Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

190 euromillions winner trying to win again

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I'm not jealous he has €190 million.

Now, if he had a monkey I'd be jealous.

I want my monkey, dammit. :(

A monkey is 500 quid?

Care for a pony too? (25 quid)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I hope he wins again.
    Just to p1ss all the haters off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

TheChizler wrote: »
    Therefore, for him, the probability of winning a second time is the same as the rest of us.
    Actually the probability of him winning a second time is far greater than the probability of the rest of us winning a second time, given that he already has the first win in the bag ;)
    I know what you meant, it's just semantics, but if you're going to point out how ridiculously wrong 1Zred is, you ought to be pedantic with your own wording too.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Jamlad

1ZRed wrote: »
    Not when you've won it once already. The odds increase hugely because of the odds it took him the previous time x by the odds he could win it this time. That's not how you work it out, and it's not that easy, but I forget the maths formula you learn in the Leaving cert for it. So it would be statistically very near impossible for him to win again.
    Very bad call... the odds remain the same as the numbers he picked in the lotto were not removed they still remain to be randomly selected !

if i have 4 peaces of paper in a hat (red blue pink and yellow) and i put my hand in and randomly select one i have a 1/4 chance of getting the pink... if i put it back in then i have a 1/4 chance of getting it again.

Lets say i dont put it back in... then i wanna get yellow, i only have a 1/3 chance of getting the yellow...

The lotto works of the same princeple... essentially

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

Thought i'd post this:

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/4493496/148m-not-enough-for-you-Adrian-Bayford.html

Greed. Utter greed.
    he wins 190 million euro. Wants to win it again.

Maybe greedy. Definitely fuking stupid.

Let him waste his money - he's not going to win again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,828 ✭✭✭✭28064212

No sorry this is my fault for being unclear. If he was going at the lotto again (taking this on it's own, disregarding the last one) yes, he would have just as much chance of winning as anyone else and I agree with that. 
    But, if you looked at it as a whole, stepped back and included the last lotto and this, the odds of him winning that one AND this one would be too great. That's my point. 
    So he has the same chance of winning as anyone else AND he has much greater odds? That's some impressive probability.

Say the odds of any one line winning the lotto jackpot is 1 in a billion.
    • Random person A buys a single line. What are the odds of them winning?
    • Random person B, who has won the lotto jackpot before, also buys a line. What are the odds of them winning?

It's amazing how many people are just awful at basic probability

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

28064212 wrote: »
    So he has the same chance of winning as anyone else AND he has much greater odds? That's some impressive probability.

Say the odds of any one line winning the lotto jackpot is 1 in a billion.
    • Random person A buys a single line. What are the odds of them winning?
    • Random person B, who has won the lotto jackpot before, also buys a line. What are the odds of them winning?
    It's amazing how many people are just awful at basic probability

I couldnt agree with ya more ! i did a module last semester on probablity and satistics but even before that i could tell you regardsless of who or what you are or how many times you won the lotto.. you still have to same odd/chances etc.. !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

^^ Im sure thats of great comfort to the multi millionaire ;)

Jamlad wrote: »
    I couldnt agree with ya more ! i did a module last semester on probablity and satistics but even before that ...
    You'd be willing to reword your rather poor explanation on the previous page then, aye?

Ficheall wrote: »
    You'd be willing to reword your rather poor explanation on the previous page then, aye?
    Im at work and dont have time for a detailed explanation :P im just snaking on and off this. and it wasnt that bad !! sounddddddd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

So he has the same chance of winning as anyone else AND he has much greater odds?

I think the point was that he has the exact same odds as anyone else of winning the Euromillions going forward. The odds of him winning it twice are way higher now than the rest of us though (as he's half-way there).

Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Ahh sure look at the positive what are the chances of him winning again. Every £4 adds to the chances of u gaining more money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

dulpit wrote: »
    I think the point was that he has the exact same odds as anyone else of winning the Euromillions going forward. The odds of him winning it twice are way higher now than the rest of us though (as he's half-way there).

Right?

