Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs with pool tables

• 29-08-2012 4:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭

Myself and a few friends are coming to Eyre Sq for the weekend. Now i noticed a few threads when i did a google search and rather than bump a thred from 3 years ago i'd set up an up to date version.

Galway firstly is a smashing place, love it. I was there last year (Eyre Square) for a stag and have to say was a great weekend. I found paddys bar a good spot during the day as it had the football on the tv and we have our good friend paddypower couple doors down. In an old thread they said paddys bar had a pool table but don't remember seeing one? Can anyone confirm this as it would be ideal to head there. A few others mentioned like Sally Longs and Fibber Magees. Fibber Magees would be another which would work well but again, i would need to know if these pubs still have pool tables.

• Registered Users Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gaillimhabu

Sally Longs has a pool table but I've found it's winner stays on

Not sure of any others

• Registered Users Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Fibbers does still have one, upstairs, had a few games there a few weeks ago.

Wouldn't winner-stays-on be fairly standard ?

• Registered Users Posts: 42 christg

Goal Post has a good pool table also, with a couple of bookies near by.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Paddy's bar still has a pool table and 2 vodka red bulls for 7 Eur.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Paddy's bar still has a pool table and 2 vodka red bulls for 7 Eur.

Well that's great news.

Thanks for the replies

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    Fibbers does still have one, upstairs, had a few games there a few weeks ago.

Wouldn't winner-stays-on be fairly standard ?

Yeah that's how I would've expected it to roll. Hopefully a game of killers will be allowed after a while.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Winner stays on is a f***ing stupid rule. What if you just fancy a friendly game with your mate? You have to first play some saddo who spends his entire day in there just so you can win the privilege of paying your own money to play your friend - in one game.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Winner stays on is a f***ing stupid rule. What if you just fancy a friendly game with your mate? You have to first play some saddo who spends his entire day in there just so you can win the privilege of paying your own money to play your friend - in one game.

I agree wholeheartedly. I almost impaled some thick headed arsehole with the pool cue a few years back in Sally's, when he refused to let me and my mate play a game on our own. He butted his head in as we were setting up and told us that he was the winner from the last game played and was only having a pint between games. So then, we were forced to play doubles against him and his girlfriend who proceeded to decimate us and destroy the chances of a fun, albeit drunken game of pool with my mate. Mucho grrrrr...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah I had the same experience with some scummer in Sally's too. Mind, I was drunk so actually thought we could win over the two tracksuits. That didn't happen of course.
    Now we go to other pubs if we fancy pool with friends only.
    Don't let this put you off Sally's, it's an ok pub, but the clientèle can be hit and miss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Sally's has always been the same. People go there to play pool so you can expect them to be a bit pushy about it. Winner stays on unless they give the table up. No money on the table. All games to be chalked on the board.

If you're that serious about pool then piss off to the snooker hall on Eglinton St, it's not exactly far from Sallys!

Wouldn't mind if more places actually had a table. I guess the College Bar is ok but the price of a game is f***in obscene considering it's meant to be for students. I would encourage everyone to stuff the pockets in there (and I don't mean the owners'!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Winner stays on is standard here in Korea.

How else are you supposed to structure the run of play? Winner Stays On means that there's no doubt about who is next. If there are a few groups of friends, how the hell are you supposed to come to an agreement about who plays who and who is next? And add drink into the mix? Good luck with that.

If you want to play with a friend, go to a pool hall or Seapoint or somewhere.

Winner stays on makes perfect sense and is how it's done in any rational part of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

So you have to pay to play against some random cnut ? Sounds fun

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Interesting reading this. Winner Stays On can be hit and miss.

On a slight side note, are there any good pool halls in Galway?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭ciano1

Wouldn't mind if more places actually had a table. I guess the College Bar is ok but the price of a game is f***in obscene considering it's meant to be for students. I would encourage everyone to stuff the pockets in there (and I don't mean the owners'!)

