Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The worst 'Irish' accent in a film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

If you want an example of an actor doing an Irish voice well, check out English actor Michael Gambon in 'Open Range.' It's a pretty good western starring that perennial favourite - Kevin Costner.

Gambon was born in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

tallus wrote: »
    Gambon was born in Dublin.

That's already been covered... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

PS I love you.

I thought it was hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Wheel oil beef hooked anyone who has ever attempted the oirish brogue in a film should give up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

It's a webseries but Alexis Denishof's Irish accent in Brian Singers H+ is incredibly cringe worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 mmm88

The Irish lad in Charlie's Angels....ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭mariano rivera

Craig B wrote: »
    Matt Damon in ''The Departed''

Bit harsh

But he played a guy born and raised in South Baawston

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The father of the big girl in Shallow Hal. Not good at all.

Me dawtur.

Joe Viterelli and without a doubt it has to be the worst irish accent ever. It was finians rainbow but worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

mmm88 wrote: »
    The Irish lad in Charlie's Angels....ugh.

My God, it didn't resemble any accent from planet earth, never mind Ireland.

"OIL SHEEEEEEEW YEEEEEI THUH MYIIININ O' PYAAAAAAAANE!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

lockie1983 wrote: »
    Tom Cruise, "Far And Away"
    Correct answer. Well played.

fwiw twenty years ago one summer morning on my way to work I drove down Shrewsbury Road, Ballsbridge. One of the houses was covered in "snow" and also the front garden. A few years later I saw Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman sheltering in the house from the terrible Irish winter in "Far and Away".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I did not know that - just looked it up - Cabra! He's actually Irish! Ah well... he does speak with quite a pronounced English accent though.

Such is the thespian way, darling. And one's accent does change over the years, when one moves to another country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Ah Pierce Brosnan definitely, he also gets extra points taken off since he's Irish and can't do the feckin accent.

Wherrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrre's mmme Daaaaaaaaataaaaaaarrrrrrrrrr"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

Chris O Donnell in Circle of Friends was fairly poor.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

Marlon Brando is the best foreigner to do the accent. I seen him in a movie with Jack Nicholson and I was wondering who the Irish guy was. Looking closer, I realised that it was Brando and that he'd just put on so much weight that you'd barely recognise him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

Brosnan was voted as having the worst Irish accent in movies some time ago. To be fair we have so many accents here it's tough for anyone even an Irish person to be good at an accent from another part of the country or even another part of the county. I once went for an audition for a small part in 'Love, Hate'. I couldn't do the Dublin accent so I didn't get it and I'm a Dubliner grew up in the same area Brian Kerr comes from!

In fact and this is a bad example I know but most of the Fair City cast have rubbish Dublin accents.

What about a vote on the best Irish accent in a movie. My vote goes to Cate Blanchett in Veronica Guerin. She was very good indeed. Near perfect neutral Dublin accent.

As for Irish actors doing British or American accents. Well if you want to get work outside Ireland or sometimes even inside Ireland you have better be versatile. Lots of them are very good indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭BlueSmoker

I have to agree, an Irish accent must be very difficult, infact most Irish actors can't even do one, I know I would never try to put one on, I be to embrassed at fecking it up;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

If you want an example of an actor doing an Irish voice well, check out English actor Michael Gambon in 'Open Range.' It's a pretty good western starring that perennial favourite - Kevin Costner.

Another example would be Ryan O Neal in Barry Lyndon. Thought he nailed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

lazygal wrote: »
    I'm nominating Julia Roberts in Michael Collins.

Add yours.

Thread needs a poll.

"Far and away" with Tom Cruise would be the one I'd nominate. Despite having sections filmed here his 'language coach' was apparently brought over from New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

mikemac1 wrote: »
    It's not English, it's not Irish, it's just pikey

He wasn't trying to be Irish

He apologized to the Irish nation over that

There's a youtube clip of it somewhere

Probably on youtube :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

The two brothers from the Boondock Saints 1 & 2, they were supposed to have been raised in Boston but one had a Northern Irish accent and the other one had a Southern Irish accent, both of which were awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Border-Rat wrote: »
    Marlon Brando is the best foreigner to do the accent. I seen him in a movie with Jack Nicholson and I was wondering who the Irish guy was. Looking closer, I realised that it was Brando and that he'd just put on so much weight that you'd barely recognise him.

That was The Missouri Breaks.

Colin Farrell does a terrible oirish accent. Was flicking through the channels the other night and there he was in Ondine. Sounded more like a pisstake accent than an actual Irishman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

‘Shrooms’

The actors are actually Irish aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Kate Hudson in About Adam. She's a bit of a hottie but her accent makes me die a little inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

Finians Rainbow- another example of how the American think the Orish accent should sound. Fred Astaire at least should have know how to do a decent accent since he spent time staying with his sister who lived in Waterford.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Off topic but anyone remember when Eastenders went to Ireland? :rolleyes:

Not so much the accents but the fights in the pub, the donkeys in the street....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭AllWasWell

Been mentioned already but the worst by far is Gerard Butler in PS I Love You! I didn't actually watch the film I just came across it on Film4 a few weeks ago and I watched about 5 minutes of it but that was enough.

