be trying to "supernanny" the man she loves.

And since when did it become acceptable for women to put their partners in the dog house??? Jesus we are meant to be mature adults here not kids.

I'm glad that my partner and I can act like reasonable people and talk about issues instead of behaving like spolit brats and ignoring each other.

wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Ted!

Three months. She wouldn't shave for me and so I replaced her special area yoghurt she had in the fridge with Immac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

A GF of old was going to America for 3 months on a course, I casually said you will be on your own if you meet someone I don't mind if you have a fling.

MOTHER OF GAWD is all I want to say. We never recovered from my gaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭FANTAPANTS

was in dog house after wife caught me banging her twin............... but her brother told me he loved me so i thought better keep it in the family :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭O-Deazy

The ex woke up one morning genuinely pissed off at me because she DREAMT I cheated on her with one of her college mates. Gave me dirty looks and the silent treatment for hours! Fecking wimin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Cienciano wrote: »
    Every girl in the world thinks their boyfriend/husband/partner "doesn't listen". We do listen, it's just not important.

i just close my earlids when the wife is talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Tazium

The tried and true three words normally get me out.

'Yes dear'. And 'Sorry'.

Rinse and repeat - I frequently do :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

A friend in work came in with a mad hangover I asked what were you doing, I went to the local on Friday and ended up in Navan and got home yesterday Which was a Monday, I asked what did you tell your missus, "i'm still telling her and will be for a week"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

I got cried at lately because I "don't care about the music she likes". il point out that when this happened she was wearing headphones and I dont even know who it was..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

My last GF flipped at me because I wanted to go into town and do some shopping. Apparently, I was rubbing it in her face that I had more money than her.

About twenty minutes later, she realised how silly she was being and apologised.