Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Final Year Project Advice

Options
  • 27-08-2012 7:45am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

The start to my final year is just around the corner and I know boards has great member with great minds, so I am here for a little advice. This hopefully will be my final year before I get through into the big bad world. I hope to get a job as a software developer. I don't think i am great nor do I think I am awful at programming but I do try my best.

Background:
    • I am confident with c#(.NET languages) and java as main language well I studied java in college and c# during my down time.
    • 3rd year project was in java using Google App Engine and Google Web Toolkit.
    • I like GUI development and creating my own libraries. I like clean, organized and reusable codes.
    • I am a website moderator and I do a lot of data manipulation (breaking, finding security checksums etc)
    • I also don't mind database
    • I like coming up with my own idea and hopefully become a project manager. I might come off a bit bossy though.

Now that we have a little background covered, here are the questions:
    • What language should I go for?
    • Should I put passing before difficulty?
    • Should I improve on my current strength e.g. a project in WPF and C# or Java & Something else :S?

Currently I plan to do something using:
    • WPF and C# (Yes I know not cross platform)