Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American Here! Very Curious about Ireland! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

I've been to the states before.. All over the state of Pennsylvania, and travelled to Florida. One of my besties is from York County. She visited the shop I work in when she was over studying in trinity.

Texas is a state I'd love to visit.. If only for theaccents, food, culture, etc. You guys seem to do it in style.

We are not really the same as what some Americans may have in their head about us. A lot of us are educated, our younger generations, in their 20s are questioning the past, the church, and our outdated laws on a lot of things.. over the past ten to twenty years the revalation of abuse scandals of the church, the Magdalene laundries,etc. Have done a lot to reduce the iron grip the RCC has on the country.

We have good infrastructure, some very educated people here, as our college structure is not as expensive as the states.

We have a beautiful landscape, a colourful but sad history and our economy is not the strongest.. however as a nation we do help eachother out and give a lot of aid to Africa, and as a society we are multicultural.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

My fav person ever was from Texas, (Bill Hicks).
    I've not been to Texas but have visited NY a few times.
    Hoping to visit a friend in Utah, give the touristy destinastions a break.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 PGA2020

Wow! Sounds likes a pretty cool place! Just curious, anyone heard of the show "Dallas"?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I've been to Florida and to San Fran, I'd love to go to Texas though. I'm a huge BBQ fan so there's a bit of a calling. American food in general seems brilliant, we're only catching on to the artisan food and drink industry now. :)

I've always found American tourists really nice and respectful. I've worked as a waiter an they're often a lot nicer than us natives so big respect there. :)
    I also love the American love for cars, a small amount of us share than love over here and we have quite a few American Muscle car clubs. You'll be doing well to spot a modern American car here though, very rare.

Music, we listening to the same stuff you do, I haven't a clue about Trad' music and I certainly don't listen to it. You'll have a choice of pubs with live bands playing trad music but in Dublin at least, they'll all be full of tourists. Haha

Come over, you'll like it here. :)

PGA2020 wrote: »
    Wow! Sounds likes a pretty cool place! Just curious, anyone heard of the show "Dallas"?

People are still pissed off about that show over here, worst twist ever. :p

Edit: We have the vast majority of your TV over here. My three favourite shows are Dexter, Breaking Bad and True Blood. Same with movies, we've got them all. :)
    Edit 2: I'll add Community to that list, such a funny show! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,695 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Sorry, you asked about food. Our beef, lamb and fish produce is some of the best in the world. Our weather is good for beef, better than the rest of Europe, I was recently in a very remote part of North West Spain (we saw wolves and boar)... along with the best Iberian pork and their specialist honey they were proud to offer Irish beef.

CianRyan wrote: »
    People are still pissed off about that show over here, worst twist ever. :p

Edit: We have the vast majority of your TV over here. My three favourite shows are Dexter, Breaking Bad and True Blood. Same with movies, we've got them all. :)
    Edit 2: I'll add Community to that list, such a funny show! :D

Wow! Didn't know that! :D Im very curious, are you guys following any of the American election and the debates? Its voting season! November 6th!

Well most Irish and British TV is rubbish, in my opinion anyway. Haha
    The U.S. really know how to do original TV. The Remakes of Shameless and The Inbetweeners are terrible though. :(

Yeah, our news covers your politics very closely. The rest of the worlds too but because we have such close relations (your military use our bases, trading, etc) we hold a special interest with you guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Wow! Didn't know that! :D Im very curious, are you guys following any of the American election and the debates? Its voting season! November 6th!

I'm interested in the American election as whoever wins is more or less the leader of the world with his hand on the red button.

OP, please be careful who you vote for. In world terms it doesn't really matter who we vote for here in Ireland but you and your fellow countrymen/women have a big responsibility.

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Nodster

Big Welcome PGA2020

We don't say 'Top o' the morning' anymore, we replaced it with 'Whats the Story'

Can't wait to see how the Ewings have aged - new show starts next week! :P

Gotta love the 'mericans, sure I married a fine one a dozen years ago (from Alemeda, Ca.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Best Texan ref program imho King of the Hill.

We've got Father Ted- youtube it if you dont know it

chughes wrote: »
    I'm interested in the American election as whoever wins is more or less the leader of the world with his hand on the red button.

