Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Weirdos You Shared Employment With

• 24-08-2012 12:21am
    Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Follow on from the "Stuff you dont like doing in work" thread and the fact I've had a couple of beers, I thought I'd start this thread, I've being working for over 15 years now, I have worked in call centres, in factories, in small companies, in multi-nationals, I have come across some real creeps in my time, here are some of the outstanding ones, names may or may not have been changed ;)

Simon
    Simon worked in a call centre and must have read every urban legend on the internet, the only thing is he insisted in making out that they happened to him, during breaks in the smoking room he'd be telling how he had customers on telling them the foot pedal was working, the coffee cup holder was broken, cr@p like that. He also insisten on wearing his headset at all time, most people just threw them off, he used to disconnect it and wear it to the canteen and breaks. He also never washed and had a terrible smell off him.

Melanie
    Melanie moved over to Ireland with a big multi-national to help setup a call centre, she was a middle manager but thought that in order to be successful that she had to be the biggest b1tch on the planet, she also used to have a serious diet coke addiction and used to drink at least 2 litres of it in her desk every day and get gets cans of it from the vending machine on any breaks she was taking.

Carmel
    Carmel was the call centre bike who used to get off with 1 of the newbies at every work night out, it was almost a right of passage for some of the new classes that 1 of them had to get off with her, that in itself wasn't a problem except she then started going out with 1 of her conquests and they used to be shifting in the corridors, there was a rumour that they were caught having sex in the jacks as well. 1 time she got her hair died and put her head against the wall in the smoking room, there was a massive purple patch there for ages afterwards.

Damien
    Damien thought he owed the place, went around with a crisp clean suit every day, drove a black Honda Civic that used to be sparkling, he also wore more fragruance and hair products than any other woman I ever worked with, I woudln't normally have a problem with any of this but Damien was the same as the rest of us except he was useless at the job and was constantly having customers complaining about him.

Gráinne
    Gráinne was/is the facilities manager for a place I worked in IT for, she was a BBW without the second B who the only reason she left her desk was to go to the bathroom to douse herself in more perfume. She was the only person in the place who worked in facilities but refused to do any work, she actually said 1 day that "a woman shouldn't be expected to fix things", she used to log tickets with IT to get the water changed.

Kevin
    Kevin was a guy who worked for the company for years and was a couple of pay grades above me but was given the same job as me to do, it was my job to train him up, after a couple of months our manager moved onto another job and Kevin got his, he let on that he was shocked when he was given the job. He would constantly lie to different people about why this were happening or that he didn't know about something when everyone knew that he did know. He was also in his early 40s but married for over 20 years, he told everyone that he was forced to get married when he was 19 cause his wife got pregnant, he'd try to get off with anyone/anything on a night out and if he didn't succeeed he'd ring up an escort.

Paul
    I covered Paul here if you don't want to read, he's the kind of guy who complains about everything to HR and likes to get people in trouble while telling everyone everything about himself. An addition to the story that I told in the other post, he bought his wife (another BBW without the second B) gym membership for her birthday and she ended up leaving him for the gym instructor.

David
    Not Dave, David because he was Christened David not Dave, if his mother wanted him to be called Dave she would have Christened him that, this was the little rant that was given EVERYTIME someone called him Dave no matter what the situation. David worked in testing and took great pride in passing back everything to the factory floor no matter how trivial the issue, he loved feeling better than everyone else. He didn't drink and took great pride in not only telling EVERYONE that he didn't drink but also what a waste of money it was, he once told me that I was a bit of a pr1ck when I was drunk (I told his girlfriend she would be better off with anyone else, oops), he wasn't impressed when I told him that he was a pr1ck when he was sober. He also had the more terrible brown Fiat Brava that he loved.

Mark
    Mark works in accounts and liked to share tales of his weekends going dancing all over the country, he also thinks he knows everything about IT and loves to log tickets for every little problem or issue, like replacing the paper in printer, then when he got the survey he'd fill it out with bad marks saying how things could be done better, as the manager of the service I had to get additional feedback from everyone who filled out a negative survey I had to meet with him constantly, in the end I had to setup a weekly meeting with him to go through his issues.

So, over to you, any weirdos you have or do work with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Ahem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

tl:dr ya weirdo!

This guy kept going on and on and ariston about his red stapler!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I guess I am bound to be someone's weirdo if this thread goes on long enough :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I worked with someone more annoying than this guy!

http://www.27bslash6.com/f26a.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I worked with a bona fide flasher (pardon the pun).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I work alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I work with a few crackers. This one guy asked could he go home early one day from work. I said yeah. Is everything ok.

Yeah he says, I have a date later and I want to go home and clean my bedroom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭policarp

Clareman why're you coming to AH looking for wierdos?
    I'm sure you'd find loads in the GAA, Midwest and Rugby forums. . .:D

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

"he used to disconnect it and wear it to the canteen and breaks" lmao.

the rest don't seem that bad.

Whats the fitness instructor doing going off with the B(-b)W ? Surely he's ripped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Where To wrote: »
    I work alone.
    I envy you.