Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Pro lifers giving out sweets to children on Shop street

• 25-08-2012 7:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

Yep, these religious fundamentalist crazies sunk to new lows.. witnessed a male placard waver, with usual image of feotus (do they not think of the little babies while subjecting them to the dangers of the 3d scan images they seem to like so much), handing out Roses sweets to children :mad:.... bleurgh to him and belurgh to roses....

Nice to see some pro choice people joining them an hour or so later...... Will be joining them next time,... I had my three kids with me, but would be good if a group was set up on fb, would love to see if the group of pro choice people that were there run a group or something. Would be up for a bit of placard waving at these loons, democracy and all that, tho definately not handing out sweets to children.. tooth rot, obesity ect ect

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

The counter demonstration was noisier, saw the cops chase one demonstrator ( a woman with a rucksack) down the street after some altercation or other.

I don't think that Senator Ronan Mullins and his pro lifer associates have a free run on the streets any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Is scanning dangerous?

You better inform the HSE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

as far as I am aware the hse do not facilitate 3d scans... and the hse I am sure are well aware of the risk/dangers/studies into scans....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭kodoherty93

The pro lifers generally outside the GPO in Dublin every Saturday like abortion wont be available overnight they need to be campaigning at every opportunity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Rynox45

If you can't argue your point properly, give them sweeties and hope they fall in love with you. Brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Aiel

What did they do wrong?They were saying their point of view and others were saying theres?Why not have the title of this thread as something like "pro life & pro choice hold rallies in Galway"??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Aiel wrote: »
    What did they do wrong?They were saying their point of view and others were saying theres?Why not have the title of this thread as something like "pro life & pro choice hold rallies in Galway"??
    Because the pro lifers are on the streets a lot more frequently recently and they are more in your face with their propaganda posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sweeney1971

I find it is usually first year students who go on these demonstrations as it is very hard studying arts or other useless degree courses.

They were handing out sweets to young children. No where in my OP did I say they were doing WRONG.

The thread is, incidently about them giving out sweets to children... many may think this is a great way to prove a point and garner support. I think it is bleurghh, as i stated... :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Aiel wrote: »
    What did they do wrong?

Were you never told as a child not to take sweets from strangers ?

Bunch of creeps.

I find it is usually first year students who go on these demonstrations as it is very hard studying arts or other useless degree courses.

The pro lifers consisted of middle aged men and a few women 50 plus..... neither I think will be requiring the procedure they are so fundamentaly against...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭anamara86

dharma200 wrote: »
    Yep, these religious fundamentalist crazies sunk to new lows.. witnessed a male placard waver, with usual image of feotus (do they not think of the little babies while subjecting them to the dangers of the 3d scan images they seem to like so much), handing out Roses sweets to children :mad:.... bleurgh to him and belurgh to roses....

Saw this today too and it really annoyed me that they were handing out Roses to children, felt it was completely inappropriate. A leaflet was shoved into my hand from one of the Pro Life group, which i subsequently shoved straight back into his hand, with a stern "No thanks".

Because the pro lifers are on the streets a lot more frequently recently and they are more in your face with their propaganda posters.

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    The counter demonstration was noisier, saw the cops chase one demonstrator ( a woman with a rucksack) down the street after some altercation or other.

So which is it?
    Which are more active and pushy?

It is the first time I have seen counter demonstrators alongside pro lifers in Galway, a very welcome addition.

The counter demonstrators were not giving out sweets to children, so I think its a win for them on this occasion...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Students arent even back yet, great point! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Who's representing the miniature American flag lobby? That's what I'd like to know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

The counter demonstrators were not giving out sweets to children

That because they hate children- DUHHHHHHHHHH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I can see the positive, it's a perfect situation for parents to tell their kids not to take the sweets from strangers. While people may not agree with them, They have just as much right to talk about their cause as pro-choicers, as the boycott Israel crowd, GAAW, Save the Forests, Food Not Bombs or any other crap that's peddled to people in Galway. Live and Let Live.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

I watched todays proceedings with interest.

The pro-lifers consisted of males and females, both young and old. They were holding placards with photos of what they claim are unborn babies at early gestation. They weren't loud but they created a presence.

The pro-choicers consisted mainly of young girls who held signs with slogans such as "keep your rosaries off my ovaries" etc. They were good humoured and noisy.

There was also a guy holding a United Left Alliance poster. He might have been lost but he threw himself in at the front line of the pro abortion crew.

A mere 20 meters away, was the local Islam lads who were preaching their faith.

Then came hundreds of marchers in the ever colourful the Gay Pride Parade. For ten minutes, the city centre came to a standstill as the gay community had their day 'out'.

There were a handful of big Gardai, who stood around to monitor the situation whilst updating their Facebook statuses.

