Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are you running in?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Rawhead wrote: »
    By using that analogy then I should have 12 cars outside my house, 10 TV's in my living room etc etc etc....

As for wasting it on beer, I never considered one cent of the money I spent on it wasted as I was with friends and enjoying myself.

14 pairs of runners is excessive.

unless he owns a sports shop or something

Well not really. Running 1500 - 2000 miles a year you're going to go through about 4 pairs a year, racing flats + xc spikes you've got 6 pairs already. You could use the same car for 20, even 30 years...

I get enjoyment from buying new shoes and trying out new science. Don't get much enjoyment from a hangover when I've spent 70 quid on a night out (could get a new pair of shoes for that)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

Well not really. Running 1500 - 2000 miles a year you're going to go through about 4 pairs a year, racing flats + xc spikes you've got 6 pairs already. You could use the same car for 20, even 30 years...

I get enjoyment from buying new shoes and trying out new science. Don't get much enjoyment from a hangover when I've spent 70 quid on a night out (could get a new pair of shoes for that)

I get enjoyment out of running marathons, don't get much enjoyment from the pain the next day etc. , etc.

You do realise it's possible to go out and spend money on drinks with your friends and not be hungover, don't you?

No way? Is it? My reference to the money spent on drink was for a complete piss up. Hence the ''it's better than pissing it down a toilet'' comment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

There is a big difference in wanting and needing something. I do not believe that the vast majority of amateur athletes need 4 pairs of runners+racing flats+spikes every year.
    Just like 99% cyclists don't need a €5k bike.

If that is how you like spending your money then that is fine, you earned it,you spend it, but trying to say that you need that amount of runners is horse ****.

You'll need them eventually. I have runners that are 2 years old that I still run in regualrly 'cos I cycle through them so much - I also won't actually need to buy a new pair for a couple of years. Also train in spikes once a week so they get fairly weathered. I like shoes, like looking into the science behind the new technologies, trying out new technologies etc etc cos I'm a nerd. If you're doing upto or over 2k miles a year you're going to need more than a couple of pairs of shoes. Some people will only get 300 miles out of a pair.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭peter kern

I talked to a wise man this week and he had spoken to an well known and big outdoor equipment manufacturer,
    he said most of the people that want to climb an irish mountain buy the very best gear (most of the time size x large) .
    while most people that go to mount blanc buy the cheap gear...(most of the time medium size )
    I can see a lot of science and truth in that statement.

ps spikes are prob the most reasonable priced shoes out there ( and i showes how much shoe manufactures are taking the piss with shoe prices )

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭gottarun

ebixa82 wrote: »
    +1, a fool and his money...

I pity the person who referrs to Tunney as a fool....
    but trying to say that you need that amount of runners is horse ****.

The only place need or wanting was introduced in the equation was here. I don't think RQ ever mention needing or wanting shoes.

• Registered Users Posts: 707 ✭✭✭d4r3n

peter kern wrote: »
    I talked to a wise man this week and he had spoken to an well known and big outdoor equipment manufacturer,
    he said most of the people that want to climb an irish mountain buy the very best gear (most of the time size x large) .
    while most people that go to mount blanc buy the cheap gear...(most of the time medium size )
    I can see a lot of science and truth in that statement.

ps spikes are prob the most reasonable priced shoes out there ( and i showes how much shoe manufactures are taking the piss with shoe prices )

I guess it's like all the bikes you see at races for €8,000+ but the amount of people who own them that end up on the podium...

Nah you can get any shoe cheap if you look around. While you can try to buy in a bricks and mortar store it's taking the piss when something you can get for €70 on wiggle is €130 - €140 in an Irish store.

It's one thing that always amazes me when I do triathlons.

The amount of money that people spend on their bikes etc.

Fair enough if someone is semi-pro or getting some kind of sponsorship, but the amount of people with bikes worth +€5k plus and doing +2.30 minutes tris is crazy.

Personally if I'd a bike worth over 2-3k and wasn't doing sub 2.05-2.10 tri's I'd be embarrassed.