Coming in a close second, third and fourth: Norman Reedus, Sean Patrick Flannery and Billy Connolly in The Boondock Saints especially the scene in the courtroom at the end..it's so bad it's funny! That is actually a great film though despite the terrible accents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

CSI New York did an episode a couple of seasons ago where there was a feud between some Irish people living in New York. As far as I can remember, they even tried speaking Gaelic to fool the cops. Some of the actors sounded more Scottish than Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

chughes wrote: »
    CSI New York did an episode a couple of seasons ago where there was a feud between some Irish people living in New York. As far as I can remember, they even tried speaking Gaelic to fool the cops. Some of the actors sounded more Scottish than Irish.

i remember that, the lads were playing hurling when the filth showed up to ask questions!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Paddy Considine and Samantha Morton in In America were both fantastic.

James McAvoy in Inside I'm Dancing was also great.

Definitely Gerard Butler in PS I Love You is top of the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

Don't know if its been mentioned but my vote goes to Iain Glen in the Jack Taylor series.

I wouldn't mind but he's an ok actor usually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Delightfully Pessimistic

Any of the Irish accents in Back to the Future III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

The lead actor in that horror 'Shrooms', the only 'Irish' character in a movie set in Ireland and the wanker was English :eek:

Follow the link and see for yourself http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wHhwiT6eedc Hes the guy talking right the way through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Colin Farrell doing a Cork accent in Ondine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

The guy in ps I love you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭MusicalMelody

The braless nanny in sex and the city 2! She is just shy of saying "Top of the mornin":eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Any of the Irish accents in Back to the Future III

Mr. Ayst-Wood!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭pauldla

Worst: As mentioned above, Kevin Spacey, Julia Roberts, Tom Cruise, Chris O'Donnell. A special mention for Jonathan Price in 'Ronin'. Great actor, but just couldn't pull off the Oirish.

Best: Paddy Considine and Samantha Morton in 'In America', and Ian Harte in 'Michael Collins'. Minnie Driver didn't do too bad in 'Circle of Friends', either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

Tom Cruise.....really bad

Julia Roberts.

Kate Blanchet Veronica Guerin

Meryl Streep Dancing at L

Sean Bean..

No non Irish person has ever gotten it right...ever ..maybe it's impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭George White

rugrats wrote: »
    Not so much a film, but this ad beats them all

That's why I use it toooooo :D
    That's yer wan from Tron, I think. There's another ad on the net for Irish Spring with DALE ARDEN off Flash Gordon in it, Melody Anderson, also in Manimal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Not in a movie but everybody who was supposed to be Irish in Sons of Anarchy! I can't understand why they wouldn't just get Irish actors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Tom Cruise.....really bad

Julia Roberts.

Kate Blanchet Veronica Guerin

Meryl Streep Dancing at L

Sean Bean..

No non Irish person has ever gotten it right...ever ..maybe it's impossible.
    Steve Coogan does a very good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Not forgetting Sean Connery in Darby O'Gill and The Little People.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Gerard Butler in ps I love you. It was very diddly dee potatoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Yer one in Boardwalk Empire. Why couldn't they find a single genuine Irish person to cast instead of a Scot putting on a dawfake accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Mia Farrow's accent in 'Widows Peak' is pretty atrocious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

pauldla wrote: »
    Best: Paddy Considine and Samantha Morton in 'In America', and Ian Harte in 'Michael Collins'. Minnie Driver didn't do too bad in 'Circle of Friends', either.

Paddy Considine's Dad was Irish and Ian Harte's a Scouser so he'd have some of the qualities of the accent already.

Nothing will top Dick Van Dyke's cockernee though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

There's an episode of star Trek TNG that needs to be shown at every drama school worldwide to show kids how to **** up an accent. The Irish colony on Vegan Turnip Delta and the posh gits on Delta Carrot or something.

Conversely , the best accent I ever heard was Brad Pitt in Snatch. He was meant to be playing a West Limerick traveller whose accent was indecipherable. It wasn't - I lived in that pit for ten years...got every word. He was bang on. He went on the piss with a bunch of knackers in London for a fortnight to nail it. Which is the kind of studying I enjoy myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 amorphous

The cast of Fair City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Not in a movie but everybody who was supposed to be Irish in Sons of Anarchy! I can't understand why they wouldn't just get Irish actors?

The first time they did it, it nearly put me off the show having really liked the first two of three seasons. Then they ended a season in the cliffhanger that they were going back, if I recall. I haven't watched since.

It's not only the accents but the dialogue as well.. since when are wives and girlfriends commonly referred to as someone "old lady" in Belfast? They really couldn't have put any less effort in because doing so would have required trying.