Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

is this how we are?

• Registered Users Posts: 705 ✭✭✭chuky_r_law

she's entitled to her opinion....whether she's reich or wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Well, despite the rabbit teeth we do have the internet and Google Translate.

She'll have an interesting time explaining this one to her neighbours and acquaintances in Galway.

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭MadameGascar

Is that the worst she can pull out of her ass?! We're not doing too bad, I'd love to see her write one of those about some other countries for a few lolz.
    Same for the Irish mother.
    If this doesn’t end, in the distant future the Irish will look like rabbits.
    That article is just... bizarre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

So, when is she appearing on the Lte Late Show?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Fuinseog wrote: »
    what is it with German and their brutal honesty? Do they not know how to sugarcoat? heard about this on Morning Ireland this morning.

http://rsvpmagazine.ie/rabbit-teeth-german-journo-writes-scathing-article-on-the-irish/
    Not brutal honesty, just brutal. The worst piece of journalism crap I've had the displeasure of reading in quite a while. She only managed to get one thing right: our education system is not nearly funded to the levels it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Lots of descriptions of Ireland in the German (speaking) press are the other extreme:

An evergreen (if slightly moist) enchanted Island, full of happy cows, comely maidens, singing farmers with a twinkle in their eye; a mystical landscape enriched by music, poetry and friendly people.

So that niche is kinda taken :D

This lady is a freelance writer who has moved to Ireland for reasons unbeknownst to herself (or so she writes in another of her articles) and she has to feed her six children somehow.

I guess she's trying to sell the anti-Ireland angle for a while ...she probably wasn't quite aware how easily that might backfire in these electronically interconnected days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

I think it is bang on. So obvious that many posters would post the usual offensives when they see the word German. Pathetically obvious.

The teeth observation is funny, just look at Winning Streak and the state of many of the contestants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Irish people have mad teeth.

Decent writers do not move to Ireland to write freelance bits for Swiss papers.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Chinasea wrote: »
    I think it is bang on. So obvious that many posters would post the usual offensives when they see the word German. Pathetically obvious.

The teeth observation is funny, just look at Winning Streak and the state of many of the contestants.
    So when someone brings up Hitler and Germany it's pathetic but to bring up alcohol and Irish people is bang on. GTFO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Happy trollin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    So when someone brings up Hitler and Germany it's pathetic but to bring up alcohol and Irish people is bang on. GTFO.

Yep, I think it is cheap. It is so done.

You are missing the point cause you're all het up when you hear someone dare say something negative (but true) about this auld gray blob called Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

You are missing the point cause you're all het up when you hear someone dare say something negative (but true) about this auld gray blob called Ireland.

I think it would be fair to say that nobody really gives a fúck what the mad bitch says.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

What and the Irish people and alcohol one isn't cheap and overdone? Ya, sure thing boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'm sure there's some kind of humour to be weaved out of this but I'm just too lazy and Irish to bother. http://www.ssdentalservices.co.uk/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

I can't quite fathom why she is still here at all. She needs to get on the next bitter bus right back to the fatherland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

She needs to get on the next bitter bus right back to the fatherland.

She didn't like it there either :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

‎"Since 1994 she works as a freelance journalist and writer" so it doesn't look that way. I ponder why she threw in "More so the compulsion to cheat on each other", and wonder if it has anything to do with her moving here in the first place? Looking at her (small) wiki page http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antje_Joel she has 4 books under the name "Antje Potthoff" ('00, '00, '02, '03) and then one book written under her maiden name Antje Joel ('07), and then in 2008 she moves to the west of Ireland; it would seem she's fleeing as far away from something as possible?

She has six kids, and came to live in (Ballygar, Galway) Ireland in 2008. Seems before she became a journo, she worked in dentistry. Not sure why she stays there, as it seems she thinks the school there is a hole, and all the Irish don't trust each other.

Meh. Luckily all of ze Germans are not like this.