Yeah that was my point. I thought I made it clearer with my last post :)

Right?
    I assume you mean lower, meaning more likely. Right?
    If that was what you meant, you phrased it incredibly badly.

If this winner buys a lotto line in the morning, and person X buys a lotto line in the morning, who is more likely to win the lotto jackpot?

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Me_Grapes

Sam Kade wrote: »
    With odds of 116 million to 1 and 2euro a line it would be a sure way of losing your millions;)

My god you're right!

His megare 190,000,000 will soon dwindle and whither away into nothing if he keeps up this absured and frivolous spending of €2 twice a week. He will be in the poor house (if my maths are correct) in a mere 913,461 years!!!!!

Me_Grapes wrote: »
    My god you're right!

His megare 190,000,000 will soon dwindle and whither away into nothing if he keeps up this absured and frivolous spending of €2 twice a week. He will be in the poor house (if my maths are correct) in a mere 913,461 years!!!!!

Ehh... you kind of missed the post they were replying to, which suggested using the 190 million to buy all the combinations in one go, not €4 a week, which was just another example of not understanding basic probability/statistics

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Me_Grapes

Ehh... you kind of missed the post they were replying to, which suggested using the 190 million to buy all the combinations in one go, not €4 a week, which was just another example of not understanding basic probability/statistics

Don't think so. The post I qoted was a direct responce to another poster who said if he won 190 million he would do the same thing as the lotto winner. The poster I quoted said it would be a sure way to lose that posters money, and in that typical AH smug manner, which reeked of 'oh playing the lotto is for idiots', complete with condesending smilie.

(Go back and look it up if you don't beleive me)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Not when you've won it once already. The odds increase hugely because of the odds it took him the previous time x by the odds he could win it this time. That's not how you work it out, and it's not that easy, but I forget the maths formula you learn in the Leaving cert for it. So it would be statistically very near impossible for him to win again.

here, I'll make it simple for ya.

There are four peas on the table and one bean and five kids.

You have a one in five chance of getting the bean in a raffle.

You win the bean - YIPEEEE

you play again with another bean put in to replace the one you won.

you STILL have a one in five chance of winning the bean.

Me_Grapes wrote: »
    Don't think so. The post I qoted was a direct responce to another poster who said if he won 190 million he would do the same thing as the lotto winner. The poster I quoted said it would be a sure way to lose that posters money.

(Go back and look it up if you don't beleive me)
    Ok, I'll go back:
    Sam Kade wrote: »
    toc2012 wrote: »
    if i won €190 mill, id wait until its at this level again and spend a few mill on one draw to win it again, sure why not
    With odds of 116 million to 1 and 2euro a line it would be a sure way of losing your millions;)
    See the bolded part?

Right?

You're talking out your arse, lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

BEAMING £148.6million Lottery winner Adrian Bayford obviously reckons he is on a roll... as he forks out £4 on two more EuroMillions tickets yesterday.

Exactly a week after buying the slip that changed his life, the 41-year-old dad of two tucked his latest “investment” safely away before leaving a Tesco store to go on a shopping spree for his kids.
    The music shop owner, in Dundee with four-year-old son Cameron and brother-in-law Colin McCulloch, then walked into the town’s Disney store with his lad on his shoulders.
    Cameron wandered the aisles choosing his favourite toys.

Is there any age limit on being adopted ?
    smash wrote: »
    But why should you care? Do you think Bill Gates is Greedy when he says he wants to develop a new version of windows?