OP, please be careful who you vote for. In world terms it doesn't really matter who we vote for here in Ireland but you and your fellow countrymen/women have a big responsibility.

Woah! I wish we could learn more about your politics and country and stuff! Our news is the same old, Mitt or Barack politics, celebrity break ups, shootings. Pretty much the same old....

• Registered Users Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

efb wrote: »
    Best Texan ref program imho King of the Hill.

We've got Father Ted- youtube it if you dont know it

Oh! Oh oh!

YouTube D'unbelievables for a picture of irish life :)

For all of you guys that watch the show "Dallas" I hate to burst your bubble here but about 95% of it is filmed in Hollywood. The whole big opening is obviously filmed here but the rest i can't say the same. Actually an interesting fact, the house that is at the end of the "big opening" is actually only about 5 minutes down the road from my house!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Well PGA, I hope you can visit and bring all your family with you for a good time, but at risk of getting blasted with pi$$ from the dubs here, I would recommend only 2 days in Dublin and the rest doing a ring of Ireland heading north to down antrim derry donegal sligo..... extra time for mayo/galway, clare, limerick extra time for kerry-cork and then waterford wicklow and if you have time visit Newgrange a burial site older than the Pyramids, or the castle that was in Braveheart(Trim)!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Wow! Didn't know that! ...
    Ah Bejaysus and Begorrah, the top of the mornin' to ye me boyo and it bein' late at night, God help us all. Sure it's grateful I am to be able to be talkin' to a real live tourist in me best Irish brogue, Bejaypurs, and ye that does be havin' all them long-horn cows and wild Indians and unshaven Messican banditos and such as poor people like ourselves never drempt of.
    ... Im very curious, are you guys following any of the American election and the debates? Its voting season! November 6th!
    I'm actually laughing my tits off at the hilarity of it all. The fact that such inane cardboard cut-outs of people should get a shot at being MASTER OF THE UNIVERSE.

Could you let us into a secret? When O'Bahama won the peace prize after committing an extra 30,000 US military types to the Middle East, is it true they'd if he'd doubled the number they'd have given him a second peace prize? Are you related to O'Bahama and are you Irish too? Were your ancestors in the San Patricios?

I'm glad to see you (hopefully) brought your own supply of WOWs, HaHaHas and !s with you. They're in short supply here since the recession kicked in hard.

Woah! I wish we could learn more about your politics and country and stuff! Our news is the same old, Mitt or Barack politics, celebrity break ups, shootings. Pretty much the same old....

Our politicians are, in the main, small town hicks, obsessed with local issues and more crooked than Vegas

For all of you guys that watch the show "Dallas" I hate to burst your bubble here but about 95% of it is filmed in Hollywood. The whole big opening is obviously filmed here but the rest i can't say the same. Actually an interesting fact, the house that is at the end of the "big opening" is actually only about 5 minutes down the road from my house!

Southfork Ranch- cool!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Howdy everyone!

I just happened to run past this whole website and just found out it was an Ireland based site! Can some people tell me about Dublin and just just everything! I find it very interesting learning about different cities! I'll start first and then maybe we could go back and forth asking questions! Do people in Ireland actually say "Top of the morning to you lad!" I hear it a lot but is it really true?? I live in Dallas, Texas if anyone knows where that is! Or as you guys call it, "The States!" haha

Thanks!
    Ouch. Havent read the posts yet, but hope your thick...skinned.

em, failte etc

edit, read posts, all very civilised. is this after hours, or am i lost? i am. phew. not AH. grand. onwards so.

mathepac wrote: »
    Ah Bejaysus and Begorrah, the top of the mornin' to ye me boyo and it bein' late at night, God help us all. Sure it's grateful I am to be able to be talkin' to a real live tourist in me best Irish brogue, Bejaypurs, and ye that does be havin' all them long-horn cows and wild Indians and unshaven Messican banditos and such as poor people like ourselves never drempt of.

Yes, we have some long horns near by but wild indians not so much. Im pretty sure that if there are any left they are on small reserves in Oklahoma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

greenpilot wrote: »
    We don't need to write Dallas, Texas either....we actually know where cities, states, countries etc are on this planet. Don't mention religion...this is more or less a secular state. Practice driving stick shift, hire a car when you are over here and get out of the city for a day or so. Do buy a round or two in a pub. Don't be loud and crass. It's better to keep your mouth shut and be presumed an idiot than open it and remove all doubt. Spend a day watching European news channels. It will open your mind. Don't mention Israel and absolutely do not mention the US presidential race. Irish people probably know more about it than you....unless you are a Democrat, then its cool.

