Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Navy v Notre Dame on Irish Television?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭CoachTO

Saying this game is massive outside Ireland is a bit of an overstatement if you ask me.

There will be some interest in it in the US, but nowhere else.

I wouldn't say massive either but it is a big rivalry game for both teams and both teams have large fan base across the world. I know more Navy and ND alumni on mass in Europe who are American than I do most other US colleges. Navy guys living abroad is an obvious one but ND Alumni seem to stretch the corners of the world.

As I am involved in the game here also I have had a lot of friends and acquaintances in different European countries both Americans and Europeans ask me could I get them tickets.

Lets face it also Notre Dame are probably one of the most recognisable colleges world wide and they are playing the US Navy practically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,974 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

CoachTO wrote: »
    I wouldn't say massive either but it is a big rivalry game for both teams and both teams have large fan base across the world. I know more Navy and ND alumni on mass in Europe who are American than I do most other US colleges. Navy guys living abroad is an obvious one but ND Alumni seem to stretch the corners of the world.

As I am involved in the game here also I have had a lot of friends and acquaintances in different European countries both Americans and Europeans ask me could I get them tickets.

Lets face it also Notre Dame are probably one of the most recognisable colleges world wide and they are playing the US Navy practically.

The people worldwide that will be interested that you have just described there are going to be 99.99% American though.
    Like worldwide interest in GAA will be 99.99% Irish.

I agree with you that the timing is logistic though

The people worldwide that will be interested that you have just described there are going to be 99.99% American though.
    Like worldwide interest in GAA will be 99.99% Irish.

I agree with you that the timing is logistic though

Eh no. The friends and acquaintances throughout Europe are good healthy mix of Americans, Canadians, French, German, Italian and a mix of Scandanavians. There is huge Semi Pro and Amateur American Football leagues across Europe and I know quite a few of people spread across Europe because of them. So you have a huge community of Europeans interested in the game plus the Alumni spread across the world.

Also dont forget ND takes in a large amounts of Foreign undergrads every year also so Im sure in the space of the schools existence there is more 0.01% of them that are non American interested in it also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

milos wrote: »
    Reply as above

What should I have respect for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭milos

SantryRed wrote: »
    What should I have respect for?

Sorry but from what i can gather from comments left I cannot answer you as I may be attacking you personally.
    My original point was to show that negative comments about other sports is, in my opinion, disrespectful weather it be on the soccer forum or the GAA forum or the boxing forum
    It was never my intention to "attack" the person making a comment it was only to voice my opinion of the comment.
    PS I hope everyone enjoys their sport this week-end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

On a more anyway related to the topic note, ESPN America is only starting coverage at 2, which is sposed to be kickoff - anyone know if there's any way of watching the pre-game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Can't we all get along!!! :(

I like Gaa and American Football so feck the lot of ye :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Any streams ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

turned on ESPN...baseball and ads?

df1985 wrote: »
    turned on ESPN...baseball and ads?
    ignore that:o

forgot about the constant ads....

wheres my beer and chicken!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭livEwirE

Watch it here

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Easy drive from Notre Dame for Td. But miss extra point!

How did he miss that???

Stream isn't good enough to see where the ball went!

Oh god... its Enda!

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Oh god... its Enda!

what did she call him? a teeesha??:pac:

How did he miss that???

Stream isn't good enough to see where the ball went!

45 degrees right off his boot. They went straight to ad on espn so no replay of contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Should this not be on espn America?

Whoops, Navy fail to convert on 4 and 1 on 30 yard line.

Navy in serious trouble already. TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

They're REALLY pushing the whole visit Ireland thing on CBS. Its as subtle as a brick to the face. Loving it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭markc1184

Anyone watching this on flashsportstreams.tv ? And if so which channel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,974 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Can't we all get along!!! :(

I like Gaa and American Football so feck the lot of ye :P

A US colleague of mine a few years was working in Dublin for 6 months and went to a few games in Croke Park.
    He said that GAA games where the closest comparison he could find to NCAA football for atmosphere, rivalry etc.

I hate David Feherty (or however you spell it).

Used to like him on the Tiger Woods games, but in person he's so irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭dubmick

what happened to RTE showing this live on their youtube channel?

Navy score within 57 seconds.

3 plays 75 yards! All passes.

27-10

dubmick wrote: »
    what happened to RTE showing this live on their youtube channel?

Nothing, they were never going to. Must be the concert last night you are thing of?

everyone must be buckled at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,874 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Pity it's been such a one-sided game. Seems like the crowd is still enjoying it though.

David Feherty is tough to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

Feherty is a complete langer. his comments and ''jokes'' about ireland and irish people were as enjoyable as a kick in the head

craggles wrote: »
    CoachTO you are an awfully sad abrasive person, have respect for other sports. There's no need to have a go at GAA, these two sports couldn't be any less in competition with each other.

I had a go at the GAA now? Oh really thank you for sharing your wonderful post with me. :rolleyes: Good to see your level of comprehension is up your hole.

milos wrote: »
    This time Coach I am attacking you personally.
    Your comment above only proves you have the mind of a very sad 12 year old.
    Grow up

Well done on proving a point. :rolleyes: Im on my way to watch the GAA so you and the other troll continue assuming you know best and making attacks. Oh and pot kettle black etc etc