Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Norway, mysterious 100 yr old package

its the tardis of packages, they just keep pulling more stuff out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

LordSutch wrote: »
    Did she say newspapers 1919 :confused:

Well that's it then, the world is definitely gonna end this year now.

Fucking Norwegians :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭omerin

They said this is exciting! Is this the most boring nation on the planet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭enviro

I'm out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I instantly thought Back to the future 2 when reading the thread .... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

What da **** just happened ???

its the tardis of packages, they just keep pulling more stuff out.

scratch that, shows over, he'llbe back with update later..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭V_Moth

All finished now :(

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭tedobrien98

Did the 2 just cut them short? This was obviously just a little sideshow they had to put on to fill a gap in the show...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It's all very Doctor Who...

Twitter says there's American stuff. Who knows, maybe it's the receipt from when Norway secretly bought the oil rights for Texas back in the day.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Good God and he thought that would be interesting to future generations, what a let down!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

We have to go back Marty!

Back where, doc?

Back to 20 minutes ago and make sure they don't waste everyone's time, Marty!

O hell...I'm posting this again:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

So they already opened it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

well im glad thats over, I can get back to counting the hairs on my arm, its gona take a while but im no quitter.

I feel used. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭dilapidating

Norway has let us down twice today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I feel trolled. One of those papers was from 1919.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Good God and he thought that would be interesting to future generations, what a let down!

He didnt forsee boards.ie where the thread but be more entertaining than the opening of the package would be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

So they already opened it?

yeah and they didnt bother reading **** :mad:

just flags and letters and newpaper clippings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Im very confused.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

I'm so glad I didn't hear about this until 5:25. This is the kind of thing I'd have based my whole day around if I'd known. Bin the lot of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭V_Moth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

The parcel was sealed in 1912, yet 1914 and 1919 were mentioned as dates on some of the contents, so either some of the contents were added in 1914/1919 or later, or maybe the Norwegian traslater got her dates mixed up.

Maybe she meant 1904 and 1909 - confused :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Columbia wrote: »
    I'm so glad I didn't hear about this until 5:25. This is the kind of thing I'd have based my whole day around if I'd known. Bin the lot of it!

Your very lucky indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

This is now about Huey Lewis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Well at least we all learned how to convert between BST, GMT & CEST. So, my original post/guess wasn't so wrong.

fook sake I premature ejaculate when I get so excited, what a waste what a god damn waste,

sorry little fellas but we all believed.

Well at least we all learned how to convert between BST, GMT & CEST. So, my original post/guess wasn't so wrong.

...and we learned that the word 'documents' sounds pretty much the same in Norwegian as it does in English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭MHalberstram

Shryke wrote: »
    This is now about Huey Lewis.

A masterpiece. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Man, that was the worst tv show i ever seen. Goodbye.

If we stop watching now, will something exciting happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

well im glad thats over,
    It's not over, it hasn't even began. I'm assuming the letters will all prove the ancient alien theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Didn't they say beforehand they're not sure when it when it was sealed and they just assumed it was in 1912? I'm guessing it's just a collection of letters and trinkets the mayor collected during his tenure to be enjoyed in the future.

Maybe the Brits secretly sold Ireland to them back in the day :eek:

I for one welcome our new sexy Norweigan overlords :D

ScumLord wrote: »
    It's not over, it hasn't even began. I'm assuming the letters will all prove the ancient alien theory.

so do you think America will send the troops in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Didn't they say beforehand they're not sure when it when it was sealed and they just assumed it was in 1912? I'm guessing it's just a collection of letters and trinkets the mayor collected during his tenure to be enjoyed in the future.

You're using the word enjoyed. I'm not sure about it, unless there's some erotic fiction in there. It looks like he gathered up whatever stuff was cluttering up his desk and decided to post it to the future.

God why am I still watching the link while a man plays a giant horn..

Jake1 wrote: »
    God why am I still watching the link while a man plays a giant horn..

tee hee hee....giant horn...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I for one never wanted to see a 100 year-old box belonging to a Norwegian, or anyone else for that matter.:eek:

I hope they've got a 25 year-old one to compensate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

so do you think America will send the troops in.
    Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭tedobrien98

FVCK YOU NORWAY!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭Some Yoke

I wonder what couldve been in the box that would've lived up to our expectations? Personally, a small talking chimp man dressed in the clothes of the time, still alive wouldve been great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭Heroditas

They had time travel in the past!!!???

Some Yoke wrote: »
    I wonder what couldve been in the box that would've lived up to our expectations? Personally, a small talking chimp man dressed in the clothes of the time, still alive wouldve been great craic.

chimp man, interesting choice of words considering the parcel was 100 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Does Norwegian telly have topless darts ? Just out of interest.

could you not of given me the last post, just this once.

yiz are all missing a great bag pipe sessuin :)

I give up.