No he is just being a fecking sadist.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Exactly a week after buying the slip that changed his life, the 41-year-old dad of two tucked his latest “investment” safely away before leaving a Tesco store to go on a shopping spree for his kids.
    The music shop owner, in Dundee with four-year-old son Cameron and brother-in-law Colin McCulloch, then walked into the town’s Disney store with his lad on his shoulders.
    Cameron wandered the aisles choosing his favourite toys.
    BEASTERLY wrote: »
    With his lad on his shoulder? Some people have it all!:mad:

Arguably the funniest post I've ever read on Boards. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

He has 190 million, I think he can afford to spend 4 euro on the lotto. Big deal if he bought another lotto ticket. Maybe he doesnt like poker, casino games, sports betting and thats his little gamble for the week. Poker casino and sports betting are far worse. What a jealous idiot the OP is and probably the tightest fecker ever! Oh no he wasted 4 euro of his 190 million, this makes me angry. I suppose if the man donates a million charity and buys a 4 quid ticket he's still an idiot. People like the OP is what is wrong with the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,475 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Arguably it could be better for him to win a second time than someone else, from a charity point of view at least. If I won x amount I might give 60% to charity. If I won 2x I might give 70% to charity. Better than two people giving 60% individually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

HOMER: Wow, Mr. Burns, you're the richest man in the world! You own everything!

MR. BURNS: Ah, yes, but I'd give it all away to have just a little bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

areyawell wrote: »
    He has 190 million, I think he can afford to spend 4 euro on the lotto. Big deal if he bought another lotto ticket. Maybe he doesnt like poker, casino games, sports betting and thats his little gamble for the week. Poker casino and sports betting are far worse. What a jealous idiot the OP is and probably the tightest fecker ever! Oh no he wasted 4 euro of his 190 million, this makes me angry. I suppose if the man donates a million charity and buys a 4 quid ticket he's still an idiot. People like the OP is what is wrong with the country

piss off! :rolleyes:

So from my post you think 1, i'm the tight one. 2, an idiot and 3 "whats wrong with this country" :pac:

Seriously mate, your powers are being wasted here. GO, GO FOURTH.. THE GARDA NEED YOU TO SOLVE CRIMES WITH YOUR AMAZING POWERS OF DEDUCTION!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

how does the pot get so big, people buy tickets and a percentage of it goes into the pot,

so I see it as he is helping to build the pot up, rather than taking all the spoils and fooking off,

if it was the wild west he would be getting up for his last breakfast if he tried to leave with all the money,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

So from my post you think 1, i'm the tight one. 2, an idiot and 3 "whats wrong with this country" :pac:

Seriously mate, your powers are being wasted here. GO, GO FOURTH.. THE GARDA NEED YOU TO SOLVE CRIMES WITH YOUR AMAZING POWERS OF DEDUCTION!

You tell him B.A., you're dead right.

(now knock him out and let's get him on this plane)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

how does the pot get so big, people buy tickets and a percentage of it goes into the pot,

so I see it as he is helping to build the pot up, rather than taking all the spoils and fooking off,

if it was the wild west he would be getting up for his last breakfast if he tried to leave with all the money,

Pots? Wild West? What year is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

boobar wrote: »
    Pots? Wild West? What year is this?

2012?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Forget about yer man buying a lotto ticket, hang the perving Sun photographer! Following this guy around taking pictures of him shopping wtf? It should be illegal and I'm just sorry the pap's mother didn't get an abortion!

too far?

Please tell me whats wrong with buying another lotto ticket, maybe he likes money? I'd love to win the euromillions twice. Your arguments are pointless. Are you a troll? Begrudgary and Jealousy are the worst traits in humans. I wish you all the best in life, you wont get far! Just because he buys another lotto your tagging him as a greedy person! Idiots like you make me sick. Go back to the dole queue

Says the person who Recently quit his job and wants to be on the dole :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

whos the idiot now, mate? lol. :pac:

Says the person who Recently quit his job and wants to be on the dole :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

whos the idiot now, mate? lol. :pac:

Yea I quit my job looking for a better one, and guess what I got one after only two weeks of looking earning 30k plus expenses a year with my new work place paying for my part time masters in a specialist area in programming. Whos the idiot now mate?

Yea I quit my job looking for a better one, and guess what I got one after only two weeks of looking earning 30k plus expenses a year. Whos the idiot now mate?

Sure you did :pac:

Jealousy and begrudgery will get you no where. Programmers are short in this country and especially programmers with my talent and expertise are short in this country. Wish I didnt spend a year in a ****ty job but liked the people

Sure mate :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance