Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool V Arsenal 02.09.12 (13:30 KO) Sky Sports 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Best Arsenal performance I've seen in ages that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Honestly thought we'd get a point from this but Liverpool was abysmal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,297 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Paully D wrote: »
    Best Arsenal performance I've seen in ages that.

Nah Liverpool just did not turn up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Its pretty impressive weve had a very shaky Mannone in goal for three games now and with our defence looking solid still havent conceded a goal.Its a new Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Anybody could have called that

Pity Rogers didnt.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Fair play Arsenal, great performance... but admit it, you never predicted Diaby would play that well :p:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

Gonna take time lads. Keep the faith.

Gerrard and Pepe are actually two of my biggest concerns now.

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭mixed up

Gerrard needs to play as CF until we buy a striker.

Why the fook are we in this position?The first thing rodgers should of done when he came was buy a striker :mad: The good news is we play like barca :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,555 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

mixed up wrote: »
    Stan collymore calling it like it is, what was rodgers doing letting carroll leave when liverpool have not got any strikers at the club.I couldn't agree more stan.

I think the owners have stitched him up/let him down to be honest.

Lack of a striker though is not the problem today.

Outplayed all over the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

.Its a new Arsenal.

Nope, thats the old Arsenal for those of us that remember the 80's :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,907 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Thoroughly enjoyable game, well in Arsenal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Arsenal bet us in first gear today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,510 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Hmm.....First thing is first.

Boroni, if he is to be persisted with (and given our lack of strikers he is) has to be more central.

Putting Gerrard up front means dropping Sterling, Boroni or Suarez.

Second point: I think Reina needs to be dropped for a game or two.
    If only for his own sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

excellent-s438x438-231285.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Arsenal deserve their win. Pressure going to build on Rodgers now.

Nah Liverpool just did not turn up

Arsenal didn't let them. Fantastic performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭mixed up

Brendan rodgers couldn't :mad: That's my point ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Well done Arsenal.
    Can't believe how easy that was for them.
    Hopefully more of the same when we meet later in the month :)

Still unbeaten- now with a win!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

Must say I enjoyed that :)

You'd be suprised,there's guys on here that reckon we had a great transfer window,

25950766.jpg

Liverpools worse start in 50 years.
    Magic

Arsenal were absolutely delicious to watch.

Diaby was outstanding as was Arteta.
    Now there can be no whinging at the Emirates.

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭gaelicred

Worst start since the 62/63 season

Steve Bould looks to have been a great acquisition for Arsenal. They've looked very solid at the back in all 3 games so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Melion wrote: »
    Sterling against Jenkinson, tee hee

How did that work out? :P:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,297 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

You are not getting the joke. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,342 ✭✭✭Ardent

Boos at the final whistle??!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

Arsenal deserved their win. But it's been another very poor refereeing display, especially towards Luis, cast iron pens turned down, clear as day free-kicks not given. He's going to kick someone in the head out of frustration fairly soon if it keeps up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Steve Bould looks to have been a great acquisition for Arsenal. They've looked very solid at the back in all 3 games so far.

He's been with Arsenal for years, won the youth teams league and cup whilst he managed them.

Pat Rice should've been replaced years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Nope, thats the old Arsenal for those of us that remember the 80's :)

True to although I was an Arsenal fan in the 80's I was only 7 when they ended so dont have much memory of it. Still love seeing Michael Thomas score that goal :D goosebumps.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Thats our most comfortable win at Anfield that I can remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Liverpool are now part of the "rest"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭jebidiah

Ugh.

That is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

el dude wrote: »
    Arsenal deserved their win. But it's been another very poor refereeing display, especially towards Luis, cast iron pens turned down, clear as day free-kicks not given. He's going to kick someone in the head out of frustration fairly soon if it keeps up.
    What cast iron pens??

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭gaelicred

Sorry but you can't blame the ref for that shambles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Can't have too many complaints about that, not many of the players can be happy with how they played today, if we can't beat the weakest team in the top 5 it's going to be a long season.

Great performance from Diaby too, him and Vermaalen could be called up the the first team by Vilanova during the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,615 ✭✭✭Damien360

As a liverpool fan, I have to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

that performance gave me cancer.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Melion wrote: »
    Sterling against Jenkinson, tee hee

How did that work out? :P:D;)

Sterling was probably Liverpool's best player and only spark going forward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭WASP0

Was a bit worried before this game, but that was very comfortable for Arsenal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I wouldn't get too carried away about Arsenal's performance.

Liverpool had the 6th worse attack in the league last season and our squad has been further weakened, especially in attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

keano_afc wrote: »

Yep, yous didn't have to leave first gear.

jethro081 wrote: »

Not funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

jethro081 wrote: »

I'm a smart-ass....what do you know about Meth Labs, bitch?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

murpho999 wrote: »
    I think the owners have stitched him up/let him down to be honest.

Lack of a striker though is not the problem today.

Outplayed all over the park.

we can have no idea in fairness. For all we know the owners may have put pressure on Rodgers to play their 35million asset.

From the very outset it was clear Rodgers didn't want Carroll, it wasn't a last minute acceptance that he had to go.

Personally I think all of that is a side issue.

Rodger's style of play is going to come under close scrutiny in the next months. At swansea there was a safety net that playing "passing football" would win him alot of neutral admirers and 1 in 3 abject performances would fly under the radar.

It may also be questionable as to whether he did in fact model their style of play.

I've said it before, possession football looks good but its what you do do penetrate that really matters.

Teams came out to play against Swansea. When you sit tight against this supposedly more attractive Liverpool side then you will get chances when you win possession back. Teams will just ask Liverpool to break them down and we cant seem to do that. Very distinct lack of guile.

Theres a huge difference between keeping possession when another team can't get the ball from us, and keeping possession when the other side are happy to let you have it.

Teams are just going to let us have possession safe in the knowledge that theres very little penetration at the end of it.

Liverpool had 53% possession. That's as good as a win for Rodgers.

keano_afc wrote: »

I can't remember a win that easy either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

With him,we wouldn't be surprised,didn't he kick Scott Parker in the chest last season.
    Suarez does so much moaning on the pitch,referees are starting to ignore him.He'd be better served trying to score a goal or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Bollox