Bumped into a couple of Americans on Thursday night while out for a drink, first thing they mentioned haha :rolleyes: Nice people though!

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭oB1

Welcome to Boards.ie, PGA2020 :D

As others have said, pay no attention to the arrogant responses on here!.. usually they are just looking to spark up an argument, As like most countries, there will always be the few that like to "show off" ;)

If you are thinking of paying a visit to Ireland, as others have said, id recommend hiring a car, i think you must hold a full driving licence to drive a car in a foreign country.

As like most other visitors, you will probably fly in to Dublin Airport, from there id recommend staying in Dublin for a few nights, get a feel for the city, and visit the landmarks and museums, then, hire the car, and travel the country (Kerry, Cork, Galway etc.)

I myself have been to the US, twice, Once to Orlando, FL and the second time, to NYC, NY - Personally, i LOVE the US.. and the people! ( most of them ;) ) I find you all very warm & welcoming, just like you all say about us Irish.. so we have got something in common there!... i can pretty much see myself packing up shop, and immigrating over to start a life/family after i get my University Degree! - I LOVE the sun, and the hot climate, so it will probably be Florida!.. Tampa.. Orlando.. Sarasota.. somewhere near a beach!

Again, if you are coming over, welcome (cead mile failte romhat!)

Rob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Welcome PGA2020 as otheres here have posted I am postive you will have a great time here.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,695 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

kupus wrote: »
    but at risk of getting blasted with pi$$ from the dubs here, I would recommend only 2 days in Dublin and the rest doing a ring of Ireland heading north to down antrim derry donegal sligo..... extra time for mayo/galway, clare, limerick extra time for kerry-cork and then waterford wicklow and if you have time visit Newgrange a burial site older than the Pyramids, or the castle that was in Braveheart(Trim)!!!

Nah, you're dead right, and I'd be known for blasting people that put Dublin down for silly reasons, but I'm constantly touring Ireland! A weekend in any city is enough to take in the main attractions, early mornings and busy schedules are the trick!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

If you visit Ireland you could consider extending your holiday (aka vacation!) and visit the UK or mainland Europe. Flights are cheap enough, and you can get to London or Paris in 2 hours or so.

Northern Ireland is nice to visit too. I've heard Derry is a lovely city, and I just visit Belfast for the first time a few weeks ago. While it still has the scars of its violent past (the armoured police vans are surprisingly intimidating!) it's now got a prospering tourist industry, and I found everyone there very welcoming.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Give the smart-arsed comments a rest. If you cannot give the OP a civil answer to his questions - do not bother responding on this thread.

Any more dickish replies will cop a ban.

tHB

Thank you tHB! Yes, I could only dream to go to Ireland one day, but for now Im just a curious guy that wants some answers to his questions! Im sure that there are plenty of beautiful places to visit there and would love to hear about them! I hear that the lead producer of Guinness beer is somewhere around there? And also, if you say that most people have been to the US at some point, is it like that in all Europe? We Americans think that Europe is BEAUTIFUL! (From the pictures as least)

srm23 wrote: »
    you won't find any oil here ya crafty bollix

Classic stereo-type! I am not, and don't know of ANYONE, in the oil business! The closest place I get to oil is my local Chevron or 711! haha

chughes wrote: »

Awwww, don't say that! You would be surprised how many people over here would take a LARGE interest in you if you came over here for a few days! Besides the fact that your accents are amazing, people love tourists in the US!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

greenpilot wrote: »
    Yeah? Well when you live in a tourist town and have to listen to the pure ignorance some, and I do stress, some Americans portray about the rest of the world, you would understand. We did a tour of the east coast of the states with a band over a few months and it was shocking the arrogance that was leveled towards us, being in "the greatest country in the world and all" . A year later we invited one of the younger bands back to Ireland for a tour None of them had ever been out of their state before, (Virginia), and , upon landing, were surprised we had running water.

So because of a few Americans that you met you are now going to generalise about all Americans? That doesn't sound so clever to me.