And sandwiched in amongst all of them were the unsung heroes of Galway who truly stand up for what they believe in. Every Saturday, rain or shine, they occupy the same location and spread their word with their own placards, oblivious to the hierarchy who denounce them. Take a bow, the volunteers of Galway United Supporters Trust. You will never die.

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

mikemac1 wrote: »
    So which is it?

Theres only one way to find out...FIGHT!!!!

So which is it?

No idea..

But I don't mind if someone wants to actively chase the Senator Ronan Mullins mob around Shop St of a saturday. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

Nice to see some pro choice people joining them an hour or so later...... Will be joining them next time,... I had my three kids with me, but would be good if a group was set up on fb, would love to see if the group of pro choice people that were there run a group or something. Would be up for a bit of placard waving at these loons, democracy and all that, tho definately not handing out sweets to children.. tooth rot, obesity ect ect

those pesky Romans and their values. whats wrong, does a real picture of exterminated human life bother you?

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    No idea..

But I don't mind if someone wants to actively chase the Senator Ronan Mullins mob around Shop St of a saturday. :D

sure beat them to death and anyone else who has a different opinion to yours. Catholics should be made wear blue hats.

It is the first time I have seen counter demonstrators alongside pro lifers in Galway, a very welcome addition.

The counter demonstrators were not giving out sweets to children, so I think its a win for them on this occasion...........

who would want a sweet from kind of hippy. you never know what you might catch.

Fuinseog wrote: »
    those pesky Romans and their values. whats wrong, does a real picture of exterminated human life bother you?

Not atall thanks... I have seen my own miscarried feotus, I have given birth to three live babies (without medical intervention) and the pictures fortunately were not quite as distasteful as those loonies from the youth defense wave about.

Shock tactics aside.... I found the handing out sweets to children to be more bothersome and something I am sure religious crazies in this country have done throughout the years to gain access to not exterminated little children to either push their own agenda, or possibly more sinister motives :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

.... the pictures fortunately were not quite as distasteful as those loonies from the youth defense wave about....

Totally agree. The photos are not as gruesome as previous protesters but they are still inappropriate.

Not atall thanks... I have seen my own miscarried feotus, I have given birth to three live babies (without medical intervention) and the pictures fortunately were not quite as distasteful as those loonies from the youth defense wave about.

Shock tactics aside.... I found the handing out sweets to children to be more bothersome and something I am sure religious crazies in this country have done throughout the years to gain access to not exterminated little children to either push their own agenda, or possibly more sinister motives :)

a religious crazy is someone who follows a religion. maybe we will start on the muslims next?

bnot on this thread mate, this is about the giving out of sweets to children on shop street by religious pro lifers...

There are plenty of threads about muslims elsewhere :)

Don't knock free food!

Going to Tesco and getting free burgers and sausages and juice and other samples was how I got through college! :cool:

Few sweets, keep ya going

I think they were only giving the sweeties out to under 5s though.... :) cant see new students queueing up to get their roses... which are a particularly crap sweet to be handing out if I do say so myself... I think flying saucers, gummy bears and perhaps cola bottles wouldve been more effective in the perusal of new devotees

Don't knock free food!

Going to Tesco and getting free burgers and sausages and juice and other samples was how I got through college! :cool:

maybe the Roman Catholics have drugged the sweets like the hare krishnas and their drugged ice cream.

I think they were only giving the sweeties out to under 5s though.... :) cant see new students queueing up to get their roses... which are a particularly crap sweet to be handing out if I do say so myself... I think flying saucers, gummy bears and perhaps cola bottles wouldve been more effective in the perusal of new devotees

roses are only a bad idea in warm weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Stevolende

jelly babies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭inisboffin

Don't knock free food!

maybe the Roman Catholics have drugged the sweets like the hare krishnas and their drugged ice cream.

When did the Hares drug ice cream?

Links?

I want to open up a Pro-Choice stand near them, which steals the sweets afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Stevolende wrote: »
    jelly babies?

Deliciously apt. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

The NUIG pro-life society used to have jars of jelly babies at their sign-up days without displaying a trace of irony.

If anyone has kids, next time you see the pro-lifers, teach them to go up, get their sweets and run away shouting "MAMMY! HE'S TOUCHING MY SPECIAL PLACE!"

• Subscribers Posts: 171 ✭✭Night Falls

sure beat them to death and anyone else who has a different opinion to yours. Catholics should be made wear blue hats.

There's a certain irony in a follower of a religion that would have sections of the population treated as second-class citizens based on their sexual orientation (to pick just one area where Catholicism is in the dark ages) crying about people standing up against them.