Also, who the funk moves to the far whest of Galway with 6 kids after the boom to work as a freelance journalist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

peasant wrote: »

She didn't like it there either :D

Im thinking she might be the sort that doesn't like it anywhere :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

She is absolutely on the money when it comes to Irish peoples attitudes toward alcohol.Fiction of the highest order re the prevalance of dental deformities in the so called indigenous Irish population.Her frank generalisation re the prevalence of racism based most probably on anecdotal evidence and less so personal experience needs to be tested.
    To be honest I concur with her sentiments,I believe Irish people have a excessively high opinion of the regard other nations have for our culture eg traditional music,Irish dancing.I do not believe the global appeal is as great as we would like to think.
    Am I the only person who gets sick of listening to the Famine song ak The Fields of Athenry?I'm a great believer in the importance of historical rememberance but I like to hope ours is a progressive ,forward thinking nation.
    Agree with her re the ubiquitous Irish pubs that litter every corner of the globe,rip off merchants.Rarely truly Irish pubs in character or ownership,only time one enters them is to watch the footie.
    She's correct that sometimes visitors to our great country get fleeced,cead mile failte how do!
    So quite frankly I believe this article was not aimed at an Irish audience,stating the obvious.But we are indeed now a poor nation and certainly the truth hurts.As mentioned before the poor German ambassador that expressed his astonishment re the Consultants salaries,he got slaughtered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Antje Joel wrote:
    The Green Isle? Come on, for 353 days of the year, the colour of this blob of land far out in the Atlantic is dominantly grey!
    Perhaps someone should rewrite the lyrics of Johnny Cash's song Forty Shades of Green! Rename it Fifty Shades of Grey!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Perhaps someone should rewrite the lyrics of Johnny Cash's song Forty Shades of Green! Rename it Fifty Shades of Grey!

Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

seligehgit wrote: »
    She is absolutely on the money when it comes to Irish peoples attitudes toward alcohol.Fiction of the highest order re the prevalance of dental deformities in the so called indigenous Irish population.Her frank generalisation re the prevalence of racism based most probably on anecdotal evidence and less so personal experience needs to be tested.
    To be honest I concur with her sentiments,I believe Irish people have a excessively high opinion of the regard other nations have for our culture eg traditional music,Irish dancing.I do not believe the global appeal is as great as we would like to think.
    Am I the only person who gets sick of listening to the Famine song ak The Fields of Athenry?I'm a great believer in the importance of historical rememberance but I like to hope ours is a progressive ,forward thinking nation.
    Agree with her re the ubiquitous Irish pubs that litter every corner of the globe,rip off merchants.Rarely truly Irish pubs in character or ownership,only time one enters them is to watch the footie.
    She's correct that sometimes visitors to our great country get fleeced,cead mile failte how do!
    So quite frankly I believe this article was not aimed at an Irish audience,stating the obvious.But we are indeed now a poor nation and certainly the truth hurts.As mentioned before the poor German ambassador that expressed his astonishment re the Consultants salaries,he got slaughtered!

We're an Island Nation with a grand total of four Million Citizens; the fact that our History and Culture occupies the Global consciousness at all is quite remarkable.

I know it's a bit cliche to point it out but the St. Patrick's day parade is something of a global phenomenon. Apart from the main Parades in Dublin and New York, there are celebrations in Canada, Australia, Argentina, and the UK - not to mention Russia and the authors very own Switzerland.

Hell, the Parade in New York attracts up to Three Million spectators and at least One Hundred and Fifty Thousand participants.

I know that as a Nation we have some serious Political and Social problems to address, but the last person we should listen to for some "objective" criticisms is a hack journalist.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 goldensyrup

What a terrible article.
    Irish are trying to screw each other at every given opportunity. The Irish don’t trust each other at all at all
    It was the germans who invented schadenfreude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

galwayrush wrote: »
    So, when is she appearing on the Lte Late Show?:D

Tubs doesnt do controversial.
    she might make it onto the brendan o connor show if she can stand Brendans leering.

peasant wrote: »
    Lots of descriptions of Ireland in the German (speaking) press are the other extreme:

An evergreen (if slightly moist) enchanted Island, full of happy cows, comely maidens, singing farmers with a twinkle in their eye; a mystical landscape enriched by music, poetry and friendly people.

So that niche is kinda taken :D

This lady is a freelance writer who has moved to Ireland for reasons unbeknownst to herself (or so she writes in another of her articles) and she has to feed her six children somehow.

I guess she's trying to sell the anti-Ireland angle for a while ...she probably wasn't quite aware how easily that might backfire in these electronically interconnected days.

excluding hitler, nazis and the war what is out image of Germany- comely maidens with big jugs (of beer) dressed in traditional clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

Irish Cheating on each other ?