Pool is the standard €1 in the hub right below the college bar ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I agree wholeheartedly.........He butted his head in as we were setting up and told us that he was the winner from the last game played and was only having a pint between games.
    I agree with winners on but if you walk away from the table that streak of winners on has ended and anyone can start a game. It's an empty table at that point.

kraggy wrote: »
    How else are you supposed to structure the run of play? Winner Stays On means that there's no doubt about who is next. If there are a few groups of friends, how the hell are you supposed to come to an agreement about who plays who and who is next?
    If you're some saddo in the pub by yourself with no mates and two people come along wanting to play a game, unlucky for you. Go and get some pals. It's fair enough if someone else comes in by themselves and wants a game.
    And add drink into the mix? Good luck with that.
    Yeah, because making things overly competitive is even better when there's drink involved.
    If you want to play with a friend, go to a pool hall or Seapoint or somewhere.
    Don't be ridiculous. Pubs are for socialising, a pool table in a pub is a bit of craic, something to pass the time with when having a pint with a mate. If you take pool so seriously you can't let 2 people have a game amongst themselves then put your tux on and feck off to the pool hall full of serios where you can tattoo your winner stays on code of honour onto each other's nobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

So you're saying theres always gonna be some sad kúnt at the table all day saying winner stays on when all you want to do is play against your mate.

Finally someone who truly understands my struggle

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Finally someone who truly understands my struggle
    Oh I understand alright, some people aren't so forward thinking as us. :p for example in my local the rule is whoever puts down a euro coin on the table will get a game and if you want to stay on the table all day you better put down 50 euros worth of coins :p and everyone has the courtesy to let someone play against their mate if they want too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

ScumLord wrote: »
    I agree with winners on but if you walk away from the table that streak of winners on has ended and anyone can start a game. It's an empty table at that point.

That was my main problem in this instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Oh I understand alright, some people aren't so forward thinking as us. :p for example in my local the rule is whoever puts down a euro coin on the table will get a game and if you want to stay on the table all day you better put down 50 euros worth of coins :p and everyone has the courtesy to let someone play against their mate if they want too.
    Sally's has a strict "no money on the table" rule. If you want to play you chalk your name on the board then rub it out when you start your game. Whoever wins stays on for the next game unless they yield. Not to everyone's taste but it's the rule there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

If you're some saddo in the pub by yourself with no mates and two people come along wanting to play a game, unlucky for you. Go and get some pals. It's fair enough if someone else comes in by themselves and wants a game.

Yeah, because making things overly competitive is even better when there's drink involved.

Don't be ridiculous. Pubs are for socialising, a pool table in a pub is a bit of craic, something to pass the time with when having a pint with a mate. If you take pool so seriously you can't let 2 people have a game amongst themselves then put your tux on and feck off to the pool hall full of serios where you can tattoo your winner stays on code of honour onto each other's nobs.

I see you failed to address my point about what to do if there are numerous groups of people. Someone will get left out or 2 lads will hog the table. Basically, won't run as smooth as a fixed structure of winner stays on. There's clarity in a system like that.

And it also makes more sense in relation to my point about drink being involved. There's no arguing when there are names on a board in black and white.

It's not that complicated.

kraggy wrote: »
    It's not that complicated.
    Criticising something does not mean you are confused by it.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

That was my main problem in this instance.
    Winners on really only works in small country pubs anyway, every one will know each other and have no problem playing with any of the people that walk in the door but the winners on never lasts more than a few games in my experience.

So Paddys Bar it was and what a weekend. Don't remember seeing a table in fibbers but could have been one there. And for anyone who had to witness that dirtbag running up the middle of the road during the cannonball run i'd like to apologise on behalf of the lads that were there......he jumped the gate himself.

Galway......What a place

• Registered Users Posts: 944 ✭✭✭loremolis

Anyone know if there are any pubs in Galway City Centre that have a pool table? (must sell beer also).

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Merged with recent thread on same topic.

loremolis wrote: »
    Anyone know if there are any pubs in Galway City Centre that have a pool table? (must sell beer also).
    Not sure about the pool tables but most of the pubs sell beer

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭Oliver_Ahern

Sally Longs has a pool table but I've found it's winner stays on

Not sure of any others

It's also in a very awkward spot to play pool. I honesty think a good pub pool table is one department Galway City is seriously lacking!