Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

In your opinion, is "a night on the town" good or crap?

• 25-08-2012 2:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭

As you may have guessed it i wasnt out tonight :P and just heard a nightlink go by the house and it got me thinking ... Is a 'night on the town' really that good? Nothing wrong with going to a local pub or anything. Talking about going out in say dublin city centre for example.

Like if you created pro's and con's

Pro's:
    - socialise
    - have fun with your friends.

Cons:

- Get over charged on alcohol.
    - In some cases have to pay an entry fee to said place that will over charge you.
    - Trying to get food after pubs close is horrible.
    - Having to fork out €20+ on a taxi (of course, if you aint sharing with your mates) or take the crappy nightlink (Which lets be honest, alot of drunken assholes looking to start stuff)

I used to always be drinking in town up till about 24. Now, kinda feel its a load of crap. Go the local or have a few cans in the mates house. But thats me :P you?

A "Night on the town" - good or crap? 48 votes

Good
    0% 0 votes
    Crapola.
    100% 48 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

It's worth it when you're about 18 or 19.

After that going to clubs to pay 10 bob in, 6 bob for a horrible poured pint and listening to the music that's too loud becomes a bit stale after that.

Once in a while is good, too. But it still, usually not worth forking the money over for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭gara

There is no definitive answer -it just depends what you're in the mood for! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭policarp

A night on the Town is Expensive. . .
    Who's asking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

It's almost always over rated. You think you're going to have a great time, but come 1am you're sitting in Charlies... alone... desperately trying to come up with reasons not to kill yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I went to the gym around half eight, finished around half nine, and went to meet my friends who were already out. I wanted a few beers but they were already about six beers ahead of me, and so the conversation was some what one sided. By that I mean, the conversation was dependent on their now limited attention span. One guy told me the same story twice. Also, with all the to-ing and fro-ing, and "yeah, we'll go soon", I didnt get to leave when I wanted to, so I didnt get the food I wanted on the way home.

To sum up, I have had great nights out, and I have had sh1te nights out. Sometimes the ones that started sh1te ended up with me sat on a cliff in Co Clare with a few young ones, and the ones that started with me and a table full of drinks and girls ended up with me in the cheesey copy of abra kebabra with 5 drunks and a sad looking loser, who, turns out to be my own reflection.

Few things are black and white.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Haaaaaaaaaaate isn't even the word

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's almost always over rated. You think you're going to have a great time, but come 1am you're sitting in Charlies... alone... desperately trying to come up with reasons not to kill yourself.

**** obviously came to your rescue.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Phareon

Depends on where you go, who you go with and how much you're willing to spend! You could easily have an awesome night for a tenner or less!!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Phareon wrote: »
    Depends on where you go, who you go with and how much you're willing to spend! You could easily have an awesome night for a tenner or less!!

Really? Unless you are teetotal, how?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

By using the €10 to snort coke?

keith16 wrote: »
    By using the €10 to snort coke?

Wouldn't get nearly enough..

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Phareon

Really? Unless you are teetotal, how?

A lot of places will have you in for a fiver or free before a certain time, plus a naggin of vodka or a bottle of wine is only a fiver as well! Depending on where you live you can walk home!

In the taxi, crying, all the way home. Felt grand after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

I'd say it did the same for you too going by your username. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭mickgotsick

It depends. It's either good or crap depending on whether it's good or crap. If it's good, it's good but if it's crap then I can't really be bothered with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

It depends. It's either good or crap depending on whether it's good or crap. If it's good, it's good but if it's crap then I can't really be bothered with it.

You sir, are a sage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I don't go out out very often. Normally just to the local.

But when I go on the absolute batter I always have a great night.

I'm always laughing so add a few drinks and the atmosphere is brilliant.

Money wise its a bit sucky but because I don't do it often its not too bad.

I'm 21 in a few weeks and I'm celebrating it over here, but when I'm back I plan to get absolutely beloobas :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭TAlderson

I'll go to a concert or play long before I'll go to a pub. But part of that is because I don't drink... I can talk to my friends for free most of the week; if I'm going to pay to get in somewhere, there better be something good going on there.

-Tyler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

TAlderson wrote: »
    I'll go to a concert or play long before I'll go to a pub. But part of that is because I don't drink... I can talk to my friends for free most of the week; if I'm going to pay to get in somewhere, there better be something good going on there.