Nah you can get any shoe cheap if you look around. While you can try to buy in a bricks and mortar store it's taking the piss when something you can get for €70 on wiggle is €130 - €140 in an Irish store.

i never buy more than 70 euro shoes ( thats what i call crazy money)and usually i stay sub 50 per pair, in brick and mortar stores my last 2 pairs were 96 euro in total in a brick and mortar store in the city centre .reduced Nb shoes 2nd pair half price.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

It's one thing that always amazes me when I do triathlons.

The amount of money that people spend on their bikes etc.

Fair enough if someone is semi-pro or getting some kind of sponsorship, but the amount of people with bikes worth +€5k plus and doing +2.30 minutes tris is crazy.

Personally if I'd a bike worth over 2-3k and wasn't doing sub 2.05-2.10 tri's I'd be embarrassed.

Some people like spending money on their bikes. Some people like spending money on shoes.

Bearing in mind that only 3 people were sub 2:10 at the last NS Olympic (CK) race then either your saying bikes over 2k are the reserve of the very best in the country or most triathletes in the country are $hit and may as well use mountain bikes.

Some people like spending money on their bikes. Some people like spending money on shoes.

Bearing in mind that only 3 people were sub 2:10 at the last NS Olympic (CK) race then either your saying bikes over 2k are the reserve of the very best in the country or most triathletes in the country are $hit and may as well use mountain bikes.

All I'm saying is, for the times that some competitors come in on (from the tri's I've done this season), they are wasting their money on expensive bikes.

A tri bike will certainly take a few minutes off your bike time compared to a road bike, but if your time isn't great in the first place then it's a waste. Focus more on training and less on spending I reckon.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Hope this comes across more as insight than being defensive.

I'd agree with you. If its the same shoe in the same current series available for half price elsewhere there is something wrong. You might find a previous season shoe on sale, that's different. Not all stockists can avail of clearance price shoes and B&M stores can struggle to achieve the same volumes of the huge online multi-territory businesses.
    i never buy more than 70 euro shoes ( thats what i call crazy money)and usually i stay sub 50 per pair, in brick and mortar stores my last 2 pairs were 96 euro in total in a brick and mortar store in the city centre .reduced Nb shoes 2nd pair half price.

We all look for value in life, if the €70 does if for you, or you snatch a bargain happy days. It'd be rough if people apply the same ceiling limits when looking for a coach ;)

If you find something online and let us know we will always try and price match (if possible) or explain why we can't.

Hope this comes across more as insight than being defensive.

I'd agree with you. If its the same shoe in the same current series available for half price elsewhere there is something wrong. You might find a previous season shoe on sale, that's different. Not all stockists can avail of clearance price shoes and B&M stores can struggle to achieve the same volumes of the huge online multi-territory businesses.

That example is from when I was buying lunarglides. Was saving about 40+ euro a pair by buying online. Last few pairs of runners I've bought have been in shops.

Look what I wasted money on today!

303558_10151235750356833_803792295_n.jpg

And only €57.50 in a bricks and mortar shop Peter.

It seems you have a typical addiction to runners in the same way other women have for high heels.

It has nothing yo do with you needing those shoes, just as other women don't need 20 pairs of heels.

But fair play, it's your money, you can spend it on whatever you want.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

You bought a dog? :)

It's a bitch actually. :D

you got sold the wrong size for your dog ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 780 ✭✭✭cheesefiend

I'm thinking about starting triathlon and up until this thread thought one pair of runners would do me for everything. Clearly I have a lot to learn. I think I'll stick with my five year old Reeboks for another little while. I'm a bit worried that triathlon is too expensive for me. I own a 5 euro swimming suit from Penneys, a hybrid bike and, as I said, five year old Reeboks. So much to buy!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

I'm thinking about starting triathlon and up until this thread thought one pair of runners would do me for everything. Clearly I have a lot to learn. I think I'll stick with my five year old Reeboks for another little while. I'm a bit worried that triathlon is too expensive for me. I own a 5 euro swimming suit from Penneys, a hybrid bike and, as I said, five year old Reeboks. So much to buy!

Don't be put off by what you read here. Those reeboks and your hybrid will be grand for starting off. Although you will need to buy a wet suit, which can be got 2nd hand.

Cap, googles, bike and wet suit is all you need.

TBH you will eventually need a road bike. You can get one 2nd hand for 400e-500e.

The likes of RacoonQueen doesn't buy shoes cos she needs them, she buys them because she has a shoe fetish.

This is my first year doing triathlons. I bought a pair of asics last year as I was doing marathons. Got a specialised road bike on the bike to work scheme. Basic but good.

If you are half decent at all, by the end of the season you will kick the ass of most the guys you see at races with their expensive tri bikes, sperm helmets etc. That's what I've been doing anyways!

There is a great sense of satisfaction in doin so too ;)

Jaysus I wish peope would stop telling me what I do and don't need

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Jaysus I wish peope would stop telling me what I do and don't need

Your dog is clearly impressed with her new bed.

I've a few pairs of runners. Some for road, some for trail, some for mud. Course I could run in pumps from penneys, but where's the fun in that?

The car analogy simply doesn't work. It's quite reasonable to have a load of runners on the go, given they all have the same life span. One pair every six months or 4 on the go over 24 months. No difference.

Having two cars at the same time? Erm....What?

If someone enjoys riding an expensive bike slowly, great.

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Your dog is clearly impressed with her new bed.

I've a few pairs of runners. Some for road, some for trail, some for mud. Course I could run in pumps from penneys, but where's the fun in that?

The car analogy simply doesn't work. It's quite reasonable to have a load of runners on the go, given they all have the same life span. One pair every six months or 4 on the go over 24 months. No difference.

Having two cars at the same time? Erm....What?

If someone enjoys riding an expensive bike slowly, great.

The 2 car analogy is exactly the same as someone buying 2 pairs of the exact same runners.

If you had the money to buy 2 cars and rotate the usage they would last twice as long due to less mileage, wear and tear etc.

You can make all the excuses you want but having 10+ pairs of runners is daft.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Some people bin runners when they do a certain number of kms, I bin runners when they have holes in the soles or large holes in the uppers. Thats it.

Of the runners I listed 6 pairs are over four years old. Still active though. Of these 6 I believe 3 are five years old. Unless I have to I do not retire runners, often a long rest does the trick. I have a pair of DS racers that are ten years old found. I'm in two minds to start using them again, seem grand now.

Another 5 pairs were presents ("What will we get Dave for Christmas/birthday? He always appreciates runners and he'll always use them.")

The Zoom Elite 5s, a pair of Kinvaras, and a pair of Mirages I bought in the last two years. Attempts to find the "perfect" shoe again now the Elite 4 is discontinued.

If I subscribed to the "400km then bin it" school of thought I would have at most 3 pairs of runners.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

This started out as a discussion on what we wear on our feet but has turned into a bit of a slagging match over whats considered 'excessive' kit. Some people like to spend money on a hobby. So what? Its only a waste if the stuff doesn't get used.

Seeing as there is obviously a serious interest in runners here I'm as well use your knowledge instead of criticising.

I've a pair of Saucony Progrid guide 5's at the moment. I like them and find them comfortable. I'll be in NYC in October and want to buy a new pair of runners. What would be a nice similar type runner and what brands offer the biggest savings in the U.S.

Are the Lunarglides similar to the Sauconys?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Id love to go try on a load and see which feel best but unfortunately im uk 13 so might as well just buy online! That said I ordered a new pair of fastwitchs today from runways who at €90 were actually cheaper than anywhere I could find. Had hoped they'd have some mirage's but no 13s :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

The 2 car analogy is exactly the same as someone buying 2 pairs of the exact same runners.

No its not i have 4 pairs the exact same, 3 in rotation (1 starting to get a bit ragid) and one still in the box. Total cost of 4 pairs about €240 for a shoe which i love and should keep me running happy for 3 years+. Using your car analogy i will need to spend another 15k, ok then it would be nice to rotate them around:)