As for "having a different opinion", the catholic church actively try to impose their set of values on the population, which can't exactly be said of those who oppose them (I've yet to see evidence of someone being forced into gay marriage, or to have an abortion, although maybe you could enlighten me?).

All religion and ideology should be open to question, counter-argument and, if appropriate, ridicule. That includes Islam, Scientology, Christianity, capitalism, socialism, appeasement etc.

hmmm....a rather hysterical post. Also that smiley face was kinda inappropriate at the end.

Isn't this sort of tactic one used regularly by those running An Tobar Nua?

As for "having a different opinion", the catholic church actively try to impose their set of values on the population, which can't exactly be said of those who oppose them (I've yet to see evidence of someone being forced into gay marriage, or to have an abortion, although maybe you could enlighten me?).

I'm not religious (and therefore I have no pro-catholic church sympathies) but your'e exaggerating. I cannot recall one instance in my life living and growing up in Ireland (I'm 30) that I had any religious group "impose" their ideas on me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭oceanclub

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jewish_hat

Oh. The. Irony.

P.

inisboffin wrote: »
    When did the Hares drug ice cream?

Links?

twas in the eighties in Dublin I believe. some dude claimed to have been given drugged ice cream and woke up to find himself on an island where they had a house. they kept him captive for three days until he managed to escape. widespread condemnation of the cult followed. it later turned out the whole thing had been made up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

its their opinion if you dont like it dont take the cadburys roses,they are reaching out to the young bc they know there impressionable at that age,im not pro life or pro choice believe it or not i dont believe in either,i think it depends on the individual situation,but i think legislation for ireland would have dire consequences on the irish population,and thats not a good thing when you think we still have banks to bail out for years to come..another thing aswell would be it could promote a casual attitude to abortion whereby young teens dont want to be stuck with a kid,or young adults suddenly wont like the change of lifestyle,or to be tied to a boyf,sex should be serious if youre willing to have sex you should be willing to commit..abortion can sometimes take that away,and its not just your life it affects,it can be sometimes,bar the rape and bar the medical reasons,one of the most selfish careless and reckless acts you can take..you dont know the consequences you face afterwards in the aftermath..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

its their opinion if you dont like it dont take the cadburys roses,they are reaching out to the young bc they know there impressionable at that age,im not pro life or pro choice believe it or not i dont believe in either,i think it depends on the individual situation,but i think legislation for ireland would have dire consequences on the irish population,and thats not a good thing when you think we still have banks to bail out for years to come..another thing aswell would be it could promote a casual attitude to abortion whereby young teens dont want to be stuck with a kid,or young adults suddenly wont like the change of lifestyle,or to be tied to a boyf,sex should be serious if youre willing to have sex you should be willing to commit..abortion can sometimes take that away,and its not just your life it affects,it can be sometimes,bar the rape and bar the medical reasons,one of the most selfish careless and reckless acts you can take..you dont know the consequences you face afterwards in the aftermath..
    The odd full stop here and there would make it easier to pull a bit of sense out of your post. I couldn't find any.

There's a certain irony in a follower of a religion that would have sections of the population treated as second-class citizens based on their sexual orientation (to pick just one area where Catholicism is in the dark ages) crying about people standing up against them.

Catholics have nothing against gays per se but do not approve of unnatural sexual acts. every religion has its beliefs. the majority of Galwegians are Catholics in some form and what we have here is a secular minority aggressively imposing its will on the majority.
    the days of Bishop Browne are over and rightly so I would not throw the baby out with the bathwater. I grew up in a Galway where the church supported a lot of youth clubs that I benefited from .strangely enough I was never sexually abused and never even met a paedo priest, although they are all supposed to be that way inclined.

All religion and ideology should be open to question, counter-argument and, if appropriate, ridicule. That includes Islam, Scientology, Christianity, capitalism, socialism, appeasement etc.

true, but Galway is full of people who sit on their holes and just criticise and lampoon.

I'm not religious (and therefore I have no pro-catholic church sympathies) but your'e exaggerating. I cannot recall one instance in my life living and growing up in Ireland (I'm 30) that I had any religious group "impose" their ideas on me.

I grew up in Galway and if you were an atheist you considered the odd one out. many of these people now have chips on their shoulders. Ireland was until recently a catholic country and they try to portray their ireland as some kind of gulag.

I know people in pray groups in Galway and they are lovely people. they seem to have values and morals and believe in something. they have a conception of what id right and wrong. they are subject to ridicule cos they are not promiscuous and do not drink until they vomit.

I'll chair this new group, Galway Against Creepy - People In Galway Seemingly - Handing Out Sweets - During Our Shopping Excursions or GAC-PIGS-HOs-DOSE in short.

Ye needs but asks Sponge Bob. :D