-Tyler

Pubs don't charge entry or water:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭TAlderson

Eathrin wrote: »
    Pubs don't charge entry or water:P

Yeah, but if I'm in a pub, I sort of feel obligated to get a Coke or something. Feels weird just sitting there for hours not paying at all.

-Tyler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

It's alright I usually go to the same club most times. I'd love to try other ones for a change my friends like going to the same one though. I always go with the same group, I've been with other people and always had a bad night out. It depends on who you go with really as it's the people who really make the night. I usually always only go out with €30 and that gets, drinks , taxi , cloakroom etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I'm thirty-bleh and bejaysus I still love a good night out on the piss with a bunch of lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Depends hugely on what you do on a night out. Drink weird beers and chat with friends I haven't seen in a while? Absolutely. Pay into a nightclub where pints are six quid and chat is impossible? No way.

I'm the wrong person to ask, though: thanks to being in a band and having some really good female friends, I didn't actually go out "on the piss with the lads" until I took up rugby at 28...

Definitely loses its appeal as the years go on but I still like it where I live now. We all meet for food first, lay into the beers and vodka and then onto a few pubs or a club where me and the gf get as much free drink as we want. Then more food and beer after.

I think the food thing is what I'm likin these days and we never did it back home. I never house drink here either and I like that.. If we drink in the house, its cause we want to. We generally meet up round 7 or 8.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

When I was younger, yeh.

I'm twenty four now and would prefer to spend less than half the amount I'd spend out on a night in town by spending it on some great beers from the off licence or perhaps a few quiet ones in the local.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Definitely good. It's a laugh and much better to be out with your mates enjoying yourself than sitting at home all the time. It doesn't have to be a such a hard night that you end up being sick, broke and generally fucked the wrong way. You can take it handy and have an easy night so I have no problems with them.

Even if the night doesn't turn out as great, I still think it's time spent trying to have some fun so it's no harm in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Sometimes, sometimes not. When it becomes almost a routine, going to the same place all the time, especially when it's a club, then it can get stale and boring. It all depends on the spontaneity of the night. That was much more common when you were in your teens and everything was new, and the concept of going into "town" wherever that was, was much more exciting then it actually turned out to be.

On a wider note, I really wish we got in a government who would come in and fix our nightlife regulation laws, (which the morons in Fianna Fail brought in), and extend closing times once more along with providing an adequate transport system of some sort that doesn't make people reliant on 20 euro taxis, and gives people much more time to go out and have fun and not have to rush somewhere, just because the place will be closed by 2.

We should try and aspire to have cities which offer a vibrant and more varied nightlife, and considered worthy to compete with other cities with great nightlife in Europe. Cork, Galway and Dublin etc, there's load of potential and it can be great, but it will always be lacking until hours are extended and that includes the 10 O clock rule in place for selling alcohol. Also some people don't have a clue what a nightclub should be like, and awful places like 21s are allowed to exist. I really wish that place was accidentally demolished with no one in it and a proper place built there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Fart wrote: »
    When I was younger, yeh.

I'm twenty four now and would prefer to spend less than half the amount I'd spend out on a night in town by spending it on some great beers from the off licence or perhaps a few quiet ones in the local.

Back in the day eh?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

All depends on the craic you have with your friends and your luck with women on the night.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

We should try and aspire to have cities which offer a vibrant and more varied nightlife, and considered worthy to compete with other cities with great nightlife in Europe. Cork, Galway and Dublin etc, there's load of potential and it can be great, but it will always be lacking until hours are extended and that includes the 10 O clock rule in place for selling alcohol. Also some people don't have a clue what a nightclub should be like, and awful places like 21s are allowed to exist. I really wish that place was accidentally demolished with no one in it and a proper place built there.[/Quote]

Been on nights on in many cities in Europe and have to say as far as having a laugh is concerned you cant do much better than Ireland.Italy,France and Switzerland in particular are crap for nights out,far to many posers just sitting around saying nothing.

America , bar NYC and Vegas are crap too. Boston was a massive let down for nights out any time i've been.Everything seems to shut at like 1 just as things feel lile they're about to take off.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭CavanCrew

Ah I think its good, I enjoy it anyway, unless im tired, then I either have to get really drunk or I start yawning all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭mickgotsick

You sir, are a sage.

