Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

No fathers at kids first day of school this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭dhmusic

Jemelanie and Ajacinta ill git door pitchers taken by twenty other aul wans wearin door pidge-ah-mits an din post dim on face buke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    That's been pointed out before & I still don't care.

Were you even there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Did any of the fathers look like this OP?

Any hairy children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Those bits in bold, may kids wont have any of that, maybe that's why today was so big in my eyes.

You can still go door-knocking on Communion Day, the neighbours won't know if you keep quiet about the kids not actually doing a first communion.:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Were you even there?

Of course, may I say some of the mummies were very yummy.
    The young lads teacher was a bit of all right to, nice & firm looking, you know the type.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Maybe it's not a big thing anymore but my young lad started school this morning & there were only 4 fathers present out of a class of 28 kids.
    I know 2 of the lads were unemployed so it suited them but I thought it was a bit sad.
    Are people that fearful for their jobs that they forgo family occasions now ?.
    Anyway, sad :(

We now know what you go on the school run for, slapper :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,666 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

ejmaztec wrote: »
    You can still go door-knocking on Communion Day, the neighbours won't know if you keep quiet about the kids not actually doing a first communion.:p

They may well suss something if you do it in August, though.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

barney 20v wrote: »
    how hard is it to comprehend a father doing that?

It's not. But they shouldn't be expected to, if one (or both) of the parents are working it might be hard to get time off.

I wouldn't object to dads/mums being there, but I also wouldn't be surprised if only 1 parent was there for a child...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

dhmusic wrote: »
    Jemelanie and Ajacinta ill git door pitchers taken by twenty other aul wans wearin door pidge-ah-mits an din post dim on face buke.
    Ah, its Irvine Welch.

Is there any chance you could arrange for an alternative publication of Trainspotting where the English spelling is used for dialog instead of the Scottish phonetic?

I enjoyed the movie, but trying to read the book just gave me a headache.

(And on topic, I'll be going to work late on Monday when my youngest starts school)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

Well there were more Fathers than that when my kid started school last year. Maybe it depends on the area. I was there with my wife on his first day. But I don't have a normal job so it was easy enough. Depending on their jobs many men might have difficulty getting the time off. A lot of employers are not so cooperative.

He went back to school today for his second term. I didn't go this time partly because his Mother took time off work to go specially. Normally I do the delivering and collecting so the novelty has worn off for me. But she showed her lack of experience, by failing to give the poor little man breakfast and having to buy a sandwich for his lunch on the way.

I dunno, Mothers these days:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Pat Mustard's gotta do his milk round. He can't be going to school for the other 24 kids first days. And that's just one school in the area...

Gurgle wrote: »
    Ah, its Irvine Welch.

Is there any chance you could arrange for an alternative publication of Trainspotting where the English spelling is used for dialog instead of the Scottish phonetic?

I enjoyed the movie, but trying to read the book just gave me a headache.

I had to read those chapters out loud to even attempt to make sense of what was going on. Not fun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Mammy brought me into school on the first day, I'd say if it was the old lad I would have been drop kicked in the door of the classroom and told not to come home until I learned how to walk to school on my own.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

When I went to school I felt that the spirits of my forefathers were always with me, not just on my first day :)

I got bullied a lot for spouting sh!t like that.
    Soon learnt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Those bits in bold, may kids wont have any of that, maybe that's why today was so big in my eyes.
    Don't recall it being a big deal tbh. Practically every "first day at school" story I've ever heard involves being thrown in the door by Mammy and told to sit down and shut up.

I've never heard anyone talk about how their parents and Uncle John and Auntie Mary were there taking photos and cheering them on.

I understand that it's a milestone event, but I've never heard it talked about as a family event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

4 men fathered all 28 children :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddycrumlinman

I would not miss either of my Kids first day of school and also their end of year school party. My Kids started school last week, youngest into 1st grade, brought her to her class, met her teacher, had a chat and got her settled in. Once done, over to the oldest 4th grade class, again meet the teacher, get him settled and wish them both a great day.

Look, kids will always love to have one or both parents present on important occasions also, when the teachers see you as a parent being active in your children’s upbringing, I believe this helps the Child. I have spoken and have friends who are school teachers and they told me when the see the parents taking a keen and honest interest in their children’s education, the teacher automatically takes to the children which can only benefit them.

I remember at the end of my Daughter’s school year last May, the Teacher had a video presentation with pictures of the whole school year. I would have not missed it for the world, my Daughter sitting on my lap, all proud of her self and proud to have her Dad with her, It was an amazing experience. It’s the little things in life like the above that matter, not money, jobs, building memories for you and your children is whats important. Sure when you’re on your death bed and look back, if you don’t part take in your children’s activities , you will surely regret it.

