Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sayings that don't make sense.

• 27-08-2012 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Just read a saying in the stingy thread, the person 'Wouldn't spend Christmas'. :confused:

What does that mean, wouldn't spend Christmas?

I'm sure there are more.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

"Shut your mouth and eat your dinner"

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

You never see an old man eating a twix.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

A stitch in time saves nine.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Spend. As in spending time. It's funny cause you don't have to explain it. Ah crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Garda Intelligence:D

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭Chips Ahoy

Why? That's the why!?
    usually said by an angry mother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

lazygal wrote: »
    Just read a saying in the stingy thread, the person 'Wouldn't spend Christmas'. :confused:

What does that mean, wouldn't spend Christmas?

I'm sure there are more.

That even at Christmas time they wouldn't spend money.
    A stitch in time saves nine.

If you spot an item of clotting that needs a stitch in time you'll save yourself having to make a few more when it unravels further.

Eh this is kinda self explanatory stuff folks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

That fella wouldnt give you the steam off his piss.

Why would you want someone elses piss steam?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I'd ate the back feet off a low flying duck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If he was alive today, he'd roll in his grave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

"Might aswell be hung for a sheep as a lamb." I don't get it :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

The Dogs Bollox, could you think of a less well suited term to describe something that is really good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"He who laughs last should get his hearing checked before the road rises up to meet him."

You're drunk Granddad, feck off home ya auld sauce-hound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭TAlderson

"More [something] than you can shake a stick at." Who the hell is shaking sticks at things, and why are they too lazy to do it once they reach a certain number?

-Tyler

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

The term one trick pony, it's usually used in a very negative way yet I've never seen a single pony that can do even one trick let alone many and believe me I've looked. A pony that could do tricks (even a simple roll over or something like that) would actually be pretty cool and somewhat unique. Now a one trick magician, that would be pretty lame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

If you fall and break your legs, don't come running to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

You can't have your cake and eat it.

If I get a cake of course I'm going to fecking eat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

"Might aswell be hung for a sheep as a lamb." I don't get it :p

It should probably be hanged rather than hung.

http://idioms.thefreedictionary.com/I+might+as+well+be+hung+for+a+sheep+as+a+lamb

Vote Fianna Fail

garv123 wrote: »
    You can't have your cake and eat it.

If I get a cake of course I'm going to fecking eat it.

I know this one :D It means you can't have a cake, then eat it and then expect to still have it. You can't have it both ways basically.
    I think :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭MHalberstram

Unguaranteed bondholders will be repaid in full.

ohhh thanks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

The exception that proves the rule. How can an exception prove a rule? It should disprove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Is minic a bhris béal duine a shrón

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

'Revert Back'

It's used every day by people who are busting their arses trying to sound 'intellectual'.
    It means absolutely nothing, and is bad grammar.

eg:

'We should revert back to the original position' = :rolleyes:

'We should revert to the original position' = :)

In short, the word 'Revert' means, to 'go back'

Sorry, had to get that off my chest, it drives me fcuking mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The term one trick pony, it's usually used in a very negative way yet I've never seen a single pony that can do even one trick let alone many and believe me I've looked. A pony that could do tricks (even a simple roll over or something like that) would actually be pretty cool and somewhat unique. Now a one trick magician, that would be pretty lame.

The story goes that around the mid-1800s there was one particularly disasterous show by The Cuffling Cousins Circus. It is said that they had an appallingly dull act involving a pony that knew no tricks apart from “playing dead”, and that this led the disappointed audience to uproar, demanding their money back. Suffice it to say this one-trick-pony did not entertain and certainly did not impress! Much like one-trick-ponies that we refer to today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

If he was alive today, he'd roll in his grave

This is two sayings stuck together, but I really like the Muppet like imagery I'm getting of some ghost of Christmas past type corpse hurricaning about the place in dismay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Lustrum

The head on him and the price of cabbage!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

There'll be wigs on the green I tell ya.

WTF :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

So's your face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

"I wouldn't piss on him if he was on fire":confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

To be honest, I could care less about commonly-used words and phrases that don't make sense (for all intensive purposes anywho), irregardless of what you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

'Eat your spinach and you'll be as strong as Popeye, the Sailorman'

Took me ages as a child to realize, that he was a cartoon character :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Lapin wrote: »

That comes from, I believe, the 19th century, maybe even late 18th. When men would have fisticuffs, they'd head out to a green, and the first things to hit the grass would usually be their wigs.
    Originally posted by Lars1916
    'Eat your spinach and you'll be as strong as Popeye, the Sailorman'

Took me ages as a child to realize, that he was a cartoon character

Spinach isn't nearly as nutritious as it's believed to be either.

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭BarnhallBull

Is minic a bhris béal duine a shrón

This makes absolutely perfect sense! Are you being sarcastic, or do you not speak Irish?! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

"I *could* care less" I get what you mean, but it still annoys me when people say it in a way that doesn't make sense.

Edit: Too late it's already been said :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Lapin wrote: »

I used to wonder about that one too, but it turns out it should be spelled 'Whigs' (an old English term for Conservative Politicians).

I understand it has something to do with Conservative politicians objecting to something, and spilling out on to the green in front of Parliament in protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭WatchWolf

"Pre-plan".

*shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

That comes from, I believe, the 19th century, maybe even late 18th. When men would have fisticuffs, they'd head out to a green, and the first things to hit the grass would usually be their wigs.

I think it's "bonnets on the green" in Scotland, they obviously nailed the wigs to their heads to stop them getting nicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

To be honest, I could care less.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Michael Jackson is innocent.Ø

I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying. [Oscar Wilde]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ø

'What the fcuk is that yoke?'
    - My name is URL, 2012

But..? That's true :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    David Mitchell vid

David Mitchell clearly couldn't care less.

Personally, I could care less... but I can't be bothered.

I don't know .

#õœ[ç¿`æߌ~_<ÇÆÝ¡ñ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    That even at Christmas time they wouldn't spend money.

Eh this is kinda self explanatory stuff folks...

I was always under the impression that this referred to how one spends Christmas. e.g. "I spent Christmas at home" and that the stinginess was implied by a person not even willing to spend this period of time somewhere, rather than not spending money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

"They've done studies yano ... 60 percent of the ..." I think you know the rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

'What the fcuk is that yoke?'
    - My name is URL, 2012

Flying saucer from the '50s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

when someone says, i slept like a baby. I just look at them and think ooooo so you slept very poorly and woke up crying and screaming to be fed / **** yourself

Although this does make sence it is the exact opposite to the way most people use it. If i am ever in my cousin house i can never get to sleep. I am always asked did i sleep ok to which i reply... oooo yea. I slept like a baby

i am not lieing