Isn't it the French who enjoy this type of life style ?

Isn't it all the rain we have that gives us the best beef in Europe ?

She should Thank the Irish people for Keeping the Dutch/Germany Alcohol company's from going under

I take Rabbit teeth any day over having a Germany voice or that crappy Germany Porn they make ! or the fact they are the ones that killed over 1 millions jews

just came across this. Joel has irritated many people who unfortunately engage in kraut bashing and bring up the war. there are many krauts who work hard and enjoy living here and to whom the likes of this bitter woman are an embarrassment.

Dear Ms. Joel,

four years ago you wrote the following Article: http://www.tagesspiegel.de/meinung/kommentare/ich-lebe-jetzt-in–irland/1308314.html#commentInput

In it you praise how Ireland is great and keep praising all those stereotypes you are now bashing. May I ask Ms. Joel, as a fellow German that has lived in this country for the last 8 years, why do you still live in Ireland if everything is so horrible and all the Irish are trying to pull a fast one on you?

I am going to pick out a few of your key points here. Young people drinking, for example. In Germany young people are the perfect image of prim and proper, they never drink alcohol, or smoke. The German youth is all very well behaved. NOT. Ms. Joel, have you ever been to the Wiesn or any of the smaller local beerfestivals around Germany? I have. I grew up with them. And know from first hand experience that at those festivals teenagers drink until they fall over and have to be carried out by the medics. Oftentimes it ends in stomachs having to be pumped and alcohol poisoning. But clearly only Irish teenagers get drunk regularly.

So, Ireland is full of racists? The whole world knows that there is no racism in Germany, nor has there ever been racism. I’m afraid to tell you Ms. Joel, there isn’t a country where racism doesn’t occur. You seem so surprised about that. Clearly you must have been living under a big rock when you thought you could move to a country and there is no racism. In German schools kids get bullied for their nationality as well. Kanaken, Scheisstuerken, Russenarsch, Polakke …clearly none of these words ever get used in Germany?! And isn’t your entire article racist in its own right?
    Shame on the Weltwoche for even publishing this utter pile of racist BS.

So all Irish have rabbit teeth ? And all Jews have big crooked noses, all French have hairy legs and all Germans are perfect. Ms. Joel you are starting to tread ice on thin ice here. 75 years ago there was another German who liked to generalize. I think we could all agree that what he caused is still having consequences to this day (and I’m just thinking of the destruction a leftover WWII bomb caused in Munich City Center this week). Do you really think you are furthering your career by blatant racist slurs on a nation that took you in for the last 4 years?

Ms. Joel, if you lived in Germany, would you be able to make a living from your “journalism”? Or would you be a social welfare recipient? Hartz IV doesn’t sound so appealing to me to be honest. As a German living in Ireland I can honestly say that Ireland is a pretty good country to live in. Tax on wages is relatively low compared to Germany, and the living costs are equal. Rents are incredibly reasonable in Ireland.

Ms. Joel, please do us all a favour and move back to Stollberg or whatever “NPD-Hochburg” you crawled out of.

This article is nothing but the bitter rant of a frustrated idiot.

Kind Regards,

Hans Joachim

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭dantbyhid

just came across this. Joel has irritated many people who unfortunately engage in kraut bashing and bring up the war. there are many krauts who work hard and enjoy living here and to whom the likes of this bitter woman are an embarrassment.

Dear Ms. Joel,

four years ago you wrote the following Article: http://www.tagesspiegel.de/meinung/kommentare/ich-lebe-jetzt-in–irland/1308314.html#commentInput

In it you praise how Ireland is great and keep praising all those stereotypes you are now bashing. May I ask Ms. Joel, as a fellow German that has lived in this country for the last 8 years, why do you still live in Ireland if everything is so horrible and all the Irish are trying to pull a fast one on you?

I am going to pick out a few of your key points here. Young people drinking, for example. In Germany young people are the perfect image of prim and proper, they never drink alcohol, or smoke. The German youth is all very well behaved. NOT. Ms. Joel, have you ever been to the Wiesn or any of the smaller local beerfestivals around Germany? I have. I grew up with them. And know from first hand experience that at those festivals teenagers drink until they fall over and have to be carried out by the medics. Oftentimes it ends in stomachs having to be pumped and alcohol poisoning. But clearly only Irish teenagers get drunk regularly.