Thanks. If I say something good, I am but if I don't, then I'm a Basil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Ha, this is almost identical, word for word, to a post I made before.

I think it depends on the person. Some people like to go out, mingle, get caught up in the buzz of alcohol induced merriment. Some can afford to squander 100 quid, theres the handful of lads who have the knack with women and then theres just heading out as opposed to being bored on a night in. Women like to doll themselves up and get attention from men and whatever else.

I still head out but I rarely have a 'good night' - pull a girl, enjoy the company, music, drink. I just do it to get out and get distracted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

There is absolutely nothing better than a night out in town! Doesn't matter where I am or who im with, with a fair amount of drink, I'm going to have a good time. I love getting twisted and making a fool of myself :p
    Only downside is money. 70 quid minimum most nights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Depends where you go and what kind of crowd.

I started with going to 21's, purty kitchen, Sin etc. All of which are over priced dumps and a waste of money.

Then I started going to Andrews Lane on a friday with a different group of mates for the gay night called "WAR".(All because we had just one gay friend).
    Have to say We've had some of our best nights in there. Great promos, no scumbag element either. You'd find more straight people than actual gay people there, yet the atmosphere was totally different.

Not to mention the amount of groups of filthy youngwans who go to it too. :cool: :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Been going to the same pub in town fairly regularly for the past decade, music is to my liking generally and the staff are generally sound.

Can't be arsed with nightclubs at all and haven't been for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭dhmusic

There's a club and you've got to go, you could meet somebody who really loves you,
    so you go and stand on your own, and you leave on your own, and you go home and you cry and you want to die.
    Sums up my experience of it from the age of 18-20. Now I'd rather a few cans and a game of cards in someones house. If you're really into a certain kind of music then a night out in Dublin can cause you serious brain damage with all the junk food 98fm type music that's played in most places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

There's two things:

The people involved and the place you go.

Generally, the people you are with are more important to having a good time. If they're good friends or just great craic, you'll have fun, no matter where you are. That said, I've been to some really crap places and it dragged the entire mood of the group down.

On the other side of the coin, I've been to good places with some real dry ****es and had a great time.

Also, you have to know what you like: If you want to have a proper chat, go to the pub. If you want to have a dance and get wasted, go to a nightclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭HowAreWe

in my little ****hole of a town we have 7 pubs and they are all 21's, I'm 19 so I have no choice but to go to town, I've been bored of the whole drinking dutch gold in a field for a few years now.
    Although nothing beats a good house party in my opinion.

Love my nights out. A few cans at a friends or in the local is enjoyable but usually reserved for a weekend when your saving money or having a quiet one. A proper weekend on the lash or night on the lash has to involve pubs and clubs.

In general for me its not much effort or cost (transport wise) to go out in Galway, Cork or Dublin. As I live in Cork city so can walk in and home, can stay in friends house in Galway city (or share a taxi home to my home house) and have a friend living a short taxi trip from the Centre of Dublin and would always be a shared taxi so cost nothing in comparison to the rest of the night.

In general I never find it much effort to grab some food either after the club there are so many places not that you never have to queue for long and I always bring it back and enjoy it at home (or where ever I'm staying) for the comfort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

If i could get out of this dungeon I would love a night out

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

It's crap in Ireland anyway, everything closed by 2/3 am. And nobody ever wants to go out or even start predrinking until it's really late.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

nights out are expensive but every once in a while its worth it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Its a treat. Love it.

Beats the hell out of sitting watching the x factor sh1te.

OneArt wrote: »
    It's crap in Ireland anyway, everything closed by 2/3 am. And nobody ever wants to go out or even start predrinking until it's really late.

Your drinking with the wrong people :pac:, we would often go straight from work to the pub on a thursday or friday evening (around 5:30) and wait out for the night and would often start at 4 or 5 on a saturday too and stay on it for the night. Latest we would start would be 8 o'clock otherwise sure you've wasted half the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,036 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Box #2. It might be fine if it wasn't for all the other people. "On the town" must be a euphemism for "packs of idiots getting drunk and stupid". :rolleyes:

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis