Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ever been Hypnotised?

• 31-08-2012 12:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭

A battered old transit van passed me twice today with a loudspeaker on the roof, ordering the general public to get to the local hotel to be hypnotised.

Well,have ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I was hypnotised just the other day by a gif of a pair of bouncing boobs.

Must've watched it for about 5 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

Im unhypnotizable - I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I honestly wouldn't know the difference...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

We're all hypnotized by the media and the coorporations and the governments man...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

We're all hypnotized by the media and the coorporations and the governments man...

It's the meejia and the gubbernment dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

No. Personally I think it's bollocks. Probably because it is actually complete bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

It would definitely never work on me. My mind is far too powerful for any of that ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,673 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Yes. I was hypnotized at college. Your completey aware during the whole.process. but open to suggestions.

When he said, your a washing machine I thought.he was mad, but then began spinning like one. I knew o was under his influence when he asked me to blindly fall back and I.did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭JamJamJamJam

We went to a show last year and the hypnotist called up anyone who wanted to try. Half the audience went down and he got us to lie down and close our eyes. He told us to imagine we were at a beach and putting suncream on, then that we were out in the snow and we were really cold. After a couple more scenarios like this, he told some people to return to their seats and other people to stay there (obviously it wasn't working with some people). I did as he said and kept my eyes closed as all this was going on and was, of course, oblivious. He walked the remaining people onto the stage and got us to imagine things, like being on a motorbike or riding a horse.

Heh. Yeah. 'Imagine'. Basically, it had all happened quite quickly, so I thought we were just getting our imaginations warmed up. I was waiting for him to whip out the pendulum! Thought I'd be looking into his eyes and all that... Meanwhile, the rest of them had been fully hypnotised and genuinely thought they were motorbike riders and jockeys. It only clicked with me when he told us to shag our chairs.

There were about 6 of us left, and by then my very socially awkward don't-make-a-fuss side was already in control, so I told myself that if I just acted hypnotised, nobody would have a clue! Be grand! Of course my crap acting skills and red face did me no favours, and probably an hour later, having done anything from "watching a sexy porno" to "performing at the greatest ballet show of my life", I got to leave what was probably the most embarrassing night of my life...!!

So no, I haven't been hypnotised, and after that I don't think I'll ever try.. again...! :o:(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Not hypnotised per say, but when I was 15 this softly spoken lady had a class full of young women practically out cold on gym mats with relaxation techniques. She was speaking to us for about an hour and even my being slightly hyper had started to pass out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

Saw Paul McKenna perform when I was in college, split my sides laughing at people humping the stage floor and generally acting the tit...

And this was before the show even started! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Musefan

A relative was hypnotised, which accidentally triggered him to seizure which left him spending a few weeks in hospital.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No. Personally I think it's bollocks. Probably because it is actually complete bollocks.
    Well it does work for quite a few people for relaxation, giving up smoking etc with a trained professional. The stage type can work, as quite a number of people are both highly suggestible and eager to please authority and the group. In the hands of someone who knows how to manipulate that kinda thing he or she can get them to do all sorts of daftness. They're not "under" as such, just in a state of heightened suggestibility.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Musefan wrote: »
    A relative was hypnotised, which accidentally triggered him to seizure which left him spending a few weeks in hospital.

Really? And I presume he brought the hypnotist to court and won? I don't remember reading about this landmark case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

In college during Rag week before. the "hypnotist" hudled about 6 of us around in a circle and said "right lads, lets put on a bit of a show and get the crowd goin' yeah?!, it's all for charity now so ye'r all keen to play along yeah? - there's a pint each in it for ye afterwards ;)"

Which in my opinion.... is pretty damn effective mind control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭kentreaper

Dan133269 wrote: »
    I don't remember reading about this landmark case.

I do. It was in Preston, Lancs.

But, not a landmark case - whatever that is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Yes! By the greatest cleavage ever across a pub table!

She wouldn't let me touch them tho :o

Boobs - man's kryptonite :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Everyone is in trance most of the time, waiting in a queue, staring into space, eating, drinking, reading, listening to music, on the internet - it's all trance. My favorite is shaking someone's hand - an instant trance induction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

There were about 6 of us left, and by then my very socially awkward don't-make-a-fuss side was already in control, so I told myself that if I just acted hypnotised, nobody would have a clue! Be grand! Of course my crap acting skills and red face did me no favours, and probably an hour later, having done anything from "watching a sexy porno" to "performing at the greatest ballet show of my life", I got to leave what was probably the most embarrassing night of my life...!!

So no, I haven't been hypnotised, and after that I don't think I'll ever try.. again...! :o:(

That is hilarious. You poor bugger, I would have walked off the stage, or rolled off if you were lying down when you were just imagining the things that the others were acting out.

Was at a hypnotist many years ago in Galway in NUIG, and like that he got a tonne of people up on stage, and whittled them down to a few unfortunates.

Well, the stuff they had to do, no way were some of them pretending, anyways, he told them to sleep and dream about their inner most fantasy. He would put the mic up to them then and ask them to tell him what their fantasy was. I only remember two of them, one fella claimed he was running naked through the woods with The Smurfs. Got a good laugh that one, but the next one was bad, guy said he was having sex, and the hypnotist asked with who, and he replied "my sister"!!!!!!!!!!! I doubt that lad ever lived that down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I paid 200 quid last year to see a hypnotist guy, and it didn't work on me, even though he's supposed to be one of the best in London. I don't think I'm relaxed enough and I think too much for it to work on me, but I do think it would work on some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I watched a live show a few years ago and the hypnotist had the volunteers act out their sexual fantasies on their chairs. He told them not to take their cloths off but it was funny, and a bit disturbing at the same time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,464 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

last Thurday....to go off the smokes :)
    Without a doubt the easiest way to give up smoking, no cravings no stress just happy thoughts :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

My mind is far too powerful for any of that ****e.

You have some sense of humour Teddy I have to give you that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

I was hypnotised just the other day by a gif of a pair of bouncing boobs.

Must've watched it for about 5 minutes.

GIF's or GTFO :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Palytoxin

No, and I never want to be either, for any reason. I prefer people not making a clown of me, and if I ever supposedly need it for health reasons I'll be avoiding it at all costs. I'd be fairly skeptical of it tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I'd love to get it done just to see for myself.

I just know I'd make a twat of myself though.

He'd say dance and I'd be on stage humping a chair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Yes. As soon as these thread started (haven't even read it) I've been singing in my head everytime I see it:

Biggie, biggie can't you see sometimes your words just hypnotise me and I just love your flashy ways bla bla bla bla bla (don't know the rest)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

kentreaper wrote: »
    I do. It was in Preston, Lancs.

But, not a landmark case - whatever that is...

I can remember an English case where some fella tried to say that Paul McKenna hypnotising him was responsible for his schizophrenia. Is that the case you're talking about? In that case, the court found that Paul McKenna's actions weren't responsible because the guy had schizophrenia beforehand. I'd be very surprised if any court recognised hypnotism as being responsible for one's actions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

At rag week in college years ago, a hypnotist got a few people on stage and hypnotised them to do the most ridiculous dancing they could when a certain tune came on. They all did and it was a good laugh etc. Then the hypnotist finished his bit and someone else came on, a comedian I think, and then someone else after that. It was a long show.

About 4 hours had passed since the hypnotist had been on. He was long gone at this stage. Everyone was pouring out the doors of the hall, and on the PA they played the tune that hypnotist had hypnotised the stupid dancing to. One of the volunteers started going at it hell for leather, knocking people down and elbowing people in the face. He was clearly still under the spell. He couldn't stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

I was hypnotised the other day in the gym, when this lovely blonde girl came in and moved her bottom backwards and forwards in tight spandex :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

ted1 wrote: »
    Yes. I was hypnotized at college. Your completey aware during the whole.process. but open to suggestions.

When he said, your a washing machine I thought.he was mad, but then began spinning like one. I knew o was under his influence when he asked me to blindly fall back and I.did.

That's right. Been on stage twice and it was great fun. You have to relax and go with it. You could bring your-self out of it i think if you wanted. My wife and son couldn't believe me going on stage as it's out of character for me to do something like that. Try it and enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Eden3

I went to a "famous" hypnotist years ago to try + give up smoking with a girl I worked with. There was us and another chap in the waiting room. He was CONVINCED it would work and had loads of tales of people he knew who did it and NEVER SMOKED again!

The three of us lay on tables, listening to tapes of pipe music, very foresty type tunes ... I was as awake as I'd ever be, my pal said it did relax her but didn't knock her out ... don't know about the chap though.

Anyway, we endured an hour of subtle talk through the music ... and after forking out IR£50 each we left, feeling sure we were now officially non-smokers.

Me + my pal headed straight to McDonalds - it was dinner time in all fairness! After our food we looked at each other and questioned "Did we want a cigarette anymore" .... we both definitely did want to smoke + smoked without hesitation ...!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

Went to hynopist 3 years back..quite smoking jobby..did not work,,he blamed my closed mind,,still smoking btw..for e200 yes I did expect magic:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I found a 20 minute hypnosis track on a cd mix I had some years ago, I had downloaded it on BIt Torrent and burned it onto a compilation by mistake. I followed the instructions and in 2 minutes I was under. I came out of it when I heard a voice counting down from 5 to 0 and that was that. The whole thing lasted 20 minutes, but it felt like hours... it was great. There are a load of them on youtube. Some of them are good