There were several kids in my Daughters class at that end of school party who had no parents turn up to see them receive awards for their years achievements and it was very sad to see. I understand that not all parents can make it because of work commitments and some simply don’t care. I’m lucky that I can. The bottom line is that we as people are slaves to Society and for one reason or another would rather work or have to go to work and miss out on the important occasions with their kids, that is just a sad way to live to be honest.

When such events take place, I notify my Boss well in advance and I tell him, I am taking of for 2 hours to go and be with my Children on their special events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

Of course, may I say some of the mummies were very yummy.
    The young lads teacher was a bit of all right to, nice & firm looking, you know the type.

try get through as many of them as you can before the end of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭barney 20v

I would not miss either of my Kids first day of school and also their end of year school party. My Kids started school last week, youngest into 1st grade, brought her to her class, met her teacher, had a chat and got her settled in. Once done, over to the oldest 4th grade class, again meet the teacher, get him settled and wish them both a great day.

Look, kids will always love to have one or both parents present on important occasions also, when the teachers see you as a parent being active in your children’s upbringing, I believe this helps the Child. I have spoken and have friends who are school teachers and they told me when the see the parents taking a keen and honest interest in their children’s education, the teacher automatically takes to the children which can only benefit them.

I remember at the end of my Daughter’s school year last May, the Teacher had a video presentation with pictures of the whole school year. I would have not missed it for the world, my Daughter sitting on my lap, all proud of her self and proud to have her Dad with her, It was an amazing experience. It’s the little things in life like the above that matter, not money, jobs, building memories for you and your children is whats important. Sure when you’re on your death bed and look back, if you don’t part take in your children’s activities , you will surely regret it.

There were several kids in my Daughters class at that end of school party who had no parents turn up to see them receive awards for their years achievements and it was very sad to see. I understand that not all parents can make it because of work commitments and some simply don’t care. I’m lucky that I can. The bottom line is that we as people are slaves to Society and for one reason or another would rather work or have to go to work and miss out on the important occasions with their kids, that is just a sad way to live to be honest.

When such events take place, I notify my Boss well in advance and I tell him, I am taking of for 2 hours to go and be with my Children on their special events.
    What he said ^^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭Tazz T

I'd say it's important for many children for the father to be there but most have been institutionalised in creches from early infancy, so they're used to not having one parent or both around. Unlike other 'family-friendly' countries, Ireland is still the only one in Europe with no paternity leave. Go us!

Never mind, we can blame our youth's binge drinking problem on crap parents not being around when they were growing up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Ok..... well i get your point about the aunts,uncles etc...

But my youngest daughter started school today... i booked a few hours off work to be there,how hard is it to comprehend a father doing that?

Its important to me that i was with her as she started this next phase in her life, my soul purpose in life is to provide for,protect and encourage my kids to do well and to be happy in life.

I was proud to be there, for the first 18 mths of her life i was her main carer, to me it would be absurd NOT to be there for this.

Plenty of Irish people take time off work etc to follow soccer-gaa-rugby and get ****faced - but if you take a few hours off to support your child your a fool?soft? I feel sorry for those who think like that tbh.
    It says alot about modern Ireland if that type of attitude still exists.

For the record - i think 26 Kids in the class, i met 5 other dads,all equally as proud and happy to be there!

Man hater alert....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

There were several kids in my Daughters class at that end of school party who had no parents turn up to see them receive awards for their years "achievements" and it was very sad to see.
    Achievements like turning up to school and being able to tie your own shoe lace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Maybe the 4 men were there to help the women park properly outside the school?

More important-were there any yummy mummies there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

there were only 4 fathers present out of a class of 28 kids.

Then why is the tread called "No fathers at kids first day of school this morning"? :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,968 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Maybe it's not a big thing anymore but my young lad started school this morning & there were only 4 fathers present out of a class of 28 kids.
    I know 2 of the lads were unemployed so it suited them but I thought it was a bit sad.

We saw loads of daddies bringing their little people to start junior infants this morning.
    My eldest is in the Naionra there but when she starts in the Big School I will expect her daddy to bring her too.

smash wrote: »
    Then why is the tread called "No fathers at kids first day of school this morning"? :D

Doesn't make sense at all.

Moonbeam wrote: »
    My eldest is in the Naionra there but when she starts in the Big School I will expect her daddy to bring her too.

What's a Naionra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭bette

SocSocPol wrote: »
    If there were 4 present the why is your thread enitled NO FATHERS PRESENT?:confused:

Maybe he/she meant no forefathers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

lesbians the lot of them ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Hide the Rum

The Ma dropped me off and said "see ya in a few hours". I got a name tag and sat down, it was grand.

Looking forward to day 2.

The Ma dropped me off and said "see ya in a few hours". I got a name tag and sat down, it was grand.

Looking forward to day 2.

You could probably skip ahead a few years...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,968 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

What's a Naionra?

Pre school

and I can't type fadas on this device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I sent the little bastard off with a kick in the arse. Its not my fault his ma's in jail. He came home with €100 he'd won in a game of pool down the early house. He didn't take to the teacher so he ****ed off. That lad will go places. I'm off to the pub to celebrate.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddycrumlinman

ScumLord wrote: »
    Achievements like turning up to school and being able to tie your own shoe lace?

Achievements as in their Maths and Reading skills. It's all graded through out the year, any kids that got a 90 or over for Maths and Reading got a special award, along with other awards through out the year. Trust me, they are young kids, but they learn quickly and are very bright and smart.

Pre school

You could have typed English though! :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Pre school

No, fadas wouldn't have made any difference, still looks like you fell on your keyboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Someone should do a forefathers joke.

It wouldn't go amiss.

That's pretty good going, only 4 fathers of children in that school on the dole.

OP, was it a Thursday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭ghosttown

As a seperated daddy with joint custody of 2 little men, I was happy to bring my 4 year old to his first day today.............along with his mother, we're 'amicable' I guess....

Anyway, after the usual photos and things, he went into class, recognized some other kids from pre-school and was off to socialise after a kiss goodbye.
    Off she went shopping.

I ended up going for a coffee with one of the single mother yummy mummies.

Result all round.

So dads, you don't know what you're missing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

dhmusic wrote: »

That was painful to read.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Ok..... well i get your point about the aunts,uncles etc...

But my youngest daughter started school today... i booked a few hours off work to be there,how hard is it to comprehend a father doing that?

Its important to me that i was with her as she started this next phase in her life, my soul purpose in life is to provide for,protect and encourage my kids to do well and to be happy in life.

I was proud to be there, for the first 18 mths of her life i was her main carer, to me it would be absurd NOT to be there for this.

Plenty of Irish people take time off work etc to follow soccer-gaa-rugby and get ****faced - but if you take a few hours off to support your child your a fool?soft? I feel sorry for those who think like that tbh.
    It says alot about modern Ireland if that type of attitude still exists.

For the record - i think 26 Kids in the class, i met 5 other dads,all equally as proud and happy to be there!

Ahh FFS, dry up would you!
    One parent taking the child to school on the first day is adequate.
    The next "phase" of her life :pac:

Also, did it ever occur to you that the fathers who weren't there might fall into one of the following categories:

1. They work in jobs where time off is scarce.
    2. They work nights.
    3. They work away.
    4. They're separated from the mother.
    5. They're dead.
    6. The kid only wanted the mother to be there.
    7. The father will be doing the return leg, i.e. pick up the child in the afternoon and take him/her for ice-cream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

My parents separated shortly before I started school, so my mam dropped me off and my dad collected me later- i still remember my mam bringing me to my class and literally legging it the first chance she got! Like I turned to say goodbye and she was already gone!

Turns out our principal had warned parents not to linger as it upsets the kids more when they go to leave :P I agree, I kinda shrugged and found a seat and made friends....like kids are supposed to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Perhaps they did all their crying at home and couldn't face the emotion of Timmys first day at school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Maybe they were very fertile fathers ?
    7 each maybe.

Note must become unemployed to become better father.
    HowAreWe wrote: »
    why is everyone being a prick in here?

Well it is a discussion about fathers after all. ;)
    poisonated wrote: »
    It's a fairly big deal for the kid to be fair.

Didn't have the heart to tell the little man today that he has 14 or 15 years of these days ahead of him. :(
    poisonated wrote: »
    I would consider it a family event. First day of school, first holy communion, confirmation and graduation. To a lesser extent, I would say that the day they go in for the leaving cert results fits into this category.

Tut tut, what about brit milah, bar mitzvah, the Aqiqa or the Ceremony of the Sacred Thread ?
    You can't just count christian ceremonies you know. :p
    ghosttown wrote: »
    As a seperated daddy with joint custody of 2 little men, I was happy to bring my 4 year old to his first day today.............along with his mother, we're 'amicable' I guess....

Anyway, after the usual photos and things, he went into class, recognized some other kids from pre-school and was off to socialise after a kiss goodbye.
    Off she went shopping.

I ended up going for a coffee with one of the single mother yummy mummies.

Novel way of picking up.
    Just now imagining a fair few single guys hanging around outside schools being told by their 6 class kids to pee off and not be chatting up the mammys of the low infants.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Yis all need to cowboy the fcuk up and send the little fuvkers out to find work....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

For God's sake the more fuss you make about the child's first day at school the more likely you are to make them anxious. It's a big day for you, if you do it right yiur kid won't even remember it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

maybe the 4 dads had fathered all of the children?

What's a Naionra?

Play school as Gaelige, normally attached to a Gaelscoil...