So, Ireland is full of racists? The whole world knows that there is no racism in Germany, nor has there ever been racism. I’m afraid to tell you Ms. Joel, there isn’t a country where racism doesn’t occur. You seem so surprised about that. Clearly you must have been living under a big rock when you thought you could move to a country and there is no racism. In German schools kids get bullied for their nationality as well. Kanaken, Scheisstuerken, Russenarsch, Polakke …clearly none of these words ever get used in Germany?! And isn’t your entire article racist in its own right?
    Shame on the Weltwoche for even publishing this utter pile of racist BS.

So all Irish have rabbit teeth ? And all Jews have big crooked noses, all French have hairy legs and all Germans are perfect. Ms. Joel you are starting to tread ice on thin ice here. 75 years ago there was another German who liked to generalize. I think we could all agree that what he caused is still having consequences to this day (and I’m just thinking of the destruction a leftover WWII bomb caused in Munich City Center this week). Do you really think you are furthering your career by blatant racist slurs on a nation that took you in for the last 4 years?

Ms. Joel, if you lived in Germany, would you be able to make a living from your “journalism”? Or would you be a social welfare recipient? Hartz IV doesn’t sound so appealing to me to be honest. As a German living in Ireland I can honestly say that Ireland is a pretty good country to live in. Tax on wages is relatively low compared to Germany, and the living costs are equal. Rents are incredibly reasonable in Ireland.

Ms. Joel, please do us all a favour and move back to Stollberg or whatever “NPD-Hochburg” you crawled out of.

This article is nothing but the bitter rant of a frustrated idiot.

Kind Regards,

Hans Joachim

Person I work with wrote that. I think that some of the German people living here are even more outraged than the Irish about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Hitler

Lack of Humour

Hitler

Hairy women

Hitler

Drink like fish

Hitler

Can buy a can of beer from a vending machine in train stations

Hitler

German Sausages

Hitler

Feel free to add some more stereotypes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

This is turning out to be a great thread for all the self-loathing paddies to let out their insecurities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Quorum

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I used to think german women were sexy until this!

They are, don't let one bint put you off. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Stick her on a Ryan Air flight and hope she ends up in Syria

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I'd say she is an unlikable person and didn't fair to well here. Now she is bitter about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

The website she wrote it on. Well I looked up wikipedia about them and wikipedia said this :
    "On the 26th of June, 2012, Die Weltwoche published an article which appeared to argue the genetic inferiority of the Irish people. The article lamented the spread of the Irish gene pool and falsely claimed that the Irish Government promotes pre-marital DNA testing in an effort to halt supposed widespread incest amongst the Irish people. It also claimed that the Irish had rat-like anatomic features.[10] [11]"
    Rat like anatomic features? I don't get what they mean by that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

It also claimed that the Irish had rat-like anatomic features.[10] [11]"

My ould lad was Splinter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

Oh for God's sake don't fall for the bait...it's tabloid journalism looking for a knee jerk reaction.

And the same journalist wrote a very praising fawning piece about Irelan four yers ago.

There are virtually no swiss or Germans in Dublin.

There has been a huge surge in far right xenophobic neo nazi rhetoric accross Europe in the last two years in many countries.

I actually feel Govts need to do more to tackle it...

And NO the majority of Germans are not like this...and they do not think like this and we must rememeber that when anyone spouts racit crap it makes a whole people look bad...so cut out the racist crap....you are doing you country a huge dishonour...one of the worst dishonours infact.

I feel it is more embarrassing for Germans than Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

There are virtually no swiss or Germans in Dublin.

Not in Dublin no but there are quite large German communities in Cork, Kerry, Clare and Galway - Cork in particular since the 1970's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭smokiebeverage

Sorry lads that birds article might just be my fault, I'm almost sure I turned her down in favour of giving her ma a shot! Just another poorly, alcohol induced, decision on my behalf I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Shryke wrote: »
    I expected her to say how small all our cocks were at the end just for the craic.
    I have half a feeling that she may have been unlucky in who she invited home all right!

I was half-tempted to volunteer my services to change her mind! :D
    Sorry lads that birds article might just be my fault ...
    Ah ... so you're the one with the ... ;) :pac:

Ok, being half-serious for a second, I'm half-hoping that article falls under the heading "Lost in translation".

If it doesn't, I'm more inclined to feel sorry for the author than angry, tbh.

Sure, Ireland has a shít climate, especially the last few years. Sure, the country's far from fupping perfect, we're the first to throw stones and self-flagellate ourselves ... and hell, we've given ourselves and others enough targets to cast asparagus at over the past decade!

But we're not as universally dour and dire as that article (at least in translation) makes out.

So Fräulein Joel, if you're reading ... if you *really* think so little of us and of this country ... maybe it's time to move on, for your sake and for ours? ... to declare it a draw, a mismatch, a romance which hit the rocks ... and which should be surgically ended, sharply and cleanly, for the sake of both parties?

The website she wrote it on. Well I looked up wikipedia about them and wikipedia said this :
    "On the 26th of June, 2012, Die Weltwoche published an article which appeared to argue the genetic inferiority of the Irish people. The article lamented the spread of the Irish gene pool and falsely claimed that the Irish Government promotes pre-marital DNA testing in an effort to halt supposed widespread incest amongst the Irish people. It also claimed that the Irish had rat-like anatomic features.[10] [11]"

have we pictures of these rat like individuals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

kfallon wrote: »
    Giving out about Irish music....didn't Germany give us David Hasselhoff's majestic singing talents and Scooter :rolleyes:

Yes to Scooter, but David Hasselhoff is American.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Cork24 wrote: »
    .....that crappy Germany Porn they make !

Here mate I know we're all angry and outraged at the article but let's not say things we might regret, okay?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

The level of debate here is awesome. Have we reached infantile level yet? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,835 ✭✭✭Torqay

Well, that'd be Croatia.

Her Yugoslav father left her mother for his family back home before she was born.

Still a teenager, she married an English bloke (with an Irish mother!), divorced him after 2 kids. Married again, had 4 more kids and left hubby #2, who was frequently cheating on her, at the age of 37.

Must be a fan of Fish, named her daughter Kayleigh.

Torqay wrote: »
    Well, that'd be Croatia.

Her Yugoslav father left her mother for his family back home before she was born.

Still a teenager, she married an English bloke (with an Irish mother!), divorced him after 2 kids. Married again, had 4 more kids and left hubby #2, who was frequently cheating on her, at the age of 37.

Must be a fan of Fish, named her daughter Kayleigh.

is Joel an English name? some German women marry an american or brit, divorce them, but keep the name as it is good for business for a German working with English to have an English surname. she seems to portray herself as a citizen of the world of no fixed abode. it is sad that she betrays a community that offers her a home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,835 ✭✭✭Torqay

is Joel an English name?

Id' say it's a German name. For example, Billy Joel's father was German, he owned a company later known as Neckermann (a German equivalent to Argos) before the Germans confiscated their business and property in the 1930s.

I am surprised Joe Duffy did not take up the issue and track her down.

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭Johnny D. Mudd

I would get offended by this article. Would do, if it were not the inane and ill-informed ramblings of a mad woman whose knowledge of all things Irish is the ridiculously cliche-ridden American films like Far and Away that seem to imply that all Irish people are little leprachauns. It's kinda hard to take an article seriously when it makes so little sense, grammatically and logically. Best read it and laugh then get mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Couldn't be bothered to click the link
    Lazy paddy.:pac: Really not much in that article that's not fairly true though, Ireland has loads of good points, but it has loads of bad ones too. We do spend most of our time trying to cheat each other, avoid being "codded", rascism is chronic (I know, I have some E.European born workers and they are seriously discriminated against all the time as well as getting told to "feck off home" on a regular basis-that classic last ditch Irish arguement -sure if you don't like it here, feck off home..even look at the comments under the article). There are also an awful lot of feckin inbred goms knocking round the place. And diddelly-idle music is a pain in the head. Some bits of Wicklow do look nice though:D

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭gerryd2

Ya know I really hate people who stereotype especially when they're supposed to be professionals. On her visit over here she could have only interacted with about 1000 Irish people in total and thats not enough people to require a positive knowledge of the Irish culture.

If something like this was wrote about Black or Asian people it would be seen as Raciest and the writer would be shunned. Everything she said can be said about every Country in the world. I ain't offended by it, people always talk crap about others mainly to make their lives seem better but coming from a German citizen! Germany caused the world so much pain and sorrow in the past. They should be the last people to criticise anyone